Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tony Blairs booky wook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Denerick wrote: »
    No.

Blair is a retired British Prime Minister who made a controversial decision to bring Britain into war against Iraq. His decision should be viewed through that lense. Mass protest against the said invasion (Which was both illegal and immoral) is pointless. In reality these kinds of protests are just a way of letting the average student twit his day out in the sun, his chance to feel 'radical' and all that good stuff.

I'll go to the protest if you can guarantee there were won't be punk hairstyled twats bringing down the decorum of the event.

The protest is against the man using Dublin as a PR stunt away from protestors.

Decorum at a protest? Christ on a Honda. If you fell strongly enough about something you get off your hole and protest. The hairstyles of protesters being a factor is demeaning.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

The protest is against the man using Dublin as a PR stunt away from protestors.

Decorum at a protest? Christ on a Honda. If you fell strongly enough about something you get off your hole and protest. The hairstyles of protesters being a factor is demeaning.

It just so happens that these protests are always highjacked by a motley crew of Trotskyists, punks, shinners and dullards. There is no opening for rational civil debate in that sort of environment. The hive mentality of professional protestors is the really demeaning force at work here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

It just so happens that these protests are always highjacked by a motley crew of Trotskyists, punks, shinners and dullards. There is no opening for rational civil debate in that sort of environment. The hive mentality of professional protestors is the really demeaning force at work here.

Ever been to a protest?
    Rational civil debate lol.
    Its a street protest not a debate in a lecture theater.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

The protest isn't about the book its about Tony Blair visiting Dublin.
    Its people getting off their arses that will point out to him that he is not as popular as he thinks and that many do not appreciate his term as PM.

Smartarse comments about those who actually do something are pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Some twopenny "republican" organisation called Ergi (sp?) is planning a citizens arrest stunt. No doubt so that the next time I type Ergi (sp?) it'll be spelt correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

20Cent wrote: »
    The protest isn't about the book its about Tony Blair visiting Dublin.
    Its people getting off their arses that will point out to him that he is not as popular as he thinks and that many do not appreciate his term as PM.

Smartarse comments about those who actually do something are pathetic.

Sorry nobody is going to take any notice, of the usual rent a mob, I don't think Tony will either

A better protest is don't buy the book which is what I will be doing

Sorry nobody is going to take any notice, of the usual rent a mob, I don't think Tony will either

Guess we'll see tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Tis amazing how the only British PM (bar Major) who "got" Ireland is so hated by so many socialists/republicans. Still I guess its the default position.

mike65 wrote: »
    Tis amazing how the only British PM (bar Major) who "got" Ireland is so hated by so many socialists/republicans. Still I guess its the default position.

Its not just socialists and Republicans.

You want an exact number? Do a poll or something then. Tens of thousands of people protested against the war. Don't think anyone is claiming to be representing the Irish Public. Just themselves.

Fair play to anyone who makes a point of showing him what they think. Its exactly this apathy that allows these people to get away with this stuff.
    I hope Blair is tormented everywhere he goes for the rest of his life.
    Maybe the next megalomaniac who wants to start a war with lies will think twice.

He probably just read abstracts and reviews.

I'll be there tomorrow with a few friends none of us are socialists or republicans.

There have been plenty of reviews and abstracts of the book published to know what it is about. Did he claim to have read it all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

While I agree with the humorous absurdity outlined in your post, lets not get too carried away shall we?

It's not as if Blair is a reclusive novelist of fantastic fiction* and that Mac An Mhaistír is coming up with farcical predictions as to what the forthcoming Larry Potter book is all about. We're talking about a book that deals with issues firmly rooted in fact and history, and of an illegitimate war which Blair was a firm proponent of. It shall be very interesting to see what Blair has to say for himself seeming as they continually and knowingly lied to us regarding the issues surrounding the reason of going to war.

Without having even read the book myself I can loosely predict 3 basic responses that Blair will have in relation to the Iraq war, in varying degrees of likelihood :

1) We were damn right to go to war, even if we knew they didn't have WMD's
    2) We were still right to go to war, even though we f***ed up in relation to the WMD's
    3) We f***ed up horribly and were totally wrong to go to war

So in some apects I don't think it is too out of order to predict what Blairs book will be like, but we have to wait and see until we actually read the book before commenting too heavily on it.

*I could be wrong on this one! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Well theres still 50,000 US troops on Iraqi soil, a governmental and economic framework that was imposed by an unelected US Governorship...

Is there some statute of limitations that the rest of us are unaware of?

Nodin wrote: »
    Well theres still 50,000 US troops on Iraqi soil, a governmental and economic framework that was imposed by an unelected US Governorship...

Not to mention all the hired mercenaries and private defence agencies such as Blackwater.

True, true.

They've rebranded now, apparently. "Xe" they're called, which I'm sure makes all the difference to the people diving for cover as they blaze on through....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Is there some statute of limitations that the rest of us are unaware of?

So you think the US should just withdraw all their troops now? How do you think that will end up?

You think they're just there for security? There'll be US troops and bases on Iraqi soil long after I'm dead.

And? Might be a small presence like in the European countries, doubt the 50000 will be there that long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

Did he claim to have read it all?

One reads a review on the premise that the reviewer is well informed; ie, that they have read the work in question. Given that this "reviewer" hasn't, his opinions on the book are worth about as much as the pig's liver my cat just puked up as a result of the garlic it was cooked in. That is, precisely nothing.

Well, I'm not totally right. The regurgitated liver can at least be used as compost.

And? Might be a small presence like in the European countries, doubt the 50000 will be there that long

And? Its not exactly an incentive for Iran to drop its nuclear ambitions now, is it. Their continued presence will also undermine the legitamacy of the Iraq government.

And by allowing them maintain a strategic presence, it rewards aggression.

And? Its not exactly an incentive for Iran to drop its nuclear ambitions now, is it. Their continued presence will also undermine the legitamacy of the Iraq government.

And by allowing them maintain a strategic presence, it rewards aggression.

Does their bases in Germany or Italy undermine the German or Italian governments?

I'm not sure complete withdrawal would be encourage Iran to drop its nuclear ambitions either. In fact they may use the vacuum left to increase its military capacity to influence Iraq to their own agenda

Ever been to a protest?
    Rational civil debate lol.
    Its a street protest not a debate in a lecture theater.

Yes, I have. The most recent one was a protest against student fee's. (I'm largely indifferent to their introduction, I went along to observe) Luckily I got an eyeful, as the anarchist flag laid siege to the horizon. The morons waving those things had no mental capacity to understand the idiocy of that action, never mind the irony.

That collective fellatio and exercise of mass middle class privilege against a system that indulges cretins far too much put me off protesting for good.

Luckily I got an eyeful, as the anarchist flag laid siege to the horizon. The morons waving those things had no mental capacity to understand the idiocy of that action, never mind the irony.

I always cringe when people start waving flags opportunistically at protests, but why exactly is waving an anarchist flag ironic in this situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

I always cringe when people start waving flags opportunistically at protests, but why exactly is waving an anarchist flag ironic in this situation?

I'm not sure an anarchistic state would be paying for free university places.

I find it hilarious when anarchists protest in favour of a larger State, subsidising mainly middle class students to go to college.

I note Mr Blair turned back into Mr Bliar last night, with his efforts to link Saddam Hussein with 9/11.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

I note Mr Blair turned back into Mr Bliar last night, with his efforts to link Saddam Hussein with 9/11.

Would one expect anything else but lies from him. He wanders around like he is still PM in his own world of smug self righteousness.....probably has not dawned on him yet he is no longer PM.....trying to stoke up more trouble with Iran.

I don't recall them ever claiming to be.

The simple reality is BLiar has embarked on a PR campaign to sanitise his tainted legacy and chosen Dublin to be the spot to do it because of the outright hostility he would face in any British city. So I have no problem whatsoever with Dubs telling him exactly what we think of our city and perceived apathy being manipulated in this manner

This polemic from the usual suspects has nothing to do with Blair, wars or whatever. Its anti-protest as a concept and a distrust of anyone taking direct action themselves and is rather insipid.

I find it hilarious when anarchists protest in favour of a larger State, subsidising mainly middle class students to go to college.

So what? I have more respect for well meaning, if misguided, young folk getting off their arses and making their voices heard than professional whingers like you who complain about the state of affairs and then patronise people for taking a stand.

Your apathy is a bigger problem than a few students going marching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭irishconvert

Mr.Micro wrote: »
    Would one expect anything else but lies from him. He wanders around like he is still PM in his own world of smug self righteousness.....probably has not dawned on him yet he is no longer PM.....trying to stoke up more trouble with Iran.

He's not trying to stoke up trouble, he is preparing the public for what has been decided already. They will definitely invade Iran, this is all pre-conditioning. B-liar is truly a master of deception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭McDougal

I see the Sunday Independent readers queued for 2 hours to have a book signed by a mass murdering religious extremist. What pathetic drones. Perhaps it provided some a few hours entertainment in their worthless lives. Apparently the blood of hundreds of thousands of iraqis is not as valuable as the coca-cola that flows through the viens of the sindo reader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I just heard on the BBC news that some woman tried to make a citizens arrest of him at the book signing in Easons. Apparently he was taken aback and she was then led away by 4 security men.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Ren2k7

I heard that during the protests those who were leaving easons after having their books signed were verbally abused by these far left cretans.

Regardless of your opinion of Tony Blair, shouting abuse at ordinary folk in the street loses you any sort of moral high ground that they may have been taking.

I hope stories of heavy handedness by the Gardai is proven to be correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

Ren2k7 wrote: »

You've just lost any moral high ground you supposedly had.

So what? I have more respect for well meaning, if misguided, young folk getting off their arses and making their voices heard than professional whingers like you who complain about the state of affairs and then patronise people for taking a stand.

Your apathy is a bigger problem than a few students going marching.

There is an inherent danger in idiots getting their voices heard. In reality this motley assortment of thugs and imbeciles would be better off sleeping in on a Saturday morning rather than indulging in self righteous protesting at the expense of rational debate, civility or common sense.

There more of that footage I watch on youtube, the more cringeworthy it gets. A small band of retards, Republicans, student twats and thugs gather to throw eggs at the former British Prime Minister.

Such unforgivable idiocy.

Some people would be better off knowing their fúcking place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I'm glad I didn't go along to get a copy like I had planned now.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I'm glad I didn't go along to get a copy like I had planned now.

I plan to read Blair's book, not because I'm a 'West Brit' (Translate into 'bogmen telling us we can't read certain books') but because I'm curious about the man's life. he was an important historical figure, and will remain so.

The people protesting his book signing are essentially fascists, opposed to freedom of speech and academic freedom.

This is why I despise most protestors and the pathetic hive mentality associated with it.

Ren2k7 wrote: »
    I heard that during the protests those who were leaving easons after having their books signed were verbally abused by these far left cretans.

Regardless of your opinion of Tony Blair, shouting abuse at ordinary folk in the street loses you any sort of moral high ground that they may have been taking.

Massacring people with patriot missiles don't bother you at all. A couple of eggs is at a 150k BMW is what worries you.

I plan to read Blair's book, not because I'm a 'West Brit' (Translate into 'bogmen telling us we can't read certain books') but because I'm curious about the man's life. he was an important historical figure, and will remain so.

The people protesting his book signing are essentially fascists, opposed to freedom of speech and academic freedom.

This is why I despise most protestors and the pathetic hive mentality associated with it.
    Same here... I will read it just like I have read Mein Kampf(an ott comparison I know) because I am interested in the man.

TBH I think they were not protesting the book, but the mans presence.

The people protesting are a voice for all those murdered at Blair's command. You only support free speech for right wingers and war criminals. What a hero you are! Unfortunately all the dead in Iraq have no free speech but that doesn't bother you at all. Anyway I'm sure you are already anticipating Eoghan Harris' vile rant in the sindo tommorrow. You will druel over it no dount as he defends mass murder and accuses those oppossed to war as being "fascist".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

So it's now fascist to engage in public a protest against a figure perceived by many to be a war mongerer?? How on earth is it opposed to freedom of speech???

McDougal wrote: »
    The people protesting are a voice for all those murdered at Blair's command. You only support free speech for right wingers and war criminals. What a hero you are! Unfortunately all the dead in Iraq have no free speech but that doesn't bother you at all. Anyway I'm sure you are already anticipating Eoghan Harris' vile rant in the sindo tommorrow. You will druel over it no dount as he defends mass murder and accuses those oppossed to war as being "fascist".

The Soviet Union is thataway
    >

So it's now fascist to engage in public a protest against a figure perceived by many to be a war mongerer?? How on earth is it opposed to freedom of speech???

The people who buy his books are 'despicable west brits'

The Guards who protect a foreign dignatory from assault and murder are 'west brit scum protecting a war criminal'

The people protesting are the same shower who'd shoot you if you had a friendship with a Protestant.

The same imbeciles who've kept this country back for generations.

Your claim that this was not opposed to freedom of speech is destroyed by your use of violence to establish your retarded little point.

My God how I'm sick of the retarded protestors who ruin this countries good name. I'd love to send them all off to Connaught.

The people protesting are the same shower who'd shoot you if you had a friendship with a Protestant.
    Pure bollux Denerick, I think you know that yourself.