Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fleadh Cheol 2010 and ticket sellers / charity collectors

Options
  • 25-08-2010 12:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭

I have been attending Fleadh Cheoils for many years now and have alwyas taken the week off specifically for it. I had been looking forward to this years fleadh but was majorly disappointed. Let me clarify at first before anyone takes this the wrong way. I have no problem with ticket sellers and charity collectors. The Fleadh this year was taken over by people collecting for various charities to the point that the public were harrassed to support them. There must have been 100 such collectors if there was one. Every side you turned there was someone collecting witha bucket. This was something I had not seen at previous Fleadhs and having someone constantly asking you to support the charity in question wore thin with me as the day went on. As I said I dont have a problem with anyone collecting for charuty but I just felt the numbers collecting this year brought the tone down and that people felt harrassed. I know I certainly did. I just wondered did others have the same experience as I did?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭nuttz

There was a lot of them alright, here is a list of the issues I had with the Fleadh this year.
    Don't get me wrong Martin Donohue did a great job and he really left his mark on the Fleadh this year and there was obviously a lot of effort by the volunteers.
    My main issues were:
    • Amplified musicians on the streets.