Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the worst act of human stupidity you have encountered?

• 29-08-2010 1:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Apart from this thread?

(just kiddin)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Plenty of them here: http://www.darwinawards.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

I clicked my car keys at the door of my house once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

I killed a man with a trident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

people who continue to vote ff. i was coninviced at the last electionthey'd be wiped out but to my surprise the won:eek:
    whats worse is that at the next election they'll be a close second if not actually doing talks to form the next government:eek:i despair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

People who take EVERYTHING seriously.

There's nothing stupider than people not enjoying life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

what do you mean by that? is this all a big joke to you?

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

People thinking that antimatter is the same as parallel universes ...:P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

The rank stupidity I see on the roads every day...boring answer, but true. And it's only getting worse.

How I would dearly love to batter the crap outta some of the morons that get behind the wheel in this Country!

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Saying "I do"...

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭MultiUmm

I think the nanny states we've developed are pretty stupid tbh.

I can't really pinpoint an exact moment of extreme stupidity, probably encountered many though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

You see it every single day in Dublin, people, that when the bus stops, seem to think that crowding the door when people are trying to get off will somehow make there overall journey shorter (by impeding others). Morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

The guys who asked me, a 16 year old, to buy them drink.

That was pretty stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

Cigarette smoking has got to be up there somewhere...

NoHornJan wrote: »
    Saying "I do"...

Well, I said "I do" to my best friend, because I love her & want to spend the rest of my days with her.

I really can't see anything stupid about that.

Well, I said "I do" to my best friend, because I love her & want to spend the rest of my days with her.

AWWWWWWWWWW!!!!

You're a sweetheart.

AWWWWWWWWWW!!!!

You're a sweetheart.

*passes sick bag to landsleaving* :D

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Ah!!! Puppy Love.

Oh so sweet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

At 11 o'clock this evening I poked myself in the eye for no apparent reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

At 11 o'clock this evening I poked myself in the eye for no apparent reason

Either you have a very flexible body, or a huge cock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

OutlawPete wrote: »
    This springs to mind:

Whilst watching your video I came across this one;
    A woman rings 911 because she has "locked" herself in her car.:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbX_I_lrmIc&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Isle

Jedward!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭Lust4Life

They walk among us every day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Give it a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

the day I seen a woman struggle to manage with a huge EMPTY plastic storage box,and a shopping bag from dunnes in each hand
    I knew this country was doomed!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Second most stupid thing was some guy with a mohawk in Copper Face jacks.

Most stupid thing was him believing the bouncer when he told him me and my mates were Guards and we were going to arrest him and give him a hiding.

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Lyra Fangs

When a friend of mine thought the tv had changed language to 'russian' when in fact they had actually just changed to the dutch news channel by accident.
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

i tore my living room apart looking for my car keys while I was late for work for about five minutes before i realised they were in my hand

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Lyra Fangs

Roar wrote: »
    i tore my living room apart looking for my car keys while I was late for work for about five minutes before i realised they were in my hand

Happens to us all lol
    I always carry my phone in my pocket and take it out when i'm texting and such. There's the odd time when I pat my pocket, realise it's empty and outright panic that i've lost my phone....when it's been in my hand the whole time.
    :o

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

Lyra Fangs wrote: »
    Happens to us all lol
    I always carry my phone in my pocket and take it out when i'm texting and such. There's the odd time when I pat my pocket, realise it's empty and outright panic that i've lost my phone....when it's been in my hand the whole time.
    :o

I do things like this all the time.

My eyes are really sensitive to light and I always need to put on sunglasses when I'm driving (darker ones in the summer usually). I find the grey light in the winter kills my eyes and obviously need them for the sunny days (the few we get!) in summer.

Anyway, I'm there one day running late for work, really sunny outside and I'm looking for my glasses. Running around like a headless chicken.

Mum comes in to see what the racket is about....she then reveals that the sun glasses were on my head the whole time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Off the top of my head, the young guys who I saw throw rocks at a gay couple kissing outside a bar on George´s Street. Stupid numpties with nothing upstairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

i was watching jedward let loose a while ago and i was thinking 'hmmm those two are pretty stupid'

then in a soul crushingly blinding flash of clarity i realised i'm the fool for watching that shite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

NAMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,707 ✭✭✭flutered

bertie telling me to commit sucide for forecasting a recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

The election of George W Bush.... TWICE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

NAMA

along with the anglo irish bail out - now our nation will never be in the position to help financially with any catastrophe here or abroad

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭mox54

Brian Cowen becoming finance minister and be good at it!! how stupid is he for thinking it and we for letting him believe it!!, obviously a complete disiater as our current situation clearly shows, who's the more stupid....the debate continues:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

People standing at shop doors or street corners having a chat oblivious to others and blocking their way. See this all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

War .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Climate change activists who request alternatives to fossil fuels but protest against nuclear energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭eskimoparty

Whilst watching your video I came across this one;
    A woman rings 911 because she has "locked" herself in her car.:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbX_I_lrmIc&feature=related

That is brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

FF letting the Gomgreens in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

An elderly acquaintance asked me to change the batteries in his kitchen radio, and told me the spares were in the drawer. The radio took two AA batteries, but I could only find one in the drawer.

''Thats ok, it should do'' he said, ''I keep the volume down low''

A cousin of mine told our grandmother about her cot-death fears for her new baby. Our granny told her there was only one sure-fire way to avoid it - let her sleep in the pram!

Its sort of endearing stupidity, not dangerous stupidity.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

The Irish people for voting in Fianna Fail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

"What's heavier, a ton of bricks or a ton of feathers?"
    "Bricks, durrr"

Nama.

Edit, after seeing someone else choose Nama: Still Nama.