Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€1m tunnel between Leinster House and the Department of Agriculture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

to throw the cat amongst the pigeons, i wonder who they are paying 700k per year rent...

an outragous suggestion, maybe Noel Dempsey can take the govt jet around the world to look at examples of tunnels we could use as a prototype

muppets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

dean21 wrote: »
    they dont give a ****
    A guy had to chain himself to the front of a ESB office in dublin yesterday to try and stop them cutting off his ESB and these S**M bags of TD'S and i mean all TD'S are on about doing this
    This county is a joke

I doubt the ESB would cut off a paying customer without good reason :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

I suggest in the times that are in it that this project should be scrapped.

FG will send that Clare Co COuncillor to a training course on giving interviews.

IN particular on the questionable wisdom of joining a Joe Duffy phone in when two ladies wre on the warpath there already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

bamboozle wrote: »
    to throw the cat amongst the pigeons, i wonder who they are paying 700k per year rent...

an outragous suggestion, maybe Noel Dempsey can take the govt jet around the world to look at examples of tunnels we could use as a prototype

muppets

I agree that Noel Dempsey would need to go on this junket fact finding mission but I think Batt O'Keffe as minister for trade & Innovation (closest thing to a jobs minister!) should also go. Mary Harney should possibly also go to cover any health and safety issues that may arise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Tbh, I would almost have the tunnel just so we can no longer have the farce of seeing civil servants trotting towards the entrance to Leinster House, documents clasped in a death-grip to their chests.

Some of the stuff being carried over now should really be brought with security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

nuac wrote: »
    I suggest in the times that are in it that this project should be scrapped.

FG will send that Clare Co COuncillor to a training course on giving interviews.

IN particular on the questionable wisdom of joining a Joe Duffy phone in when two ladies wre on the warpath there already.

Sorry, but you're falling into that media/politician nonsense speak - this tunnel should not be built at all in good or bad times! If our 'leaders' had been more astute during the good times we would not be in the present state of horrors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

Tbh, I would almost have the tunnel just so we can no longer have the farce of seeing civil servants trotting towards the entrance to Leinster House, documents clasped in a death-grip to their chests.

Some of the stuff being carried over now should really be brought with security.
    Or maybe they could just use email?

On the "being given out to" for being behind on spending, this is normal practice in most companies. If you set a budget with a plan to execute that budget (i.e. complete a plan of work) you need to spend it on time. Delayed spending usually means the job is not getting done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Or maybe they could just use email?

On the "being given out to" for being behind on spending, this is normal practice in most companies. If you set a budget with a plan to execute that budget (i.e. complete a plan of work) you need to spend it on time. Delayed spending usually means the job is not getting done.

this is assuming budgets are adjusted for deflation which has had a major impact in this country for the last 24 months.

Yes Jud Day I agree that if these premises are adjoining it is hard to justify the tunnell.

Re budgetting I had thought by now the system of having to spend an allocation or lose it would be reviewed. I thought at least that the state had moved to multi-annual budgetting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Why is a tunnel necessary? Can't they just knock part of the adjoining wall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

Cowen seems addicted to digging holes for himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Whatever day they open this we should have a cement truck labelled "the will of the Irish people" and have a photo shoot as if cement was about to pour into the entrance while all of the TDs were down there......

It feels like I'm on a different planet to these "waste money" merchants........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Knock the back wall. Or get one of the guards standing outside to go walkies with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 cabhog

This comes with the caveat that it is all hearsay. But anyway.

The story I've been told is that the political journalists based in Leinster House were moved from there a few years ago to somewhere on Molesworth Street down by the Passport offices. They had a fit about this, but only moved because they thought they would be going back to their original offices.

However, when the work was being done in Leinster House to repair where they had been working, it became apparent that they would no longer be able to go back to their old offices. This caused the political journalists and their papers to become slightly excited as they would no longer have easy access to the people they were meant to be covering. This would have consequences for the quality of coverage, etc. etc.

Ultimately after much discussion and as part of the final compromise the journalists accepted being relocated to Agriculture House on the basis that they will be able to get easy access to Leinster House from Agriculture House i.e. the underground tunnel.

On my few visits to LH the political journos seem to hang around the Dáil bar.

Why would they need offices?- can tap out their story on a laptop and email it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 cabhog

nuac wrote: »
    On my few visits to LH the political journos seem to hang around the Dáil bar.

Why would they need offices?- can tap out their story on a laptop and email it in.

They could indeed - but maybe they might want a place where they can put their books, print stuff off, check their emails and make phone calls in relative privacy you know, all the stuff everyone uses an office space for?

Their argument is apparently that if they are to get their stories directly from TDs and Senators personally or by observing committee, Dáil or Seanad debate, then having an office five, ten minutes away would hinder them.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Sleepy wrote: »
    Why is a tunnel necessary? Can't they just knock part of the adjoining wall?
    It is already possible to walk from Ag House to Leinster House internally.

This thread is pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

taconnol wrote: »

I don't think the thread is pointless, the tunnel however....

So can someone answer why the feck they want a tunnel then?

I'd make a FOI request, but it'll cost me, and likely the tunnel will be built by the time I get a clear answer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

Nijmegen wrote: »
    So can someone answer why the feck they want a tunnel then?

I'd make a FOI request, but it'll cost me, and likely the tunnel will be built by the time I get a clear answer.

Why not just send the OPW an email about it if you really want to know?

Given that it's already possible to walk from Ag House into Leinster House internally, that some TD's offices are already located in Ag House, my feeling is that this is a non story. I just can't see how a tunnel would be necessary.

Why not just send the OPW an email about it if you really want to know?

Given that it's already possible to walk from Ag House into Leinster House internally, that some TD's offices are already located in Ag House, my feeling is that this is a non story. I just can't see how a tunnel would be necessary.
    If you've ever tried to get information from an arm of the state you'd know why not... It'd take a freedom of information request and a month just to get the vague answer.