Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overtaking a Slow Moving Vehicle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

If someone is driving within 10 or 15km/h of the speed limit I wont sit behind them I don't think 10km/h is enough of a speed difference to complete a quick overtake. There are plenty of other reasons for instance: people who speed up to the speed limit on a straight but needlessly drive slowly on other sections of the road, you will need to break the speed limit to get past them on the straight.
    i agree, the typical scenario is they are barely able to position themselves properly on the road and maintain a decent speed in good conditions on a GOOD section of the road. You need to pass these rolling roadblocks before the road (inevitably) turns into a glorified cattletrack for 10 miles and they start yo-yoing between 30mph and 45mph randomly. (my usual example here is the Cork - Limerick road, woefully inadequate for the volume and type of traffic on it)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

kippy wrote: »
    Are you suggesting I am an incompetent driver?

Absolutely not, I haven't been in a car with you or met you so I don't know.
    My point was a general one about people who will NEVER overtake out of fear or incompetence and that they don't make the road a safer place.
    Of course overtaking is dangerous, even more so because of people speeding up, moving out, other people not overtaking, etc..
    Nothin personal, just making a general argument.

irish-stew wrote: »
    in my case the car in front had had no got above 70-80, and only seemed go beyond that when i tried to get past them.
    Gearing and engine power delivery differs but in a 1.4 you'd probably be talking 3rd gear for a safe overtake at that speed. If you're not used to it, it will take a bit of practice to match your revs on the downshift so you don't put too much stress on the gearbox etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

why on earth would you change up to 5th before going to overtake, it'll just slow you down?
    I always change down to 3rd or even 2nd sometimes to get the power and accel to do it as quick as possible.

that was why i initally dropped a gear when behind them, so that i could get that aceleration to get past them when i could. rather then staying behind them in 5th the whole time. i thought drop down, hold back, and then when clear speed up again, up the gear, sped up further and pass.

tbh, never thought about starting passing someone in 2nd or 3rd then going up to 3rd or 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,562 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

that was why i initally dropped a gear when behind them, so that i could get that aceleration to get past them when i could. rather then staying behind them in 5th the whole time. i thought drop down, hold back, and then when clear speed up again, up the gear, sped up further and pass.

tbh, never thought about passing someone in 2nd or 3rd.

3rd to the red line or there abouts its standard enough for me, just to get the power to do it quickly and then change up as needed. 2nd only when going really slow anyway (ie from behind a tractor doing 30 or similar). that said thats learned from driving **** gutless cars when I was starting where you needed to rev the **** outa them to overtake.

No worse feeling on the road than realising half way through an overtake your going to slow to comfortably make it.

tbh, never thought about starting passing someone in 2nd or 3rd then going up to 3rd or 4th.
    Again, it depends on gearing and engine but 2nd gear is useful for an overtake starting from 20-30mph (so 30-55kph ish). It will take bit of practice to get your downshift into 2nd right.

My advice (but I'm a bit of a cowboy sometimes when it comes to overtaking) is to stay in the lower numbered gear and accelerate away, ie don't change up unless you are going to hit the redline - better acceleration and your full attention can be given to watching out for dopes

EDIT - DUR, slow typer, cookie monster beat me to it...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,006 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

draffodx wrote: »
    Apparently overtaking 3 vechicle's in one go is dangerous overtaking these days according to the gardai.

Someone else on boards reported being stopped by the Gardai for overtaking 2 cars and a tractor perfectly safely.

Yep that was me :)
    I wonder how it would hold up in court if it got that far, considering the tractor might be doing 20-30 miles an hour at most, and the two cars behind (the "i don't overtake" type) are typically hugging the back of the vehicle in front (a sure sign they're not dropping back slightly to plan a smooth and safe overtake). Any expert would surely equate that as closely equivalent to overtaking one car doing 50 mph in terms of risk....

I intend to find out! the tractor was a vintage one, travelling about 20 km/hr.
    There was me, a van and a car then the tractor. I know the road well and there was a straight coming up. I had a look and not a budge from the other vehicles so I went for it. Made the move fine but just as I was pulling back in a cop on a bike was coming towards me and pulled me over. Wanted to do me for dangerous overtaking, but I think in the end he mentioned crossing a solid white line. He also said if I was just one or 2 cars behind it would have been ok, but 3 was too many!
    IMHO you shouldn't be attempting to overtake two cars and a tractor in one run..

Rubbish see below
    I Totally agree with the below poster
    That's exactly the kind of thinking that causes problems, how often have I been on perfectly good stretches of road with a slow moving vehicle (60-80 km/h) and the driver behind being to scared/incompetent to overtake.
    In most cases the 3rd vehicle will also not overtake, forcing everyone else to overtake 3 vehicles in one go.

So I'm just gonna wait for the fine and have a day in court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

mik_da_man wrote: »
    I had a look and not a budge from the other vehicles
    Perhaps because there was a continuous white line in the centre of the road and they knew it would be illegal to cross it? But you just thought they were gutless eejits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭P.C.

langdang wrote: »
    That's legitimate and a safe way to do things (but will rub some of those spacers the wrong way unfortunately) but I have a confession to make - when doing the same thing at night I just throw on the full beams (OSRAM nightbreakers) as soon as I pull out, and just push on past. It's a bit aggressive but there are too many dopes out there...
    Why would you even admit to doing something so foolish, you're basically blinding each driver ahead through their driver-side mirror...its not at all aggressive, its a whole different level of ignorant driving. Please stop doing it.
    It's alright, they're usually pointed at the back wheel (or folded in, or missing) on the cars in question. ;)

It is NEVER alright to drive with your full beams on when there are cars in front of you, wether you are overtaking them or not.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,006 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

Perhaps because there was a continuous white line in the centre of the road and they knew it would be illegal to cross it? But you just thought they were gutless eejits?

Maybe I should have made it more clear for you I was on a straight with broken whte lines.

Where I pulled back in had broken white lines, not sure where the cop came up with the solid white line bit tbh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

As a recently-ish new driver (test passed), over taking is still one of the things i am still wary of. On at least two occassions i have had the car i was passing speed up on me.

Most recent was on a single carriage way, national road, no hard shoulders. Car in front driving well under the limit, 100kph section, never getting over 70-80, contantly braking, dropping to as little as 30. In the end i dropped to 4th, held back and waited for a suitable section to over take. Car behind me seemed to have the same idea as could see them in my mirrors edging over the white line as if they were looking for a gap.

Came across a suitable section, long straight, car infront showing no signs of speeding up, nothing coming towards us, broken white lines, plently of time to pass, indicating, up to 5th, sped up, mirrors, out i pull, as drawing level, said car appeared to speed up as was now matching my speed (near the 100 mark) leaving me almost hanging in the oncoming lane (still clear thankfully). Now thankfully i was able to get past them, and back in the correct lane before a return to solid white lines, and end of long straight.

Question is, if i was no longer able to get past them, due to them speeding up and now reaching or being close to the speed limit, what would have my options been, apart from me having to go over the limit to get past them, i doubt hanging back and pulling back in behind them was an opition as the car behind me had taken my spot behind them, and was probably also likely to have tried to over take as well.

You followed him in 4th and changed up to 5th to speed up past him !?!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

You followed him in 4th and changed up to 5th to speed up past him !?!:confused:

i know, should have maybe started off in 2nd or 3rd, was covered on the last page

the point was they started speeding up as i was passing and level with them, at that point i was doing close to the speed limit. They had not gone above 70-80 before that.

P.C. wrote: »
    It is NEVER alright to drive with your full beams on when there are cars in front of you, wether you are overtaking them or not.
    It's like lamping rabbits, except rabbits never killed anyone by wobbling randomly around a road in a Corolla. So in comparison, you'd have to say lamping rabbits and shooting them is a bit harsh, while abandoning subtlety for a few seconds when dealing with dangerously incompetent drivers is not.

I don't always do it, only when the driving of the last mile or two suggests there is a (possibly intoxicated) cabbage at the wheel of the top 3 cars. (Vento/yaris/corolla/focus, delete to suit occasion)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭eden_my_ass

It's like lamping rabbits, except rabbits never killed anyone by wobbling randomly around a road in a Corolla. So in comparison, you'd have to say lamping rabbits and shooting them is a bit harsh, while abandoning subtlety for a few seconds when dealing with dangerously incompetent drivers is not.

I don't always do it, only when the driving of the last mile or two suggests there is a (possibly intoxicated) cabbage at the wheel of the top 3 cars. (Vento/yaris/corolla/focus, delete to suit occasion)

Dig up man for gods sake, now you're saying you do it around people you don't think are in any state to control their car...more chance of them overreacting and causing a lovely pile up. Dig up :P