Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Found your own political party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭tomasocarthaigh

mikom wrote: »
    Lol.... Now I see why Fianna Fáil have stayed in power so long.

Its all in the power of the people to campaign for what they want... you ask anyone why they oppose communism:

1) Property - everyone wants to own their own home. Our version can allow that, we dont tow the line to Moscow, Bejing or any other version... we make our own.

2) Freedom of faith - the churches would not be banned under our version, we'd use their bible against their arguments for the protection of the upper classes. It was oppression of the churches - the hangover from Penal times - that caused such revultion against the communist and socialist movements in Ireland and powered the rise of the right, which continues to this day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

1) Property - everyone wants to own their own home. Our version can allow that, we dont tow the line to Moscow, Bejing or any other version... we make our own.QUOTE]

Is the cold war still on? I thought the pesky ruskies embraced consumerism!

Corsendonk wrote: »
    1) Property - everyone wants to own their own home. Our version can allow that, we dont tow the line to Moscow, Bejing or any other version... we make our own.QUOTE]

Is the cold war still on? I thought the pesky ruskies embraced consumerism!

Eh, yes they did, but the rump movement still operatates along the old USSR line and influences hard left movements in Europe... hence the Moscow reference.

The Moscow School of the communist movement, if you will, as opposed to the Italian led Refoundation Movement and the Bejing Maoist movements and so forth...

Sorry I was to busy working with the common man to read political doctrine wrote by the student types that disappear when the word work gets mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

The Combine Harvester Party. We'd all go around town, driving our big combine harvesters. We'd obviously drive on the left on the road, but sure - we might drive on the centre-left sometimes if we needed to drive around other cars... or animals.

This post is officially endorsed by the Combine Harvester Party ®.

Sorry I was to busy working with the common man to read political doctrine wrote by the student types that disappear when the word work gets mentioned.

STUDENT TYPES? Dont jump to assumptions... last I was in school was 1995... thanks to capitalism and the concept of globalisation every factory Ive worked in made massive profits, shipped all offshore and their factories with them.

And what have I got for my labours? Zilch.

I gove €5000 a year of my hard earned cash to a rich landlord for the roof over my head, and am glad I dint get a mortgage for a rich banker to take it from over my head after my taxes bailing them out.

Student types? My god.

My forfathers taxes built the housing estates of this country, paid for the education of the children, the single mothers, the enterprise grants, the hospitals, the wages for an army that refused to fight in 1969, the wagew of govermenets that serve the intrests of those with the majority of the money, not the majority of the votes, and we get dismissed as "student types".

We are the silent majority my freind... and if our voice p**ses people off it just means we are silent no longer and get used to us demanding our voice be heard and our right to dictate what happens with the taxes we have paid, are paying and will be paying.

I gove €5000 a year of my hard earned cash to a rich landlord for the roof over my head, and am glad I dint get a mortgage for a rich banker to take it from over my head after my taxes bailing them out.

Student types? My god.

So you paid your mam €96 a week in rent? I hope she made your tea at least for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Communism in Ireland???
    That sort of thing terrifies people.
    Can you imagine the farming community for example voting for communism :eek:

RTE or was that TG4 had an excellent documentatary on the Limerick Soviet, very informative.

Well fair play Tomas for posting that up, that list is easy to read and very clear

Now I'll run away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Links234 wrote: »
    I'd have full marriage rights for LGBT people, full adoption rights and full and equal parental rights for both parents :)

yawn

If my party wanted to bring back the death penalty and have a mass cull of scumbags, would that be left or right?

That would be person centred

rather than bankster or self centred as per present politics

Peace and Liberty

Socially and economically extremely liberal, with a strong police force.

LOL can't have one without the other - traveller rights versus gippos breaking into pensioner homes and killing them - hmmm - Guards hands tied comes to mind - hello wake up

Student types? My god.

generally drunken stoned persons feeding off mum and dad and / or the state crying out injustice and some sort of other imagined social bullsh1t

kraggy wrote: »
    These are my beliefs

1. Cut the dole by 20% now. 40% for those on it more than 5 years.
    Anymore, the dole will decrease gradually the longer you are on it.

2. Higher taxes for the well off.

3. Close the borders to non-Eu citizens NOW.

4. Legalise assisted-suicide
    Have a study into possible legalisation of euthanasia
    Legalise marijuana (with very specific parameters including:

limited strength, grown by the state, sold by the state.

5. Full Marrigage rights for gay people NOW.

6. Replace prison punishment for not paying tv license, fines etc with community service.

7. Build more prisons and crack down on scumbag element. Zero tolerance to scummy behaviour.

8. Total review of sentencing. Even look at mandatory sentencing. Increase the parameters that judges can sentence. i.e. more years for all crimes. Killing someone and getting out after 2 years simply cannot happent anymore. Get rid of remmision. Whole sentence should be served. Why get out early for doing what they should be doing anyway? i.e behaving.

9. Make parents responsible for actions of children. Financially of course. Fine for parents whose kids are found drinking, causing trouble etc.

10. More severe penalties for animal abuse.

also free hunting of convicted paedophiles on release from prison - those bringing back body part trophies rewarded financially and with presidential honours for those bringing three or more heads back within a twelve month period - if those bringing them back are Guards they should be moved immediately up the ranks

Personally I would go with less prisons and more prison ships and drop off on uninhabited islands (along with all 'dangerous' dogs to be pts)

Ive to work and the website and what have you... but these are the lines Ive been working on the past few years...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_communism outlies some of the policies of the political genre, most of which we align with...

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]What we stand for... [/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Policies:[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]We summarise our policies here, and will be expanding on them as time goes on.[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Religion:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]No state religion[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Married priests in RC Church, to campaign for[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Campaign for women priests in all churches[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Freedom to be Catholic, and to not be Catholic[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Seperation of Catholicism from National Identity.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Culture:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Irish, English, Ullans and Cant to be national languages[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Chinese, Russian and Polish to be Secondary National Languages.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The Irish People defined constitutionally as the Gael, Anglo and Scot, with preservation of culures of each as part of the combined Irish identity.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Family:[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Abroad:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]No to EU Federalism[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]No to NATO / WEU[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Stay in UN[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Solidarity with oppressed nations[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Unite Ireland[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Economic:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Compulsory Trade Unions [/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Ban Stock Markets[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Tax Banks[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Withraw from Euro[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Encourage self sufficency[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Minimum Wage at Minimum Age [/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Housing:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]People before Profit: nationalise banks, and force them to offer reasonable mortgages.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Make state corporation to build houses, and force down prices while paying proper wages to workers, Irish and non-Nationals alike.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Social:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Restrict Off Licences - the encourage binge drinking[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Beef up laws to combat anti social behavior[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Keep all drugs illegal[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Healthcare:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Medical Cards for all - one tier Health System[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]No Private Hospitals[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Proper pay for Junior Doctors[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Proper Staffing of Hospitals[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Proletariat:[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] for the common good, for the common gain, for the common man![/FONT]

Looking good until the healthcare proposals - free healthcare simply doesn't work and its ultimate conclusion is that that has happened in America - enforced private healthcare enriching private individuals - not sure how else it should work but right now the HSE is a joke and the management by civil servants who couldn't buy themselves a job is a joke.

Where is the save us from **** republican army? Maybe they will arise with some spectacular like stiffing a few bankers and politicians and burning down Wankster House

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

We are the silent majority my freind... and if our voice p**ses people off it just means we are silent no longer and get used to us demanding our voice be heard and our right to dictate what happens with the taxes we have paid, are paying and will be paying.

But you're not the silent majority. You're the vocal minority who want to drag Ireland back into the 50's. Hopefully your kind of thinking will die out sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

The Gombeen Party, my manifesto includes all thats already been posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

Ive to work and the website and what have you... but these are the lines Ive been working on the past few years...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_communism outlies some of the policies of the political genre, most of which we align with...

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]What we stand for... [/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Policies:[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]We summarise our policies here, and will be expanding on them as time goes on.[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Religion:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]No state religion[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Married priests in RC Church, to campaign for[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Campaign for women priests in all churches[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Freedom to be Catholic, and to not be Catholic[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Seperation of Catholicism from National Identity.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Culture:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Irish, English, Ullans and Cant to be national languages[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Chinese, Russian and Polish to be Secondary National Languages.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The Irish People defined constitutionally as the Gael, Anglo and Scot, with preservation of culures of each as part of the combined Irish identity.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Family:[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Abroad:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]No to EU Federalism[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]No to NATO / WEU[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Stay in UN[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Solidarity with oppressed nations[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Unite Ireland[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Economic:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Compulsory Trade Unions [/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Ban Stock Markets[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Tax Banks[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Withraw from Euro[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Encourage self sufficency[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Minimum Wage at Minimum Age [/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Housing:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]People before Profit: nationalise banks, and force them to offer reasonable mortgages.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Make state corporation to build houses, and force down prices while paying proper wages to workers, Irish and non-Nationals alike.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Social:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Restrict Off Licences - the encourage binge drinking[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Beef up laws to combat anti social behavior[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Keep all drugs illegal[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Healthcare:[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Medical Cards for all - one tier Health System[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]No Private Hospitals[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Proper pay for Junior Doctors[/FONT]
    • [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Proper Staffing of Hospitals[/FONT]
    [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Proletariat:[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] for the common good, for the common gain, for the common man![/FONT]

I hope you never get anywhere near power. Although I wasn't alive at the time I'm led to believe that the 1950's wasn't the happiest of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Richard Noggin

Animals First Party (civil rights for animals).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

tomasocarthaigh - You have an idea for the kind of political party that I would like to have banned. Thank god you wouldnt have the support of well, just about anyone. Otherwise I'd have to get up off my lazy arse and start loading my guns for a riot! ;)

fluffer wrote: »
    tomasocarthaigh - You have an idea for the kind of political party that I would like to have banned. Thank god you wouldnt have the support of well, just about anyone. Otherwise I'd have to get up off my lazy arse and start loading my guns for a riot! ;)

Waste of good ammo, put him on an uninhabitated Island with a few simple tools and supplies so he can work on his self sufficient theoy. I give him two weeks before he starves to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Im organising a pressure group / party PROLETARIAT, which is left wing, but pro life.

Secular, but with respect for the princliples of common decency held by all faiths.

Closest label would be Chritian Communism / Socialism

http://www.celtichosting.com/proletariat

(Site needs updating... last was done just before we lost the Lisbon referendum!!!)

You spelt "usury" wrong on your front page. Apart from that, where exactly will people raise funds to invest in businesses and jobs if you prohibit usury?

STUDENT TYPES? Dont jump to assumptions... last I was in school was 1995... thanks to capitalism and the concept of globalisation every factory Ive worked in made massive profits, shipped all offshore and their factories with them.

And what have I got for my labours? Zilch.

They didn't pay you??

Einhard wrote: »
    You spelt "usury" wrong on your front page. Apart from that, where exactly will people raise funds to invest in businesses and jobs if you prohibit usury?

Since this seems to be a spell check "interests" is spelt wrong and "is Moscow" should be changed to "in Moscow". Sure we managed to double the viewership of that site. What countries have adopted this communism with God theory?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Biggins wrote: »
    I'd call it Unitedpeople.ie
    I didn't know you had a site, will have to register.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I didn't know you had a site, will have to register.
    I've been a busy boy and I intend to continue to be a pain in the arse for Fianna Fail and the Greens while they still continue to take the piss out of the Irish public and treat them badly.
    (The site is a work in progress by the way - suggestions are willingly accepted)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Right wing party I think

Massive clamp down on crime, build a big island prison for murderers/pedophiles, that the worst would be left on. Life sentances would mean life. Consider the death penalty for extreme cases. Past convictions would be considered in sentencing, and concurrent sentences wouldn't be allowed. Scumbags with more than a certain number of convictions (say 5) would be put on the island prison.
    Fines for speeding/litering etc would be related to income or wealth
    Weaken the unions

Legalize most drugs

Control immigration, make sure we only get the best.
    Illegal immigrants and foreign criminals would be thrown out of the country without appeal, and done so as cheaply as possible, ferry maybe, but no special flights and endless appeals like now.

End neutrality and the triple lock system. Not that I'd take us to war, but the option should be there instead this neutrality only option

Promote capitalism, privatize most state assets. Free trade

Cut the minimum wage by about a quarter, and drop social welfare for those who never seek work

Legalize abortion in cases of rape or where it will put the life of the mother at risk, but not otherwise

Free Speech

Promote the nuclear family

Free education

Not a big fan of the greens, but I'd try to keep our energy clean, and get away from fossil fuels

Free religion, except the burqa would be banned because I don't agree with having your face entirely covered in public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

piby wrote: »
    I think I'd call it New Order just so I can play Blue Monday and True Faith on the campaign trail while also sounding both modern and Imperial :D

I think it would be centre left to very left but with certain conservative elements.

Very left with regards environment (too much of the once Emerald Isle is now a concrete jungle :(), health care, education, care for the elderly, legalisation of marijuana, seriously up the investment in science, full rights for LGBT couples, legalisation of euthanasia amd more besides.

Very right in terms of crime and punishment but on a sliding scale i.e. community service for minor offences through to life, and I mean life with no facilities, for murder with intent. The justice system would need to be reformed radically.

Probably somewhere in the centre economically.
    ???????????????????????

End neutrality and the triple lock system. Not that I'd take us to war, but the option should be there instead this neutrality only option

Ehh if we did who could we go to war against? You seen are military recently? We thought Neutral was a way to stop funding the military.

Why dont you sell the tv rights to Channel 4 or Sky? Combo of Big brother. lost and inside the worlds toughest Prison. Lambay island perhaps?

Ehh if we did who could we go to war against? You seen are military recently? We thought Neutral was a way to stop funding the military.

Why dont you sell the tv rights to Channel 4 or Sky? Combo of Big brother. lost and inside the worlds toughest Prison. Lambay island perhaps?

I don't know we don't have any enemies at the moment, but the option should be there if we do in the future. I think we should have declared war on Germany at the end of world war 2 like almost every other country, instead of de Valera going sympathizing with the Hitlers death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Socially liberal - legalise gay marriage, gay adoption (and abandon this whole outdated "traditional family" nonsense) abortion, euthanasia, certain drugs (cannabis in particular), possibly prostitution (though I'm in two minds about this one)

Economically centrist but slightly right leaning.

Harsher sentences in prison (life should mean life) but no death penalty.

This party has no name yet. For now, we'll call it Suzy.

I don't know we don't have any enemies at the moment, but the option should be there if we do in the future. I think we should have declared war on Germany at the end of world war 2 like almost every other country, instead of de Valera going sympathizing with the Hitlers death

You mean like all the countries that declared war on Germany in the last days of the war to curry favour?? We have a patrol boat navy, a helicoptor airforce and an army without any heavy duty battle tank so you might want to hold off on that war. While if you look at the other main neutral countries in europe, the swedes spend 6 billion a year , swiss 4.5 billion and finns 3.7 billion which means they have some of the best armed and trained armies in the world. We spent 1.5 billion, so imagine trying to swing that with NAMA to be paid for plus you prob have to bump spending up to 4 billion a year at least for 10 years to make up for years of under investment.

Yes.
    And I realise what our armies like, but I don't think we should have to be neutral no matter what, might be the right thing to do, even if we didn't actively contribute much.

Yes.
    And I realise what our armies like, but I don't think we should have to be neutral no matter what, might be the right thing to do, even if we didn't actively contribute much.

Well these are the little details you have to deal with in government, everything is black and white with broad statements but just not so easy when you have to do it for real.

If you were more enterprising you would bring in the death penalty so you could harvest organs for the transplant market. Thats what the chinese do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

My party would have no policies of its own, all decision-making would be based around polls on after-hours.
    In the event of a tie, the post with the most thanks will prevail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

Constitutional protection of the undead party.

So we wait until the Germans have been practically defeated and their armed forces on their knees before we join in? Oh the noble Irish! Here they are to save the day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭MrSir

The Alan Partirdge party.
    Death to all sub-human scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Plebs

I'd be socially right, economically liberal.

I'd cull all the quangos and half the size of government. I'd also shut down half of the so-called 3rd level institutes.

I believe in public health care though so I'm not an extreme libertarian. I'd put an instant stop to junkies getting free heroin and the HSE paying for "sex change" operations. I'd also build a few new prisons as we need them ASAP.

I think the army, navy and the air corps should be expanded. The grey hairs would be culled and I'd double the number of 18 to 25 year-olds. Officers over 35 would be the exception rather than the norm.

I'd also cut the social welfare rate in half. I'd also cut rent allowance in half. I'd be in favour of compartmentalising those who chose not to work inside square miles like Ballymun or Moyross. Plenty of police in those areas to imprison anyone who steps out of line. Anyone who doesn't want to live or be educated in those areas can choose to be housed in modest estates alongside respectable people on condition that they find a job. Obviously the elderly and disabled would be exempt.

I think the pyramid should be steeper: those at the bottom should be paid less. That way, there's much more of an incentive to get promoted. Too many people happy to stay in middle management - 70 hours a week to earn an extra €20k @50% tax vs. 37.5 hours a week is a no-brainer if you ask me.

Einhard wrote: »
    So we wait until the Germans have been practically defeated and their armed forces on their knees before we join in? Oh the noble Irish! Here they are to save the day!!

Its better than not joining at all and instead sympathising on the death of Hitler. Only shooting ourselves in the foot and pissing off the allies when we could be gaining favour with the victors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

Plebs wrote: »

I'd cull all the quangos and half the size of government. I'd also shut down half of the so-called 3rd level institutes.

I believe in public health care though so I'm not an extreme libertarian. I'd put an instant stop to junkies getting free heroin and the HSE paying for "sex change" operations. I'd also build a few new prisons as we need them ASAP.

I think the army, navy and the air corps should be expanded. The grey hairs would be culled and I'd double the number of 18 to 25 year-olds. Officers over 35 would be the exception rather than the norm.

I'd also cut the social welfare rate in half. I'd also cut rent allowance in half. I'd be in favour of compartmentalising those who chose not to work inside square miles like Ballymun or Moyross. Plenty of police in those areas to imprison anyone who steps out of line. Anyone who doesn't want to live or be educated in those areas can choose to be housed in modest estates alongside respectable people on condition that they find a job. Obviously the elderly and disabled would be exempt.

I think the pyramid should be steeper: those at the bottom should be paid less. That way, there's much more of an incentive to get promoted. Too many people happy to stay in middle management - 70 hours a week to earn an extra €20k @50% tax vs. 37.5 hours a week is a no-brainer if you ask me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

The Get-The-Work-Done-Properly-Without-The-Drama-Or-Corruption Party.
    Otherwise known as the GTWDPWTDOCP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Plebs wrote: »

you're not a libertarian at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Germany is pretty awesome in most respects, but if I could build a perfect country:

Get rid of all agricultural subsidies to tiny farms. Amalgamate the hundreds of rural farms that could generate incredible wealth if used correctly.

Reduce VAT to 17.5%

Legalize certain drugs, however make them very strictly regulated.

Ban smokers and recreational drug users from medical cards.

Reduce adoption waiting time to one year, not the current 4/5 year situation

Legalize gay marriage, remove section 37.

Close down several 3rd level institutions, especially ITs. Amalgamate them into one superIT.

Remove any state funding from religious schools, claw back every school in the country from the church. This would allow for substantially better sex education and education around sexuality and gender. No more single sex schools.

As opposed to several, small secondary schools, build giant secondary schools like American high schools with an excellent,free school bus scheme.

Either remove uniforms or insist that all school uniforms be both unisex and able to be bought cheaply.

Remove religion as a secondary school subject and replace it with an ethics/debate class.

Remove Irish as a mandatory subject and split it into a literature option and a spoken option.

Better transport for rural areas/ suburbs of Dublin.

Better pay for Junior Doctors, less foreign doctors to stem the mass emigration of young medical professionals.

Stricter regulations for all social welfare. Maximum time to be on dole is 3 years.

Less powerful unions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

the party party. we are essentially liberals but we dont care too much about politics as long as the party keeps going.