Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert congratulations?

• 18-08-2010 12:27pm
    Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Just wondreing what kind of congratulatory presents can most parents afford to give this year?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

A car...........................d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭mathie

NoHornJan wrote: »
    Just wondreing what kind of congratulatory presents can most parents afford to give this year?

A plane ticket to Australia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

A bindle full of Galtee ham sanwiches

well maybe half-full

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Got me a new mini cooper like.
    not in the colour i want though so daddy is taking it back tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

How about parents take away something if the kid does sh!t. Better motivation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Rabies wrote: »
    How about parents take away something if the kid does sh!t. Better motivation

The carrot or the stick eh?
    Didn't they do a program on that to see which was better at motivating people(in a survival enviroment)
    as far as I remember they all came out completely equal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

A nice meal with the family and a swift kick in the bollox if ya do ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭ciaburkie

cold hard cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Whaaa??? Theres meant to be "congratulatory presents"...i got none when i did mine. I rang the parents from a phonebox (yep im that old) outside the school:
    Me: Yeeeeeeehhhhhh woooooo.... i got all honours!!
    Mam: is that good Anniehoo?
    Me(deflated): well uummmm....yeh kind of!Put Dad on...
    Dad: well....
    Me: All honours wooo!
    Dad: well done love, did ye get enough points for veterinary?
    Me (nearly crying): Noooo!!!!! FECK SAKE Dad...i told you i wouldnt get enough.Enough for Ag & Env Science though. Sob!
    Dad: i told ye i dont want you doin that "farming malarky"...sigh!
    Me: beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeppppppppp........hangs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I got 40 punts (thats pre-euro currency not a form of punishment) for my leaving cert in 1997.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

save them a place in the queue at the dole office, and get their passport renewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Fart wrote: »
    A rice meal with the family and a swift kick in the bollox if ya do ****.

I read your post a little differently the first time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

I did really well in mine and it was unexpected. I got 60 euro (last year) after I asked if I could have some money to go out.

One guy I know failed 3 subjects and was given a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

WTF, people get presents? I got my results today and I was just told that they were very proud.

New laptop please. "For college"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,518 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

why would you get a present for doing well in exams?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

... college fees.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭spider_pig

a can of baked beans, they'll be yummy in their tummy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭gaz wac

some bloke in another thread failed !!..what does he get?....to repeat next year :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 ilovelove

anniehoo wrote: »
    Whaaa??? Theres meant to be "congratulatory presents"...i got none when i did mine. I rang the parents from a phonebox (yep im that old) outside the school:
    Me: Yeeeeeeehhhhhh woooooo.... i got all honours!!
    Mam: is that good Anniehoo?
    Me(deflated): well uummmm....yeh kind of!Put Dad on...
    Dad: well....
    Me: All honours wooo!
    Dad: well done love, did ye get enough points for veterinary?
    Me (nearly crying): Noooo!!!!! FECK SAKE Dad...i told you i wouldnt get enough.Enough for Ag & Env Science though. Sob!
    Dad: i told ye i dont want you doin that "farming malarky"...sigh!
    Me: beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeppppppppp........hangs up.

Lol!! Lol!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I got congratulated. Verbally. Well Done. Wtf expecting presents and rewards now?

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

why would you get a present for doing well in exams?

Keeping up with the Jones's.

Johnny down the road got a Honda Civic, I want a Range Rover.
    Pretty please

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    WTF, people get presents? I got my results today and I was just told that they were very proud.

New laptop please. "For college"

Wait. I've been arguing with a teenager in that other thread? Oh FFS.

Congratulations anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Wait. I've been arguing with a teenager in that other thread? Oh FFS.
    Fail to see how that is relevant.
    Congratulations anyway!
    Thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Back in 1985 :eek: I got nothing - now the ubiquitous 'they' are talking about dumbed down courses, easier marking etc. and little Johnny and Mary get cars or sun holidays as a reward for being able to spell their names right.

The world is a funny old place. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

When i did mine back in '98, one of the lads got a brand new Audi for passing :eek:. Someone else got 100pound for every subject they passed.

I think i might've got a mc donalds as a reward, but i could be just thinking that to make me feel better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'd like to see the English results form the Bebo generation.

My cousin's kid got enough points for the course he wants to do in Maynooth. I shook his hand and said "well done".
    In fairness to him, he did study hard for his exams.

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭CrazyChick18

My brother got his results today got aload of cards with money from the family!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

A kick in the hole can be afforded any time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I got a bike, but that was to cycle to college with.

I'm not sure if it was a present or punishment...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

I got a lift to the VEC office to apply for the Higher Ed. grant and was subsequently shipped off to college...

In fairness, if i'd gotten a car i would have sold it for drinking money so they probably made the right decision... :D