Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pull up, pull down, stand tall

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Friday 12/10/12

Snatch form blocks at the knee
    bar
    40 xfew
    50 x3
    55 x3
    60 x1

Rack jerk
    bar
    60 x1power+1split
    70 x1+1
    75 x1+1
    80 x1+1
    85 x1 power
    90 x0
    90 x1 power PR
    90 xsplit miss
    80 x1
    85 x1
    90 x1
    95 x1
    100 x0

Curls
    15 x3x10
    ss
    Plate ext
    25 x4x12

Some messing about with the new jerk blocks. Looking at it now that's a lot of jerks. I probably would have got 100 if i went againn but I'm going to train in the morning too. 125 backsquat looks unlikely now and my shoulders are being unsound. Corkaigh prep is going exactly to plan.

Saturday 13/10/12

Snatch
    bar
    55 x2
    55 x1
    60 x1
    65 x1
    69 x1
    73 x1
    75 x1
    75 x3x0

C&J
    bar
    70 x1
    80 x1
    85 x1
    90 x1

Back Squat
    60 x5
    80 x5
    100 x5
    110 x5
    120 x5
    125 x5

RDL
    60 x5
    80 x5
    90 x5
    100 x5
    110 x5

YTW
    4kg

The plan was to work up to near my openers so that's done. Had wanted to make 75 for a few singles, great disappointment. I'm fairly sure the squat is a 5 rep PR, thank god I'm done with them. Did not think I would get 125.

Light day monday, up to openers again Wednesday and maybe a light day thursday or friday. Right now I'm looking to open on 75/95, we shall see.

One other thing; the missed snatches were similar to Wednesday, caught them fairly well over head, just slightly forward but couldn't hold it. Must remember.

Monday 15/10/12

Power snatch
    bar
    50 x2
    55 x2x1

Power C&J
    bar
    70 x2x1

1 leg squat
    bw x8
    10 x3x10

Wednesday 17/10/12

Snatch
    bar
    55 x1
    60 x1
    65 x1
    69 x1
    72 x1
    75 x1

C&J
    bar
    60 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1
    86 x1
    91 x1
    95 x1

Back Squat
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x2
    110 x1
    120 x1

shoulder prehab

Them's my openers. Felt grand. Now we'll see if I can hit them hungover.

Friday 19/10/12

Snatch
    bar
    50 x1
    55 x3x1

C&J
    bar
    50 x2
    60 x1
    65 x3x1

Almost no point in doing it session. Cork tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

Did you get lost on Sunday?

token wrote: »
    Did you get lost on Sunday?

Yep. In the bathroom. Making weight strategy gone horribly wrong.

Not going into a blow by blow account, it'd be below emo.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Scuba Ste wrote: »
    Yep. In the bathroom. Making weight strategy gone horribly wrong.

Not going into a blow by blow account, it'd be below emo.

Damnit man! Sorry to hear about that.

Tuesday 30/10/12

Power Snatch
    bar
    40 x2
    45 x2
    50 x2
    55 x2x2
    60 x2

Snatch pulls
    60 x3
    65 x3
    70 x3 no straps, hands ruined.

Back Squat
    50 x5
    70 x3
    90 x2
    100 x1

Curls and plate extensions
    15 x2x8/25 x2x10

First proper session since getting sick. Was in the gym on Saturday just moving around the bar and it was hard. Less hard tonight. Heavier tomorrow and hopefully back around normal weights by the weekend and then kill myself next week, taper and don't get sick in Belfast.

Wednesday - Halloween

Snatch
    bar
    50 x2
    55 x2
    60 x2
    63 x1,0/1,0/2/1,0

Rack jerk
    bar
    50 x2
    60 x2
    70 x2
    75 x3x2

Back Squat
    40 x8
    60 x5
    80 x5
    100 x5
    110 x5

NG Chins
    bw x2x5
    10 x3x5

1 arm press
    10 x2x8
    17.5 x6/2x8

Snatches were woeful. Maybe yesterday affected them, maybe the week off is catching up, maybe I should take up something like cheerleading.

Friday 2/11/12

Snatch
    bar
    55 x3
    60 x2
    63 x2
    66 x1
    68 x4x1
    70 x2x1

C&J
    50 x2
    60 x2
    70 x2
    75 x2
    80 x1
    85 x4x1

Back Squat
    70 x5
    90 x5
    100 x5
    110 x5
    120 x5

Out in ECB with some DCU lads. Snatches were very good, I could have gone higher tbh. C&J was about right, heavy but not enough to miss. 120 was a grinder, didn't think I'd get all the reps but stubbornness got me through. Very tired finishing up but it felt like a good session. One of the lads back squat 170 pretty handy after missing it first and nearly flattening Wayne.

Saturday 3/11/12

Power Clean
    bar
    50 x3
    60 x2
    70 x3x2

Clean pulls
    70 x3
    80 x3
    90 x2x3

RDL
    70 x5
    90 x5
    100 x5
    110 x5
    115 x5

Db row
    17.5x8
    25 x8
    40 x3x5
    30 x10

Very slow.

Monday 5/11/12

Power Snatch
    bar
    40 x few
    50 x2
    55 x2
    60 x3x2 felt sluggish

Non-deficient Snatch Pulls
    50 x3
    60 x3
    70 x3
    75 x2x3 felt heavy

Front Squats
    50 x5
    70 x3
    80 x3
    90 x3

Curls and plate extentions
    15 x3x8/25 x3x12

Face pulls
    3x12

Felt slow and heavy today; it was supposed to be light. Pulls were sufficient though.

Wednesday 7/11/12

Snatch
    bar
    50 x3
    55 x2
    60 x2
    63 x2
    65 x2
    67 x2
    69 x2
    71 x2
    73 x2 PR
    75 x4 sets 1+0/0+1/0x2/1+0 technically PR

Rack Jerk
    girls bar
    40 x2
    50 x2
    60 x2
    70 x2
    75 x2
    80 x1+0
    80 x2x2

Back Squat
    70 x5
    90 x5
    100 x5
    110 x5
    120 x5
    125 x4+fail

Ah. 73 is a PR for a double and 75 is a PR for 3 singles but 75 x2 would have been nice. Fcuked up the first set by making an ugly second attempt which saw me jump forward about a foot, I don't normally do that. I think I was a bit too happy with 73. Next few sets were better but just couldn't make the double.

Squats were hard. It was all hard and tiring but it was good. Mustn't forget to eat now.

Friday 9/11/12

Power Snatch
    bar
    40x2x3
    50 x2

Power Clean
    50 x3
    60 x2
    70 x2
    75 x2

Clean Pulls
    75 x3
    80 x3
    85 x3
    90 x3
    95 x3

YTW

Light day. Hope to do something tomorrow.

Sunday 11/11/12

Snatch
    bar
    50 x3
    55 x2
    60 x1
    65 x1
    69 x1
    71 x1 misloaded. forgot to put a 1 on the other side. stupid. still caught it.
    76 x1 misload again. meant to be 74. still caught it. beast.
    78 x0 had to end sometime

C&J
    50 x2
    60 x1
    70 x1
    75 x1
    80 x1
    85 x1

Back Squat
    60 x5
    80 x3
    100 x2
    115 x1
    125 x1
    135 x1
    145 x nope

Was not the best. Felt very tired, I'd only been up about an hour. Not a huge fan of morning sessions. Snatches felt really slow and effort-full warming up but got a bit better as it went on. Surprised i got 76, it just felt a normal amount of heavy as opposed to 2kg more than i thought it was. Just tired 78 for the craic not really trying to catch it.

By the time I got to C&J i was just tired and lacking energy. 85 was a wobbly so left it at that; the previous few were crap too.

Ah the squat. I had 145 on the bar and was really close to unloading it and calling it a day. Should have done that. Never got near making it, I didn't think I was going to get it so I didn't. Might have if I was training with others, didn't really make big attempt.

Should be better come Saturday with a bit of tapering and proper fueling and rest.

Also I need to do more volume in the jerk. Only taken this long to figure out.

Tuesday 13/11/12

Power Snatch
    bar
    50 x2
    55 x1
    60 x1
    65 x1

C&J
    bar
    60 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1
    85 x1
    90 x1
    95 x no jerk

Inverted rows
    3x15

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Maybe you should start letting someone else load the bar for you, not tell you how much is on it and just PR consistently...? :D

Hanley wrote: »
    Maybe you should start letting someone else load the bar for you, not tell you how much is on it and just PR consistently...? :D

I think at this point the best thing is to start letting someone else lift it for me too.

Coach more - instead of just your own PRs, you can claim everyones. That's what I do. :D

Yeah I don't like them PR-ing, it means they're getting better than me. I'm trying sets of 10 snatches followed by box jumps but no-one's broken an ankle yet. I am expecting big results from them in the super-compensation phase; they'll be limping everywhere, fingers crossed.

Stop training, claim you're on sabbatical to focus on coaching (this means your numbers no longer matter), talk about your old PRs, and if necessary just confuse ppl with technical tweaks they never have enough time to really try hard and get better.

Successful coaching 101. Can't learn that sh*t.

Stop training, claim you're on sabbatical to focus on coaching (this means your numbers no longer matter), talk about your old PRs, and if necessary just confuse ppl with technical tweaks they never have enough time to really try hard and get better.

Successful coaching 101. Can't learn that sh*t.

Do you do seminars Coach Hanley?

Thursday 15/11/12

Snatch
    bar
    50 x1
    55x 3x1

C&J
    50 x2
    60 x1
    65 x2x1

YTW
    3x8

Ext Rotations
    3x10

Stretching

NI Open 17/11/12

Weighed in at 70.5kg :(

Honestly wasn't expecting a great day so shouldn't have been too surprised it wasn't one. Training's been stop-start recently and weight's been falling off me so...

Openers I gave were 72/92, thinking quite conservatively.

Snatch
    Warmed up to 75, put my opener to 77
    77x lost behind. Caught it, held for a second or tow but just lost it.
    79 good lift
    82x press out.

C&J
    warmed up to 92, put my opener to 95
    95 good lift
    100x no jerk, after waititng about 10 mins to lift
    100 good lift

Total 179
    Sinclair 236.38

3/6, total is down, sinclair is up.

Really only went because a few lads from DCU were lifting and they well for their first comp. Considering the amount that were lifting it was a very well run competition as it usually is in UUJ. Seen a 170 snatch too.

Tuesday 21/11/12

Snatchin'
    bar
    50 x2
    55 x2
    60 x2
    63 x2
    65 x2
    67 x3 cause one of the lads couldn't

C&J
    50 x2
    60 x2
    70 x2
    75 x2
    80 x2
    83 x2x2

Back Squat
    60 x5
    80 x5
    100 x5
    120 x2x3 meant to do 110.
    90 x10

Shoulders are very sore. I need to get a jerk.

Cycled out to Sutton and back this morning too. About 35-40mins each way. Once your on the coast cycle track it's a great cycle.

Friday 23/11/12

Power Snatch
    bar
    50 x3
    55 x3x3

Power Clean and Jerk
    50 x2+2
    60 x1+2
    65 x1+2
    70 x3x1+2

Front Squat