Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Military Photo Thread [READ FIRST POST BEFORE POSTING]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

354724.jpg
    An Afghan National Army soldier provides security during a foot patrol in the Allikozai village in Sangin District, Dec. 30.

66314510.jpg
    Los Angeles Police SWAT members walk along Hollywood Boulevard after they successfully negotiated the surrender of a man they say is a suspect in a fatal shooting and stand-off inside an apartment building, Tuesday, Jan. 4, 2011, in the Hollywood section of Los Angeles
    x800n.jpg
    x800.jpg
    Palestinian Fatah fighters parade during a rally marking the 46th anniversary of the secular movement's creation in the refugee camp of Ain Al-Helweh in the southern Lebanese city of Sidon on December 31, 2010

53266541155947fa9cf9b.jpg
    While on an operation Dec. 21 through Dec. 24, 2010, with 2nd Platoon, India Company, 3rd Battalion, 5th Marine Regiment, an attached group of snipers often appear out of the shadows. The Platoon was on an operation to secure a compound at a new patrol base in the southern area of operations. While in route to the new location, the group was met with enemy fire from several locations prompting the Marines to suppress the enemy.

5328320756_5775b802bc_o.jpg
    5327710565_381421eed5_o.jpg
    5328001535_85bd3262d2_o.jpg
    Police surround a Baja Fresh restaurant in Chandler after a shooting.
    610xea.jpg
    A 'No Goats Allowed' note is on the door of the tent of US soldiers from 1-320 Field Artillery Regiment, 2nd Brigade Combat, 101st Airborne Division at the Strong Point camp in Khosrow Olia village in Arghandab Valley of Kandahar province on January 5, 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

Puding wrote: »
    To start.....

US Pararesuce
    I've a huge amount of respect for these guys. Buddy of mine is a demo Skydiver for the USAF and he tried out as a PJ and lasted most of the way through the pipeline then injured his knee.

PJ_HALO_drop.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

14a7cc128bd9.jpg
    3d3d32a00603.jpg
    fdea52d3adc6.jpg
    492dd27fdfcc.jpg
    83f29075fd21.jpg
    086d83017084.jpg
    7afae7d4767b.jpg
    6699a011e468.jpg
    d121e02beaf4.jpg
    ce4ffe432434.jpg
    7e48b2f72100.jpg

2400x600.jpg
    International Security Assistance Force command sergeant major, Command Sgt. Maj. Marvin L. Hill, stands on machine gun casings and links at a Forward Operating Base in the village of Darrah-I-Bum, Badghis province, Afghanistan, Jan. 5. The command sergeant major and a cadre of personnel listened to a security brief on a rooftop position overlooking the valley. The brief was part of a visit to Marines, sailors and soldiers of Special Operations Task Force-West living and working in Darrah-I-Bum
    1425x600.jpg
    Loaded down with 40 mm ammunition, Pvt. Tiger Morgan, an infantryman with Charlie Company, 1st Battalion, 87th Infantry Regiment from the 10th Mountain Division’s 1st Brigade Combat Team starts out on a joint foot patrol with Afghan national security forces in the Isa Khan region of the northern Afghanistan province of Kunduz

610xx.jpg
    A sniper parades during the Day of the Soldier celebration at a military airport in Medellin, Antioquia department, on January 7, 2011.
    24323.jpg
    A Colombian commando soldier parades during the Day of the Soldier celebration at a military airport in Medellin, Antioquia department, on January 7, 2011.

10175798.jpg
    Police officers stand guard near a tree during a routine training exercise on a forest on the outskirts of Panama City, Friday, Jan. 7, 2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭MindPhuck

british-terrorists.jpg

0075084e.jpg
    A soldier stands guard at the control post of the Krtsanisi military training base outside Tbilisi, January 11, 2011. Three Georgian soldiers were killed and 13 injured on Tuesday when a mortar bomb exploded during exercises on the outskirts of the capital Tbilisi, the Defense Ministry said
    800xk.jpg
    U.S soldier stands guard as the U.S military Chinook helicopter carrying U.S Vice President Joe Biden prepares to land in Wardak province January 11, 2011.
    5346902784d5b7f09149b.jpg
    U.S. Marines assigned to the female engagement team (FET) attached to Foxtrot Company, 2nd Battalion, 3rd Marine Regiment conduct a security patrol in Marjah, Helmand province, Afghanistan, Jan. 3, 2011. The FET aids the infantry Marines by engaging Afghan women and children in support of the International Security Assistance Force.
    110110n7981e982.jpg
    PACIFIC OCEAN (Jan. 10, 2011) The Japan Maritime Self-Defense Force destroyer JS Kurama (DDH 144) leads the Arleigh Burke-class guided-missile destroyers USS Gridley (DDG 101) and USS Stockdale (DDG 106) during a passing exercise.

Meet the British Army's newest canine recruit. Sally, a German Shepherd, is currently training to become an Afghan Hound in the Brunei jungle.
    4a214629.jpg
    363b8052.jpg
    18ed86f8.jpg

f8159ec7.jpg
    A U.S. Army soldier with 2nd Battalion, 4th Infantry Regiment, 4th Brigade Combat Team, 10th Mountain Division provides security near an old Russian tank during a meeting to discuss improvement projects in the Daymirdad District, Wardak province, Afghanistan, Jan. 9, 2011.
    3b2b8f89.jpg
    U.S. Army Sgt. Gerald Stevenson of Harris, Texas, 2nd Battalion, 4th Infantry Regiment, 4th Brigade Combat Team, 10th Mountain Division, provides security during a meeting to discuss improvement projects at the Daymirdad District Center, Wardak province, Afghanistan, Jan. 9, 2011.

e2d5acc657.jpg
    Serbian army
    imagepopup.jpg
    German recce squad leader with ISAF in Northern Afghanistan
    vsunchad3.jpg
    Serbia, UN Mission in Chad-
    0005937q
    Israel

1da435da.jpg
    16x2011tfh003045.jpg
    16x2011tfh003053.jpg

536395900603c83f124ab.jpg
    53639576565fb0b24cdfb.jpg
    53639580366f30791449b.jpg
    5363345797e115b8ede0b.jpg

compressedomsnzima2010eu.jpg
    police52.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010eg.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010errrrrrr.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010eeeeeeee.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010ew.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010errrrr.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010eee.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010errrrrrrrr.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010eeeeee.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010errrrrr.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010eeeeeeeeeee.jpg

compressedomsnzima2010e.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010ef.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010ev.jpg
    e.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010ea.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010ee.jpg
    compressedomsnzima2010errrrrrrr.jpg
    0_4e39f_ed153938_XL.jpg
    0_4e3a3_b027fd4e_XL.jpg
    0_4e3a0_90c5ea34_XL.jpg
    0_4e3a2_197cd3d4_XL.jpg
    0_4e3a4_6a50d1ee_XL.jpg

358156.jpg
    U.S. Army Spc. Carlos R. Hansen (front), of Sioux City, Iowa, an infantryman in the personal security detachment for Headquarters and Headquarters Troop, 1st Squadron, 113th Cavalry Regiment, Task Force Redhorse, posts security while U.S. Army Sgt. Tom Peck, of Sioux City, Iowa, and the PSD non-commissioned officer in charge, speaks with locals in the village of Barfikhel Jan. 7. TF Redhorse, part of the 2nd Brigade Combat Team, 34th Infantry Division, TF Red Bulls, is in charge of operations in the Bagram Security Zone and is increasing combat patrols to disrupt insurgent activity in the area.
    536334612999ed453077b.jpg
    Check out the mag !!

5364015898d3b081bd5cb.jpg
    U.S. Army Sgt. Jonathan Sweetnan, Bulldog Troop, White Platoon, looks through his rifle scope to scan for insurgents during a reconnaissance patrol near Combat Outpost Delorean, Bala Murghab, Baghdis Province, Afghanistan Jan. 9, 2011. Sweetnan led one of the four fire teams on the patrol and all four teams came under accurate small-arms fire. Insurgents also launched a large-scale attack on COP Delorean Jan. 6 from this field and two other areas. The Soldiers patrolled to reconnaissance the area and search for evidence.
    53543907372446c4ce27b.jpg
    U.S. Marine Corps Maj. Gen. Richard P. Mills, center, the commander of Regional Command Southwest visits Combat Operating Post Turbett in Marjah, Helmand province, Afghanistan Jan. 12, 2011. Mills toured the Koru Chareh Bazaar where he visited a school attended by children of the village.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭marlie2005

jeawan wrote: »
    Isnt that the Dude from the New Medal of Honor Game :P
    is t that zz top

cplmonicaboucher.jpg
    HELMAND PROVINCE, AFGHANISTAN— Cpl. Monica Boucher, a field radio operator with Combat Logistics Battalion 6, Marine Expeditionary Brigade-Afghanistan, with a group of Afghan children during a FET mission in Helmand Province.
    captemilynaslund.jpg
    SISTANI, AFGHANISTAN— Captain Emily Naslund, commander of a Female Engagement Team (FET), aims her weapon after shots were fired in the village of Sistani. Though the overall mission of FETs is to engage Afghan women, the female Marines are increasingly exposed to small-arms fire and IED attacks while on their patrols to local villages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Artur.PL

polish police
    1-34769.jpg
    Polish PM in Afghanistan
    20080823161601ENLUS0146410812195081.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭Paddy The Pirate

011911blog_rowboat.jpgU.S. Sailors assigned to Commander, Fleet Activities, Okinawa White Beach participate in the cardboard watercraft race during a sports day at White Beach Naval Facility, Okinawa, Jan. 14, 2011.

U.S. Air Force firefighters extinguish a wheel well blaze during a live fire exercise at Travis Air Force Base, Calif. last summer010611_blog_flames.jpg

Iraqi army Soviet era made Mil Mi-18 helicopters fly over US made M-1 Abrams tanks in central Baghdad on January 06, 2011, during the 90th Army Day.Blog010611_iraq_tanks.jpg

Lance Cpl. Daniel Franke, a dog handler attached to Alpha Company, 1st Battalion, 2nd Marine Regiment, Regimental Combat Team 2, lays in the prone on an overlooking hill with his dog, in Towrah Ghundey, June 11. marinedog.jpg

5368149722e0f2b124aab.jpg
    U.S. Marines with Lima Company, 3rd Battalion, 5th Marine Regiment conduct a census patrol in Sangin, Afghanistan, Jan. 10, 2011. The Marines conduct patrols to suppress enemy activity and gain the trust of the people. The battalion, assigned to Regimental Combat Team 2, conducted counterinsurgency operations in partnership with the International Security Assistance Force.
    800xev.jpg
    A member of the Tunisian President Security Force stands guard on Janaury 18, 2011 in front of the government Palace in la Kasbah in Tunis. Four ministers in Tunisia's new unity government pulled out today, a day after they were appointed, amid mass protests over the inclusion of members of ousted president Zine El Abidine Ben Ali's regime.

69632078.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭3102derek

dont supose you have the picture with the silhouette in hi res? 1920*1040?

• Registered Users Posts: 49 SBDDub

3102derek wrote: »
    dont supose you have the picture with the silhouette in hi res? 1920*1040?
    +1 on that. Great picture

5368149722_0771a1d9e1_o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭paddycam

whydave wrote: »
    536334612999ed453077b.jpg
    Check out the mag !!
    http://www.army.mod.uk/news/23062.aspx

5370515126691aa3abe3b.jpg
    U.S. Army Sgt. Jacob Blanco scans the area during an operation to clear insurgents in southern Howz-e-Madad, Afghanistan, Jan. 12, 2011. Blanco is with Charger Company, 2nd Battalion, 502nd Infantry Regiment, 2nd Brigade Combat Team, 101st Airborne Division.
    5372252819004f4f6fa2b.jpg
    5372252727ec67725c13b.jpg
    Cpl. Jonathon Schannep and Sgt. Daniel Kahn, force reconnaissance Marines with 4th Force Reconnaissance Company, scout a beachfront during hydrographic reconnaissance training at Marine Corps Training Area Bellows in Waimanalo, Hawaii, Jan. 13, 2011. The training was part of a weeklong jump and dive training package that brought the unit, headquartered in Alameda, Calif., together with their Hawaii-based counterparts — 4th Force’s 4th platoon. Following a real-life mission, the data they collect — such as the size and frequency of wave crests, sediment type and slope of the beach — allows unit commanders to determine what type of landing and vehicles the beach’s composite supports, said Petty Officer 2nd Class Mike Weissman, a hospital corpsman with 2nd Platoon, 4th Force.
    f9cea512.jpg
    4e2090a7.jpg
    dcf20568.jpg
    Belgian Soldiers serving with Team B of the Kunduz OMLT 10/12 on patrol in Afghanistan 17/01/2011

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭Paddy The Pirate

011711_blog_snowday.jpgAirman John Fisher, aviation electrician’s mate, shovels snow in front of USS Constitution at Charlestown Navy Yard during a snow storm the hit the east coast. kc135-1024x685.jpg A look inside the refueling pod on a KC-135. The wide-angle lens used here, a 15mm, might make it look a bit bigger than it really is. The best part of the pods, though, is looking straight down as you fly. The worst part – no heating.

538059542488dcafec80b.jpg
    5380594720126ec99d03b.jpg
    53805940489aa77d4f09b.jpg
    53799940131843ee8be4b.jpg
    NURISTAN PROVINCE, Afghanistan - U.S. Army Soldiers with Company C, 1st Battalion, 133rd Infantry Regiment, walk down a path outside the village of Nengaresh, Afghanistan, Jan. 21.

5381004854a33fbb22a5b.jpg
    53810139626847121c2ab.jpg

50572de9.jpg
    U.S. Army Sgt. SunJo Chang, an infantry team leader with Company C, 1st Battalion, 133rd Infantry Regiment, from Ames, Iowa, skillfully shuffles across a log bridge outside the village of Tupac, Afghanistan, Jan. 21.
    800xxz.jpg
    A Chinese national from the 1st section 'Les Aigles ' (the eagles) of the 2nd REG (Régiment étranger du génie), serving as a soldier with the French Foreign Legion, at Forward Operating Base Tagab-Kutschbach near Tagab in Kapisa Province on January 24, 2011.
    800xh.jpg
    A Canadian national
    800xx.jpg
    A German national
    800xk.jpg
    A Romanian national
    800xk.jpg
    A Polish national
    800xr.jpg
    A french solidier looks on as member of the Afghan National Police (ANP) check a Pakistani truck on the roadside of the highway 7 route between Pakistan and Afghanistan, in Surobi province on January 22, 2011.

58a3c97d.jpg
    44d38761.jpg
    3190bfe0.jpg
    c16c7f71.jpg
    Swiss Soldiers from 4 Company of the Gebirgs Infantry Battalion 85' during a Night Mortar Shoot – January 25th 2011

palestinianmilitantfrom.jpg
    Palestinian militants from the al-Aqsa Martyrs Brigades give a press conference in which they denounce the alleged major concessions made by rival Palestinian leaders during peace talks with Israel. Gaza City, Palestine. 27/01/2011

610xly.jpg
    A German Bundeswehr army military police officer on patrol in Queslal, north of Kunduz, northern Afghanistan December 11, 2010.
    5404309089677040de4fb.jpg
    A 120mm mortar round flies out of the tube as U.S. Army Staff Sgt. Ramey J. Brown (left), a section sergeant from Marshville, N.C., Spc. Tyler L. Dillon (center), a team leader from Williamstown, W. Va., and Pvt. Gabriel C. Fields (right), from Fort Worth, Texas, all mortarmen assigned to Troop C, 1st Squadron, 32nd Cavalry Regiment, Task Force Bandits, take cover while at Observation Post Mustang in eastern Afghanistan’s Kunar Province on Jan. 26. “It gets pretty intense sometimes when firing, especially if a firefight is going on,” said Dillon.

292a2w6.jpg
    Polish

1000xd.jpg
    Soldiers patrol the parking lot of a store after a gunfight against hitmen in the municipality of Santa Catarina, neighbouring Monterrey February 1, 2011. Soldiers gunned down three hitmen during a shooting, according to local media. Armed men also blocked roads with trucks and buses in an apparent attempt to hamper army operations.
    56575666yyyyyyyyyci6.jpg
    78686767878777777777777df7.jpg
    dsc03633xsl37xb4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Spooky-Vinny

mexican%20army%20special%20forces-01.jpg
    Over kill?
    No such thing...
    xXx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭thebillynator

Fuerzas_Especiales_Michoac%C3%A1n.jpg
    Mexican-Army1.jpg

Falklands
    Marines2_585x350_685903a.jpg
    Falklands_War_Marines_of_45_Cdo_march_into_Stanley.jpg

Royal marines
    Royal-Marines-River-Crossing.jpg
    OpVolcanoMarines.jpg
    commando_mortar_attack_465x341.jpg

cvn753small.jpg
    ATLANTIC OCEAN (Feb. 1, 2011) An aircraft director rests on an F/A-18 Super Hornet during a short break in flight operations aboard the aircraft carrier USS Harry S. Truman (CVN 75). Harry S. Truman is supporting fleet replacement squadron carrier qualifications.
    24234.jpg
    A US Marine from 1 Marines division, 1 Tanks, Delta company, 3 platoon sits in his M1 Abrams tank as others refuel their vehicles at FOB Edinburgh base, Helmand province, on February 2, 2011.

Members of a historical military club participate in the World War II battle reconstruction marking this date - the 67th anniversary of the liberation of Leningrad (Soviet-era name of St.Petersburg). St. Petersburg,
    800xxm.jpg
    800xgh.jpg
    800xs.jpg
    800xc.jpg
    800xgt.jpg
    800xf.jpg
    800xn.jpg
    800xf.jpg
    800xh.jpg
    800xp.jpg
    800xc.jpg
    800xi.jpg
    800xs.jpg
    800xa.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭RNO

War of Algeria, a taste of afghanistan 50 years ago.

archiveguerrealgerieain.jpg

2742l.jpg

algerie10grand.jpg

auresalgeriegrand.jpg

laguerredalgerie020size.jpg
    archiveguerrealgerieain.jpg

bren3.jpg
    bren1.jpg
    bren2.jpg

The Czech military will be equipped with a new type of assault rifle CZ 805 BREN A1/A2 made by the Ceska zbrojovka, a Czech joint stock company based at Uhersky Brod, which has won an open tender for delivery.The new assault rifle CZ 805 BREN A1 (and type A2 with a short barrel) is part of the Soldier of 21st Century Project, which will integrate all elements of personal equipment, gear, communication, navigation, optoelectronics and identification features of a soldier. The weapon replaces outdated Czechoslovak assault rifle 76,2 mm vz. 58, that was in successful use by Czechoslovak and Czech military for more than 50 years. The modern CZ 805 BREN rifle represents a unified modular weapon system enabling accommodation of additional devices with the prospective of further improvements. Both 7,62x39 mm, and NATO standard 5,56x45 mm cartridge calibers can be employed with the CZ 805 BREN.

arghandab1small.jpg
    HiRes:http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/9883/arghandab1.jpg
    U.S. Army Pfc. Kevin March kneels atop a cliff overlooking the Arghandab River valley to provide security for his squad as they climb up the cliff from the valley below in the Arghandab district, Afghanistan, Jan. 31, 2011. March is assigned to the 4th Infantry Division's Company C., 1st Battalion, 66th Armored Regiment, 1st Brigade Combat Team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Not sure of the rules of this thread can we post photos
    of ourselves from yesteryear ??

I would be interested to see more photos of people
    on here of themselves either from the Past or present
    either reserve or PDF

Have a few of myself when I was a teenager in the FCA
    back in the early 90's back then I was 9 stone! today
    I have manboobs, 3 chins a beer belly and am ringing in at a whopping 14 stone.

Cpl Bullets the Bastard that made all his recruits get turf for the fire, the keys to the Square, Sky Hooks, Long Weights etc Looked like a smarmy bastard back then.
    The cheek of the fecker picking his nose behind my back while I let them have a smoke break on a hot summers day! I had them marching around the square that day with utterances such as "lock down on the wrists, take the bends out of the elbows, swing the arms shoulder high of the man in front of you, look up off the ground, I picked up all the money before ye type of lines as trainers tend to do"
    scan0058.jpg

Bullets meets Hollywood. Good old Mel Gibson came over
    to OireLaaannnD! to make a movie called Braveheart back in 1994 where 1600 Reserve Army got to play extras.
    Saving Privite Ryan was also on the Cards but I was working shift work at the time so could not take the summer off to pretend I was a WWII soldier.
    These were taken on the Curragh Camp Co. Kildare back when I was waiting for my exam results for the leaving cert! so many of us had Lied about our age when signing up to the FCA that when our results came out we were queued up at a phone box (in Kilts) to get the results all the time when the Army were ignoring the fact we signed up under age.
    bravehear1.jpg
    braveheart2.jpg

I hated the Gustav I was a brilliant shot with the Rifle
    but was pure **** when it came to the SMG.
    It was a bloody dangerous gun! When on guard duty
    on the back of a truck you needed to keep the mag removed from the gun as if the truck went over a bump
    it would self cock and bloody well fire.

in this Photo you can see Females. One of them I spent
    time trying to chat up (not in photo)but she was having none of it!
    on of the other's had amazing...[insert]personality.
    [Edit: Snip actually better take that last line out may get me in trouble someday]

I joined the FCA shortly after females recruits were initially accepted and trained some of which I trained went on to join the permanent defense force. We at the time were one of the few areas of Limerick that had both a mix of female and male reservists.
    You can also see that we were issued with "hand me downs" the FN-FAL's (they were all FAL's and not L1A1's)
    had wooden stocks but the handguards were plastic with
    grenade launcher sights. Later on we started to get the imbel models that had NO grenade sights, a different gas plug, and consisted of a synthetic stock with a different and stiff change lever and body locking lever.

meandgustaf.jpg

Ahhhh the Lovely Bren gun!
    This Baby was sweet to fire.
    No Kick it actually pulled forward. it was an accurate sweet sweet gun to fire. You fired it with 3 round burst and usually stuck an empty shell through each leg of the bi-pod to help anchor her to the grounds. It had a blade foresight and was totally awesome for ranges of 3-400 yards when you consider it was all Iron Sites.
    meandmrbren.jpg

I was actually fit and healthy in this photo being able to jog cross country for 10km and do the whole carry people in a stretcher for the last 500 yards mularky. Looking back
    now would love to have fitness I had then.
    This was when the Imbel FN's started to get circulated and everyone
    wanted to fire them as the Barrels were not burn'd out and the rifling was
    barely worn in. They were a bitch to strip as everything was soo stiff
    but I could not get enough of them. I still have the Webbing to this day.
    The Belt I tried to wear last Saturday when going to a skirmish but
    it did not fit.

meandmrfn.jpg

Not sure of the year but it was the year where I won 3 different awards and was carrying 3 trophies. I know the location was Clonmel Barracks and the same year we from Limerick were shunned from the town cos one of the sucmbag like lads that were in our group stole a honda civic by opening it with a bump from his arse and hot wired it and joyrided and crashed it. He was left go!
    I never won anything in my life up until that point in time, so it was big deal for me getting 3 awards for something. Trivial now
    but back then it ment a lot to a young fella
    winners96.jpg

Braveheart again. As a member of the FCA at the time we
    were allowed special permission to actually grow our facial hair to "try" and grow a beard to make us look like a genuine scotsmen for an extra in braveheart.
    as a few weeks went by the extra's were treated like **** and fed little more than dog food, with an apple and a mars bar for lunch and was got out of bed at 6am and finished back to bunks at 9-10 at night. Eventually the Irish exras protested by shaving any facial hair they had
    so they would appear on screen as squeaky clean smooth chin'd folks just to **** with them.
    bp.jpg

medevac5small.jpg
    A Marine carries a wounded colleague to a medevac helicopter after their convoy, including the destroyed truck at background, hit an improvised explosive device near Marjah in Helmand Province on Thursday, Jan. 27.
    foreignlegion1small.jpg
    A mine clearing specialist from the French Foreign Legion searches for improvised explosive devices on a road near Tagab in Kapisa Province on Jan. 25.
    musaqala3small.jpg
    Marines take position during a patrol in Musa Qala on Jan. 28. The Marine Corps has been at the vanguard of a NATO-backed push into areas held by the Taliban.
    musaqala4small.jpg
    Marines protect their faces as a helicopter* lands at Musa Qala base in Helmand province on Jan. 27.
    *Boeing Vertol V22 used by USMC (thanks Peter)

800xz.jpg
    Paramilitary police commandos conduct a patrol along a street of Fogueteiro shantytown in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on February 6, 2011 early morning during the Rio II operation to control the drug traffickers' 'bunkers' (strongpoints). At this time the deployment has occurred peacefully without a single bullet fired in anger so far.

800xx.jpg
    US Marines from 1st Battalion, 8th Marines use missiles as they fire at Taliban fighters during a night at Mirage base, on the south of Musa Qala District, Helmand province on February 4, 2011. One missile costs 86000 US dollars (63321 euros).
    160bo21.jpg
    9pw8oz.jpg
    A member of an Afghan international security force pulls security Dec. 13, 2010, while the rest of the team searches a compound and detains three suspects who are possibly connected to the fatal suicide vehicle-borne improvised explosive device attack which killed at least eight Afghan and U.S. service members. The security force conducted the operation without firing their weapons in Kandahar province, Afghanistan.
    50883818.jpg

musaqala6.jpg
    This combintation picture made up of four pictures shows a US Marine from 1st Battalion, 8th Marines, Bravo company shooting a missile at Mirage patrol base, Musa Qala District, in Afghanistan's Helmand province on February 8, 2011. Afghan President Hamid Karzai said on February 8, 2011 that he was in talks with the United States about the possible establishment of permanent US military bases in this war-ravaged country.