Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A COMPLETE Beginner!

• 20-08-2010 12:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 26

Hi everyone...

Well as the title says... I am a complete beginner! I am hoping to turn about €50 into... well as much as possible... mostly for the enjoyment of it... but also Im getting married in 2012, and it would be an added bonus to have a few bob to put towards that!

I have set up an account with Paddy Power so am all ready to go! :D

I havent told the fiance about this... he'd probably go mad!! :o
    But €50 is my limit, and Im in no rush either so...

Any advice/tips that you have would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Silence.

Hello, and welcome to the world of gambling!

I'm relatively new myself, and the one bit of advice I would give you, is do some research. Don't just blindly back tips, make sure you put in some work yourself.

What sport(s) will you be betting on?

Good luck with your betting, and your wedding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 sofaqueen

Cheers Silence.

Im not sure yet about what to bet on ... probably horses.. I did already do a 5 horse accumulator on Paddy Power... 50c each way i think (:D), four of my horses won but the last one wasnt placed, so bummed with that! It was only a € though.

I dont really know enough about football to start betting on it yet...

What is your plan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Main advice: Stop while you are ahead.

General advice: Follow some of the logs (Pyro is a popular tipster here) and try to get a feel for why the people who can pick a horse manage to pick winners at good value. It takes some getting used to but if you start betting now with no real direction you'll see that 50 vanish quicker than you can imagine.

Cheers for that Scooper. Slow and steady is the plan... Im not getting married until 2012, so Ive plenty of time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

sofaqueen wrote: »
    Cheers for that Scooper. Slow and steady is the plan... Im not getting married until 2012, so Ive plenty of time :D

Oh in that case I would start just by getting a feel for the horses just by watching as many races as you can and also keeping an eye on the reasons why people back horses (form, weight, etc.).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Ask paddy power to give you odds on your marriage lasting 10 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

If you have never gambled before then my advice would be not to start.

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭everyday taxi

Hi everyone...

Well as the title says... I am a complete beginner! I am hoping to turn about €50 into... well as much as possible... mostly for the enjoyment of it... but also Im getting married in 2012, and it would be an added bonus to have a few bob to put towards that!

Thank you!

Put that 50 on Sheff Wednesday to win tomorrow.
    Go to paddy power shop tomorrow before 3pm
    and write this on a docket

£50 win

Sheff Wed 5/6

When they win you will have made £41.66 profit
    as it will return £91.66. Handy money.

Nulty wrote: »
    Ask paddy power to give you odds on your marriage lasting 10 years.

What the??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Goldcupfav wrote: »
    If you have never gambled before then my advice would be not to start.

Total rubbish.

Anyway, main thing is to not bet more than you can afford to lose. You have to be willing to lose the lot. So keep your stakes low to start with.

Main thing is to reserach everything and stick to what you know. By that I mean if you are into rugby, you will probably know more about that than say football.

Next (and a lot of people here will not agree) is not to be on accumulators. The odds on say predicting five outcomes may look good. Way I look on it is that the more games are added onto your docket, the more likely you are to lose.

Finally take a long term view on things. It's not about trying to make as much money as quickly as possible.

Enjoy!

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭everyday taxi

Put that 50 on Sheff Wednesday to win tomorrow.
    Go to paddy power shop tomorrow before 3pm
    and write this on a docket

£50 win

Sheff Wed 5/6

When they win you will have made £41.66 profit
    as it will return £91.66. Handy money.

Hope you took this advice. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Mezcita wrote: »
    Total rubbish.

Anyway, main thing is to not bet more than you can afford to lose. You have to be willing to lose the lot. So keep your stakes low to start with.

Main thing is to reserach everything and stick to what you know. By that I mean if you are into rugby, you will probably know more about that than say football.

Next (and a lot of people here will not agree) is not to be on accumulators. The odds on say predicting five outcomes may look good. Way I look on it is that the more games are added onto your docket, the more likely you are to lose.

Finally take a long term view on things. It's not about trying to make as much money as quickly as possible.

Enjoy!
    not rubbish at all,how many people you know make profit at gambling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

heavyballs wrote: »
    not rubbish at all,how many people you know make profit at gambling?

It depends on how safe and smart you are. Say you're backing things at like 1/7 and you're putting 50 euro just to make a small win, that's gonna be a sure thing at odds like that, you hope.

If you're doing things like 5/1 for 2 or 3 euro at the start and deposit say 80% of your winnings each time and only make smart bets, you're bound to be able to make a profit. Just don;t overreach. A lot of problems with people making profits is that the higher wins look a lot better, say 50/60 euro on a 10/1 or something, it's only worth it if you have about 2/3 grand from winnings.

OP, if you start off slow and steady, you'll be sure to win. Just don't let it go to your head, even if it's a "sure thing".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

You can make a profit from gambling if you are smart with it and never betting more than you can afford to lose. Knowing when to bet small and when to go large and when not to bet. Obviously we can't predict the future but if you don't feel comfortable with a bet don't just bet on it because some others are. Instinct and gut feeling has fared me well in this game. More so when it comes to staying away from a bet. You also need a bit of luck. Look at some of the logs and go with people that seem to be on a streak or gives good reasoning for their selections. Headshot who posts in the "football tips from a pro" thread is on fire at the moment. His selections could be worth looking at but don't bet the 50 all in one go.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Hi everyone...

Thank you!

Just out of curiosity what made you go to the bother of opening a pp account to start gambling if you have never done it before?

my advice is to withdraw your money and close your account.
    horse racing,dogs,football,snooker,cricket,athletics the list goes on have all been exposed as rigged at certain times,horses and dogs are every day.
    sofaqueen gambling is a mugs game.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity what made you go to the bother of opening a pp account to start gambling if you have never done it before?

horse racing,dogs,football,snooker,cricket,athletics the list goes on have all been exposed as rigged at certain times,horses and dogs are every day.

Why are so many people trying to discourage her? She's got at least one year and 3 months to get 50 euro up to X euro. Even if you never gambled before (I never did till the world cup this year) it's not that hard to look around on the internet and do some research yourself or ask well known gamblers on the internet for advice. She just needs to keep her bets small at first.

Why is there so much negativity in here? I'm not just talking about you Robbie, but seriously, where's the logic in that. As someone said earlier: "If you have never gambled before then my advice would be not to start." Absolute rubbish. If you entertain that logic, there would be no-one betting and we wouldn't be having this conversation. I'm new to gambling, and I don't regret one bit the decision I made.

As for your second point. Alright, some games in all sports may be rigged every once in a while. But, honestly now, the chances of a match being rigged are very small. I'd say something if you're betting on some obscure league, but I'd say the OP will be betting on popular events. The Premier League in football, for example. Are you trying to tell me there are rigged matches in that, or in the Heineken Cup?

To the OP, ignore all the negative comments, and stick with it. If you ever need any tips or if you have any questions, don't hesitate in sending me a PM.

at odds like that, you hope.

OP, if you start off slow and steady, you'll be sure to win. Just don't let it go to your head, even if it's a "sure thing".

this is probably the most inacurate stupid comment i've ever seen,sure to win?yeah,that's why you see hardly any betting shops closing,op don't beleive this,it's not easy in fact it's nigh on impossible,the comments made by myself were called negative but to me they're just pointing out the facts,the odds are stacked against the punter

silence and chaotic forces without being disrespectful if u are both new to gambling then l dont think u should be giving the OP any advice.

outside the uk and Ireland how many countries have bookies?

very little and why is that?

gambling is bad news.

lets say the OP has a sprog is it good to bring up a child in a gambling athmosphere.
    all negative comments are coming from people who if they could turn turn back time would never have started gambling.

silence and chaotic forces without being disrespectful if u are both new to gambling then l dont think u should be giving the OP any advice.

all negative comments are coming from people who if they could turn turn back time would never have started gambling.

Without being disrespectful, I would say my advice is a bit more helpful then yours.

Well, why would you want to go back and change that? It's obviously something that you did wrong. There's nothing wrong with some moderate gambling, once you bet what you can afford and don't rely on it as an income source.

Silence. wrote: »
    Without being disrespectful, I would say my advice is a bit more helpful then yours.

Well, why would you want to go back and change that? It's obviously something that you did wrong. There's nothing wrong with some moderate gambling, once you bet what you can afford and don't rely on it as an income source.

agree with this but the majority spend money that should be spent on kids etc,i know lots of people in my local,the family look like they have nothing and the dads have no problem sticking €50 on a horse,myself i back for the fun,small stakes on golf and football,very little horses but i don't know many people who make money from it........do you make profit? honestly

Oh, OP, while I'm at trying to be helpful. I understand that PaddyPower has a limit on what you can deposit in your account. Might I suggest you take a certain amount of money from your "spending money" (what you can afford to throw away each week on a take away or something) and put that as the limit you can put into the account each week/whenever you get paid? That way you'll actually have a barrier to stop over spending what you can't afford.
    this is probably the most inacurate stupid comment i've ever seen,sure to win?yeah,that's why you see hardly any betting shops closing,op don't beleive this,it's not easy in fact it's nigh on impossible,the comments made by myself were called negative but to me they're just pointing out the facts,the odds are stacked against the punter

What? Which part of "slow and steady" didn't you get? It's not like I'm saying put at least a tenner on a "sure thing". I said don't let it go to her head if it's a "sure thing". Look at the America VS England match, England is a good team, America sucks, everyone was saying "back england"... I played a total of 3 euro to back England and lost it! Even if it's a "sure thing" you need to take it slow and steady at the start is my point. You are sure to win if you take it slow and steady instead of spending 5/10/15 euro on a "sure thing"...

gambling is bad news.

lets say the OP has a sprog is it good to bring up a child in a gambling athmosphere.

Alright I see your point, I do. But she's new to it, like I am and still I wouldn't put more than 5 euro on a bet even if it had about 80% chance of it being a win. I'm just giving her the advice I used when I started and sure, I've taken a couple of hits but slow and steady wins the day.
    agree with this but the majority spend money that should be spent on kids etc,i know lots of people in my local,the family look like they have nothing and the dads have no problem sticking €50 on a horse,myself i back for the fun,small stakes on golf and football,very little horses but i don't know many people who make money from it........do you make profit? honestly

Alright now I see your point, you're talking about long term gamblers that have problems. She's new at it; so am I. Let's say I make 400 per week, and bills cost 240, that's 160 for myself and my spouse/kids. I'd probably say to myself "sure I'll grab a fiver and make a few bets". If she's not over reaching she'll be fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

gambling is bad news.

Post reported. F.uck knows why you are posting in the "gambling" forum if you are so anti-gambling in the first place. The fact that this forum is here in the first place is because it was approved by the various people in charge.
    It's similiar to going on to smoking forum and giving out about people who smoke.

Gambling is a hobby to literally thousands of people in Ireland. Be it poker, bingo, the lotto, everyone does it. While there are obviously people who have become addicted to gambling it does not mean that the whole thing is the fruit of all evil.

You suggested that outside Ireland, very few countries have bookies. Wrong. There are currently 76 jurisdictions which offer sportsbetting to customers.

http://online.casinocity.com/jurisdictions/

Can I suggest that you get your facts straight and take the useless advice elsewhere.

What? Which part of "slow and steady" didn't you get? It's not like I'm saying put at least a tenner on a "sure thing". I said don't let it go to her head if it's a "sure thing".

so i'm to pressume that you do this as a job,just take it slow and steady and you'll make money from a starting €50,what a load of bol***,why not start up a log with all you're 'sure things'and then we'll all be rich .get a grip and think before you post something in future

What? Which part of "slow and steady" didn't you get? It's not like I'm saying put at least a tenner on a "sure thing". I said don't let it go to her head if it's a "sure thing".

QUOTE]

so i'm to pressume that you do this as a job,just take it slow and steady and you'll make money from a starting €50,what a load of bol***,why not start up a log with all you're 'sure things'and then we'll all be rich .get a grip and think before you post something in future

I just said not to let it go to her head if it's a sure thing...

Look, I bet every... week/second week. I'd spend at most about 15/20 euro between those two weeks that would probably go on a takeaway or something. I generally have good luck. Sure I bet small but small bets are less to lose and if you win, you still win.

If she's betting something like 2/3 euro on a bet that's 5/1 or something, yeah I'm sure if she goes with good tips she'll break even at the very least after a few bets. The point is that small bets = safe. "Sure things" with little money = little money if you lose.

Alright now I see your point, you're talking about long term gamblers that have problems. She's new at it; so am I. Let's say I make 400 per week, and bills cost 240, that's 160 for myself and my spouse/kids. I'd probably say to myself "sure I'll grab a fiver and make a few bets". If she's not over reaching she'll be fine.

chaotic every problem gambler had your theory at one stage and hoped it would stay like that.
    hardened gamblers didnt start out losing their wages or dole in 1 day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

jesus wept

In gambling there is no "sure thing", there is research, and a lot of luck.

Some people make alot of money out of it, some people fool themselves into thinking they're making money, e.g

say you make 3 bets over the weekend for 3-4 weekends in a row, two of them come through to win you €100 each, so that's €200.

Chances are you've probably placed more than that in bets, 9-12 bets to win 200, chances are not much profit has been made.

I'd say research alot, cannot stress how important that is, read posts from the likes of horseboxo, pyro, headshot, they all have alot of information in them as to why they make there bets, and most of them have a decent success rate.

chaotic every problem gambler had your theory at one stage and hoped it would stay like that.
    hardened gamblers didnt start out losing their wages or dole in 1 day.

Yeah that's the damn problem with the whole gambling thing.

Take me for example. It was the world cup, it was some match (I forget what one). But I was really, really fu*king confident I'd win. So I made the bet and I did win! I won about... 3 euro! I also made a second bet because I thought it would be fun and I lost an entire euro

Every problem gambler/drinker/drug user said at one point "ah sure it's only one more, what's the harm?". Every smart person said "it's a hobby, I make a note of what I can AFFORD to lose.
    Think of when you were a kid and you saved your pocket money up for a toy, by the time you save it up it's suddenly 15 euro/pound cheaper so you get a second toy. That's how gambling gets to be a problem because you just "spend the extra/bit more". If you go to the bookies (I'm not talking about online, I've never done that) with X amount and only that amount, you'll be fine if it's money you can afford to lose.
    When you start saying "next time I'll win/I've got a sure feeling/I'm due for a luck turn", that's when you need to stop yourself.

But 1/2/3 euro bets... if you can afford a take away for 9/10 euro, you can afford 3 euro on bets and home made dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

I have deleted some posts

Lads if you cannot post and be civil to each other without goading each other then don't bother posting

This is the gambling forum, coming in here preaching about the evils of gambling is not really wanted, the OP didn't ask for that discussion they wanted advice on betting

Take that debate to humanities or another such forum, any more discussion of it and people will be banned

We have advice in the charter thread about gambling problems

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

Nobody has mentioned keeping records or a staking plan of any sort?