Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog Attack

• 28-08-2010 9:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭

My son was attacked by a neighbors terrier today. He has two deep teeth wounds and bruises all around the leg.

The dog escaped from his pen and set on my kid.

I want the dog gone. Out of this street and even put down.

Where do we go from here.

the owners cant say sorry enough and have offered all medical expense paid, and has me feeling a little guilty for going after them like this.

I dont know what to do. they are really nice people . I dont want the garda knocking on their door either. What should I do?

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭mrfantastico

tbh i think you should leave the dog alone,put pressure on your neighbours to never let him out again im sure they are bricking the tought of their child (because thats what it feels like) being put down,what ever you do dont act to quickly and sleep on it

hope this helps

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭LadyTBolt

That's a terrible thing that happened to your child and I can only imagine how you feel. Your child must be devastated and I hope this will not develop into a lifetime fear of dogs for your child.

I have 2 terriers, 4 large dogs and 2 young children. I am a firm believer that a dogs behaviour towards other dogs and people is a reflection of its upbringing and lifestyle within it's family unit. Dogs are not born aggressive and with an instinct to attack. This is something they develop usually influenced by its environment.

I would seriously consider looking at the dogs environment and see if the dog is being left on it's own alot, ignored or probably not but maybe mistreated. If it is a case the dog is living in an unhappy environment I would suggest asking your neighbours to find an alternative home for the dog via a dog sanctuary as they would rehome the dog in a suitable environment knowing it's history.

I don't believe a content dog could attack a person and your child is entitled live without fear of being attacked again. Seriously consider rehoming as opposed to putting the dog to sleep. I understand your anger but I don't believe the dog is singularly responsible. Try speaking to your neighbours expressing your concerns and ask them if they have any ideas?

I hope all works out for all concerned.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Shazanne

The first thing that jumped out at me when I read your post was that the terrier had escaped from his pen. If he is in a pen he is probably feeling very restricted and the excitement of getting out probably made him react in this way. I had my terrier on a beach one day last year, on one of those extendable leads. The lead snapped and she took off at lightening speed and attacked another dog very aggressively. I nearly died but, as the owners understood dogs, they did not make TOO much of a fuss p although they were shocked. Normally my dog would not do this but the sudden freedom made him lose his reason.
    I suggest you give the dog a chance and keep the peace with your neighbours. Allow them to pay the medical costs as this will help them feel better and get them to assure you that their dog will/can not escape again.
    I hope your son is alright and that the incident did not scare him too much. Try to ensure that he continues to mix with dogs or he could develop a lifelong fear of them, which would be a terrible shame.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Amberjack

Please give the dog a chance, don't have him PTS, maybe rehomed or something. Hope your son is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

tbh i think you should leave the dog alone,put pressure on your neighbours to never let him out again im sure they are bricking the tought of their child (because thats what it feels like) being put down,what ever you do dont act to quickly and sleep on it

hope this helps

the thing is. What if the dog got out again and did the same. I had the chance to deal it but failed over guilty feeling.

I am kind of swaying toward having the dog destroyed. Who would want a pet that attacks kids (or anyone ) aways.

Im not really to bothered about the vicious dog. I just dont want to put my neighbor through hell over it.

my child is very distressed and afraid over it . He had to get a jab after 4 hours in crumlin . his leg will be scared.

is this a garda matter?

i am really angry . maybe i should settle down. either way the dog has to leave . I dont think that would be an unfair thing to do.

If you involve the Gardai there will only be one outcome. The dog will be removed and put to sleep (PTS).
    I can fully understand your concerns and your fear of this happening again. How old is the dog? Has he ever come in contact with your child before?
    I sympathise with the struggle you are going through at the moment but, as someone said above, sleep on it and see how you feel when you are calmer:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

What are the dog's living conditions like?? Do you know if the people take good care of it?? Chances are it could be a very good dog in the right home with the right people.
    The thing here is... You shouldn't feel sorry for the owners, IT'S THEIR FAULT. They didn't provide adequate fencing, and the dog got out. If anyone is in trouble it should be them. The dog is only responding to it's environment.. Getting it put down would be a terrible outcome.
    The owners should be reported for not providing suitable living conditions for their dog.. again it's THEIR FAULT.

• Registered Users Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

where was your child when it happened? if he wasnt on their property then the dog should be pts. if the child was in their garden then the dog cant be blamed for attacking a stranger.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

OP i have to congratulate you for even attempting to be reasonable after your child has been hurt. Awful thing to happen and i really hope this doesnt lead to a long term fear of dogs for your child.

Ok. First things first, your child was hurt by a dog that wasnt under the owners control. You have every reason to call the guards and insist the animal is humanely PTS. But, can you explain the exact scenario?Was the dog wandering or the kids "annoying" it to your knowledge or did it just bolt straight for your child with no warning or provocation?

If this is the dogs first offence, i genuinely think it should get a second chance,providing the owners are compliant. "Some" dogs under scary or provocational situations do lash out and are not necessarily dangerous.

As far as I have found out, my 6 year old kid and his friend where on the public green playing near the dogs apartment. The owner has 2 well groomed white terriers.
    They both burst out barking and growling . The kids ran away then one of the dogs bit my child's leg and started to tear at it like a dog would an animal. It was an aggressive attack.

We have contacted the Garda for advise on how to proceed.

3 options.

1 was the dog warden . where the dog will be taken straight away and put down.
    2 was legal action against the owners.
    3 is a formal caution by the Garda.

We are learning towards 3 as it will let the owners know we are very serious.
    I know having the dog put down would be heartbreaking for them.

I have given them a break. With a warning if I ever see the dog out of its home with no lease , I will sue them for the injuries to my kid. And make sure the dog is put down. I think this will scare them into making sure such an incident never happens again.
    hopefully the kids will remain safe on the street . I feel like im taking a chance though .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭morganafay

I think you did the right thing.

I hope the owners make 100% sure the dog doesn't get out now. And I hope your son is ok and starting to feel a bit better.

I wish to compliment you on your thoughtful and wise decision. You are a responsible parent who is looking out for your child's welfare and that is how it should be. Equally, the dogs owners must take responsiblity for their pets.
    I think you are being very fair and I feel your neighbours will appreciate this and learn from this incident.
    I do hope your little boy is doing ok and that is not as traumatised as he understandably was - it must have been a terribly frightening experience for him and his little friend. I hope it will not make him scared of dogs in the future as not having animals in his life would be a big loss to him.
    Again, compliments to you on your decision and I wish you well:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sambuka41

Fair play to you making that tough decision. And i hope your son doesn't develop a fear of dogs. Of course you are going to be concerned that you are still taking a risk with the decision but it seems like the best for everyone involved.

My mother found a terrier on the street and took him home, straight away he attacked my westie viciously and then bit me quite badly (have a scar). My inital reaction was the same as yours, that she was taking a risk with him but she kept him. 6 years later and he is an absolute dote,lovely dog who was devastated when my westie died. He hasnt bitten anyone since and he became very loving. So it can work out if the owners put in the hard work ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

I just wanted to add my compliments to you op for having the presence of mind to think it through. I'm very glad you made the decision you did. I think it is a very fair way of dealing with it and you have every right to be annoyed.

Could you explain to the owners that you are very very uncomfortable that the dog would attack like that and no matter how many reassurances you get, you are worried it may happen again. Suggest they take their dogs to socialisation/obedience classes, so even if they do escape again they will not be as much of a danger.

she nearly cried when i told them I was letting them of the hook. The dogs are like kids to them.

They where moving stuff around outside the back of their apartment and put a table set against the pen. Dog jumped on the table and over the fence.

If it was not for the fact that they are nice people and seem to be careful owners I would have had the dog destroyed. But after seeing the dog pen this morn and being reassured that it will be contained in the future I let them off(on request from my young lad).
    feck. I will tell ya. when you hear over the phone that your only kid has just been attacked , ye really think the worst . drama over anyways.

thanks. ye really did calm me down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well done OP, I'm not sure I'd have been as calm and collected over the whole affair.

One of the best things you can do now is make sure your child doesn't develope a fear of dogs, because while the scar's on his leg will heal - this would be something which will scar him for life.

Pity your so far away, in Crumlim. I've used my lads to help people over come their fear of dogs & would have gladly let your little fella meet them for a play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

I applaud you for your actions. I hope it works out for the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Good stuff OP,most people would not have been so reasonable in your situation. Well done for giving the dog a second chance, i only hope your neighbours appreciate what you have done.

I think you should expose your child now to a positive influence of a well behaved dog. The memory of the bite should not let it affect how he sees all dogs from now on. You sound like a really open minded person so fair play im sure you'll do the right thing ;)