Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCU Newcomers 10/11 - Introduce yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Radio Gaga

johnn wrote: »
    Yeah DCUfm seems to have come on loads since i was starting CS, loads of new equipment since then, looks a great set-up in the studio now.

ah Eoin Campbell, as someone in my class described him....."he looks like
    Jesus....the carpenter years!"

Yeah it has indeed! Hopefully this year it can get even better.It's a great way for us to train and get experience in the area we ultimately want to go into.
    Lets just say there were more than a few girls who were smitten with him...including me. haha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 paul_haych

Paul, 17 starting Aviation Management!! Cant wait to start! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

ah Eoin Campbell, as someone in my class described him....."he looks like
    Jesus....the carpenter years!"
    that poor guy is always getting bothered by first years. I spent so much time trying to track him down while my class were doing an assignment for Audio class, using the recording studio. If fixes something in there for you, make sure you pay attention to what he does so you'll know next time. So many times it took over an hour to get a studio set up cause whoever was there before had been messing with random buttons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 The_Joyster

Is ANYBODY here doing International Relations? I feel so friggin lost and I'm not even in Dublin yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭InkNut

Radio Gaga wrote: »
    Lets just say there were more than a few girls who were smitten with him...including me. haha!

Yous are all mad for Eoin Campbell... Even when he goes on his ego trip showing you everything he's done "This is me scuba diving, This is me at Niagara Falls, This is me delivering octuplets with my hands tied behind my back":D

Future School of communications students watch out he can be a bit 'hands on' with his inclination to randomly walk past and touch your back or shoulder in the mac lab ha...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

InkNut wrote: »
    Yous are all mad for Eoin Campbell... Even when he goes on his ego trip showing you everything he's done "This is me scuba diving, This is me at Niagara Falls, This is me delivering octuplets with my hands tied behind my back":D

Future School of communications students watch out he can be a bit 'hands on' with his inclination to randomly walk past and touch your back or shoulder in the mac lab ha...

TBF to him he was sound, came out drinking at the end of 3rd year with us, brought his camera and got loads of photos and did a class for us etc.

It's Marie-Louise in radio you need to watch out for! Kicked me out for missing one lecture saying "I hope you like Photography...", had to get Mary Nulty to ask her could i go back into the class

Really??? Wow, i knew already not to be late or miss her class, but thats just put the frighteners up me. Did she let you back in? And if so did she hold it against you?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Never had a class with her, but I emailed her last year about the possibility of doing a radio thesis even though I chose video for my production module. Let's just say the 'response' I got from her fully convinced me I made the right choice sticking with video.

I know people say she's a fantastic lecturer and they're probably right, but a bit of manners wouldn't go astray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

Daysha wrote: »
    Never had a class with her, but I emailed her last year about the possibility of doing a radio thesis even though I chose video for my production module. Let's just say the 'response' I got from her fully convinced me I made the right choice sticking with video.

I know people say she's a fantastic lecturer and they're probably right, but a bit of manners wouldn't go astray.

Won't be expecting any favours from her then in relation to switching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 colddesert

heeey! names tracey im 19, doing communications and staying in Larkfield! I still havnt got any info sent out to me yet tho :/ anyone else not got anything yet or is it just me??? im so sick of waiting to start would love to move up tomorrow and start the partying! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Jammy

colddesert wrote: »
    heeey! names tracey im 19, doing communications and staying in Larkfield! I still havnt got any info sent out to me yet tho :/ anyone else not got anything yet or is it just me??? im so sick of waiting to start would love to move up tomorrow and start the partying! :D

Enjoy!

Make the most of communications! It's all about extra curricular work, and sure you'll have enough time for it with only 16 hours a week :p

Communications is fun :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭frankymail

Hey Whats up, the name is Franky.

Wanted Communication but got Multimedia, wasn't happy at the start but happy now, can't waait.

Really??? Wow, i knew already not to be late or miss her class, but thats just put the frighteners up me. Did she let you back in? And if so did she hold it against you?:pac:

We had someone else for semester one Radio in 2nd year who was real laid back and didn't know anyone by name really like most lecturers, so when semester two came around a couple of people missed the first two lectures of term cos they had arranged a Society trip away to Berlin & a whole host of other reasons, she asked who had missed the first two lectures and told the people who had to get out but had to let us back in, we went to the communications secretary and we were let back in the next week. she had no choice really as we'd already done semester one in radio so couldn't do anything else plus video was already full and I'm sure none of us wanted a drastic change from radio to photography & it couldn't be imposed upon us considering there wasn't even marks for attendance in the class, as there is in some modules.

Watch her on Vincent Brown on TV3 when she's on, she loves a bit of drama so she will do the odd crazy thing but she won't hold things against you. By third year she knew all of us by name, there was great banter between herself and the class(still don't cross her) and when you do something she really likes, she'll really let you know about it and it feels great, like you've really earned the praise.

She was a real throw-back to being in school where you all had be there each week and had some sort of homework to hand in, she knew everyone by name too. You won't appreciate having all the work at the time but its one of them classes all the people look back on and have funny memories of, it was a real right of passage kind of thing dealing with Marie-Louise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 x_Ashy_x

seanaor wrote: »
    dc203, science education. Cant wait!
    Urizen wrote: »
    Yeah, I had a look at one of the SE1 Maths papers before. Eep.

Hey =) I'm a 3rd year SE so if ya's have any questions feel free to throw em this way =) The course can be hard but it's well worth it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 George Oscar Bluth

Any attractive ladies coming to DCU next year?

Perhaps some who like....magic!

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTcfl69H-kADK0M0deE1mfn_gF6UY5KvX_DlXuzhrRGdJDaLE0&t=1&usg=__5_O4B7z4KTrkzM2ox1LAz8r5Na4=

COME ON!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭MightyMighty737

Maeby....

Jammy wrote: »
    Enjoy!

Make the most of communications! It's all about extra curricular work, and sure you'll have enough time for it with only 16 hours a week :p

Communications is fun :cool:

16 hours :O thats unreal! is there many assignments? ya i plan on joining the mps society ive looked at some of their vids on youtube and it looks really cool! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 ained

Should hopefully be doing Computer Applications, don't want to say for sure until monday though :)

I accepted Computer applications too.. woo.. hope you got it :D :cool:

frankymail wrote: »
    Hey Whats up, the name is Franky.

Wanted Communication but got Multimedia, wasn't happy at the start but happy now, can't waait.

Multimedia is a great course, and in some ways better than communications. (although now the Commies are gonna murder me for saying that) To be honest alot of whats taught in both courses is the same for the most part. Both courses produce great work and great students. It's those pesky journo students you have to watch out for.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 carrie19

Think this may have been asked in another thread not sure but
    -once ya make you're subject selection is there anyway to change it if your not happy with it?..:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭StiLL-TrAiNinG

carrie19 wrote: »
    Think this may have been asked in another thread not sure but
    -once ya make you're subject selection is there anyway to change it if your not happy with it?..:o

Yeah, there's a change of mind form you have to fill out I think.

https://www.dcu.ie/registry/forms/pdfs/R37.pdf

DCU are pretty good about letting you swap around if you're unhappy, you just have to do it within a certain timeframe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Lads could anyone tell me what the story is with playing football for DCU? Will there be trials when we start? Thanks.

16 hours :O thats unreal! is there many assignments? ya i plan on joining the mps society ive looked at some of their vids on youtube and it looks really cool! :D

All I can say is don't leave your assignments to the last week at least tryyyyyy and get them started early. There's usually one assignment per module which isn't too bad really, some presentations.

DCUtv have a lot of plans this year so you should definitely get involved, we've loads of jobs for everyone. We'll be running around campus during orientation week as well so come up and say ello! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Dervilla27

Im soooooooooooooooo excited to be doing Communication Studies in DCU! everything that I've heard bout it is really really good!!!!:) Just wish my DCU letter would arrive already!!!!!:S

Dervilla27 wrote: »
    Im soooooooooooooooo excited to be doing Communication Studies in DCU! everything that I've heard bout it is really really good!!!!:) Just wish my DCU letter would arrive already!!!!!:S

Aaaaa, I remember this feeling from last year :rolleyes:

The year went mighty quick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭seanaor

is there many others still 17 starting? I feel like il be missing out for the first couple of weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭irish_boy90

SantryRed wrote: »
    Lads could anyone tell me what the story is with playing football for DCU? Will there be trials when we start? Thanks.

Pretty sure there is a club, in the second week there is a club and socs day where everyone signs up for them. I assume they wouldn't be holding anything untill after that day.

So you should have a good while to get in touch with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Oresama0_0

seanaor wrote: »
    is there many others still 17 starting? I feel like il be missing out for the first couple of weeks!

I will be 17 for the whole year :|

Jammy wrote: »
    All I can say is don't leave your assignments to the last week at least tryyyyyy and get them started early. There's usually one assignment per module which isn't too bad really, some presentations.

DCUtv have a lot of plans this year so you should definitely get involved, we've loads of jobs for everyone. We'll be running around campus during orientation week as well so come up and say ello! :cool:

awh sounds brilliant i'll def come up to ye thats if I don't get lost :P
    i'm sooooo excited!!! :D

awh sounds brilliant i'll def come up to ye thats if I don't get lost :P
    i'm sooooo excited!!! :D

You'll have to bow to Jammy, she'll be running the show in MPS this year:)

And take her advice with TV stuff and you'll learn alot from her.

Now Jammy, give me my 5er ha!!!

haha im bowing already! :P another question (sorry) but is any laptop fine for the communications course? or is their one ye would recommend! i should be giving ye fivers after answering all my questions haha

Id say communications would need a fairly good laptop.
    If you use some of the same programs as we do in Multimedia then you'd want to have a fairly powerfull one, particularly for any video editing, or Photoshop.
    School of communications uses nearly nothing but Macs in class. The ones in the labs are really good so you might be fine just using those. with a less powerful laptop for typing assignments.

is any laptop fine for the communications course? or is their one ye would recommend!

Like noodleworm suggested, its all about the Mac once you get into communications or multimedia. They're very pricey though, so the Macs on campus will do you until/if you decide to get your own. I only got a mac this summer, so had spent all of 1st year using the ones on campus, which isn't bad at all except that sometimes it can be hard to get a computer around assignment/project time.

Macs are a very sophisticated computer and it'll take you a little time to get used to them as its a whole new operating system compared to your usual laptop that uses windows. Sounds complicated but its not. For the most part the video, audio and photo software you'll be using to edit is mainly only available for Macs. You'll be encouraged to invest in one, but you can easily do without one in first year I guess.

And don't stress about using them at first, it took us all awhile to get used to them. Good luck with communications, join MPS, DCUfm, journalism society, college view newspaper, fotosoc, yada yada yada you know the deal:D

Like noodleworm suggested, its all about the Mac once you get into communications or multimedia. They're very pricey though, so the Macs on campus will do you until/if you decide to get your own. I only got a mac this summer, so had spent all of 1st year using the ones on campus, which isn't bad at all except that sometimes it can be hard to get a computer around assignment/project time.

Macs are a very sophisticated computer and it'll take you a little time to get used to them as its a whole new operating system compared to your usual laptop that uses windows. Sounds complicated but its not. For the most part the video, audio and photo software you'll be using to edit is mainly only available for Macs. You'll be encouraged to invest in one, but you can easily do without one in first year I guess.

And don't stress about using them at first, it took us all awhile to get used to them. Good luck with communications, join MPS, DCUfm, journalism society, college view newspaper, fotosoc, yada yada yada you know the deal:D

You definately wont need a mac in first year, the video assignment in first year is pretty basic you'll do it in a couple of hours sitting in the mac labs in the Henry grattan building.

Ask around people like Eoin Campbell or somebody about what you will need. I did radio and alot of the editing equipment, including a pricey looking hardware add-on were in the mac labs and were used by everyone, if you get a mac looking to do your own editing you may find you don't have the necessary software/hardware etc needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭StiLL-TrAiNinG

Oresama0_0 wrote: »
    I will be 17 for the whole year :|

I was 17 all through first year as well. I guess I didn't really have a problem with it as I don't drink.

All my time was spent with societies, none of them have any age limit (apart from maybe one or two events a year where they might go out somewhere special).

http://www.dcu.ie/students/clubs.php3 is a list of most of them, there's pretty much something for everyone.

Although most probably won't be starting up properly until week 2 or 3 I guess.

</shameless c&s pimping>

>_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Oresama0_0

I was 17 all through first year as well. I guess I didn't really have a problem with it as I don't drink.

All my time was spent with societies, none of them have any age limit (apart from maybe one or two events a year where they might go out somewhere special).

http://www.dcu.ie/students/clubs.php3 is a list of most of them, there's pretty much something for everyone.

Although most probably won't be starting up properly until week 2 or 3 I guess.

</shameless c&s pimping>

>_>

I don't care for drinking really...

Games club.. anime and manga club.. oh yes weight lifting! perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭irish_boy90

Oresama0_0 wrote: »
    I don't care for drinking really...

Games club.. anime and manga club.. oh yes weight lifting! perfect!

Three societies that go hand in hand.

Haha cheers!

I'm only running the TV side don't worry, thought I do love FM aswell :cool:

Just do as much as you can and have fun with it, I had to do a lot of stuff I didn't really fancy doing as well to get experience.

Oh and I ended up investing in a Macbook also but the new version doesn't have firewire only MacBook Pros but they're even more expensive again.

If you want to get into your practical and production modules in Multimedia and Communications they're very handy.

Societies and Clubs are the most fun in college! Most of my best friends are from societies not my class.

ya its hard to know whether to just wait and just use the ones there or to just buy a mac I need a new laptop anyway because the one I have has no memory left and is really really slow and about to give up on me! Macs are so expensive though! DCU doesn't have any deals on Macs like UCC has no? I know friends who get discount for Macs when they are UCC students!

Awh ya I cant wait to join all the different clubs and socs! I just hope they don't all clash and I have to quit some :P

yeah, we get a student discount on mac, I just got mine the other day from the apple store (you should find a link on your portal page) got about 100 euro off.still, expect to pay about 1000 euro, though its lighter, and lasts better.
    I just got the macbook, as the pro was a lot more for not much difference. Its not my main computer though, I saved all last year for a desktop. that I intend to be using for the next 5 years or so- For really powerful stuff...games, 3d work, HD video.. laptops aren't really cost efficient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 carrie19

All the Communication students.. Wheres all contempory culture and society peeps? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 timmyb

Hey,
    Im a 'Mature Student', male & starting Psychiatric Nursing :o Anyone else on this course? I heard there is Orientation for two days for Mature Students beginning this Monday and Tuesday, 13th and 14th?? I haven't seen it confirmed anywhere though. I know Freshers Week is not til the 20th. Can anyone throw light on this for me please?

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Laydee

timmyb wrote: »
    Hey,
    Im a 'Mature Student', male & starting Psychiatric Nursing :o Anyone else on this course? I heard there is Orientation for two days for Mature Students beginning this Monday and Tuesday, 13th and 14th?? I haven't seen it confirmed anywhere though. I know Freshers Week is not til the 20th. Can anyone throw light on this for me please?

Cheers!

YAY!!! Another nursing student! I'm a mature student starting children's & general nursing this year. We will be sharing a few core nursing classes as far as I know. The mature student days are on Monday & Tuesday. Are you coming along Timmyb? It starts on Monday morning at 9:30am in the business school. Looking forward to meeting some nursing students on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Anyone else check there draft timetable on myportal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Yup hoping mine doesnt change too much :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

DGRulz wrote: »
    Yup hoping mine doesnt change too much :P

Nice!

Mine is okish. Except for Thursday where I have 4 hour break between two classes. Probably be nice for a first few weeks but I can't see myself saying "I wish I had that class earlier so that I could go home earlier!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Laydee

Anyone else check there draft timetable on myportal?

Yep, I got confused by it though. A few of my lectures clashed with others so I rang them, turns out it was a really rough draft & may be totally different in 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭nehpets5555

do the draft timetables change much when the time classes start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Last year the timetable for me completely changed a week before the course started (with one or two changes even after it started).

Also from what I hear the timetables up now are all last years.

I believe they are all last years timetables. Also if you have classes clashing on the timetable you might notice some say group 1 or 2 at the bottom, sometimes your class will split in two to give you smaller groups, its usually alphebetical.