Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pull up, pull down, stand tall

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

I don't even like chocolate that much so two eggs would need all kinds of psyching up to get through. I might need some ammonia too. And heavy metal music.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Scuba Ste wrote: »
    I don't even like chocolate that much so two eggs would need all kinds of psyching up to get through. I might need some ammonia too. And heavy metal music.

Well...sharing is caring...Just sayin':D

Saturday 7/4/12

Warm up
    Sumo squats
    knee lifts
    ham walks
    dislocates
    wall slides
    bird dogs
    airplanes
    t push up
    band pulls

Snatch
    bar
    50 x2
    55 x1
    60 x1
    63 x1
    65 x1
    67 x10x1 w/ 1 min rest

PClean&Jerk
    bar
    50 x2
    60 x2
    70 x2
    75 x2
    78 x4x2

Back Squat
    50 x5
    70 x3
    90 x3
    100 x3
    110 x3
    120 x4x3

Fairly decent sesh, everything feeling handy enough. Good buzz in the gym too, everyone doing max singles while I fart around with 67.

Pizza and ice cream; the fuel of champions.

Sunday 8/4/12

Warm up
    hurdle steps
    overs unders
    quad walk
    dislocates
    t spine rotation
    cook hip lift
    x band walk
    scap inv row
    OH 25kg plate shrug

Db bench
    12.5 x2x8
    20 x5
    25 x5
    30 x2x5

Inv Row
    bench x10
    10 x5x10

Plank
    25 x3x60s

YTW
    3x5/5

The small stuff takes more effort than anything else. Finished with planks for a while, I'm strong enough at them.

Monday 9/4/12

Leg session with the lads in The Edge Clontarf

Band Front Squats
    50 x3+bands (45kg)
    60 x3
    70 x3
    80 x3
    90 x3
    95 x3
    100 x3
    105 x1

Back Squat
    110 x7
    115 x2x7

GHR
    haha x a few

Leg curl
    x a few

Went out to the edge to train with a few of the lads there. Good craic, squats were grand but i have no hamstrings, none at all. GHR's were comical, I ended up just doing negatives because I had nothing there, the other lads were bouncing up like springs for reps. Did leg curls then which weren't much better.

Bands are really weird, they just don't give in and they pull ya all over the place if you let them. Couldn't even get my stance right some times. Nearly fell over doing back squats after it.

My legs are in a heap now. I jumped into a cold bath when I got home, should be fun tomorrow.

Thursday 12/4/12

Power Snatch from hip
    bar
    50 x2
    55 x1
    58 x1
    60 x3x1

Power Clean from hip
    bar
    60 x2
    65 x1
    70 x1
    75 x1

Rack Jerk
    bar
    40 x2
    50 x2
    60 x2
    70 x2x1

Legs have been ridiculously sore since Monday, walking has been a challenge. Couldn't get into good positions off the floor or from the knee so just went from the hip. Should be good to go from the floor again on Saturday.

Was planning a lighter week next week but this week will do. Can't believe how sore I've been.

Sunday 15/4/12

Snatch
    bar
    50 x2
    55 x1
    60 x1
    63 x2x1

C&J
    bar
    60 x1
    70 x1
    75 x1
    80 x1

Back Squat
    75 x3
    95 x3
    110 x1
    120 x1

Hams are still a bit sore but not stopping me getting into position. Back at it this week. 4 weeks to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

4 weeks to go.

Well that's depressing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Hams are still a bit sore but not stopping me getting into position.

That's good. You're only as strong as your weakest muscle and you're only as loose as your tightest.

Hanley wrote: »
    That's good. You're only as strong as your weakest muscle and you're only as loose as your tightest.

Once he's fully aware of it he should be fine.

Paudee wrote: »
    Once he's fully aware of it he should be fine.

He might not know yet. Needs more patience.

A bit weirded out that you decide to flirt with each other in my log but have at it, we live in a modern society and all.

Functional screen this morning. My right hip flexor is impinged and my left glute med is weak causing the right side to take up the slack and impinge itself. Got some stuff to do and she recommended not going below parallel for a week or so.

Anyone know where to get a hockey or cricket ball.

A bit weirded out that you decide to flirt with each other in my log but have at it, we live in a modern society and all.

Functional screen this morning. My right hip flexor is impinged and my left glute med is weak causing the right side to take up the slack and impinge itself. Got some stuff to do and she recommended not going below parallel for a week or so.

Anyone know where to get a hockey or cricket ball.

Elverys suffolk street, top of the stairs on the right, for a hockey ball.

I'd say all of them half them, but that's where I got mine.

Tuesday 17/4/12

Warm up and rehab stuff

Power Snatch
    bar
    45 x2
    50 x1
    54 x1
    57 x1
    60 x10 x1

Rack Jerk
    bar
    40 x2
    50 x2
    60 x1
    70 x1
    77 x1
    82 x6x1

Front Squat to parallel
    50 x2x3
    70 x3
    80 x3
    90 x3
    100 x3
    105 x3
    110 x3

GHR
    4x5

Pull up
    3x8

Not a fan of powers or high squats. Hip is feeling a bit better though.

It was all fairly handy anyway.

Thursday 19/4/12

Warm up and rehab

Power Snatch
    bar
    50 x2
    54 x1
    58 x1
    61 x1
    63 x1
    66.5 x1 miss loaded, still caught it :cool:
    65 x5x1+1 miss+1 caught below parallel

Power Clean+Jerk
    bar
    50 x2
    60 x2
    70 x1
    75 x1
    80 x6x1

Push Press
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x5
    50 x5
    55 x3
    60 x3
    65 x3x3

RDL
    65 x5
    80 x5
    90 x5
    100 x5 straps on
    110 x5

YTW
    4 x2x3+3

Seated Ext Rotation
    4 x3x8

Good sesh. I don't know how much I like power versions, they just feel slow. I don't if it's my timing or something. My everything is sore now.

Saturday 21/4/12

Warm up and prehab

Power Snatch
    bar
    50 x2
    54 x1
    57 x1
    60 x1
    63 x1
    65 x1
    67 x1
    69 x0
    70 x2x1 token PR

Power Clean+Jerk
    bar
    60 x2
    70 x1
    75 x1
    79 x1
    81 x3x1

Parallel Back Squat
    50 x5
    70 x3
    90 x3
    110 x3
    120 x3

GHR
    6x5

Inv Row
    bench x10
    10 x5x10

Still not going below parallel. 70's were caught parallelish maybe slightly below, especially the first rep. Just realised now PC were 81 not 82, easy anyway. Squats are just a waste of time, have to do something but going above parallel feels woeful.

Tuesday 24/4/12

Warm up + rehab

Snatch
    bar
    50x2
    55 x1
    60 x1
    64 x1
    66 x1
    68 x6x1

Front squat + Jerk
    bar
    40 x2+1
    50 x2+1
    60 x2+1
    70 x2+1
    78 x2+1
    82 x2+1
    85 x4x2+1

Front Squat
    60 x3
    80 x3
    90 x3
    100 x3
    110 x3

Db Bench
    12 x8
    17.5 x5
    24 x5
    30 x3x5

GHR
    4x8

Ext Rot
    6 x3x8

Was really hoping to go for some heavy reps tonight but alas the first 68 was wobbly and Harry said no. The rest were routine enough though. From Thursday I've been promised some max efforts which is just as well because the volume stuff is starting to do my head in tbh.

I think 110x3 is some kind of PR, which is not really worth celebrating, next week I'll see how many I can get at 120.

Trying to get my hams a bit stronger. Some serious cramping in the calves from the GHR's, any idea's what that might be?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,154 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I don't know what causes cramping but my calves threatened to do the same first two times I moved away from machine to doing them full on on the lat machines. It stopped after first two times.

Trying to get my hams a bit stronger. Some serious cramping in the calves from the GHR's, any idea's what that might be?

Tissue quality is probably the most obviously one. Do much release work on them? Stick? Golf balll? Hockey ball? The roller isn't much use for em.

I do them using a proper machine with foot plate so it's not that.

Tissue quality is poor. It's one area that I rarely stretch or roll and that's chronically tight. Such a useless bunch of muscles.

Thanks.

Thursday 26/4/12

Rehab and warm up

Snatch
    bar
    50 x2
    55 x1
    60 x1
    64 x1
    68 x1
    71 x1
    74 x1
    76 x1
    78 x3xmiss

C&J
    bar
    60 x1
    70 x1
    78 x1
    84 x1
    88 x1
    92 x1
    96 x2xmiss jerk

Pissed with how crap that went. 76 equals a PR from September. 7 months ago. Try again Saturday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

I had an even worse session on Wednesday night. I couldn't even bring myself to log it. Trying again tonight also.

Pissed with how crap that went. 76 equals a PR from September. 7 months ago. Try again Saturday.

I hadn't PR'd on a clean in 8/9 months untill last week, luckily, i've discovered the problem.

We're weak and shit.

I hadn't PR'd on a clean in 8/9 months untill last week, luckily, i've discovered the problem.

We're weak and shit.

I thought I had fully moved into the acceptance phase of this and would be less bothered. Nope. I was so sad. No more thrill seeking bi-cycling down hills for me.

token wrote: »
    I thought I had fully moved into the acceptance phase of this and would be less bothered. Nope. I was so sad. No more thrill seeking bi-cycling down hills for me.

I thought the bi-cycling was good for squats. I'd give it a go but it sounds too much like LGBT to me.

We're weak and shit.

I realised that long ago. Thought I'd try a technique approach. Didn't work either. Becoming a 130kg strongman is the obvious choice now.

Saturday 28/4/12

warm up stuff

Snatch
    bar
    50 x2
    50 x1
    60 x1
    64 x1
    68 x1
    72 x1
    75 x1
    78 x1 +2kg PR
    80 x1 +4kg PR
    83 x1 +7kg PR Get the fuck in

Power Clean + Jerk
    bar
    50 x2
    60 x1
    70 x1
    78 x1
    83 x1
    88 x1
    91 x1 PC PR no.2
    95 x2x1 PC attempts but caught in full clean

Front Squat
    40 x3
    60 x3
    80 x3
    100 x2
    110 x2
    120 x2 Rep PR
    125 x1 PR
    130 x1 PR no. 3

Other Stuff
    GHR 5 x3x5
    Inv Row 15 x3x10
    Curls 15 x3x10
    Tri Pushdown 3x10
    Ext Rot 7.5 x3x8

Fuck DCU and it's shitty gravity. Much better training with people stronger than you. Steve from the edge got 83 and so did Erin so I had to do I too. Happy days. It was an ugly snatch, my hips and shoulders were all over the place. I noticed on video on Thursday that I was receiving the bar with hips pointed in all weird directions, I'd say today was worse. Don't care though.

I think 90 was my best Power Clean, might be 87 can't remember. Some sprinter dudes were doing 105 fairly easy which is humbling.

Best front was 120. Doubled it and didn't think 130 would be there but 125 was handy so went for 130 and it was decent.

Eat and rest for 2 days and see how next week goes. Feeling good today though.

Saturday 28/4/12
    78 x1 +2kg PR
    80 x1 +4kg PR
    83 x1 +7kg PR Get the **** in

Ah I knew someone had to have been taking deposits from Aprils allotted PR allowance. Nice PR!

token wrote: »
    Ah I knew someone had to have been taking deposits from Aprils allotted PR allowance. Nice PR!

Cheers. It had to happen sometime. I was this close to a FML type post.

Looks like your training is coming together too. Hopefully it all comes together in Belfast.

Tuesday 1/5/12

Rehab and warm up
    Sumo squats
    Knee lifts
    Ham walk
    Dislocates
    Wall slides
    Bird dogs
    1 leg RDL
    T Pushup
    Band pull apart

Snatch
    bar
    50 x2
    55 x1
    60 x1
    65 x1
    69 x1
    73 x1
    76 x1
    79 x1
    81 x3x0

C&J
    bar
    50 x2
    60 x1
    70 x1
    78 x1
    85 x1
    90 x1
    95 x1
    98 xclean, no jerk.

Happy enough with that, wasn't expecting too much. No emo here.

Second 81 nearly crashed on my head, first time I've ever lost it like that. Third attempt I just didn't get under, same with the 98.

One more heavy session on Thursday and then taper, taper, taper, peak. So I'm told anyway.