Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fallout: New Vegas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

I see what you did there! Unfortunately I am playing as
    Semigood fella now. On my second game I will go bad ass melee psychopath, and yes I will take that perk :) . Yummy!

Does water count as food? So restoring health 10k hp with water in the lake will get me achievement for food?

Btw stim only give me 10hp and my med skill is like 60! It will be alot of damn stims I tell ya....

Are you playing on hardcore? I'm not sure about normal but on hardcore stims healed over time not right away, so for example that 10 would be 10 per second for 5 seconds.

Water counts as food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

calex71 wrote: »
    Are you playing on hardcore? I'm not sure about normal but on hardcore stims healed over time not right away, so for example that 10 would be 10 per second for 5 seconds.

Water counts as food.

Hardcore too m8. I thought it's health restored per 9 secs lol.

Thx m8!

http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.php?%2Ftopic%2F1179411-an-update-from-bethesda%2F Nothing earth shattering but a patch is very good news.
    Hi everyone,

On behalf of all of the hard-working teams at Bethesda and Obsidian, I’d like to give you an update what we’ve been working on these past few months.

Well, here’s what happened: our next DLC release (announcement coming very soon, we promise) has been complete while we worked on getting a patch ready for you all. We didn’t want to just release more DLC before we had a patch that would improve the overall New Vegas experience.

The good news is that we do have such a patch and it’s been handed off to the necessary platform owners. It should be released in the next couple of weeks on 360, PS3 and PC (can’t be more specific than that, I’m afraid, although PC will almost certainly get it first).

So what’s in that patch? First and foremost, optimizations and stability improvements. While there are bug fixes, our core focus was on improving stability and performance. We worked directly with first party platform owners to identify issues, and we have fixed a great deal of the crashes and lockups that people were experiencing. In addition, we scoured the forums and this patch includes weapon balance tweaks and other requested fixes.

We know we’re not done yet. There’s still more work to do, and we’ll be monitoring the forums very carefully following the release of this patch, looking for more issues. We do have another update planned further down the line.

So I’d like to apologize for the radio silence. Hopefully you’ll be pleased with the enormous amount of work we’ve put into this update over the last few months, and will enjoy the rest of our DLC releases. We have some pretty cool stuff coming soon. Stay tuned!

Thanks,
    Jason Bergman
    Senior Producer, FNV

So patch in next few weeks... And I bet patch will go before dlc... So next dlc will be in 1-2 months so.... Crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

I'm finally only getting around to playing this in the past week. I'm about 15 hours in (maybe) and I'm slightly bored by it. There doesn't seem to be much that rewards exploration in this, although I do appreciate the lack of hidden walls in comparison to 3. It also feels that there are far less quests in comparison, at the moment i've only about 4 open to me.... It's not for lack of me looking either. I'm done with Mr. House and I just feel that I'm missing something and time is running out.

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭AllYourBass

Good stuff, now I can go back to clearing it on hardcore, the cazador feeding frenzies coupled with the glitches made the process far more of a drag than it should be!

I'm finally only getting around to playing this in the past week. I'm about 15 hours in (maybe) and I'm slightly bored by it. There doesn't seem to be much that rewards exploration in this, although I do appreciate the lack of hidden walls in comparison to 3. It also feels that there are far less quests in comparison, at the moment i've only about 4 open to me.... It's not for lack of me looking either. I'm done with Mr. House and I just feel that I'm missing something and time is running out.

You went to the strip way too early :eek:

I was around 40ish hours in by the time I got to the gates even.

I got banned from my first casino lol.

2 to go, but problem is: no slots in ulta luxe... It will take ages with blackjack ...

One thing I hated to do now... I want to do mr.house chain first time, but he asked me to wipe one faction, that I really don't want to... They were my main suppliers if firepower as gun runners stock have not changed for me since I descovered them :(

If you invest in the luck stat you are pretty much unbeatable in black jack ;)

There are also some things that will boost your luck , sexy nightwear is one if i recall :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

You went to the strip way too early :eek:

I was around 40ish hours in by the time I got to the gates even.

Going by what I read on a few forums I was surprised by how quickly I got there too. There was nothing else to do though, at the same stage in Fallout 3 and Oblivion i had quests falling out of my ass.:D

There are also some things that will boost your luck , sexy nightwear is one if i recall :D

So that's where I was going wrong, makes sense I suppose, couldn't even win the slots for love nor dead money.

My luck is only 5 :(. Don't want to waste perks for stats too thought... Already got 2 str so I could pick up bar, but its useless vs power armour, I got that antymaterial sniper rifle which is just.... Epic?

Btw can you actuolly get the armour fella is wearing on titlescreen? I haven't seen it once...

My luck is only 5 :(. Don't want to waste perks for stats too thought... Already got 2 str so I could pick up bar, but its useless vs power armour, I got that antymaterial sniper rifle which is just.... Epic?

Btw can you actuolly get the armour fella is wearing on titlescreen? I haven't seen it once...

Yes but by the time you are either strong enough to get it from the 1st location or far enough in the story for the 2nd location theres not much point to it, at least there wasn't in my case :(

Other than the fact that it looks uber swank!

Deleted

I really want thar amor. Is it counted as power armour?

Btw I am 7.9k profit in ultra luxe... FFA I hate blackjack already..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I really want thar amor. Is it counted as power armour?

Btw I am 7.9k profit in ultra luxe... FFA I hate blackjack already..

Its easier to make money in fnv than it was fo3.

I don't do it for caps. I know it's piss easy to get caps here. I do it for achievement.

Btw can anyone explain me: how the feck you play that caravan ****...

Finally 15k cap in ultra luxe...

How many caps I need to win in tops to get banned so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

I don't do it for caps. I know it's piss easy to get caps here. I do it for achievement.

Btw can anyone explain me: how the feck you play that caravan ****...

I don't think it's possible to play it. I've never managed to do anything except get to a point where my only option is to quit. They should have just made it like snap or something. :D

It's difficult enough to learn how to play it, but once you do, you'll be rolling in caps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,674 ✭✭✭DirtyBollox

i just throw my cards around the table until the other person wins. :o

I just need enough knowledge to be able to get achievement ....

Some reading here http://www.trueachievements.com/achievement.aspx?achievementid=68143

I actually used a smaller hand I think, than what was detailed in the guide but I was winning 9/10 games with the strategy and wasn't just relying on luck.

Basically you need to get 3 columns of cards to total 21 - 26 make use of the kings, if the AI player gets a caravan use a jack or queen.

Just finished the game, sided with mr. House.

I can say that main quest was such a disappointment. It is very short too.

Atleast fallout 3 had those mind **** quests... That virtual reality thing... Damn I loved the game up until last quest...

I will take my time with second play... Kind of left a bad taste in my mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Mkb1441

Here, Lads, has anyone else here took on the Deathclaw Promontory
    like a boss!?

'Cos I did :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,999 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Havent played Fallout in ages. Just watched Book of Eli there and it reminded me so much of the game the landscapes, trading etc. Without mutants etc :D

GBX wrote: »
    Havent played Fallout in ages. Just watched Book of Eli there and it reminded me so much of the game. Without mutants etc :D

Suggest fallout 3 then. It feels like wasteland, Vegas feels like some third world country... Story wise fallout 3 is waaaaaaaay better lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,999 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Suggest fallout 3 then. It feels like wasteland, Vegas feels like some third world country... Story wise fallout 3 is waaaaaaaay better lad

Ah I have both .. I meant played either in ages :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

GBX wrote: »
    Havent played Fallout in ages. Just watched Book of Eli there and it reminded me so much of the game the landscapes, trading etc. Without mutants etc :D

Reminded me of it too :)