Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reset Post Count?

• 27-08-2010 3:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering is there any way for a user to request resetting their post count? I think mine is too high.
    Post edited by Shield on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Yep, Just click here

• Registered Users Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It'd be nice to have an option to set it to private.. I think someone asked before though and was told that it wouldn't happen

• Registered Users Posts: 83,206 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

WindSock wrote: »
    I think mine is too high.
    Nnnooo.... no.

0.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

LOL!

(feck it another one!)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Just wondering is there any way for a user to request resetting their post count? I think mine is too high.

I just checked: when you delete a post, the count is adjusted. So why not delete a few thousand?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

It's possible.
    I can't remember the circumstances surrounding it, but an Admin once reset mine to 0.
    Any change in status will automatically reset it to what it should be, so you woulod have to continually pester the Admins to keep changing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I just checked: when you delete a post, the count is adjusted. So why not delete a few thousand?

Cos users only have a short window to edit/delete posts for the obvious reasons, you should understand that spending so much time on political themed threads :)

mike65 wrote: »
    Cos users only have a short window to edit/delete posts for the obvious reasons, you should understand that spending so much time on political themed threads :)

Jayze, lads, I was only having a bit of fun. Could you picture WindSock deciding to reduce his/her postcount by 5,000, and selecting which posts to delete?

I can't understand why anybody would be worried about the postcount being disclosed. Of course, I can understand somebody looking at it and concluding that he spends too much time here. But changing the record does not change the facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,265 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

I can't understand why anybody would be worried about the postcount being disclosed. Of course, I can understand somebody looking at it and concluding that he spends too much time here. But changing the record does not change the facts.

I suppose its like clocking an old car, it's still old but at least it's not in your face

should be possible to request a change of username and then create a new account with your old username, you would need to be a subscriber but would not carry over your sub to the new account or your mod statuses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'm not particularly worried about my postcount, and less do I care that I spend some time posting here. I just want to reset the count for no real reason in particular, I don't like seeing it rising so much I guess, but no, I won't post less crap to stint that :pac:. I just thought it'd be nice to start all over.
    Don't know about getting new username, Ghost Train, as I would have to log out & in again for mod stuff. Ah maybe it's an idea to get a similar name.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

As post count is directly connected to penis size is do not wish to have mine reset.

snyper wrote: »
    As post count is directly connected to penis size is do not wish to have mine reset.

That's why mine should be going the other direction, the negative side of 0

This discussion could become salacious very quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Mine's bigger than yours so.:pac:

This discussion could become salacious very quickly.

No, that's not going to happen.
    flahavaj wrote: »
    Mine's bigger than yours so.:pac:

And mine's bigger than yours. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

No, that's not going to happen.

And mine's bigger than yours. :cool:

n00b :rolleyes:

Thankfully I don't have a postcount like a hippo's yawn, I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

And neither do I :mad:

/i prefer the term "wizards sleeve" thank you very much!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

They're two real clown's pockets you have there ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Kiera wrote: »
    And neither do I :mad:

/i prefer the term "wizards sleeve" thank you very much!
    Hill Billy wrote: »
    They're two real clown's pockets you have there ladies.

:mad:

/goes back to renew the campaign to have post count turned off for PI as that would easily drop 200k of posts from her post count.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Quality over quantity.
    However, look to the left. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Lads - It is not the quantity of posts you have, but the quality of what is in them.

(Says the guy who obviously has a much smaller post count.) :o

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

post count +1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

You are not your post count! :mad:

I am, if I am nothing...

/Zen

I am, if I am nothing...

/Zen

I don't see what your statement has to do with one of these

creative-zen-X-Fi.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Jeez what's with all these wimmin and their wide-ons over postcount. Sure do ye even look at the number?

While we are at it, I want mine in binary and thaeds in hex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Oh shít I have more posts then Tar :(

I'd like to keep mine neat and tidy, under 10k sounds ideal.

No. That postcount will always be a mark on you.

It is your scarlet letter