Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone ever have weird housemates ?

12346»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

Are you purposely being silly? You've just killed your own point. While we DONT know what he was doing with this book, where he got it, why he had it, etc., what we DO know for SURE is that he was openly displaying images of naked children to people. As the OP said, shoving the book under her nose. I hope none or your loved ones ever suffer sexual abuse, but if they do, remember this thread.

Reported

Hey, I was just asking a question. A question that I notice you haven't answered yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

The first time I was living away from home was a strange experience for me. I managed to arrange accommodation through a friend to stay with some guy he met whilst backpacking through India. The guy was fine at the start but I noticed some weird things happening. To be honest I didn't see much of him. It was only a seven month stretch before I came home and he didn't socialise as much as myself but we watch football games together...anyway, one night I went to bed after Match Of The Day. It was quite early and I had had a few drinks with him beforehand. Off we went.

The next morning I woke up with this guy in my bed. When he woke up he laughed and told me it was only a joke and that he came into me during the night. It was a funny joke at the time but I thought it was strange.

I'll bet he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭triseke

For those who have been giving out about the chap with the naked children book, I am currently studying to be a social worker and have been for the last 4 years. I am entering into my final year and to date, we have never been shown anything like what that man had. Now, thats not to say that the chap did anything wrong, just ive never heard of doing that, i dont really see the need for it.

Anyway, yes he would have had to been garda vetted to be a social worker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Fremen wrote: »
    Overreacting much?

You DO know that the idea that some creepy guy hangs around and lures kids into the back of his van is more or less a myth, right? That a kid is much more likely to get molested by someone he or she knows.

Basically, you've flown into a blind rage because some guy had a medical textbook, which he may or may not have needed for his job. It's reactions like yours that allow government policy to be dictated by the tabloid press.
    Why would anyone who is not a doctor need such a book?

Yes, a child is more that likely at risk from someone they know, but it's no unprescedented for the likes of social workers to engage in paedophilia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

I may have posted this before, but my worst housemate experience was with the secret housemate. I had the noisy sex in the middle of the night housemates, the eating all your food housemate, the hoovering at 3am on a weeknight housemate...

Then, I got a couple who moved in with me and seemed lovely. At the time, I was leaving for work at 7am and not returning from night college 'till 11pm, so all I needed was a quiet place to sleep.

Until... I raced out the door one morning and realised after about three minutes that I had left my phone behind. I had to go back and get it because I had a long day ahead and the phone was essential. I ran back home, into my bedroom, and found a stranger asleep in my bed. Turns out, the couple who were living with me were, in effect, subletting my room to the girl's cousin when I was away.

I used to chuck the duvet over the bed and give the pillows a quick fluff before I left, and they used to do the same when this girl left. I never noticed anything at all (possibly 'cause I was so tired by the time I got home every night),

I had my name on the lease and so I told those guys they had to go. Am still disgusted that they would pull such a trick when, if they had talked to me about their cousin needing a place to stay, we could have come to some other temporary arrangement.

Would not share again for the world!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Was the cousin hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

allanb49 wrote: »
    Ok my ex weird house mates, 2 lads who where going out. (have no problem with there sexuality)

- Would wake up at 11am come down sit for 45 mins and then go back to bed cause he was tired

- Would wake up at 11am sit in a gamer chair and not move for the day playing games.

- Get there dole money on monday and be broke by wednesday

- Ordered a 2 large pizzas cause it would take too long to do a pizza that was in the fridge while waiting for 2 large pizzas had a large family size lasagna between them

- When one went out for a walk would then have to lie down for 3 hours due to the humidity

- Would post pictures of himself in a leather jacket on the barra forum, he kept talking about this site to me and my fianceé and how it was big hairy men on it that he liked

- Setup a hd projector in his room so he could go up and watch porn without being disturbed while screening it on the wall of the room

- In the 9 months we lived there never changed there bed clothes

- Would shower/Bathe fortnightly

- Got into a hissy fit when, Dell wouldnt let him buy a laptop on his maxed out credit card, when harvey normans wouldn't let him get a tv on finance, when his mother wouldn't give him the money to get a new laptop, when he couldn't find anything to buy in Dundrum one day.

- Had an argument with my fianceé (social worker) and my friend ( psychiatric nurse ) When he said women in abusive relationships who have kids should just leave the kids there grow some balls and get out.
    That women who let themselves be hit bring it on themselves and have only themselves to blame for not leaving,
    When the girls wouldn't listen to him he ran out in the rain barefooted and went to ucd, when he came back he said everyone was ganging up on him.

- Would leave there dishes pile up for a week before they would clean them.

- Spend €200 a week on food shopping for 2 people (not including take-aways)

- Asked one of my fianceés friends that since she was single and looking for something casual would she have sex with him *bf was inside* (exact words almost)

- Same night asked one of his best friends would she have sex with him when she said no he went upstairs for the night when my fianceé went up to see what happened and was he ok she was told you don't understand you never had to go through this, when she asked what about *bf* his response was "SO!"

- Went to a family wedding a few weeks back, didn't bring a present or a card, where staying in one of the guys parents brought there ps3 with them. Played the ps3 all thursday, come friday at the wedding played that all day, didn't go to the ceromony, went for the meal, left before the speeches and went back to play the ps3, i saw the ps3 updates on facebook during the day.

- During that weeekend myself and fianceé cleaned up the house for 2 hours or more as her parents where coming up. had a chinese and a few drinks. Played some rockband and went out to look at wedding dresses the next day

They came back at 2pm on saturday and proceeded to sit on there arses all day, On the august bank holiday me and fianceé where watching top gear, one of the guys had misplaced his wallet and phone, when my fianceé asked when he came in on saturday where did he put it

- WELL I HAD TO CLEAN UP THE FÚCKING MESS YOU HAD LEFT HERE ON SATURDAY, (also on the saturday we had told them fianceé maybe pregnent and we where looking for a new place, she's not thank god but there was that stress on us at the time and also all that was on the flor was a rock band drum kit)
    - At this point me being a quiet guy screamed back how it took us 2 hours to clean up there mess on friday to which one of them brought in a oven tray which i had used that morning to cook breakfast (morning being 30 mins before all of this) and screamed at me What about this. So yeah after that we left and now have a nicer place.

But 9 months we won't forget for a long time.

Your story reminds me of 2 gay guys my wife was living with in Belfast. Always broke, spent every penny on drink. Constant drama in the house over the slightest thing. The most selfish people I have ever come across, one of them would go out on the lock with a fiver and spend the night stealing drink from other punters in the bar. House was always cold as they never had money for the heating. Brought other lads back to the house all the time, which would result in stuff disappearing once they left. It was a rough few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

At least we can look back and smile about it now Keano :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

We had a German guy once move out in a house a few years ago leaving all his unpaid bills as well as taking about €400 from the kitty plus a Polish housemate's digital SLR camera.

Mind you the Polish fella asked for it on Christmas Day night a month previously when himself and a few of his Polish mates were vodka'd up and the German guy was asleep in his room. Us other housemates were at folks places for the few days. The Polish lads sprayed zippo fuel under his bedroom door then knocked on the door and set it alight. Then they went in and dragged him out of bed and gave him a piece of their mind.

Afterward the German guy said it looked like the whole door was on fire for a few seconds. No love lost there LOL. Still, f*ck him for robbing the kitty on everyone and making off like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

chakotha wrote: »
    We had a German guy once move out in a house a few years ago leaving all his unpaid bills as well as taking about €400 from the kitty plus a Polish housemate's digital SLR camera.

Mind you the Polish fella asked for it on Christmas Day night a month previously when himself and a few of his Polish mates were vodka'd up and the German guy was asleep in his room. Us other housemates were at folks places for the few days. The Polish lads sprayed zippo fuel under his bedroom door then knocked on the door and set it alight. Then they went in and dragged him out of bed and gave him a piece of their mind.

Afterward the German guy said it looked like the whole door was on fire for a few seconds. No love lost there LOL. Still, f*ck him for robbing the kitty on everyone and making off like that.

jeez thats fairly serious, why the hell would they drag him from his room and beat him up for no reason ? weirdos, dangerous weirdos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭sunshinyday

how do your housemates rate now?

the ones i have are fine, good company and chilled out. Makes me wonder where the other freaks came from through the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Wazdakka wrote: »
    I keep expecting to see a story from one of my ex Housemates whenever I see these threads. :P

Ha me aswell ! I found a housemate in college on boards she moved out of the house in January. The cracking point was coming down after christmas to find the back windows boarded up ( i had no keys and was very drunk one night :rolleyes:) ( got arrested for it strange one been arrested breaking into your own house :rolleyes:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

ShadowGal wrote: »
    jeez thats fairly serious, why the hell would they drag him from his room and beat him up for no reason ? weirdos, dangerous weirdos

Oh they didn't beat him up. Just name calling and verbal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Just having a wild shot in the dark here, but it probably had something to do with germany invading Poland in the recent past, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭fasty

And by recent, you mean over half a century ago by people who are now all dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

wasn't really his fault his country did that... i mean if that was the case then all irish people would hate english peop... eh.. actually. scratch that. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Liam28

Shared with a few nutters and d**kheads in my time, but Spud Murphy takes the biscuit. He had a .22 rifle, which he used to produce after coming back to the house at 3am. One night I fell asleep on the sofa after one such session, and he shot a can of beer off my head from across the room, William Tell style. I knew nothing about it until the following morning when my hair was sticky and wet, but it was just beer and not blood. Another time he tried to shoot a cigarette from another mate's mouth, both were jarred and unsteady on their feet. The closest call he had was when a bullet went through the kitchen wall (just plasterboard) and nicked a bloke's head in the next room. He used to booby trap the kitchen by putting an aerosol can in the oven or microwave or gas ring and walking out.
    The Gardai put an end to his gun games, as sometimes during the day out of boredom, he would aim out the window at random passers-by. There was a bank across the street, and a bank worker he had in his crosshairs looked out the window and saw him, dived for cover, and pulled his desk over. The phone fell off to the side, and Murph described with much hilarity how the banker reeled in the phone by the cord, before calling the cops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

Liam28 wrote: »
    Shared with a few nutters and d**kheads in my time, but Spud Murphy takes the biscuit. He had a .22 rifle, which he used to produce after coming back to the house at 3am. One night I fell asleep on the sofa after one such session, and he shot a can of beer off my head from across the room, William Tell style. I knew nothing about it until the following morning when my hair was sticky and wet, but it was just beer and not blood. Another time he tried to shoot a cigarette from another mate's mouth, both were jarred and unsteady on their feet. The closest call he had was when a bullet went through the kitchen wall (just plasterboard) and nicked a bloke's head in the next room. He used to booby trap the kitchen by putting an aerosol can in the oven or microwave or gas ring and walking out.
    The Gardai put an end to his gun games, as sometimes during the day out of boredom, he would aim out the window at random passers-by. There was a bank across the street, and a bank worker he had in his crosshairs looked out the window and saw him, dived for cover, and pulled his desk over. The phone fell off to the side, and Murph described with much hilarity how the banker reeled in the phone by the cord, before calling the cops.

:D That was hilarious.

They were all like that in the 1980's. I would say they knew what they were doing. Then again if a bullet nicked some chaps head; it might have been for the best that they took his rifle.

Just having a wild shot in the dark here, but it probably had something to do with germany invading Poland in the recent past, no?

no i wouldnt think so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

fasty wrote: »

That'd be daft. Sure everyone knows you can only do that after 800 years of oppression.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

fasty wrote: »
    no i wouldnt think so
    That'd be daft. Sure everyone knows you can only do that after 800 years of oppression.

Well there yiz go.Thats why they did it. People dont like their country being invaded you know, very inconvenient:rolleyes:

thats right Ted ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

my gf just moved with these total weirdos !

i mean... their completely normal...

they cook ,clean, shower and pay the bills... always nice, not bad company and are sometimes funny...

What the fcuk is their problem ?! :mad: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Emo Craft and Farmers Market

Had a roommate once who covered the ceiling and walls of her bedroom in cardboard egg cartons to “soundproof” it. She moved out about 4 weeks after she finished the project. When it came time to redecorate we could not take the cartons off without pulling off lumps of plaster with them.

Also shared a flat with a guy who seemed all right until I woke up early one morning to find him naked in my room and looking through my underwear drawer. I’m a girl by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Smeefa

I currently live with a girl who i've seen briefly twice since January. She seems to sleep here every day but has no food in the kitchen and has never been seen in the sitting room. She comes home and stays shut in her room all day...