Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hard and Easy

Options
  • 17-08-2010 4:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭

Hey!

I've posted everywhere else on the internet so I might as well add a boards thread to my quitting smoking repetoire. I'm onto my second day of giving up.

Yesterday morning, at 7.40am I had stayed up all night and smoked a 19 fags in the space of about ten hours. I had one left. I knew to get more I'd have to borrow some cash of my mother who had provided the last 20 box to last me 24 hours (I'm an unemployed graduate who's about to accept a masters because there's absolutely no jobs out there for me.) So instead of pleading with her, I decided to give up.

That was yesterday at 7.40am and I still haven't had one. Although I had pulled an all nighter staying awake for about 40 hours, so I slept from about 4pm yesterday to 9am today, which I've no doubt helped a bit. But it's still been 15 hours of wakefulness without a smoke.

I have to say it's been a bit easier than I thought. When I get a craving I just drink some coffee, I've been through about three pots today, and I'm using fake sugar so that's alright. The biggest problem is when I realise I'll never have a cigarette again. It's easy enough to justify holding off for five minutes, knowing the craving will go. But to think I'll never have one of those delicious, lung filling smokes again is torture. Far too permanent for me. But I write a post on a forum like this, and it's gone again.