Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help with a few basic renters' questions

Options
  • 31-08-2010 8:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 26

Hi folks,

Would really appreciate any advice given on a few basic (but probably obvious) questions to do with renting.

I've been renting for the past 4 years but through a private landlord, have never had any dealings with letting agents. Now, myself and a friend have decided to get a place together, and have started looking on Daft.ie, etc.

The main question I have is how much leeway letting agents are prepared to give you in terms of timeframes. Say, for example, we see a place on the 12th of September and want to take it. The problem is that neither of us can move until October 1st at the earliest, as we have paid rent until the end of September in our current places and can't afford to pay double rent as well as a deposit for the new place.

Would the letting agents hold the place for us until October 1st, or would they generally expect you to start paying rent immediately?

Also, how amenable are agents these days to taking offers on something? i.e. an apartment is going for 1200, but our budget is 1,100....

Thanks in advance.

CWF

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Treehouse72

This is always a pain. I was fortunate enough at the end of my last lease that a family member was going away for 2 months and I moved into her place while I was searching for a new place to avoid having to pay 2 months rent and another deposit. If you can do that it's a great solution.