Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tubs Dislikes Boards.....shock!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Dev, you should mail him and ask for right of reply.
    Boards.ie services about 2 Million unique, distinct people in a 90 period. Do we really want to give *them* the ratings bump? :):)

To be fair, I would be happy to debate with him, as I was with Gerry Ryan before him but we made many approaches to them before and they had the nerve to go on air and say they "couldnt contact us for comment" which was baloney.

I'm happy to debate with anyone, I'm proud of Boards and what it has achieved, but I'm not going to waste my time chasing them.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Anybody care to quote what he said or what his actual opinion was?

Did the poor fella click into the Thunderdome?
    And can we sue him for calling us nasty? Since apparently he could do the same to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Did the poor fella click into the Thunderdome?
    You have to be a registered user to view the thunderdome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

?? Who is Tubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

To be fair alot of me friends dont like Boards. Not sure why as they have no reason to dislike its but thats their opinions.

But Ryan Tubridy has been called everything from a c**t to a w**ker by people on Boards for no reason and now ye are actually slating him because he said he doesnt like Boards and thinks its nasty. Can you blame the man?

Not everyone has to like boards. Most people who dont like it dont even have a reason but Tubs certainly does. He is entitled to his own opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

bm365 wrote: »
    To be fair alot of me friends dont like Boards. Not sure why as they have no reason to dislike its but thats their opinions.

But Ryan Tubridy has been called everything from a c**t to a w**ker by people on Boards for no reason and now ye are actually slating him because he said he doesnt like Boards and thinks its nasty. Can you blame the man?

Not everyone has to like boards. Most people who dont like it dont even have a reason but Tubs certainly does. He is entitled to his own opinion.

In a country where you could be met with the greeting 'howye gee-features', its par for the course, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭OptimashPrime

mstan wrote: »
    Oh God not the licence fees again. I have to laugh when people moan about their TV licence fee being wasted paying the wages of someone like Ryan Tubridy. When you break it down proably only a few cents of your TV licence goes into Tubs pocket. And if it really means that much to ye please PM me your name and address and I'll personally send on the 20cent of your fee that was wasted on him.

thats a few cents too much, pm on the way :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Biggins wrote: »
    Any thoughts? Yea, he's full of schite.

Boards is conversation - Tweets is one minute sound-bites.
    He's talking through his ass again.

lol no, in conversation you are allowed change the topic of conversation whenever you want, and you're don't have someone standing over you waiting to shut you up because they think the conversation has "run it's course"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

thats a few cents too much, pm on the way :cool:

Back of envelope time.

Total number of licence fee payers: around 1.25 million.

20c multiplied by 1.25 million: Euro 250,000.

Tubs salary: around Euro 300,000 (not sure about this, but I think it's about that after his agreement to take a pay cut)

However, I understand that 2FM is pretty much self-funding through advertising, and in any case RTE gets around half its income from non-licence fee sources.

Conclusion: Ditching Tubs would not necessarily lead to a 20c reduction in the licence fee.

But Ryan Tubridy has been called everything from a c**t to a w**ker by people on Boards for no reason

Er...oh, never mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I like Ryan Tubridy. He seems a good sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

tubs said that boards.ie is nasty? maybe he was reading this thread over his cocoa last night

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056007688

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

So he's entitled to call the site "nasty" but other people arent entitled to their opinions of him?

Look what they have done to you, you accept their "higher status". He's just one person with a megaphone.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Scarecrow Tubridy needs to stop his campaign against boards. Of course everyone is nice on Twitter, they're all desperately looking for people to follow them, especially 'famus peepl'.

In any case Tubridy needs to end this hunger strike he's on.

Wait....what were we talking about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

DeVore wrote: »
    Boards.ie services about 2 Million unique, distinct people in a 90 period. Do we really want to give *them* the ratings bump? :):)
    So technically since boards reaches a bigger audience than he does, you are more famous than him. :pac:

So he's entitled to call the site "nasty" but other people arent entitled to their opinions of him?

What exactly did he say? Did he really call boards.ie 'nasty'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Gaspode wrote: »
    ?? Who is Tubs?

I wondered that too, thought it was a nickname for a fat person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

What exactly did he say? Did he really call boards.ie 'nasty'?

He said boards are mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

You would think he has enough to do what with the late late show etc. Why the feck would I want to listen to him on the radio as well? RTE need to invest in some new talent instead of trying to oversell their current dreary presenter lineup and rehashing the same **** over and over.

Poly wrote: »
    He said boards are mean.

What was the context though? I'm guessing it wasn't "That is one mean site!".

Nah, he was rabbiting on about twitter and how he was online yesterday looking at comments about the match.

He meant mean in the "they're all picking on me because I'm so talented and they're just jealous" kind of way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

He's gettin kinda uppity for a skinny bartender with connections. Anyway, he's employed by RTE, who'd take him seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

You would think he has enough to do what with the late late show etc. Why the feck would I want to listen to him on the radio as well? RTE need to invest in some new talent instead of trying to oversell their current dreary presenter lineup and rehashing the same **** over and over.

Rte seem to think that they are a big family that we have the privlage to watch

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Rte seem to think that they are a big family that we have the privlage to watch
    and pay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I like Ryan.

I just dont like it that he makes my fiance look like shes a heifer, and shes hardly a size 8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Why tar all 1100 forums with the same brush.

To get people talking about him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Feu

eh, Boardsies can be mean. Very mean. I don't think anyone could say they can't. But to be fair, the average first time clueless poster probably gets a lot more sh1t thrown at them than tubs. So maybe he's a bit too thin-skinned. Well, wouldn't be hard there isn't much to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Did he give a reason for why he thinks it's nasty? I mean obviously some comments about him are harsh but that reflects more on the person making them than himself.

Just another case of a celeb that doesn't like any negative discussion really

Well we were always painting G Ryan (up until it became extremely bad taste) in negative light over on the radio/TV....Gerry mentioned boards whilst talking to Mark Little one morning and moaning about anonymity and cowards attacking from behind a screen...that's probably Tubs' problem as well, him being close to Gerry and that.

The "beauty" of twitter/facebook/blog is you can block negative comments...live in the bubble of greatness or simple denial...there's also the point that most people use their real names on it and that can make it harder for people to be critical or insulting. Also since most people on social networks know their friends and colleagues may be reading, they tend to just go with the flow...few are prepared to go against the grain, lest it makes them stand out.

At least on here, however nasty it can sometimes get (and the mods do keep things somewaht civil IMO) there's two sides of it...I see many posts from people who'll call others on unfair or unjust posts about whatever public figure...criticism, however crude shouldn't be blocked out by those who are criticised (unless it's completely below the belt)...a mature celebrity would embrace it, perhaps even learn from it...or they can get all antsy like Ray Foley or Tubs and have a little hissy fit about the forums on the airwaves...which only winds up getting them more criticism, and usually ends up with more tarffic to the forums (what I call a win/win :pac: ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

EL_Loco wrote: »
    well as a computer/internet user all I can say is it's more likely you'll get an unfavourable response than a favourable one in any aspect. Add a sprinkle of Irish "y'er only a ballix", a twist of begrudery, a smidge of safe behind the keyboard and people will be saying all sorts of things.

Whether or not they're justified is beside the point, I think people let rip alot on here just to vent, while quietly sitting at work/home/college etc.

I don't take anything on here overly seriously, Don't think Mr. T should either.

And lastly, I did meet him once and couldn't fault him on not being nice to us "little people".

Doubt many people on here have a problem with Mr. T.
    Tubridy, on the other hand...
    Telling that you used that term 'little people'; even though you used inverted comma's and meant it, i think, in a 'so-called little people' type of way.
    Telling, because that is exactly how Tubridy and his friends in our ridiculously puffed up political establishment see us.
    Why wouldn't they; just look at the preposterous wage's they command and the bubble they inhabit.
    They have come to expect fawning- adoration as their right.
    That's why they are so incredulous and perturbed when they detect even a hint of something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Maybe if Tubridy was an impartial host and interviewer on TLLS we wouldn't be as "mean" ?

Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I take it poorly that he denigrates a site I have put nearly 11 years of my life into, publically on his state-sporsored radio show. Why tar all 1100 forums with the same brush. Unbiased reporting? Fair?
    Will Mr Tubridy allow us a chance to reply? pfffff

DeV.
    I may be mistaken*, but isn't this a job for Darragh?
    Would it not be possible for Darragh to contact Tubridy's reps and arrange for some discourse between yourself, Darragh and Tubridy?

What he has done here is insult, by proxy, 300,000 Irish people. I'm sure that Mr. Tubridy would not deliberately insult 300,000 Irish people. Perhaps he meant all internet forums, and not boards.ie in particular.
    I'm fairly certain that someone in his position would not single out the largest forum in Ireland and insult all the members of this site.

Perhaps if he was given the opportunity to clear up this mistake, he would take it.
    I can tell you now that I do not like the implication that I am a bad person for using this site. I'm faily upset that a prominent employee of the state broadcaster would say that I am a nasty person without even getting to know me. I'd say that most of the users here would feel the same way.

Now I can't speak for everyone here, but I have to say that I really enjoy using this site, and, with the exception of one person, I found that everyone I met in person was extremely friendly and not nasty at all.
    So out of about 200 people that I have met in person, only one was a bit of a dick. That's 0.5%. If you factor in that not everyone is going to get along, that makes this site one of the friendliest places on the planet.

Mr. Tubridy, if you are reading this, please explain to me how you find the good people of boards.ie to be "Nasty".

Of course, unlike you, I am not someone who is in the public eye and whose income comes from the tv licence fee and advertising. Now that is not to say that I am not free from the criticism of my peers. I actually welcome their criticism. I feel that those who point out my faults make me a better person. After all, without criticism we would all just continue along a destructive path with no consequenses.

Now I would never condone someone calling you a "Wanker" or something similar. That is indeed nasty. However, when the majority of your income comes from the people of this country, surely you can see how you can be subjected to valid criticism.
    Can you, with all honesty, deny that some people may find your shows to be boring and dull? Would you be willing to defend yourself on these things?

Perhaps you would like to talk to the owner of the largest community in Ireland and tell him what caused you to claim that this site is nasty?
    Are you willing to face your critics? If not, then why not? Remember that this site has over 300,000 members. When the population of this country is 4.5 million, 300,000 is quite a significant number of people to be calling "Nasty".

Would you allow Mr. Tom "DeVore" Murphy to appear on one of your shows to defend this site?

Your move, Mr. Tubridy.

*You know that I'm never wrong. :)

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Maybe if Tubridy was an impartial host and interviewer on TLLS we wouldn't be as "mean" ?

Just a thought.

your so right there, michael parkinson is impartial but the lls hosts especially gay and tubs ( more so tubs) often come accross as agressive towards people who may have a opposing view to them. I remember gay byrne interviewing gerry adams and tubs interviewing richard dawkins as being the case!

Tubs actually sees himself as better than most of the guests

Ah Jaysis, that wouldn't be hard, when twink and the cast of fair city are regulars, pond life would look good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Its because we Boardsies dont like FF, so we make him cry when we give out about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Considering that he's had Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen on, he might actually be right on that one!

The problem is that he licked their arses so much that it turned into a party political broadcast for the party that he supports.

RTE should know better, but considering that they haven't reported on Callely's latest shennanigans, I wouldn't be surprised if he was Tubridy's next guest, with RTE paying "expenses" for him to drive up from his "home" in West Cork.

Considering that he's had Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen on, he might actually be right on that one!

The problem is that he licked their arses so much that it turned into a party political broadcast for the party that he supports.

RTE should know better, but considering that they haven't reported on Callely's latest shennanigans, I wouldn't be surprised if he was Tubridy's next guest, with RTE paying "expenses" for him to drive up from his "home" in West Cork.

well he had richard dawkins on and i was embarrased to watch it he was confrontational and acted like a child (tubs not richard)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Earthday

Somebody should show Tubs this Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭OptimashPrime

thats the thing,i dont think that tubridy can interview a politician without it turning into a massive circle jerk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

lol.. Boards room

Though to be fair he only gave his personally held opinion on what one medium seems like to him as opposed to others.. you can't really attack someone for holding an opinion even if it's one you don't share, or know is one that's unfairly general

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Terry wrote: »
    What he has done here is insult, by proxy, 300,000 Irish people.
    And an uncertain minority of non-nationals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

he surely means all php boards sites not just boards.ie
    you're so vein...

If you give some one several jobs regardless of their talent theyll start believing thier own crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Wait... thats it?

You all lead me to believe he called Boards.ie [explicit] a nasty site, and all this tripe.

That though: that ain't sh*t. Have you visited another Message Board lately? Do you have any idea what they're like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

Tubridy epitomizes this country rampent nepotism. He only got into rte of the back of his political and social connections. I can gaurantee that if he tried the same at say the BBC he would be escorted from the building by security.

I have never seen him or his predecessor our any other rte personality for that matter take issue with the government of the day. People who do usually leave, Vincent Browne, matt Cooper, two good examples.

Says alot really.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

skelliser wrote: »
    Tubridy epitomizes this country rampent nepotism. He only got into rte of the back of his political and social connections. I can gaurantee that if he tried the same at say the BBC he would be escorted from the building by security.

I have never seen him or his predecessor our any other rte personality for that matter take issue with the government of the day. People who do usually leave, Vincent Browne, matt Cooper, two good examples.

Says alot really.....

when did Cooper leave RTE?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

The problem is that he licked their arses so much

In fairness, you are talking bollocks when it comes to the Cowen interview. They were radically different interviews: Ryan Tubridy was disgustingly obsequious to Bertie Ahern; he was utterly offensive - particularly his question implying Cowen was an alcoholic - to Cowen.

The Ahern interview was a new low, as in its own way was the Cowen interview.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

Tubridy must only read threads that relate directly to him (says a lot if he does). Otherwise he'd know that every poster and every post on boards is not 'unpleasant', and that most people are very friendly and helpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

if television adds 10 pounds, does Ryan tubridy really exist..?

*waves at Ryan*

What has his weight/appearance have to do with anything?