Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Is Everyone Jealous Of Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

I don't really care about Dublin either way, don't hate the place or particularly like it. Its a typical small city with nothing special to offer though some of its inhabitants seem to have an over inflated opinion of themselves and their worth.
    James Joyce wrote:
    "For myself, I always write about Dublin, because if I can get to the heart of Dublin I can get to the heart of all the cities of the world. In the particular is contained the universal."
    which to me just says that Dublin's only virtue is its mediocrity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

biko wrote: »
    No-one is jealous of Dublin. We do not like Dublin.
    When are Dubs going to get that?

No chip on shoulder, no minority complex, no jealousy.
    You can stop kidding yourselves now.

Ok, why don't you like Dublin? Sure it's not as exciting as London or Berlin, but its not a bad old spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

muffy wrote: »
    What's your beef with the Luas? Dublin is a capital city, its quite a busy place, it needs integrated public transport. In fact, it needs more Luas' (Luases? Luasi) I'm sure the government spend whats left over from farmers grants on "Junkies taxi fare" (whatever that may be?) in other towns down the country as well. Don't be feeling so hard done by, country cousin :)

Also, that article is pretty disgraceful. I can only imagine the outrage if it had been written by a Dublin dweller, or if Dublin even had an equivilant website...such bitterness.

shame it doesn't have that intergrated transport system.

irish-stew wrote: »
    shame it doesn't have that intergrated transport system.

I know, OMG maybe Corkonians would come to love Dublin if it did!

i might even go a little more often my self

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Dublins a grand city, have nothing against people from Dublin. Im usually up there a few times each year & i always have a laugh.
    What you have to understand is certain folks on boards tend to annoy people with the culchie references to anyone outside of dublin. Even people living in other cities like cork, limerick, galway etc. Thats kind of insulting.
    Lets face it Dublins basically a bigger version of cork city. Honestly its just a nice little town compared to the likes of london or Sydney (ive lived in both cities).

And the people saying ooh...jealous??? FFS grow up. The Cork people who inexplicably hate dubs are usually a minority of ignorant scummers who've never left cork & hate anyone who's not from cork. Every city has these type of people.

Lifes too short to bare a grudge with people who live 200 miles up the road.

Que the hilarious comedic observations extracted from certain sentences in this post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭I_AmThe_Walrus

CHealy wrote: »
    Really?? I say thats the blinkers talking there mate.

Population of finglas.....30,000
    Population of Cork city......250,000

You're taking about the entire county of Cork.

I'm talking about the urban area of the "city" of Cork.

If we were to do this, then Dublin would still be a higher population figure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

christ lads how is it not obvious to ye that that is a piss take

aDeener wrote: »

Because Cork is not renowned for its humour.

aDeener wrote: »

this thread, the article, or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

just to point out the population of cork county is roughly around the 420,000 figure...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Surely, this isn't the majorities opinion of The Pale...
    It isn't; PROC is just a complete fail of a website. So your thread title is bogus.
    Dublin has no problem with other counties
    Lol. :rolleyes: I've seen a few Dubs on here giving out about the rest of the country.

As it happens, I'm from Cork. Cork is grand, most people are lovely, some people are twats.
    Similar story with Dublin, most people there are lovely, some people are twats.

It doesn't matter where a twat is from; they're still a twat.

(Also I would admit to being slightly jealous of people from Dublin but just because there's so much more to do there than there is in Cork.)

It isn't. so your thread title is bogus.

Lol. :rolleyes: I've seen a few Dubs on here giving out about the rest of the country.

As it happens, I'm from Cork. Cork is grand, most people are lovely, some people are twats.
    Similar story with Dublin, most people there are lovely, some people are twats.

It doesn't matter where a twat is from; they're still a twat.

(Also I would admit to being slightly jealous of people from Dublin but just because there's so much more to do there than there is in Cork.)

This is all well and good, nice to hear! As an impartial Corkonian, could you perhaps shed some light on why someone would write such a bitter article? I can't imagine the reverse ever occurring (am open to correction if this has occurred. )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

Ok, why don't you like Dublin? Sure it's not as exciting as London or Berlin, but its not a bad old spot.

It tends to have a rather large % of Dublin people unfortunetly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Are you 6??

Population of County Cork inc.Cork City.......481,295

Official population of Cork City which doesnt take in even half the city because the boundary hasnt been revised since the 40's or sumting is 119,450

Population of urban cork city... just under 250,000.

And of course Dublin would have a higher population...its the biggest city in Ireland..silly

It tends to have a rather large % of Dublin people unfortunetly

Wow I feel enlightened :rolleyes: Thanks m8.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

Wow I feel enlightened :rolleyes: Thanks m8.

You asked the question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

Magenta wrote: »
    And what the **** is in Leitrim?!?!?!!??!

Haha,someone's angry.:pac:

I meant that Dublin comes first,always.
    For example,when everywhere was frozen over in the winter Dublin was sorted straight away while we were stuck in our houses for at least a week.
    Nothing gets done around here because the countries priorities lie in Dublin.

Oh and to answer your question,the shannon,nice hotels,lough rynn lake and estate and scenery attract a loaf of tourists,you'd be surprised.
    Schools are quite good and some alright folks here and there.

You asked the question.

And I thanked you for your super awesome answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

storm2811 wrote: »
    Jealous?no.
    Just pissed because the whole country seems to revolve/depend on Dublin.

Er... that's how capital cities work.

Yes but no one gives a toss about the rest of the country once Dublin's alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

this sums up my opinion on the subject

France literally revolves around Paris, Ireland is quite decentralised in comparison.

Yes but no one gives a toss about the rest of the country once Dublin's alright.

Care to explain this without referring to the snow in January? Cos that arguments been done. Anyway how does that excuse the article?

Ah for feck sake,I'm not getting into a Dublin vs the rest of the country argument.:pac:

Just saying that Dublin has better services,public transport etc etc.

Ah for feck sake,I'm not getting into a Dublin vs the rest of the country argument.:pac:

Just saying that Dublin has better services,public transport etc etc.

You're the one that made that ridiculous statement.
    As Sir Gallagher mentioned, yea thats the point of a capital city. The infrastructures pretty poor as it is for a capital city, no need to feel hard done by.

You're the one that made that ridiculous statement.
    As Sir Gallagher mentioned, yea thats the point of a capital city. The infrastructures pretty poor as it is for a capital city, no need to feel hard done by.

Alright alright,just saying.

Despicable piece of journalism.

And for shame on RTE and Irish Independent for giving them the little publicity they didn't deserve.

We are not amused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

for fuck sake we're a small island and to everyone else not from this island we're all the same. i'm all for a spot of cultural and local identity or whatever, but this thread and the sentiment held in it is ridiculous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Why Is Everyone Jealous Of Dublin?

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

county cork ~500.000
    county dublin ~1.18 million

and despite the fact you cork and dubs seem to be always fighting its funny that both your cities are so similiar, same type of public buildings, same type of streets, great example of this is

which one is which

rossie1977 wrote: »
    county cork ~500.000
    county dublin ~1.18 million

and despite the fact you cork and dubs seem to be always fighting its funny that both your cities are so similiar, same type of public buildings, same type of streets, great example of this is

which one is which

The second photo's not coming up. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

in reply to OP

the 31 counties of Ireland are jealous of Dublin because we have the finest birds:pac:

and they are not mean with it either...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

Are the Peoples Republic of Shelbyville at it again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭mockler007

First am i the only one who finds this funny??
    Cmon its a bit of slagging,
    the fact that he moans himself about Dublin kinda is a bit fuubar.
    there are Deco's from the mun, and antos from clondalkin.
    and thay can be a bit rowdy, just like cork city on a saturday night,
    now thats something to witness, same as dublin
    if you are under the illusion that cork is any way better its not, you have them to.

need we remind them there's john joes from knocknaheeny boi,
    and treasa's from Mayfield girrrrlllll
    The 1916 was fought in Dublin, And hill 16 is part or our counties history.
    need we forget the man that was apart of that. good owl mick!
    if cork fans, can't take a bit of heat, get back on the train to cork.
    ever see a cork person trying to use the luas, comic stuff. its like he is from the past in the 1920s. touchscreen is well beyond their waves

its not our fault you can't afford the premium seats on level 5&6:rolleyes:
    cork is just pissed of it doesn't have a real stadium like in Limerick, oh wait did i just say that, if cork was the best in Munster rugby team play in limerick an i missing something here.

I was on the hill a few years back, and Dublin was playing Kildare, the banter was the best. we gave as good as we got, and it wasn't English chanting, it was more baaaaaaaaa!
    and we all had the best laugh ever! for both the sides,
    surely you get chanting in anything, didn't know the English had invented it.

the fact you would rather good show old chap is more english,
    im born and bred dub. and when i go down to my friends in cork i have the same laugh as i do up here.
    BOYYYYYYYY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

The 1916 was fought in Dublin,

yes but the war on independance was won in cork and surrounding counties

100 of tom barry's men needed 12,500 british soldiers
    and that didn't stop them:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Having spent one night in Cork city half my life ago, I despise it and, by extension, all of the people of Cork. Some bastard tried to lure the innocent 17 year old me back to his house. I know for a fact that he intended to ass rape me.

I also hate Dublin and its citizens. Bunch of **** invading my town with their dodgy accents and tracksuits and the like.

A Belfast chick once tried to imply that I was a West Brit because I live within the boundaries of what was known as the pale.
    She was a bit touched, so I didn't argue with her for fear that she would have me kneecapped. Her old man was once interned in the Curragh, so she held a dislike for the great people of Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

moonpurple wrote: »

dublin castle wasnt involved then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Why is the word city in inverted commas ?

If anything, that's a perfect example of why people get pissed off with Dubs......the fact that to them anything outside the M50 is countryside.

Even in news reporting, there are surveys like "Dublin and the provinces", or items on supposedly national stations that mention "O'Connell St" (Limerick ? Ennis ?) or a gig on "in town" tonight.

If those were sorted out, then there would be less of a reason to dislike Dubs.

But "jealous" ? Not a hope. I much prefer Limerick to Dublin - no contest.

I dont think their jealous of us but i would say they dislike usif you go to any wedding down the country and your a dub youl see that

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Why is the word city in inverted commas ?

If anything, that's a perfect example of why people get pissed off with Dubs......the fact that to them anything outside the M50 is countryside.

Even in news reporting, there are surveys like "Dublin and the provinces", or items on supposedly national stations that mention "O'Connell St" (Limerick ? Ennis ?) or a gig on "in town" tonight.

If those were sorted out, then there would be less of a reason to dislike Dubs.

But "jealous" ? Not a hope. I much prefer Limerick to Dublin - no contest.

Man i urge you to find a country were the capital doesnt take up a large portion of the news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭mockler007

moonpurple wrote: »

it was finished in cork , by lies and betrayal and ambush, where they killed their own fellow man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

See that's the thing, people from Dublin know well that saying ''anywhere outside of Dublin is the countryside'' riles the ****e out of people who arn't from Dublin. It's not as if they believe it as fact, they do it to piss off people not from Dublin. Just the same way people living outside of Dublin call Dubs West Brits, to get the reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I've never felt jealous over any area in this country, i do feel a little envious when i see facilities in other cities around the world, eg proper integrated public transport . Up to the Point being redeveloped into the O2 in Dublin, our concery hall facilities were an embarrassment.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Man i urge you to find a country were the capital doesnt take up a large portion of the news

I think you missed the point. It's not what's reported, it's how it's reported.....as if there were no other "O'Connell St" or "town".

mockler007 wrote: »
    it was finished in cork , by lies and betrayal and ambush, where they killed their own fellow man

I actually dont mind cork, lovely city but what i hate are the people who hate dubs for stupid reasons. I have met countless people who have problems with dubs and a massive chip on the shoulder. I have attended countless weddngs in rural areas and again and again found some of the locals extremely clannish and unwilling to make conversation, counter that with dublin were I can sit in most pubs and have a chat with random strangers no problem.

Horse_box wrote: »
    See that's the thing, people from Dublin know well that saying ''anywhere outside of Dublin is the countryside'' riles the ****e out of people who arn't from Dublin.

And we're supposed to like people who deliberately "rile the ****e out of us" ?

Slagging is slagging, but "rile the ****e" is another story entirely.

I think you missed the point. It's not what's reported, it's how it's reported.....as if there were no other "O'Connell St" or "town".

Ah right good point but to be honest I do think that farmers hold the balance of power in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭CrackisWhack

Have to say I really don't understand the obvious chip on their shoulder alot of non-Dubs have around the country.

To the folks who were saying its not jealousy, its not an inferiority complex etc.

I'd actually like to know the reason!