Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fallout: New Vegas

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

I'm enjoying it so far, camera angle doesn't stretch out so far on third person, which is a shame. And whats with reading skill improvements like Pugilism magazines and science magazines or barter? they only last a few minutes unlike fallout 3.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

I'm enjoying it so far, camera angle doesn't stretch out so far on third person, which is a shame. And whats with reading skill improvements like Pugilism magazines and science magazines or barter? they only last a few minutes unlike fallout 3.

Some, I think mags are temporary and last ~1min, get you out of a hole and others, books I think, are permanent and add +3 to whichever skill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭VenomIreland

quarryman wrote: »
    Scanned back through this thread but can't seem to find it:

I have a ton of weapons to sell, where can i find the best vendor with the most caps to offload it all?
    Gun Runners, near Freeside.

I did that Caravan mission where you have to steal the specs from the Gun Runners' factory, but someone died .. well .. half the factory .. and Alice told me they'd be looking for revenge. Will I be able to deal with the Gun Runners any more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Just decided to see what all the fuss is with Deathclaws and Frack me they're hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

They are. I reckon the clue is in the name tbh. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Mick and raplhs and gun runners the best for guns. BOS not bad either.

I have 102000 caps have all the implants bar one.

Heres how i got them, 1st start with Nipton thats worth about 7000 caps and find the 188 trading post. Dump every single thing you want to keep into something then take every single item you can carry and fast travel to 188, sell everything go back to Nipton and repeat until every building is cleansed(knives forks cups clothes guns ammo if it can be taken take it).

I use teh 188 as from travel to sale its fairly quick. Repeat this on every town you find (with no enemies helps) and you can get up to 70k caps quite easily but its time consuming. You may bleed the shops dry and have to wait a day to go back just use another one while your waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Gun Runners, near Freeside.

Finally found them but the Protectron only seems to carry 1000 caps...

quarryman wrote: »
    Finally found them but the Protectron only seems to carry 1000 caps...

That's strange, he normally carries around 8k for me.

Think I'll take a break from New Vegas for a while and play some Morrowind :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,674 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I did that Caravan mission where you have to steal the specs from the Gun Runners' factory, but someone died .. well .. half the factory .. and Alice told me they'd be looking for revenge. Will I be able to deal with the Gun Runners any more?

How did you get inside the factory?I could'nt find a way in,also did you fail the mission seeing as half the factory died?

I went in through the front door .. I don't actually know how. Didn't technically fail the mission as Alice did give me some caps, but just not the whole amount. Well, it was more about 4 people that died I think and it wasn't even me, Veronica killed 'em all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭kearneybobs

Thanks for using spoilers there! rolleyes.gif
    kyub wrote: »
    They are. I reckon the clue is in the name tbh. :D
    Yeah. I started to move closer to Vegas and soon encountered them. Killed two of them, and though they were weren't too hard. Started to get closer
    into the quarry
    and I was being massacred. So I gave up. I'll come back later when I'm leveled up and have some more powerful weapons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

God damn, doc!
    He won't start the chain to bring back the enclave. I want the power armour as i had to blow up the BoS. NCR don;t seem to be offering me power armour either :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Level 21.....died and game saved as i was leaving a door!!!!!!!! In an endless cycle of death.....cant bring up pipboy to take anything....am pissed!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

Started playing this yesterday and now im hooked. First game in well over 2 years to do this to me. Im level 7 at the moment trying to find all the side missions as I go so im not very far.

Question though. I thought that when you wear other peoples clothes that there meant to think your a member of there crew. No matter what I do people like the powder gangers etc are always shooting on me...Feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

cursai wrote: »
    Level 21.....died and game saved as i was leaving a door!!!!!!!! In an endless cycle of death.....cant bring up pipboy to take anything....am pissed!!!!

Happened me when i was like level 7 or something, going into the
    NCRCF
    , took me about 6 goes and i eventually got out the door and just start throwing dynamite at the door as they came out :)

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

Any one know whats the best way to repair wepons and armour with out paying for it, can you get a repair hammer like in fallout3?

Repairing with other stuff

there was no repair hammer in Fallout 3 :confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,103 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Kill someone with the same stuff, loot it, once you've got two of the same thing you can repair it.

robinph wrote: »
    Kill someone with the same stuff, loot it, once you've got two of the same thing you can repair it.

Or get Repair to 90 and get Jury Rigging, repair with similar stuff :)

BEST PERK EVER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭YouSavedMyLife

Engaged my first Deathclaw today. Had Veronica with me as i just picked her up from the 188. He two shotted her while i was pelting his legs out of it with a Modded Lazer rifle. Then came and two shotted me. Didnt even cripple one of his legs. Anybody that says "They arnt to hard" Or "They where easy enough" arnt playing this game on Very Hard...

They are alot harder than in Fallout 3 + the lack of the dart gun is insane. Im gonna use explosives or a mine next time i face one and hope to get a leg cripple.

• Registered Users Posts: 866 ✭✭✭LuckyFinigan

there was no repair hammer in Fallout 3 :confused:

Was nearly sure there was, maybe its oblivion im thinking of.

Yep, there's some in Obliv and Morrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Lads, as someone who is a fan of this type of game and genre, somehow I have managed to not play any of these games (Oblivion, FO3 etc). From a newcomers point of view, if was to purchase.......is there any point in me jumping straight at New Vegas? Or should I just get FO3:GOTY because of its value?

Fizman wrote: »
    Lads, as someone who is a fan of this type of game and genre, somehow I have managed to not play any of these games (Oblivion, FO3 etc). From a newcomers point of view, if was to purchase.......is there any point in me jumping straight at New Vegas? Or should I just get FO3:GOTY because of its value?

Get Fallout 1 and 2 first, simply because they have a much better story and atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Get Fallout 1 and 2 first, simply because they have a much better story and atmosphere.

Hmmm not sure if I'm quite up to jumping back to games developed in the last century. :)

I'm sure they have waaaaaaayy more substance alright, but nowadays my gaming is largely on the PS3 (shamefully never made use of the monster rig I built and spent over 2k on 3 years ago).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Fizman wrote: »

If you have that kind of time then yes get FO3:GoTY by all means I put 120 hours into it on a single play. Be prepared to do the same in NV if that gets a hold of you, I'm 40 hours in so far and I have yet to progress the story past the 2nd act and have 50 % of the map still unexplored :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,099 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Stupid mother****ing crashing.

I cannot go into a casino now without the game crashing.

They ask to take my weapons, I agree, sound of weapons leaving my inventory - crash. Happens every time. Have to restart the console. :(

Going to remove all my weapons and then try. Fingers crossed I can at least still get in that way.

/edit - they still ask for your weapons, even if you don't have any. And the crash still happens.

****ing fantastic. There's that game ruined for me.

/Further edit - tried so of my earlier saves. This crash first happened after 20 hours 45 min.

Tried an 19 hours 9 min save - crash happens.
    Tried an 18 hours save - crash happens.

Anyone else experiencing this?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,674 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

o1s1n wrote: »
    Stupid mother****ing crashing.

I cannot go into a casino now without the game crashing.

They ask to take my weapons, I agree, sound of weapons leaving my inventory - crash. Happens every time. Have to restart the console. :(

Going to remove all my weapons and then try. Fingers crossed I can at least still get in that way.

/edit - they still ask for your weapons, even if you don't have any. And the crash still happens.

****ing fantastic. There's that game ruined for me.

That ****ty,what console you playing it on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,099 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

360 :( So it's not like I can try to figure out a workaround as if I was playing it on a PC.

Not sure what to do now, I was really really enjoying this.