Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Shoes and Eggs pelted at Tony Blair in Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I just seen photos of the protestors - a bloody Palestinian and Socialist Party flag in them :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Loads on youtube if you wanna laugh.

I was waiting for a good ol' baton charge, didn't happen :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭JohnfromGalway

Min wrote: »
    I didn't support the invasion of Iraq, it still doesn't justify me into using violence against Tony Blair to say I disagreed with it.
    Two wrongs doesn't make a right.

She looked very naive on Sky news. Did she really think she was going to make a citizen's arrest?

Probably not, but no doubt she also attempted some sort of career-enhancing move, which may prove more successful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I just seen photos of the protestors - a bloody Palestinian and Socialist Party flag in them :rolleyes::rolleyes:

So theyre not all dissident republicans ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    By the same token some people would protest such an event too.

If they were protesting a book signing by Bertie Ahern would you brand them Anti Irish ?

No, that's not what I am referring to by "anti British", there's so many people here that are anti British and I'm just fed up of it. The same people who claim to be anti British no doubt watch Sky, buy their groceries in Tesco / Marks & Spencer, watch the premier league, and numerous other British things. I am just fed up of the whole "anti British" thing.

I would have no bother with Bertie doing a book signing or people protesting it. I have a problem with people doing a violent protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=150746811621277

slightly off topic, but this made me laugh!
    Brilliant. I'd like to see that happening.
    biko wrote: »
    Wertz, Robit and Flutter, chill it (please). It's too nice of a day to be fighting online.
    Is it ****.
    It's a poxy muggy, rainy day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

This does look awful to ireland. And yeh people need to get over this anti-british bull. Its The 21st century the year 2010 Its been About 94 Years since the Easter rising Of 1916. And nobody on this Forum was even born then. so you all cant say much! i really really dunno why Some irish people still dont like the British When they probaly werent even born when the War happend Ireland gained Independence In 1921 So it is ALL OVER! so please someone give me a reason why you still dont like the british! Because you have no reason Because... You werent in the War!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Pity it wasn't yesterday when I was in Dublin, would've loved to turn up with an American flag.

Also, "Whose streets? Our streets!". Are junkies allowed use that phrase as well?

tinkerbell wrote: »
    I would have no bother with Bertie doing a book signing or people protesting it. I have a problem with people doing a violent protest.

But you happly brand anyone who protests a public appearance by a war criminal as anti-British despite the fact that the overwhelming majority of them are nothing of the sort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Sit in and have a fry-up, or waste eggs on Tony Blair. I know what I was doing this morning.

*rubs belly*

As for people who are offended by a few eggs & shoes - Seriously, get a grip. The man is responsible for the invasion of Iraq, which has lead to the death's of 100,000's of people. God forbid he gets hit with an egg. And if you think their actions are an "Anti-British" thing, you're a moron. Protests in England over his actions were about 10,000 times bigger. I suppose they are self-hating Brits?

LOL.

Does this hotch-potch coalitian group of students, Arabs, dissident-republicans & skangers have a name then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

Actually, I may be embarrassed about this whole incident because it is shameful and looks awful on Ireland. People need to get over themselves with this anti-British crap, I am so fed up of it. And for the record, I have never accepted the crap coming from our so-called "politicians", and I don't read the Sunday Indo either.
    How is it anti-British? If Robert Mugabe came to Ireland and there was a similar protest would that be anti-Zimbabwean?

By the way I'm pretty sure you'll find a majority of people from other countries looking on quite approvingly. There should be far more protests at what is happening in this country. The Irish have slowly morphed into an apathetic, "I'm alright Jack", mediocrity. We should appreciate the value of a protest. You'll find that the French, for instance, are admired throughout Europe for their willingness to protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

dlofnep wrote: »
    Sit in and have a fry-up, or waste eggs on Tony Blair. I know what I was doing this morning.

*rubs belly*

As for people who are offended by a few eggs & shoes - Seriously, get a grip. The man is responsible for the invasion of Iraq, which has lead to the death's of 100,000's of people. God forbid he gets hit with an egg. And if you think their actions are an "Anti-British" thing, you're a moron. Protests in England over his actions were about 10,000 times bigger. I suppose they are self-hating Brits?

LOL.

"Offended" is a tad strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

No need to throw things however.

The biggish turnout today on O'Connell St. was enhanced by the fact that was no (English) Premiership game on TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

Does this hotch-potch coalitian group of students, Arabs, dissident-republicans & skangers have a name then?

The Continuity PC Brigade.

"The coalition of the ridiculously stereotyped" :rolleyes:

How is it anti-British? If Robert Mugabe came to Ireland and there was a similar protest would that be anti-Zimbabwean?

By the way I'm pretty sure you'll find a majority of people from other countries looking on quite approvingly. There should be far more protests at what is happening in this country. The Irish have slowly morphed into an apathetic, "I'm alright Jack", mediocrity. We should appreciate the value of a protest. You'll find that the French, for instance, are admired throughout Europe for their willingness to protest.

Balir was elected by the British - Mugabe elected himself.

There's a wee difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The fuckin' idiot screaming "Police brutality".
    Is it any wonder folks don't want to row in behind these tossers.

*sigh* :rolleyes: I did not say that this protest is "anti British". I just had a sentence in my post saying that people need to get over this anti British crap, that is a general statement on the level of anti Britishness in this country, it actually has nothing to do with Tony Blair or the protest.

Yes there is a huge difference and Mugabe is a dictator. I mean jees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

*sigh* :rolleyes: I did not say that this protest is "anti British". I just had a sentence in my post saying that people need to get over this anti British crap, that is a general statement on the level of anti Britishness in this country, it actually has nothing to do with Tony Blair or the protest.
    No, you are just not anti British enough yourself, get off your high horse! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,996 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

so how many actually turned up to get their book signed?

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    No, you are just not anti British enough yourself, get off your high horse! :D

I am not anti British, in fact I love the UK and think it is a lovely country.

I wonder if this "arresting" lady will be up for some student election in the near future?

Or would that be too cynical of me?

Vested interests at work. Always has been -always will be.

so how many actually turned up to get their book signed?

I read 300.

it actually has nothing to do with Tony Blair or the protest.

So why mention it ?

If you say was not anti-British, why were you going on about anti-Britishness then?

So why mention it ?

Because I felt like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

tonys a god and sex guru go get them tony you legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I read 300.

Persian: A thousand nations of the Persian empire descend upon you. Our protesters will blot out the sun!

Blair: Then we will book sign in the shade.

Problem with protests these days is that there are too many cameras now that could capture & broadcast on youtube some skanger getting a well-deserved crack over the head from a Gardaí baton.

And Blair's best buddy George W. wasn't elected at all. Not the first time anyway.:rolleyes:

Hitler was elected by the people by the way. I'm not sure what your point is.

Because I felt like it.

I was a bit annoyed when I discovered it had rained this morning

Nothing to do with Tony Blair, Shoes or Eggs but I felt like mentioning it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Breaking News: Tony Blair arrested today at Easons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Great. A naive stupid student girl thinking she had an iota of intelligence decided to arrest Blair.

Yah yah yah, and all that.

I was a bit annoyed when I discovered it had rained this morning

Nothing to do with Tony Blair, Shoes or Eggs but I felt like mentioning it :rolleyes:

I was annoyed about the rain too actually now that you mention it.

And Blair's best buddy George W. wasn't elected at all. Not the first time anyway.:rolleyes:

Hitler was elected by the people by the way. I'm not sure what your point is.

Bush won the 1st election by the smallest margin over Al Gore.

Hitler won his election with 33% of the vote.

Hitler like Mugabe had the added advantage of having stormtroopers at hand to persuade the electorate. Mugabe also counted the votes himself - it helps!

What's your point?

Denerick wrote: »
    Great. A naive stupid student girl thinking she had an iota of intelligence decided to arrest Blair.

It's gas the way people on this forum can't seem to make up their mind whether the protestors are upper middle class or scumbags.:D

It's you that's niaive - her faux-niaivety will endear her to her future student electorate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Fair dues to the guards putting their bodies on the line dealing with these shower of muppets. I didn't see the protests when the Iranian foreign minister was visiting. Maybe they should go live in Palestine, Iran or North Korea if they like their flags so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Breaking News: Tony Blair arrested today at Easons.

She forgot to mention Saddam Hussein was such a nice person and some Kurds found he was a gas man.

That girl is an absolute muppet.

It's gas the way people on this forum can't seem to make up their mind whether the protestors are upper middle class or scumbags.:D

The problem is that its an unholy alliance of both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

They're the usual rent-a-mob rabble that show up at every protest in the country. Anit-everything. I'd say the majority protest in Mayo and made a show of themselves trying to storm the dail

Clarks on O'Connell St might want to check their stock later - I fear a few shoes went missing this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The problem is that its an unholy alliance of both.
    Calling them "people who have never worked a day in their life" helps to identify them.

Min wrote: »
    She forgot to mention Saddam Hussein was such a nice person and some Kurds found he was a gas man.
    It was the Americans who were saying that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I wonder if this "arresting" lady will be up for some student election in the near future?

Or would that be too cynical of me?

Vested interests at work. Always has been -always will be.

Probably will, then on graduation will get a high paying job out in RTE.

Well trodden career path I'm reliabably informed;)

Load of scum is my impression from the UTube clip

• Registered Users Posts: 11,156 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Blair is not "anyone".

I'm embarrassed and ashamed for this country that that Italian lad Guido Nasi was assaulted and left brain damaged and in a wheelchair for life. The same with that Swiss girl Manuela Riedo who was murdered after being in the country for two days.

Tony Blair getting pelted with eggs and shoes? I'm fooking delighted :pac:

Oh i get it now, you only condone violence when its aimed at individuals who you have an issue with. How Leftie protesters believe they have moral superiority over anyone is beyond me.

Probably will, then on graduation will get a high paying job out in RTE.

Well trodden career path I'm reliabably informed;)

Load of scum is my impression from the UTube clip

Yep. She is exactly the kind of imagationless, uncharismatic, uninteresting, hysterical little imbecile who inevitably gets a job on national radio. The same kind of follow-the-crowd do gooder student twats.