Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone recognise this business man (MOD:Be civil pls)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

His name is Cormac. Sound chap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

The white shirt guy is an actor.

He was in Fair City last year - played the part of Daithi - a love interest for Ali Foley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

nlgbbbblth wrote: »

He was in Fair City last year - played the part of Daithi - a love interest for Ali Foley.

Is this white shirt guy:

Chris Gallagher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Is this white shirt guy:

Chris Gallagher?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

ebixa82 wrote: »
    His name is Cormac. Sound chap.

Actor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Dj

Is this white shirt guy:

Chris Gallagher?

He's gone from acting in Fair City to staging video clips about a vigilante in Dublin trying to rid the streets of liter bugs, his career is progressing nicely. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

nlgbbbblth wrote: »

That will explain the crap acting so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I hope all parties involved were able to resolve their dispute peacefully, negating the need for a violent bloodbath.

Also, who gives a sh1t about some bad tom cruise lookalike and a 40+ year old "yuppy" (the y stands for young) having a tiff over a suspiciously brand less water bottle, during dublin city councils new litter campaign.

Congrats sheeple, viral marketing wins again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Seems a little fake, noble cause all the same if it's real. The slow twirl to acknowledge all the "taxpayers" was a bit much imo, very aware of the camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

consultech wrote: »
    Seems a little fake, noble cause all the same if it's real. The slow twirl to acknowledge all the "taxpayers" was a bit much imo, very aware of the camera.

Well here's my take on it, since i started the thread.
    I think the girl who filmed it (Missuploader) is his mate and had seen him do this sort of thing before, so decided to film it this time.
    The white t-shirt fella being an actor doesn't surprise me at all, he's fairly confident in his public speaking and expressions.
    I don't think the suit is an actor, his reaction is too flustered and nonsensical to be anything scripted.

So i still genuinely believe it's gobsh1te throwing his rubbish on the ground and getting called up on it.

I hope all parties involved were able to resolve their dispute peacefully, negating the need for a violent bloodbath.

Also, who gives a sh1t about some bad tom cruise lookalike and a 40+ year old "yuppy" (the y stands for young) having a tiff over a suspiciously brand less water bottle, during dublin city councils new litter campaign.

Congrats sheeple, viral marketing wins again.

Marketing? So this is a sales technique for what exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Campaigning is a better word than marketing then. It's a public interest campaign, not advertising anything...

I'm not convinced by the video either tbh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

The sound is too good. They sound miked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

The aforementioned DCC littering campaign, huge ridiculous arrows and embarrassed civil servants standing around raising awareness of littering have been on the mean streets for the last few weeks. Call it marketing or raising awareness, doesn't matter, the technique is the same.

Who has a poxy water bottle with no label, a dignified guy in a suit?

If it had a brand on it, the video wouldn't be allowed, the main guy is an actor, and I'd bet the whole thing is staged, regardless, its incredibly tedious to see some eejits moaning about litter in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

Interesting how the video cuts off just as White T-shirt Guy goes to touch the business man, it probably started getting a lot more tense at that point, probably with wild accusations of assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Numina wrote: »
    Interesting how the video cuts off just as White T-shirt Guy goes to touch the business man, it probably started getting a lot more tense at that point, probably with wild accusations of assault.
    More like "Cut! Good job guys!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

I have a feeling that this is staged, part of a Dublin city council litter campaign, soon to be revealed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

Anyone else find it strange that 'The Citizen' is nowhere to be seen when all this is going on. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Anyone else wish the Spire fell down and crushed both of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

I love the 'Put it in the bin' 'No YOU put it in the bin!!' bit, so fcukin infantile it's unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭lisaface

phasers wrote: »
    Totally fake.

Also, yer man in the tshirt is really annoying.

How is he annoying?
    How is he Personally annoying you? :confused:

Christ you sound like a sheeple!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I reuse bottles over and over again, take the label off cos they're annoying.

Aside from that it looks pretty fake to me and sound is far to good for just a bystander's camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

lisaface wrote: »
    How is he annoying?
    How is he Personally annoying you? :confused:

Christ you sound like a sheeple!! :p
    Huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

The aforementioned DCC littering campaign, huge ridiculous arrows and embarrassed civil servants standing around raising awareness of littering have been on the mean streets for the last few weeks. Call it marketing or raising awareness, doesn't matter, the technique is the same.

If it had a brand on it, the video wouldn't be allowed, the main guy is an actor, and I'd bet the whole thing is staged, regardless, its incredibly tedious to see some eejits moaning about litter in public.

It's a hell of a lot more tedious to see the grown adults who continuously throw their rubbish on the ground when there are plenty of bins....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,890 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Thought it was real but the way that the white t-shirted lad just walks up and says in a very low tone "sorry mate" and the "business man" who clearly would have been walking in the same direction, hears him even though he's on a phone call and stops.

Could be wrong, but usually when I'm on the phone, I'm oblivious to most sounds around me, never mind the hundreds of "sorry mate"s that are heard in Dublin, especially in such a quiet tone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I reuse bottles over and over again, take the label off cos they're annoying.

Aside from that it looks pretty fake to me and sound is far to good for just a bystander's camera

plus they seem to attract more attention from passers by than tow people talking would, I suspect a decent camera, and boom mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,890 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

zuroph wrote: »
    plus they seem to attract more attention from passers by than tow people talking would, I suspect a decent camera, and boom mike.

And Charlie Bird nearby in a full "Dublin riot" reactionary state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

I don't think the suit is an actor, his reaction is too flustered and nonsensical to be anything scripted.

plus 1

he seems too flustered and unable to have a retort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Superbus wrote: »
    The "It's not my rubbish so why should I put it in the bin" argument was one that was commonly used when I was in Third Class.

White T-Shirt guy seems convinced of his superiority for some reason.

The suit guy comes across worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

zuroph wrote: »

How do you explain all of the people that walk between them and the camera equipment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

plus 1

he seems too flustered and unable to have a retort.

it's called improv!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Look at this aggressive yuppie arseh0le getting caught rotten..

I don't like litterers.

That said: I don't like either person in the clip that much.

Slightly off topic: What makes him a 'yuppie' by the way? A suit and laptop?

And I thought we were supposed to seek out non-abusive methods of criticism these days. Or this just a rule for celebrities and politicians?

stovelid wrote: »
    I don't like litterers.

And I thought we were supposed to seek out non-abusive methods of criticism these days. Or this just a rule for celebrities and politicians?

I'm not presenting a news report to you, the video is subjective. I've given my views on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

I wouldve taken the bottle off him and chucked it further down the street.

I may be wrong but I'll happily deal with the guilt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Any updates on the Business Man? Has he been jailed yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

I don't like litterers.

Well he's Young(ish) Urban(ish Dublin is urban isn't it) and a Professional(ish).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Tucking Fypo

Great video. The suit guy seemed morto and didn't know what to say. White T-shirt guy had some balls doing that too.

SugarHigh wrote: »
    Well he's Young(ish) Urban(ish Dublin is urban isn't it) and a Professional(ish).

I thought it was more his status as a easy dialectical straw-man for teenage derision.

I hate littering myself and don't do it, but I (assuming the suit isn't in on it) would have stuck the head on that t-shirt lad if he'd fronted me like that on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

PAULWATSON wrote: »
    I'll tell you what is lacking, a bit of cop on, you've swallowed the lot.

It irrelevant to me wheather this is fake or real. I was responding to a point someone made. If you think there are not people in this country that litter in a manner of this person actor or not, you are at least being naive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

bonerm wrote: »
    Any updates on the Business Man? Has he been jailed yet?

Sitting cross-eyed at the top of the Spire with the point wedged up his gearbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

I thought it was more his status as a easy dialectical straw-man for teenage derision.

I hate littering myself and don't do it, but I (assuming the suit isn't in on it) would have stuck the head on that t-shirt lad if he'd fronted me like that on the street.

So if you littered and someone asked you to put your rubbish in the bin you'd "stuck the head on that t-shirt lad " what ever that means, but I presume you, being an internet tough guy are suggesting you'd hit someone for telling you to pick up your own litter?

Is that correct or have I misunderstood your post some how?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭questioner

would have stuck the head on that t-shirt lad if he'd fronted me like that on the street.

so you've a problem with littering yet if you were "fronted" about it, your response is felonious assault? logical, yes? that is assuming "stuck the head" means headbutt and not kiss.

fair play to tshirt guy, typical irish response to being caught - bluster and insult. I'm sure clerical admin guy had quite the story to tell at the watercooler.

i hate littering, the inside of my car is like a mobile tiphead, i hate people chucking things from windows.

wonder would plain white t guy have approached bloke on sunday morning 3am and said the same? or if it was one of dublins misc chavs, now that would have been a video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yep, it's all part of a Dublin City Council anti-littering campaign. They've been hiring actors over the past few weeks to perform these "skits" in public and they'll probably be doing it for a few weeks yet.

I imagine the intention is to have people talking about it, just like this and to encourage people to confront litterers.

seamus wrote: »
    Yep, it's all part of a Dublin City Council anti-littering campaign. They've been hiring actors over the past few weeks to perform these "skits" in public and they'll probably be doing it for a few weeks yet.

I imagine the intention is to have people talking about it, just like this and to encourage people to confront litterers.

Great idea and long overdue, the DCC have really dropped the ball on the state of the city over the years, they introduced litter wardens to huge fanfare (and I presume huge cost knowing this place) a few years back, I've never heard of one person being done for public littering.

This sort of campaign, followed by a few high profile name and shame and large fine examples would make a massive difference to peoples attitude to littering.

The guy in the white t-shirt was in fair city a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

SugarHigh wrote: »
    The guy in the white t-shirt was in fair city a few years ago.

Great to see he's moved up in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

After finding out this is fake i have removed my "thank" from the OP's post.

The OP has just killed himself:(

Victor_M wrote: »
    So if you littered and someone asked you to put your rubbish in the bin you'd "stuck the head on that t-shirt lad " what ever that means, but I presume you, being an internet tough guy are suggesting you'd hit someone for telling you to pick up your own litter?

Is that correct or have I misunderstood your post some how?

Funnily enough, your aggressive post is actually more symptomatic of internet toughness than mine. I don't litter and wouldnt mind people having a word but not hectoring me.

Was taken in by the ad myself. Quite ingenious.

Funnily enough, your aggressive post is actually more symptomatic of internet toughness than mine. I don't litter and wouldnt mind people having a word but not hectoring me.

Was taken in by the ad myself. Quite ingenious.

Hang on a minute, I questioned your post as to whether you would acutally hit someone (after you suggested in your own post that you would) if they asked you to pick up your own litter, and you are accusing me of being symptomatic of internet toughness?? The mind boggles:confused:

Just because I didn't ignore your bull$hit toughguy comment doesn't make my last post agressive, this post on the other hand is a bit more agressive, if there were less people like you pretending to be tough guys and more people who were assertive/courageous enough to speak up when some one does something wrong, this would be a much nicer place to live.