Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dublin Half Marathon - September 18th

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭pdiddyw

RayCun wrote: »
    I'd do less tonight. If you really want to run the course, maybe just run the second half of it.
    (Though that end of the park gets dodgier as the evenings get darker)
    ok thanks Raycun......
    I've heard that it can be dodgy area at night time so will try get home earlier but cheers for tip..appreicated..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭bart simpson

I would have thought than an 8 mile tempo run this evening would adversely impact your performance on Saturday (4 days time), unless your plan is to run maybe 2-3 miles at tempo pace, with the rest aerobic/easy. Might be an idea to include some strides on your 6 mile easy run on Thursday (6x100m) too.

krusty, when you say strides, do you mean a controlled 100 meter sprint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭chez-moi

Anyone with concerns about water or rather the cups, take a tip into one of the Tesco Extras. They have the running bottle in the shape of a circle that you can put your hand through for €3.95.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Sparky101

chez-moi wrote: »
    Anyone with concerns about water or rather the cups, take a tip into one of the Tesco Extras. They have the running bottle in the shape of a circle that you can put your hand through for €3.95.
    Thanks, great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

krusty, when you say strides, do you mean a controlled 100 meter sprint?

Bart,

Here you go...

http://www.runquick.com/corcorn/strides.html

If you are make sure the ground is nice and even under foot...

• Registered Users Posts: 19 ivanski72

<mod snip- read the charter>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

So I was supposed to do an easy 5miles this evening and then leave it at that until saturday. But I'm absolutely shattered right now and my legs were really heavy and tired during the 1 mile walk home from the bus stop just there. I'm wondering what I should do...I don't want to go out on tired legs and risk hurting myself but I'm also thinking that 4 days rest can't be good either. I could try 30/40mins easy jogging before work tomorrow but I think anything later than that will just have me wrecked again for Saturday. :( Any thoughts? What would you guys do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Sparky101

claralara wrote: »
    So I was supposed to do an easy 5miles this evening and then leave it at that until saturday. But I'm absolutely shattered right now and my legs were really heavy and tired during the 1 mile walk home from the bus stop just there. I'm wondering what I should do...I don't want to go out on tired legs and risk hurting myself but I'm also thinking that 4 days rest can't be good either. I could try 30/40mins easy jogging before work tomorrow but I think anything later than that will just have me wrecked again for Saturday. :( Any thoughts? What would you guys do?
    I'd get out there and go for a nice easy run, maybe shorter than you were intending? I never feel worse after a run, only ever better. It worked for me last night anyway. I was shattered and did not want to do it, but was so pleased with myself when I got in, even though I got soaked in the process!

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭Lex Luther

claralara wrote: »
    Look I dont know very much about your training, background etc so this is just an i'll informed opinion.....but for what its worth I think if you're really that tired you should run tomorrow night instead......2 full days rest is more than enough before any race to bring you back to best shape. Any longer rest is too long in my opinion, unless you are injured.
    Best of luck whatever you decide.
    LL

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭kandikane

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    Ill be pacing 1.50, so might see you raycun:D
    are you sure you will be able to do it in 1.50 ya fat animal:)

Quick question for people who have been training or for the more experinced runners...

Why is it sometimes you can go out and do 10 miles without much difficulty but then two nights later you try and run 5 miles and you feel shattered...
    I'm training for Sat 1/2 marathon and the full marathon and have been training for 8/9 months but sometimes training comes easy and sometimes its can be very difficult....
    I train about 3/4 times a week
    ps diet doesn't really change that much, rest doesn't change much either etc?
    I can pinpoint any major changes between training sessions...
    any feedback would be great....in order to try and get training to be more consitent..do i need to train harder or more often?

Sparky101 wrote: »
    I'd get out there and go for a nice easy run, maybe shorter than you were intending? I never feel worse after a run, only ever better. It worked for me last night anyway. I was shattered and did not want to do it, but was so pleased with myself when I got in, even though I got soaked in the process!

Lex Luther wrote: »
    Look I dont know very much about your training, background etc so this is just an i'll informed opinion.....but for what its worth I think if you're really that tired you should run tomorrow night instead......2 full days rest is more than enough before any race to bring you back to best shape. Any longer rest is too long in my opinion, unless you are injured.
    Best of luck whatever you decide.
    LL

Cheers for the replies guys! I ended up in bed by 9.15 last night completely shattered with a banging headache. I did manage to make it out for 4.35 miles this morning though and feeling more confident about saturday now. I do always feel better after a run even when I'm wrecked but I had to listen to my body last night and give it a miss, I wasn't just looking for excuses I promise!!

pdiddyw wrote: »
    Quick question for people who have been training or for the more experinced runners...

Why is it sometimes you can go out and do 10 miles without much difficulty but then two nights later you try and run 5 miles and you feel shattered...
    I'm training for Sat 1/2 marathon and the full marathon and have been training for 8/9 months but sometimes training comes easy and sometimes its can be very difficult....
    any feedback would be great....in order to try and get training to be more consitent..do i need to train harder or more often?

Pdiddyw I can't offer advice but I can empathise! I think it's just a case of finding the right balance. For me I think I need to consciously take the rest days and let my body recover; which I hadn’t done in a few days hence last night’s crashing and burning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

pdiddyw wrote: »

This is why I dont opt for the "train by how you feel route." Your body and mind can be so unpredictable, you just dont know how youre gonna be. Most of the time I just commit myself to a session regardless of how I feel. Having said that the biggest lesson Ive learned this year has been to differentiate between when Im genuinely zonked and when my mind is playing tricks on me in an attempt to get out of a training session.
    I guess as time goes by you'll learn to recognise when youre really tired and when youre ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Name|Target|Actual
    TipsyGypsy|2:23|
    Su Campu |2:20|
    kit3|2:20:00|
    Rasher_m|2:10|
    The Drifter|2:10:00|
    brophya2007|2:09:59|
    Racheljev|2:01:30|
    ShaneIRL|1:59:59|
    jcsmum|1:59:59|
    menoscemo|1:59:30(pacer)|
    RQ|1:59:30(pacer)|
    W.B. Yeats |1:59:30|
    claralara|1:59:30|
    scargill|1:59:30|
    ROF|1:59:30|
    Rainbow Kirby|1:58|
    Mike D|1:58|
    William72|1:54:59|
    DigiJem|1:53|
    fletch|1:50|
    osnola ivax|1:49|
    sideswipe|1:49|
    Milosh|1:49:59|
    RayCun|1:49:59|
    HuntingDrog|1:49:59|
    Digger2d2|1:49:59|
    Oisin11178|1.49.30 pacer|
    xebec|1:44:59|
    itsall true|1:44:59|
    Peckham|1:39:59 (pacer)|
    Tippmanrunning|1:39:59|
    Jackyback|1:39:59|
    Hawkwing|1:39:59|
    Aimman|1:39:59|
    LeCheile|1:39:59 (pacer)|
    Plodder|1:39:59|
    macinalli|1:39:59|
    gerard65|1:39:59|
    Ronnie085|1:35:59|
    EMPM|1:34:59|
    cwgatling|1:34:59|
    mathie|1:32:30|
    seres|1:29.59|
    jlang|1:30:00|
    MisterDrak|1:29:59|
    NeedsTraining|1:29:59|
    figs|1:29:59|
    ecoli|1:29:59 (pacer)|
    Krusty_Clown|1:29:59 (pacer)|
    James Howlett|1:29:28|
    daymobrew|1:29:00|
    brianderunner|1:28:30|
    Art of Noise |1:27:59|
    another world |1:26:59|
    robinph|1:25:00|
    Lex Luther|1:23:30|
    smmoore79|1:20:00|
    Tunguska|1:13:59|

thanks for the feedback guys...

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

chez-moi wrote: »

A fantastic tip I got from a very seasoned runner in his late 60`s/early 70`s recently is cut a straw in half and stick it under your hat/in your sweatband/pocket - I`ll be using this trick!!

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭RAL3

Name|Target|Actual
    RAL3|1:32:00|

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

Hi, could someone put me in for 1:58 in case I wreck the table;) Tks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Name|Target|Actual
    geld|1:58|
    RAL3|1:32:00|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

people what time should we be arriving at the park for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

people what time should we be arriving at the park for?

9 - 9.15? It would take about half an hour to get from Parkgate street up to the start, and you'd want to have time to spare to warm up a bit, queue for the portaloos etc. You might want to bring a black bag to wear, there could be rain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

With the entry limit of 8,000 reached, the Half Marathon entry has passed all records for the event. Check out the update route map on the Race Series tab on the Dublin Marathon website. The race start is close to Mountjoy Cross. This is a 15 minute walk from the Phoenix Monument so please come early. The second two time zones are located between Mountjoy Cross and the Castleknock Gate. This gate will be closed from 7am to facilitate the start build so please access the Park through the other Gates. The wave start that has proved very popular is retained and we have added pacers to help people reach their target times of Sub 1.30, Sub 1.40, Sub 1.50 and Sub 2hrs. Because of the large entry the shuttle Buses will start at 8.15am from Parkgate Street. Also please remember to pick up your copy of the Irish Independent on Monday 20th as all names and finishing times will be included.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭ShaneIRL

With the entry limit of 8,000 reached, the Half Marathon entry has passed all records for the event. Check out the update route map on the Race Series tab on the Dublin Marathon website. The race start is close to Mountjoy Cross. This is a 15 minute walk from the Phoenix Monument so please come early. The second two time zones are located between Mountjoy Cross and the Castleknock Gate. This gate will be closed from 7am to facilitate the start build so please access the Park through the other Gates. The wave start that has proved very popular is retained and we have added pacers to help people reach their target times of Sub 1.30, Sub 1.40, Sub 1.50 and Sub 2hrs. Because of the large entry the shuttle Buses will start at 8.15am from Parkgate Street. Also please remember to pick up your copy of the Irish Independent on Monday 20th as all names and finishing times will be included.

Thats a whole lot of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

does anyone know how long between the start waves?Im planning on starting with the 1.50 pacer and pushing on if im feeling up to it so would be nice if i could see 1.40 pacer. Thanks

guapos wrote: »
    does anyone know how long between the start waves?Im planning on starting with the 1.50 pacer and pushing on if im feeling up to it so would be nice if i could see 1.40 pacer. Thanks

It depends on a number of things. However, I would estimate 3 minutes between waves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭Su Campu

dunkelgrun wrote: »
    Can anyone confirm a change to the course?
    There's an updated map on the race series website, which I've attached.

1. Seems like the loop at the end of the Chesterfield Ave has been dropped.
    2. After we run up the Khyber Road, there's a loop before running back down Acres Road
    3. Three water stations now shown

That's a helluva short mile between miles 4 and 5!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

Because of the large entry the shuttle Buses will start at 8.15am from Parkgate Street.

I'd like to leave the car at home but don't fancy running a few miles to the start line. Do you know if there'll be a lot of these shuttle buses available? I'd always thought that they didn't run that often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Weather looks grand for saturday. No poxy gale force winds at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

macinalli wrote: »
    I'd like to leave the car at home but don't fancy running a few miles to the start line. Do you know if there'll be a lot of these shuttle buses available? I'd always thought that they didn't run that often?

There was loads of them before the 10 miler, as soon as one left another one arrived. With the big entry there should be even more this saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,535 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

guapos wrote: »
    Hi guapos, making up 10 minutes during a half marathon and switching from one pacing group to another would be a very significant undertaking. If you're still feeling strong after mile 10-11 then push on past the 1:50 pacers, but I wouldn't expect to try and catch up with the 1:40 pacers who will have opened quite a gap (more than a mile towards the end of the race), even if both groups did start in the same wave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭plodder

What is the time difference between the waves anyway?

plodder wrote: »
    What is the time difference between the waves anyway?

See post number 277.

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

Hi guapos, making up 10 minutes during a half marathon and switching from one pacing group to another would be a very significant undertaking. If you're still feeling strong after mile 10-11 then push on past the 1:50 pacers, but I wouldn't expect to try and catch up with the 1:40 pacers who will have opened quite a gap (more than a mile towards the end of the race), even if both groups did start in the same wave.

Thanks Krusty,
    Your right it would be very difficult and would mean going from an 8.15min mile to a 7 min mile from mile 6ish on. It all depends how hamstring holds up, i'll let you's know how it goes. id be happy to be under 1.47

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Well, the crowd will be 7,999 as i'm signed up with ages but off to Listowel for the gee gees. Ye all run fast now and enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Feeling awesome about this now, granted I've just drank a bottle of wine but feeling really good, gonna stalk the **** outta oisin to go sub 1:50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

chinguetti wrote: »
    Well, the crowd will be 7,999 as i'm signed up with ages but off to Listowel for the gee gees. Ye all run fast now and enjoy.

Whats wrong? is racing against humans not enough for you now? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Looks like a battle tomorrow--bring it on:)
    =========
    Cloud will start to build in the north and northwest early tonight and rain will reach these parts overnight. The rain will be heavy and persistent at times. The rain will spread though parts of Connacht, Ulster and north Leinster. Elsewhere it will remain mostly dry. It will be cool again tonight with lowest temperatures falling to between 6 and 10 degrees in light southwesterly winds.
    Tomorrow
    On Saturday morning there will be rain in the northern half of the country and it will be heavy at times. The south will have lighter and patchier rain and the far south should remain dry. Highest temperatures will climb to between 13 and 17 degrees with moderate to fresh southwesterly winds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

I've no bother with rain, but that 'moderate to fresh' wind might get annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

accuweather says rain in the afternoon, light winds in the morning
    the bbc says light rain during the day, moderate winds
    met.ie says rain in the afternoon, stronger winds

I'm confidently predicting cloudy with a chance of showers, and winds may be gusty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

yr.no has it as 12 degrees and dry at 1000, rising to 15 degrees and rain at 1300, gentle breeze until the evening. So conditions are looking good.

Heuston Station from yr.no:

heuston.jpg

Heuston Station from yr.no:

heuston.jpg

How'd you get it as localised as Heuston? And how'd you link the image? Can't see where the image source is to link it here...

(I may work in IT but my Norwegian isn't that good...)

xebec wrote: »
    How'd you get it as localised as Heuston? And how'd you link the image? Can't see where the image source is to link it here...

(I may work in IT but my Norwegian isn't that good...)
    Type in Dublin and it will give you a list of possible hits, including weather stations around Dublin. As for the image, [PrintScreen][Pbrush][Cut'copy'paste][upload to ftp server][link]. I have it down to a 5 second fine art! (Old school IT).

Type in Dublin and it will give you a list of possible hits, including weather stations around Dublin.

Figured it out, actually has Phoenix Park itself too, but same forecast as Heuston :rolleyes:
    As for the image, [PrintScreen][Pbrush][Cut'copy'paste][upload to ftp server][link]. I have it down to a 5 second fine art! (Old school IT).

Too much like effort... I want a one click solution - it's all about the processes!

xebec wrote: »
    Figured it out, actually has Phoenix Park itself too, but same forecast as Heuston :rolleyes:

Too much like effort... I want a one click solution - it's all about the processes!
    Write-up proposal: 2 days
    Introductory meetings with YR.no: 2 weeks
    Consult legal teams: 2 months
    Flesh out prototype: 1 week
    Write code: 1 week
    Test and bugfix: 2 weeks
    Total: 3 months, 2 weeks and two days.

Krusty's cut and paste job: 5 seconds.

*Edit*: Cough... Back on topic... yeah...Looking forward to the race..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

Getting close to squeaky bum time now!

Sore and stiff after a very gentle 2m last night.....:eek:

The head games have already begun

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Getting close to squeaky bum time now!

That usually happens after carb loading for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

im offically sh*tting it....first half marathon...

aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,525 ✭✭✭daymobrew

Check out the update route map on the Race Series tab on the Dublin Marathon website.
    Why the change of route? Is it to allow easier pedestrian access to Dublin Zoo?
    Su Campu wrote: »
    That's a helluva short mile between miles 4 and 5!
    You turn right, onto the footpath just after the 4M marker, go up toward the Castleknock Gate and then u-turn back down Chesterfield Ave. This is as it was last year.