Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Shoes and Eggs pelted at Tony Blair in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

They shouldn't have thrown shoes, but I think it fair to say that launching a war of aggression that killed hundreds of thousands, is on altogether different scale of violence..........

IMHO, Blair, Bush and the rest behind the Iraq war should be spending the rest of there days behind bars, and not doing book signings and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭MDR

Is it possible to oppose Blair's unjustified war and these scumbags pelting him with shoes? Or is the middle ground banned here in AH?

Amen to that, these guys wave the Irish flag like they are patriots ...
    They chant shame at Blair ... but bring shame to us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭StompToWork

Wertz wrote: »
    So why throw shoes then?

Convenient justification. I was not saying they weren't aware of the symbolism, just that in the dark recesses of their minds, which will never be expressed in public, the reason they were throwing the shoe was to simply hit him with something hard, and be able to justify it as a symbolic gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Ah all these poor Irish people simply queuing up to be embarassed.

Did you throw shoes or eggs? Did you stand around with placards in the rain? No?

Then what the f*ck are you embarrassed about?

"Ooh what ever will the nice british people think of us?"

"I'm fearful of the message this sends to foreign investors."

"I would never protest about anything and I'm mortified that any of my fellow countrymen would."

Some people worry too much about what others think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

RobitTV wrote: »
    MESSAGE: Guys you going off-topic And your fighting over nothing This is rediclious Fighting It ends now! stop now please! :)

What's the view like from the back seat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Protester Pixie ni hEicht, from Dublin, criticised both the garda and the hundreds who had turned out for the book signing: "The police are west Brits who are protecting a British terrorist and the people queuing up over there should be ashamed of themselves. All these people buying the book are jackeens and traitors."

Sterotypical D4 wanna be anarchist cum socialist middle class scum. For the CIRA bootboys scum is a compliment.

wes wrote: »
    They shouldn't have thrown shoes, but I think it fair to say that launching a war of aggression that killed hundreds of thousands, is on a altogether different scale of violence..........

Its funny because "that ilk", don't seem capable of peaceful protest.
    I doubt they really give a stuff about the Afgans or Iraq's, they weren't protesting against the Taliban or Sadam before the various War's. I amn't defending Bush or Blair for the war, which was very wrong. I am just pointing out that protesters have a very limited world view.

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »
    Sterotypical D4 wanna be anarchist cum socialist middle class scum. For the CIRA bootboys scum is a compliment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

The inferiority complex of some people in this country knows no bounds. Blair was a lapdog for the greatest war criminal of modern times and lied through his face repeatedly to participate in a war costing hundreds of thousands of innocent lives. And some people are more worried about a few eggs and a few shoes.

At least Hitler was honest about his reasons for going to war.

I'm delighted that this coont came to my city for what he thought would be weekend of ass kissing and instead was made a fool of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Edit not worh it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Shoes and eggs at a war criminal V's depleted uraniam cluster bombs on civilians

Yup its practically like for like :rolleyes:

i have to laugh, if anyone here ever condoned or talked about any act of violence against a convicted rapist/murderer you would be the first to give out about the barbarity of it.

yet you condone this. i dont care either way but this stance makes little sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Why?
    Maybe they thought he was Axl Rose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

The inferiority complex of some people in this country knows no bounds. Blair was a lapdog for the greatest war criminal of modern times and lied through his face repeatedly to participate in a war costing hundreds of thousands of innocent lives. And some people are more worried about a few eggs and a few shoes.

At least Hitler was honest about his reasons for going to war.

I'm delighted that this coont came to my city for what he thought would be weekend of ass kissing and instead was made a fool of.

I'm afraid the only ones made a fool of are the Irish. A handful of 'protestors' have acted like a crowd of knackers by throwing eggs & shoes.

It has nothing to do with whether you agree or disagree with Blair or anyone else for that matter.

By all means have a protest, but to have it turn out the way it did makes me embarrassed & I for one do not want to be associated with childish behaviour like that.

argonaut wrote: »
    Not that I think the Iraq War was a good idea or anything, but this kind of thing is just plain embarassing.

But is it more or less embarassing than the line of people who turned out to welcome him & have their books signed?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,156 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Im afraid as usual the only people the protesters made look like fools were themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

But is it more or less embarassing than the line of people who turned out to welcome him & have their books signed?

And what is wrong with turning up to have his book signed by him? How does that even come into the conversation, and what does that have to do with those idiot scumbag protestors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I tell you, I was in the mood to throw stuff at him after having to walk from Smithfield in the rain cos the Luases weren't running past that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Ah all these poor Irish people simply queuing up to be embarassed.

Did you throw shoes or eggs? Did you stand around with placards in the rain? No?

Then what the f*ck are you embarrassed about?

"Ooh what ever will the nice british people think of us?"

"I'm fearful of the message this sends to foreign investors."

"I would never protest about anything and I'm mortified that any of my fellow countrymen would."

Some people worry too much about what others think...

I'll tell you pal,that a pack of idiots, who everybody knows don't give a flying fook about Iraq,couldn't find it on the map, had a fun day 'protesting' about issues which have been resolved, and will go to the pubs and regale their friends about how they' saved the world'

Don't make me laugh:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The people who care about all of that obviously know about it already.. What good does attacking him physically do? It doesn't draw attention to his actions, all it does is show those opposing him to be thuggish morons.. and that does a disservice to the cause for having him taken to account over his decisions.

I'm all for peaceful protestations and drawing attention to the misdeeds carried out by people in power, but the people involved in throwing shoes at him are misguided idiots if they think it's going to lead to anything being done against Blair

tinkerbell wrote: »
    ^^ And what is wrong with turning up to have his book signed by him? How does that even come into the conversation, and what does that have to do with those idiot scumbag protestors?

There are two sides to every coin. You call the protestors "idiots". I would have the same opinion of the people who showed up to the book signing.

If someone wants their book signed, what's wrong with that? They hold an opinion of the author that he's a great guy, and they're entitled to that opinion, to part with their money and get their squiggle on the fly leaf.
    That's nothing for the rest of us to be embarassed about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

Another great example of Irish Society at its best.

I'll tell you pal,that a pack of idiots, who everybody knows don't give a flying fook about Iraq,couldn't find it on the map, had a fun day 'protesting' about issues which have been resolved, and will go to the pubs and regale their friends about how they' saved the world'

Don't make me laugh:rolleyes:

You're not my pal. Stick to trolling on politics or talking about sh*tes you once had somewhere, there's a good lad.

The type of people who are embarrassed about Blair being pelted with eggs and shoes are the same type of people who accepted the bull**** spouted by the politicians and their media lapdogs during the Celtic Tiger. Probably Sunday Indo readers.

The type of people who don't have the ability to think critically for themselves and who worry more about pleasing others and being liked by others than having any decent moral values. Forelock-tugging fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

There are two sides to every coin. You call the protestors "idiots". I would have the same opinion of the people who showed up to the book signing.

Were they necessarily supporting Blair and his policies though? One of them was on RTE Radio 1 talking about this, and said that quite a few of the buyers were serious political memorabilia collectors and would have gone to Gerry Adams' signing as well.

The type of people who are embarrassed about Blair being pelted with eggs and shoes are the same type of people who accepted the bull**** spouted by the politicians and their media lapdogs during the Celtic Tiger. Probably Sunday Indo readers.

The type of people who don't have the ability to think critically for themselves and who worry more about pleasing others and being liked by others than having any decent moral values. Forelock-tugging fools.

I'd be interested to know if your IP address is registered to another username :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭nanook

Have to say what a shower of gobshytes those lunatics were who started throwing.

I am no Fan of blair, but as mentioned before, he did more good than most with regard the process up north.
    It seems nothing is safe on o'connell st but I would love to see these muppets throw eggs at the queen on her visit. The British ss will not stand for that. And it would be more than umbrellas used if any thing was thrown.

Egg throwing muppets.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,156 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Maybe they're just the type of people who would feel embarrassed to hear of anyone visiting our country being pelted with shoes and eggs by individuals who you believe have "decent moral values".

easyeason3 wrote: »
    I'd be interested to know if your IP address is registered to another username :rolleyes:
    Check away, mate. Why not contact a moderator? Are you flabbergasted that more people than you thought held opposing views to you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

nail on the head.

Check away, mate. Why not contact a moderator? Are you flabbergasted that more people than you thought held opposing views to you?

I'm not your mate.
    And no I'm not flabbergasted that people have different views to me.

Unlike some I can actually accept that not everyone has to agree with me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

I Think its time To bring a Moderator to this thread!

You're not my pal. Stick to trolling on politics or talking about sh*tes you once had somewhere, there's a good lad.

Aaah... the usual response from a lightweight who throws in the grenade and then runs away.

Maybe you might give some thought to actually doing something constructive,akin to Mr Blair, instead of shooting your mouth off on an internet forum;)

Good man.

Wertz you have made Enough rediclious comments today! and were all sick of you now So i think its time you left the thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wertz, Robit and Flutter, chill it (please). It's too nice of a day to be fighting online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Decent people don't throw eggs and shoes at other people who only want to sign some books regardless of who he is.

I think most people prefer to live in a civilised society rather than one where people try to justify violence.

They could have had a civilised protest, there was no need to throw objects to have a protest.

Pissing rain here.

Only kiddin' message recd. and understood:D

biko wrote: »
    Wertz, Robit and Flutter, chill it (please). It's too nice of a day to be fighting online.

Biko ive never been so happy to see a Moderator in my life. Can you please stay and make sure These fights stop!

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭JohnfromGalway

fcussen wrote: »
    Because Tony Blair started an illegal war on false premises. No joke, it was in the papers and everything.

Every war that has ever been has been declared illegal, by one or more jurisdictions

Always rely on some individual idiot or more to find an excuse to protest in Dublin (or Galway for that matter.) We don't have as many neo-Marxist anti-British pro-cannabis-use demonstrations like we used to.

Great free publicity for Blair's book, which should ensure more will be sold - all proceeds go to British servicemen. You didn't think that one out. Did You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,589 ✭✭✭baldbear

Min wrote: »
    Decent people don't throw eggs and shoes at other people who only want to sign some books regardless of who he is.

I think most people prefer to live in a civilised society rather than one where people try to justify violence.

They could have had a civilised protest, there was no need to throw objects to have a protest.

Decent people don't decide to invade a country on the lies of there been WMD resulting in over 100k civilian deaths.

Ha ha someone tried to make a citizens arrest on Blair for war crimes!
    Wait till he gets touring Britain. Then we will see proper protests.

Foxtrol wrote: »
    Maybe they're just the type of people who would feel embarrassed to hear of anyone visiting our country being pelted with shoes and eggs by individuals who you believe have "decent moral values".
    Blair is not "anyone".

I'm embarrassed and ashamed for this country that that Italian lad Guido Nasi was assaulted and left brain damaged and in a wheelchair for life. The same with that Swiss girl Manuela Riedo who was murdered after being in the country for two days.

Tony Blair getting pelted with eggs and shoes? I'm fooking delighted :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

The people getting their book signed were there to get their book SIGNED. Those protesting "idiots" were there to throw crap at Tony Blair. How does somebody acting violent by throwing sh!t come in the same league as someone who wants to get a book signed by someone they admire?
    If someone wants their book signed, what's wrong with that? They hold an opinion of the author that he's a great guy, and they're entitled to that opinion, to part with their money and get their squiggle on the fly leaf.
    That's nothing for the rest of us to be embarassed about.

Exactly. There is nothing wrong with it.

What is wrong with this picture is that those gobsh!tes out protesting are brainless fcukwits who have nothing better to do on a Saturday morning than stand around throwing stuff at one of the world's greatest leaders.

Actually, I may be embarrassed about this whole incident because it is shameful and looks awful on Ireland. People need to get over themselves with this anti-British crap, I am so fed up of it. And for the record, I have never accepted the crap coming from our so-called "politicians", and I don't read the Sunday Indo either.

The whole Irish nation should be embarrassed that not one egg fired today found it's intended target.

As a dry run for the queen's (I refuse to capitalise that word) visit, it failed miserably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Were they necessarily supporting Blair and his policies though? One of them was on RTE Radio 1 talking about this, and said that quite a few of the buyers were serious political memorabilia collectors and would have gone to Gerry Adams' signing as well.

By the same token some people would protest such an event too.
    tinkerbell wrote: »
    People need to get over themselves with this anti-British crap, I am so fed up of it. r.
    If they were protesting a book signing by Bertie Ahern would you brand them Anti Irish ?

Scumbag behaviour in Dublin's North inner city?

Good grief!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

baldbear wrote: »
    Decent people don't decide to invade a country on the lies of there been WMD resulting in over 100k civilian deaths.

Ha ha someone tried to make a citizens arrest on Blair for war crimes!
    Wait till he gets touring Britain. Then we will see proper protests.

I didn't support the invasion of Iraq, it still doesn't justify me into using violence against Tony Blair to say I disagreed with it.
    Two wrongs doesn't make a right.

She looked very naive on Sky news. Did she really think she was going to make a citizen's arrest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Nodin wrote: »
    Thats not all that he said. I'd suggest the one with the hearing impairment is yourself.

Yet you still fail to quote him or even attempt to paraphrase him, despite me asking you a few times. I wonder why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I just seen photos of the protestors - a bloody Palestinian and Socialist Party flag in them :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Chorcai wrote: »

Last pic looks like snyper, maybe he was on a date to Dr Quirkies and got caught up in the melee.