Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Shoes and Eggs pelted at Tony Blair in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 166 ✭✭Exodus 1811

Regardless of the mobs opinion of blair, i think a more civil and peaceful protest would have given them a better image. I can only see the terrible headlines in the Sun and the Star, it will be pun-tastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Ridiculous.
    Have we not moved on at all as a society? The man is one of the great orators and politicians of our time. I do not agree with some of his political decisions, however surely we are past the stage where we need to throw things at all british heads of state?

who was the last one "we" threw stuff at? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Nevermind_ wrote: »
    No one is perfect or right all the time, I believe blair acted in good faith but the intelligence he was given was deeply flawed.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing...

They knew at the time there were no WMD. Therefore its not "hindsight".

He was given intelligence which was "massaged" before being made available to his parliament. That implies manafacture on his part, not faulty information.

RobitTV wrote: »
    Those people throwing shoes and eggs in dublin are all Twats! its Disgraceful behaviour and a Embarrisment to our country. i thougth we were at Peace with england??? :confused: Outreagous behaviour thats all it is!!. This kind of Behaviour Cannot!! be tolerated and its Unexpectable

Nothing to do with the fact he's english. I'd imagine bush would get the same, if not far worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

It's on the BBC already.

www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11187320#

Embarrassing to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

Can't read anymore of this guff.

stupid lefties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

The man is one of the great orators and politicians of our time.

Heeheehee. If you believe that, I know a Nigerian prince who needs to get his money out of the country. For a small consideration you can have 10% of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Nodin wrote: »
    Nothing to do with the fact he's english. I'd imagine bush would get the same, if not far worse.

Excpet for all those pesky secret service standing in the way.

lol at the folk who think this is because he's English. On the whole as far as his policy towards NI and the peace process went, Blair has arguably been one of the better PM's as regards Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

D-Generate wrote: »
    I'm embarrassed by this

agreed, there'd be a fapfest if it were Clinton :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭Fo Real

Typical leftie SCUMBAGS. The same crowd of ignorant boggers that were causing trouble at the Shell pipeline out west.

Wertz wrote: »
    Excpet for all those pesky secret service standing in the way.

They'd have so much security it would be impossible to throw an egg without hitting one of them.

(I actually have a coat from one of them from when Reagan was here. Doesn't give off a radio activeglow of evil, funny enough)

Nevermind_ wrote: »

Hindsight is a wonderful thing...

Hindsight me bollocks. There was plenty of "hindsight" being bandied about before the move on Iraq, it was ignored/covered up/shouted down in favour of pursuing a pre-determined policy of invading Iraq.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

muletide wrote: »
    Ireland has bailed out the ECB??

Jesus, Europe is in bad way if we are bailing it out

Well, it isn't exactly shipshape.

The majority of the recapitalisation of Anglo will ultimately make its way back to the coffers of the European Central Bank, it's part of the reason they gave the plan the thumbs up in the first place, despite the idea of exchequer funds being used to prop up bondholders in the first place being somewhat, unusual.

My point stands, people will rail on the streets against issues like this and yet other, more pressing problems, even down to expenses corruption among our politicians, goes unmentioned.

One could say it's because many of the crusties involved don't pay any sizeable amount of tax (yet?) in the first place, but it runs much deeper than that.

We'd be an apathetic nation, if we could be bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fcuking arseholes. You can be sure that a majority of those out to cause trouble haven't got the foggiest idea about the ins and outs of what their (supposedly) opposed to either. I don't agree with Blair's decision to go to war or the manner in which he justified it, but these sort are the same fcukwits that formed a mob outside of that halfway house after Murphy's release even though he wasn't there.. clueless retards

Absurdum wrote: »
    agreed, there'd be a fapfest if it were Clinton :rolleyes:

There, the security is to protect the women (or protect Clinton from the women, or them from each other...).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

WindSock wrote: »
    Was Britains eggs Prime Minister quickly shoed from the scene?

Although I wasn't here early enough to get involved in the scramble for puns, I have looked at them all, and most of them are a load of cobblers.

Yours is ok though.

:o

those muppets who threw their shoes will be eggstreamly pissed off when they have to walk home barefoot in the rain

Firefox11 wrote: »
    It's on the BBC already.

www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11187320#

Embarrassing to say the least.

Only an embarrassment in the fact that if the beying mob tried the same in the UK, there'd be people getting shot in the street. There are plenty of people in the UK who would quite happily see Blair egged for the right reasons...I'd worry that the idiots who write the red tops seize upon this as some sort of anti-english protest...judging by the responses in this thread there's plenty of people willing to believe that BS...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

What a bunch of retards, the Gardai should have baton charged them. Have they nothing better to be doing than to go embarrassing the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Just saw the report on the BBC. They reckon the people who turned up for the signings outnumbered the protesters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

drkpower wrote: »
    Clearly you didnt; would you like to provide the quote? Or at least paraphrase him and we will all have a laugh at your misunderstanding?.

Still havent managed to get that quote/paraphrase him, Nodin?:rolleyes: Didnt think so, as I said, it is entirely clear you didnt understand him.

I'll help you. He said that you couldn't take the possibility of military action off the table if all other efforts have failed; its a nuance you probably dont understand but that is not advocating military action, however much you want it to be.

He said that 9-11 'changed the game'; it meant that you could no longer allow 'evil' regimes to hold weapons of mass destruction as 9-11 illustrated the potential harm they could cause; its a nuance you probably dont understand but that is not linking Saddam to 9-11, however much you want it to be.

Try & listen next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭CokaColumbo

I am ashamed at what happened to Tony Blair.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Nothing to do with the fact he's english.

Hardly surprising, considering he is Scottish.

The shoe throwing scumbags in O'Connell Street should be shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

He will get the same response in London as in Dublin.
    The man talked of Saddam attacking London with weapons within 1 hour.
    The evidence was erroneous and he got it wrong.
    AND HE KNEW IT WAS WRONG.
    Yet tens of thousands of people died as a result.
    I am no leftie but I can understand why this has happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

He didnt actually do either. You just didnt understand it.

Out of interest, do you advocate doing anything if Iran are on the brink of developing a nuclear weapon and diplomatic efforts at avoiding same have failed?

I advocate doing nothing. Iran is entitled to a nuke in the same manner the UK/USA/Israel/Russia etc... have theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

I advocate doing nothing. Iran is entitled to a nuke in the same manner the UK/USA/Israel/Russia etc... have theirs.
    Good for you; but that is the reason that you, like Nodin, will never have any influence anywhere......ever. And thank Jebus for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

those twats Embarrsing are country

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭macgrub

Even if people do not agree with the man, I really do not think throwing eggs and shoes will prove much.
    If anything, that mob are not doing the anti-Blair contingent any favours. It's making them look like spoilt brats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Anti-war protesters firing missiles at Tony Blair.

Do these people not see their own hypocrisy?
    Anti-war intelligence fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

I've never made an excuse for the dissidents and have condemned same on numerous occassions. Do not make false allegations, thanks.

The dissidents? Who are they now exactly? Because AFAIK Sinn Fein didn't consider the Provisional Ira as dissidents? So those lads were grand chaps yeah?

Blair did more for peace in the North than those scum ever will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

These left wing wierdos have no respect for peace and democracy. No doubt that nutjob Boyd Barrett and his stooge Hugh Lewis are there directing things.

Oh tut tut...not if they propose the obliteration of the state of Israel, they're not.

It's alright for all the rest to have their weapons (Israel included) once they're only allowed to use them for "defensive deterrent" purposes, but if you are an enemy of Israel, the "international commmunity" will shun you and seek to make sure that you can never make good on your threat...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Groups represented at the demonstration included the Ireland-Palestine Solidarity Coalition and the 32-County Sovereignty Movement.

Why do these twats take over EVERY protest. The Palestinian solidarity movement is a front for far left Trotskyists and uncritical idiots who will defend the indefensible until the day they die, the other is the political wing of the CIRA.

Makes me sick.

LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Pauleta wrote: »
    These left wing wierdos have no respect for peace and democracy. No doubt that nutjob Boyd Barrett and his stooge Hugh Lewis are there directing things.

Heard him on the radio on Thursday and, yep, he's one of the crusties pulling the strings. He's been at this carry on for at least 15 years now. I remember when I was still in school and seeing him and the rest of the rent-a-mob Socialist Workers Party of People Before Profit Popular Front of Judea, out at the central bank every weekend with a megaphone and a petition over that week's outrage.

Some things never change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

Why do people say things like this? It must be the inferiority complex of the Irish bubbling to the surface again.:rolleyes:

I wouldn't do what these people did, but I don't feel they embarrassed the country. Events like this happen all the time, all over the world.

If you are so concerned with winning approval of other people all the time, then maybe your priorities are wrong. Besides, if someone allows a group of protestors to shape their view on a whole nation, their opinion is idiotic and irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

We're a funny bunch. Tony B. Liar, Axl Rose, and a few coach loads of orangemen incur the wrath of the nation, yet we bail out bondholders and the ECB for the next twenty years and nobody even raises their head.

:o well said :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

stimpson wrote: »
    He's lucky he wasn't late or it would have been bottles full of p1ss

Say about 45 minutes :pac:
    Min wrote: »
    Anti-war protesters firing missiles at Tony Blair.
    Do these people not see their own hypocrisy?

Unlike those used in Iraq on Blairs orders I dont see the missiles in question having much potential for lethality....unfortunately
    He said that 9-11 'changed the game'; it meant that you could no longer allow 'evil' regimes to hold weapons of mass destruction
    like USA/Russia/China/France/UK/Israel/India/Pakistan/North Korea
    as 9-11 illustrated the potential harm they could cause; .
    11/9 involved the use of hijacked airliners against tall buildings Not WMD's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

You'd probably need more than one to take them all out, unless you've got a particularly huge one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,557 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Probably said before but well deserved imo, I think he can live with a few shoes and eggs considering how many unnecessary deaths he has on his conscience. He should face way more serious consequences imo. Not exactly a fan of mob justice but now that its done, I'm not about to backpat the offenders, but I can still feel the 'victim' deserved it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭livingtargets

Fo Real wrote: »
    Typical leftie SCUMBAGS. The same crowd of ignorant boggers that were causing trouble at the Shell pipeline out west.

Are you serious?

The people of the area don't want a highly dangerous pipeline near their houses,churches,schools and shops so they're "lefty scumbags"?

They don't want a deal by a company (which has KILLED protesters)and a CONVICTED criminal (Hi,Ray Burke) to completely destroy the natural beauty of the area so they're "lefty scumbags"?

They don't want to be intimitated by a private security company which employs extreme right wing thugs(like Mickey Dwyer and his fwends) so they're "lefty scumbags"?

There are ignorant scumbags in this country,but they're not the ones throwing eggs at war criminals or "causing trouble" in Mayo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

Mike 1972 wrote: »

Unlike those used in Iraq on Blairs orders I dont see the missiles in question having much potential for lethality....unfortunately

That's because they were using Weapons of Mess Distraction

CSF wrote: »
    Probably said before but well deserved imo, I think he can live with a few shoes and eggs considering how many unnecessary deaths he has on his conscience. He should face way more serious consequences imo. Not exactly a fan of mob justice but now that its done, I'm not about to backpat the offenders, but I can still feel the 'victim' deserved it.

Just have one more look at the mob justice in question. A load of thugs hanging around with tricolours. Dissident Republicans and their acolytes making excuses for them on the internet.

These people are absolute scum, make no mistake about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=150746811621277

slightly off topic, but this made me laugh!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Are you serious?

The people of the area don't want a highly dangerous pipeline near their houses,churches,schools and shops so they're "lefty scumbags"?

LOL! Is that what you call Trinity Students from Blackrock, is it? These people would be better off knowing their place in society. Their pathetic middle class guilt complex is sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,557 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Denerick wrote: »
    Just have one more look at the mob justice in question. A load of thugs hanging around with tricolours. Dissident Republicans and their acolytes making excuses for them on the internet.

These people are absolute scum, make no mistake about it.
    You're probably right, but I still think I'll have them over a war criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Mike 1972 wrote: »

The irony of the symbolism...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

One of the things that annoys me most about this is that if\when George W comes to Dublin to sign his book, the brainwashed will applaud!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭livingtargets

Denerick wrote: »
    LOL! Is that what you call Trinity Students from Blackrock, is it? These people would be better off knowing their place in society. Their pathetic middle class guilt complex is sickening.

Nah,it's what I call these lads: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rossport_Five

You're very silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

Laois_Man wrote: »
    One of the things that annoys me most about this is that if\when George W comes to Dublin to sign his book, the brainwashed will applaud!

If W manages to sign his own name he deserves applause.