Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Orangemen's right to vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Long Term Louth

Isn't it quite ironic that the battle upon which the Orange Order was founded was between relatives Father and Son in law.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Isn't it quite ironic that the battle upon which the Orange Order was founded was between relatives Father and Son in law.

not particularly ironic?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

William of Orange had the backing of the Pope at the battle of the boyne and his best fighters were catholic

but heck history is what you make of it::pac:

key irish people have no wish to dump on those southern Irish who wish to be orangmen
    from wiki

In February 2008 it was announced that the Orange Order was to be granted nearly €250,000 from the Department of Community, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs. The grant is intended to provide support for members in border areas and fund the repair of Orange halls, many of which have been subject to vandalism.[89][90]

pmcmahon wrote: »
    not particularly ironic?..

Religious motives did not seem to be to the fore, power I would suggest.

the whole conflict between all communities in Ireland has been over power

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

If an orangeman from the ROI swears an oath of aligence to the monarch of another country should they have a right to Irish citizenship, to a passport and to vote in Irish general/local elections?

They can swear an oath of allegiance to Satan for all I care. Seriously, why get your knickers in a twist over an oath?

the whole conflict between all communities in Ireland has been over power

I agree, but why is religion always used to gain the support of the man on the ground?

because during that period daily life was heavily influenced by religion

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Because it works. Historically it has been one of the most effective ways of rallying one group against another.

el tonto wrote: »
    Because it works. Historically it has been one of the most effective ways of rallying one group against another.

divide and conquer.

because during that period daily life was heavily influenced by religion

But a lot of the fighters in Williams army where Catholic.

divide and conquer.

Not even that. Two communities could already be divided by not antipathetic towards one another until someone starts to stir it up.

Maybe he paid more?

el tonto wrote: »
    Maybe he paid more?

I refer to my original post power not religion!!!

he was allied with the pope,such a soap opera :rolleyes:

edit: and spain

he was allied with the pope,such a soap opera :rolleyes:

A lot of poor ignorant people on both sides, fighting to support their families.
    Youre right P. I'd say defender is relieved with the break?

A lot of poor ignorant people on both sides, fighting to support their families.
    Youre right P. I'd say defender is relieved with the break?

well i'm a prod too but its hard to explain these things to ignorant "hardcore" none church going catholics whose republican education goes as far as "tíocaidh ar lá" and bloody sunday.Quite frustrating haha

Applicable to your persuasion too, I am sure you will agree ;)

persuasion is a tool of preaching,i wouldn't go that far ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Just to chip in here, no proper republican has any beef with protestants, sure Wolfe Tone himself was one.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Just to chip in here, no proper republican has any beef with protestants, sure Wolfe Tone himself was one.

totally agree,its sadly the case of the uneducated who think its a battle of Catholicism and Protestantism

persuasion is a tool of preaching,i wouldn't go that far ;)

Perhaps, but I am sure you will agree that ignorance impinges upon all cultures and traditions, religiuos, historical or otherwise.

Absolutely!

Perhaps, but I am sure you will agree that ignorance impinges upon all cultures and traditions, religiuos, historical or otherwise.

yep,and sends all process into the ground,i was flicking through my old history text book just there and the way it is also portrayed in there is also quite shocking lots of "catholic killed these protestants" vice versa,i feel if schools could catch students and teach them all this it would keep the bitterness away and teach them to be proud of their heritage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Here's what I was taught;

The Stewarts were an irresponsible bunch as rulers, they had inflated ideas about the divine right of monarchs and regarded parliament as a tool for their own use. CharlesI screwed things up so much that he was beheaded and the puritans took over and banned dancing and horse racing. That couldnt last so they reverted back to a stewart king again; Charles II was bad but by the time of James II things were getting really shaky again politically and william was invited to come and take over. In the ensuing war james was driven into exile in france after being defeated in Ireland.

"Religion" was more about power and strategic alliances, look at the wild swings in "faith" that occurred in England. It must have been no small task to completely change over the state religion every decade or so. In addition to forcibly converting the people and burning the bishops of the outgoing faith.

Exactly. Orange order may mean protestant, but protestant doesnt mean orange order.

yep,and sends all process into the ground,i was flicking through my old history text book just there and the way it is also portrayed in there is also quite shocking lots of "catholic killed these protestants" vice versa,i feel if schools could catch students and teach them all this it would keep the bitterness away and teach them to be proud of their heritage

I Agree.

I cant speak for todays teachings, but in my time I agree they where all one sided and it was only through self education, I learned to envisage both sides viewpoints with an open mind. Hopefully this educational process has changed, as I certainly will make it my business to encourage my own children to view all with an open mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Our Orange brethren appear to have gone silent since the whole historically-solid "William of Orange was supported by the Pope, Spaniards etc" point.

Then again perhaps they are living in different timezones ... and gone off to the leaba? ;)

Dionysus wrote: »
    Our Orange brethren appear to have gone silent since the whole historically-solid "William of Orange was supported by the Pope, Spaniards etc" point.

Then again perhaps they are living in different timezones ... and gone off to the leaba? ;)

maybe we should wait til they wake up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

So? Not that it matters. Its a pointless argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

KeithAFC wrote: »
    So? Not that it matters. Its a pointless argument.

It does matter when present-day Orange Order supporters are marching in anti-Catholic bands in support of a Dutch monarch who was supported by the Roman Catholic Church and other Catholic powers such as Spain in the very battle which they commemorate. It particularly gives the lie to the standard OO line of "We hate the CC Church, not Catholics" when in the case of the Battle of the Boyne they are supporting the Catholic Church-supported monarch, William of Orange, against the Catholic people in the army of James II.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

It does matter when present-day Orange Order supporters are marching in anti-Catholic bands in support of a Dutch monarch who was supported by the Roman Catholic Church and other Catholic powers such as Spain in the very battle which they commemorate. It particularly gives the lie to the standard OO line of "We hate the CC Church, not Catholics" when in the case of the Battle of the Boyne they are supporting the Catholic Church-supported monarch, William of Orange, against the Catholic people in the army of James II.

Cognitive dissonance at play, youll find an arguement wont matter if its contary to their current belief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Defenders

I Agree.

I cant speak for todays teachings, but in my time I agree they where all one sided and it was only through self education, I learned to envisage both sides viewpoints with an open mind. Hopefully this educational process has changed, as I certainly will make it my business to encourage my own children to view all with an open mind.

well said! I can only think back to my secondary school history course with dismay. I remember my old history teacher, a very good and passionate man, who told us not to swallow any of it, just regurgitate it for the leaving cert. The Irish history section was so completely one sided it was scarey...it's not far off the nationalist serbia idea...

uneducated gibberish I'm afraid. :)

What is your opinion on marching through areas like the Gervaghy road etc?

Personally I think parades should not be allowed go ahead without approval from those affected by it. The residents. That goes for nationalist parades too.
    Care to address this?

I can understand the lodges but I also see the other side of the argument. For those Orangemen, it's traditional. Their fathers, grandfathers and sometimes great grand fathers all walked a certain route. They want to keep the traditional routes. But things change and the OO needs to adapt. They can make new traditions.

In saying that though, these sinn fein fronted residents groups need to take a serious chill pill and stop going out of their way to be offended...

Defenders wrote: »
    I can understand the lodges but I also see the other side of the argument. For those Orangemen, it's traditional. Their fathers, grandfathers and sometimes great grand fathers all walked a certain route. They want to keep the traditional routes. But things change and the OO needs to adapt. They can make new traditions.

In saying that though, these sinn fein fronted residents groups need to take a serious chill pill and stop going out of their way to be offended...
    A near perfect dodge there. Do you thin it is wrong for the OO to march through nationalist areas where they are not wanted?

it's not a simple yes or no. it's called democracy and freedom of assembly. Each case should be judged on it's own merits. The Orange Order is, for better or for worse, part and parcel of the cultural identity of many Protestants on the island of Ireland. That isn't going to change.

The OO should engage with resident groups. and see what happens.

it's not a simple yes or no. it's called democracy and freedom of assembly. Each case should be judged on it's own merits. The Orange Order is, for better or for worse, part and parcel of the cultural identity of many Protestants on the island of Ireland. That isn't going to change.

So if the residents say no you think the OO should respect that and not march? Or is it a case of they should only listen to the residents if the OO like what they hear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

Orange marches and st patrick's day parades are two of the most pathetic public spectacles I've ever witnessed.

What is so good about marching around the place anyway.They all look like twats.

At least paddys day parades are good for advertisers.An orange march is good for feck all, other than target practice.Said frightened bitter old men in bowler hats and sashs and young fellas who don't have anything better to do.SAD

As for orange muppets in the south,how many are there?Quiet boys on this side of the fence, aren't they.Utterly spineless.

Orange marches and st patrick's day parades are two of the most pathetic public spectacles I've ever witnessed.

As for orange muppets in the south,how many are there?Quiet boys on this side of the fence, aren't they.Utterly spineless.

So you'd like them to have more of a presence in the south???

Exactly.

The Orange Order represent people on the island of Ireland who are Orange Order members.

What is so good about marching around the place anyway.They all look like twats.

At least paddys day parades are good for advertisers.An orange march is good for feck all, other than target practice.Said frightened bitter old men in bowler hats and sashs and young fellas who don't have anything better to do.SAD

You want them to scream, shout and plant bombs or something? :confused:

Exactly.

The Orange Order represent people on the island of Ireland who are Orange Order members.

definatly I would love them to enage with the community to see what happens at least, even martin mguinnes said their a part of irish history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭SEANYBOY1

It mightn't be all the parades and flags of the 50s or 60s, but it's still here..under the surface. Pearce, Connolly, Collins and Dev are still martyrs to a great majority within the state.

You better believe it, heroes in my eyes and right now they are spinning in their graves at the state of Ireland:mad:
    Just could'nt resist putting a line through dev!

You want them to scream, shout and plant bombs or something? :confused:
    That's quite the extrapolation you made there.You wouldn't be trying to put words in my mouth would ya?

By utterly spineless I mean they are, if there are any in the republic, very low key.They don't go marching through rough areas banging their drums etc.

The less I see of them the happier I am.They are an organisation born out of, and sustained by greed,prejudice and sheer hatred.They despise us more than just about anything.

if there are any in the republic, very low key.They don't go marching through rough areas banging their drums etc.

Which is what I said earlier in the thread, I think the OO's are a predominately Ulster phenomena.

I wouldnt mind if the oo wanted to start a dialouge in the south but if they started any anti catholic sh1t or anti ireland crap, I would be finished with them but im willing to hear thier point of view and give them the benifit of the doubt.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    definatly I would love them to enage with the community to see what happens at least, even martin mguinnes said their a part of irish history

I think we got a little taste of what happens, in Dublin '06.And that wasn't even a proper orange march.

And some eejits think the Queen should visit?ROFLMAO.Much as I'd fantasise about sending a 50 cal shell through her head,I think there are many more far more eager men than me.Fellas mad enough to finish her with a shovel.All I'll need is a good seat and some popcorn.

That's quite the extrapolation you made there.You wouldn't be trying to put words in my mouth would ya?

By utterly spineless I mean they are, if there are any in the republic, very low key.They don't go marching through rough areas banging their drums etc.

A damning indictment of the southern states institutionalized anti-Protestantism and anti-British past I'd say, highlighted by your own sectarian bigotry. good on ya.

And ye wonder why our brethren across the border won't get into bed with you? lol

two states, one island. the only way forward.

NO SURRENDER!