Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Best of' comments for the Electric Picnic Competition

• 01-09-2010 2:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭

Hey Everyone,

Electric Picnic looms this weekend, and just as a (very) small token of our appreciation for the overwhelming response to the recent competition, I decided to compile a ‘best of’ thread, knowing full well that nobody in their right mind would trawl through the nine hundred and forty nine posts from the original thread in order to find a funny one here and there (apart from me that is).

We asked that users leave a comment; anything would count, even a full stop (which one user actually did leave). The posts ranged from the wild and saucy to the woeful and self-pitying, and from the downright random to the ‘refined and erudite’, if you will (assuming Homer Simpson quotes count as ‘learned’ – ‘Learn’d son, it’s pronounced learn’d’ … there’s my contribution). We also got quite a few Father Ted quotes, always welcome, and even one from This Is Spinal Tap! Others included (original) poems and pictures, puns aplenty, and lots of good old grovelling!

You might also be interested in reading through our winning entries for our Picnic Power competition; basically, the twenty most outrageous energy-saving anecdotes were awarded tickets. Congratulations to everyone, and again, many thanks to all you Boards users for your lively, humorous contributions!

So, to reiterate, we asked that users merely ‘comment’, leaving the content up to themselves. Here’s what they came up with (in a particular order decided by me :)):
    HupSheFlew wrote:
    com•ment
    noun
    1. a remark, observation, or criticism: a comment about the weather.
    2. gossip; talk: His frequent absences gave rise to comment.
    3. a criticism or interpretation, often by implication or suggestion: The play is a comment on modern society.
    4. a note in explanation, expansion, or criticism of a passage in a book, article, or the like; annotation.
    5. explanatory or critical matter added to a text.
    6. Also called rheme. [Linguistics] The part of a sentence that communicates new information about the topic.
    No comment.
    This comment is a comment in reply to your comment on the previous comment in relation to the comment that will be made two weeks hence.
    my dog ate my tickets :(
    ESB was always better than EBS, I don't care what anyone says.
    Johnny86 wrote:
    i know an american who thought paddy power were the ESB
    Jigga wrote:
    Electric Picnic has been released by the Gardai without charge.
    So now it's just a picnic.
    Q: Why did the lights go out?
    A: Because they liked each other!
    raven136 wrote:
    Introducing "Lite" - The new way to spell "Light" but with 20% fewer letters.
    Crow92 wrote:
    I'll type as little as possible to save energy :D
    I reckon you should hook up a few generators to some of them mad folk in the dance tent. The entire festival would be wholly self powered
    I like eggs
    wogan121 wrote:
    Levitating chickens!
    Rezident wrote:
    Does a Bear Rave in the Woods?
    stimpson wrote:
    Are they my feet?
    frankied1 wrote:
    messy
    Toilet in the dark!!
    Schtik wrote:
    Duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck, duck....
    danniemcq wrote:
    leaves comment and slowly backs away

CONTINUED IN NEXT POST...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭Electric Ireland: David

Cheeky gal wrote:
    Hey David, You, me, Electric Picnic? ;)
    The chances of winning this are rapidly converging towards zero.
    Keith186 wrote:
    Well, at this moment there's a 1 in a 600 chance of winning assuming ESB CS: David doesn't keep them for himself!
    dan2d2 wrote:
    ah go on
    puh-leeease
    i'll eat my shoes
    engrish? wrote:
    I love you.
    ESB - Excellent Service by Beautiful...eh people
    Where's the ass kissing smiley?
    d&#8217 wrote: »
    I always liked ESB.
    Big fan of Boards who supply Electricity.

(FATHER TED QUOTES):
    Scien wrote:
    I think I should have both parachutes, in case one fails.
    donnchaw wrote:
    Dougal: "Ahh, lets see, I'll have the chicken curry, pilau rice and a can of fanta thanks."
    Policeman: "Do you know where you are? You're in a police station."
    Dougal: "Oh right. Well, in that case, I'll just have the satay chicken."
    ahhhhhhhhhh G'wan G'wan G'wan G'wan G'wan !!
    civic071 wrote:
    drink, feck, arse!!

(HOMER SIMPSON QUOTES):
    Your ideas are intriguing to me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter
    Cion&#225 wrote: »
    And how much are you charging for this free weekend?
    *prays* I'm not normally a praying man...but if you're up there, please help me, Superman!
    doohan wrote:
    If the Bible has taught us nothing else, and it hasn't, it's that girls should stick to girls' sports, such as hot oil wrestling and foxy boxing and such and such.

(THIS IS SPINAL TAP):
    'Well, it's one louder, isn't it? It's not ten. You see, most blokes, you know, will be playing at ten. You're on ten here, all the way up, all the way up, all the way up, you're on ten on your guitar. Where can you go from there? Where? ...Eleven. Exactly. One louder.' (Tufnel, N 1984)

PUNS (sorry):
    Bloodfued wrote:
    I'll bring that extra spark to Electric Picnic..
    It will light up my life..
    It will enpower me...
    I will blow a fuse if i dont win..

Too many puns..?
    paddybjnr wrote:
    thomj42 wrote:
    this thread is quite "en-light-ening". If I won it'd be "Electric". I'd be totally "wired". If I don't win, I'll be "shocked". It's obviously a shameless "plug" for the ESB. :eek:
    anybody but him please
    Piriz wrote:
    Watts the story? Ohm my God, I can think of Amp’le reasons, but mostly because I’ll dance till it Hertz! :)
    dak wrote:
    I was going to post a Re-Volting Comment but I Re-sisted !...

(That was the last of them, promise...) :)
    will the big switch be connected to the power shower?
    Please pick me, I cleaned the offices in the Esb for four years I could do with a present! Showers were filthy from the Sparky's
    Purple monkey dishwasher
    stoneruile wrote:
    The ESB!!!? That's Gas!
    ToTheSea wrote:
    This comment was written on my eco-friendly laptop made of old christmas trees and powered by lovely rainbows. The energy emissions simply become kittens.
    Balmed Out wrote:
    Give a man a match, and he'll be warm for a minute, but set him on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
    Murphisto wrote:
    E.very
    S.ingle
    B.and
    R.eally
    O.ughtta
    C.over
    K.ylie
    S.ongs
    Tommy21 wrote:
    Oh ESB, ESB,
    The light you provide makes it clear to me.
    To Electric Picnic I must go,
    which is probably powered by water flow!
    Stradbally Village, Stradbally Hall,
    ESB powers them all.
    When the bands take the stage,
    the powerful beams are all the rage.
    Airtricity means nothing to us,
    Bord Gais created an empty fuss.
    But when I arrive in Co. Laois
    ESB will have kept the peace.
    ellie rep wrote:
    I vote for Tommy21, awful poem, but creative at least
    Cablegu wrote:
    Rock on 2010 Picnic

To be seen and green,
    Shows the ESB's being keen,
    Can now dance in the light,
    In the middle of the night,
    An Energy-saving mind is also kind,
    So knowing this,
    Gives a sense of bliss,
    At the Electric,
    Picnic.
    frag420 wrote:
    I loike big buts and I cannot lie,
    electricity makes me high,
    with a bucket and spade and some red lemonade,
    those two tickets wont go wasted

• Registered Users Posts: 24,506 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Slow day in work is it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Priori

LOL :D nice collection
    Will the big switch be connected to the power shower?

That's gotta be the best one though