Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tony Blair war terrorist protest @ Easons - modwarning in post 23

• 04-09-2010 2:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭

Weather was terrible and I was in the thick of the things so not exactly the photos I wanted but twas was a fun morning out...

9DDDA93A29734489A6A09EDC40FE5142-0000316428-0001894775-00800L-34DA8E956EA64268B1149D25C3FC85F7.jpg

E5633AB508C942358E0FFAF5F7C21940-0000316428-0001894773-00800L-3F626432D02E4AF6A85CC311A04051A2.jpg

C8163A95452C47B5B5EEC3442F6960D0-0000316428-0001894771-00800L-2DB18E8151FC4D70A9EED4A460CBB8BC.jpg

B90343E6C30040B2B567A0DA50213E10-0000316428-0001894770-00800L-592381394BBB4585B8936CFC08790852.jpg

0545E15D640A4AFD8F794CEEF730223F-0000316428-0001894769-00800L-43B6DA089430482B9E949D1C193EDDC2.jpg

5949BBA36899415A8736308DA5A8BAD1-0000316428-0001894768-00800L-F3EEFFC3369A4349BE2FC96B768856A0.jpg

0C199393C7DC46CC950E044DD3DE9C3C-0000316428-0001894765-00800L-4B865A532BC24B55BAE1A314C3A834A7.jpg

378D601EFD474CF6B496A937B1EB882E-0000316428-0001894763-00800L-CE277FFC6DE24CD3948EF75EA5D9A871.jpg

E30AFE89D05E46DBB53F41704F02FCDF-0000316428-0001894753-00800L-FAB0339B7A3E44E194CDA7496C92B191.jpg

B2D98CD902FD49B79DBEC95DECB76840-0000316428-0001894749-00800L-F34C6CFED0AA4F15A22BFBAD08D1FCFB.jpg

CAF0C6A2243F40B68002DDBD6BF23D5C-0000316428-0001894747-00800L-F1D77F2058F5413BAF9EF73CEE1BD300.jpg

5121E74193A3405AA7EA252590F80676-0000316428-0001894746-00800L-A67AD12AC62A400A96EE123E24F8D565.jpg

full album here...
    http://pix.ie/punkrock/album/386714

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 9,047 CMod ✭✭✭✭CabanSail

Interesting set there Janer. You do like to get into the thick of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

I was just thinking last night how id like to go to a protest of some sort and then I see this :rolleyes:

Number 6 and the last one I really like :)

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

the public order guys look so cool :) why are those eejits lying on the ground in the rain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Hugh_C wrote: »
    why are those idiots lying on the ground in the rain?

It looks like they may have been knocked down or tackled?

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

looks to me like the Gardaí are trying to help them up.

Love the third-last shot, of the Public Order Garda. Just looks like he doesn't want to be there at all (and who could blame him).

What a load of bollocks though. All that ruckus over what? A book signing or something. Still though, made for nice images. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Interesting how the Public Order fella's don't have numbers or identification clearly showing on their uniforms... aren't they supposed to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Did nobody else notice the random pair of flip-flops in pics 1 & 2?? They don't belong to the dude gettin roughed up by the coppers cos he gots his runners on... so who owns em??? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭*eadaoin

these are really amazing pics, nice work!

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭fluffyVW

Janer those are awesome!!! Wonderful work!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Nice photos,
    But pisses me off these demonstrations, most of those people could not give a f*ck about Iraq, they are just looking for trouble ...

I saw an Islam stand outside the GPO today - That is what we should fear ... this terrorism entering our country.

Tony Blair is a nice guy, I hope the GARDAI beat the sh*t out of that SCUM that was arrested today.

Edit -- back to photograpy side, amazing drops , you used the 5D MK DEUX yeah ? what lens ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

the_monkey wrote: »
    Nice photos,
    But pisses me off these demonstrations, most of those people could not give a f*ck about Iraq, they are just looking for trouble ...

I saw an Islam stand outside the GPO today - That is what we should fear ... this terrorism entering our country.

Tony Blair is a nice guy, I hope the GARDAI beat the sh*t out of that SCUM that was arrested today.

Edit -- back to photograpy side, amazing drops , you used the 5D MK DEUX yeah ? what lens ?

EXIF Data

Camera Make Canon Camera Model Canon EOS 5D Mark II Exposure 0.002 sec (1/500) F-Number f1.4 Focal Length 50 mm Exposure Bias 0.333333333333333 Orientation 1 X Resolution 240 dpi Y Resolution 240 dpi Date and Time (Original) 2010:09:04 11:11:15 Date and Time (Digitized) 2010:09:04 11:11:15 Maximum Lens Aperture 1 ISO Speed ISO-200 Flash Flash did not fire, compulsory flash mode Metering Mode CenterWeightedAverage Artist Janer Ali Copyright pixie.ie/PunkRock Date Time 2010:09:04 13:49:53 Aperture 0.970854 Shutter Speed 8.965784
    http://pix.ie/punkrock/1894750/exif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

Interesting how the Public Order fella's don't have numbers or identification clearly showing on their uniforms... aren't they supposed to?

No that would make it a lot easier to report them if you had an issue. TBH If you're in trouble with the public order there's not much hope for you if you'd like to complain about one...

Although It is/was true that their badge/shoulder thing needs to be showing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭eas

Last one a winner for me, great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

Chorcai wrote: »

EXIF Data

Camera Make Canon Camera Model Canon EOS 5D Mark II Exposure 0.002 sec (1/500) F-Number f1.4 Focal Length 50 mm Exposure Bias 0.333333333333333 Orientation 1 X Resolution 240 dpi Y Resolution 240 dpi Date and Time (Original) 2010:09:04 11:11:15 Date and Time (Digitized) 2010:09:04 11:11:15 Maximum Lens Aperture 1 ISO Speed ISO-200 Flash Flash did not fire, compulsory flash mode Metering Mode CenterWeightedAverage Artist Janer Ali Copyright pixie.ie/PunkRock Date Time 2010:09:04 13:49:53 Aperture 0.970854 Shutter Speed 8.965784

I have my 24-70L lens out on loan, tbh I missed it badly, started off with the 70-200L IS f4 but the macro close focus thing is poor on it, so switched to the 50mm which done an admirable job but obviously no option for zoom out when the occasions arose and they were many and it wasn't possible for me to exchange lens in the scrum, dunno how my Camera survived today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭davocesque

Nice photos,

Your what pisses me off, maybe these guys do give a f*ck about Iraq and they want to protest, how do you know they dont? one arrest was made, so their could have been that much trouble.

The real problem isnt the people, Blair should not have come over here for a book signing, it was ALWAYS gona cause disruptions, regardless of whether these ppl really care or not. They actually closed off parts of oconnell st for this sham, and as a result of the protesting, pennies had to close for a while, Blair should have gone straight home after the Late Late!!

PS great snaps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Ricky91t

davocesque wrote: »
    Your what pisses me off, maybe these guys do give a f*ck about Iraq and they want to protest, how do you know they dont? one arrest was made, so their could have been that much trouble.

The real problem isnt the people, Blair should not have come over here for a book signing, it was ALWAYS gona cause disruptions, regardless of whether these ppl really care or not. They actually closed off parts of oconnell st for this sham, and as a result of the protesting, pennies had to close for a while, Blair should have gone straight home after the Late Late!!

PS great snaps!

Thought it was atleast 4?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭davocesque

Ricky91t wrote: »
    Thought it was atleast 4?:pac:

my mistake, ur right, but still, 4 arrests?? oh god, we better make sure that prision is built in the midlands, mountjoy will never cope!!!!

the point still stands, ppl are gona protest because of what he has done, like when the orange men came to dublin, what it the need for it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭St. Leibowitz

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Did nobody else notice the random pair of flip-flops in pics 1 & 2?? They don't belong to the dude gettin roughed up by the coppers cos he gots his runners on... so who owns em??? :D

Weren't the protesters throwing shoes ?? (like the Iraqi journo throwing shoes at Bush). Maybe that's where they came from.

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭thinktwice

eas wrote: »
    Last one a winner for me, great stuff.

Last one is a great shot really shows the emotion of the day. I love the Garda hands on the rail too, it shows the struggle of the media v struggle to control the continous arms throughout the photo lead the viewer into it. Seems you got in v close, well done. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

Did you get your book signed?
    lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Mod note.

This is not a politics thread and anyone who gets any way over excited on the subject of war/terrorism/politics in here will find themselves on holiday. There are several other places around here where you can discuss politics. Derailing this thread to throw insults at people you don't agree with is a bad move.

@AR nice set. Dead clear.

jpfahy wrote: »
    Did you get your book signed?
    lol
    I used your lens for over half the shots! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Pictures are amazing, really high quality. Nice Work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

Tony Blair is a nice guy,

Wow, just wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Nice shots. They are so real and alive. Feel like I was there.

Whether we agree with protest or not I dont agree with Gardái having their photos put here at such an event. The same Garda would have no problem coming to your assistance if your camera gear was being snatched. They have a job to do. Your photos while an excellent set are not quite the same as a Garda chatting to kids or kicking a ball with them and could compromise their security.
    No I am not a member of Gardái

Didnt agree with protest on O'Connell St the British embassy is where they should have been

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭HxGH

These are great!
    Vivid, descriptive and capturing the moment.
    Great work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

LeoB wrote: »
    Whether we agree with protest or not I dont agree with Gardái having their photos put here at such an event. The same Garda would have no problem coming to your assistance if your camera gear was being snatched. They have a job to do.
    Have to say I agree with this.

Apart from that, nice shots. Suppose this one would be my favourite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

5, 6, and 7 are my favourites. Hands on rail very striking, whatever way pics loaded on my laptop, I had it screen cropped just a bit down the bottom (image starting on the first right hand I think) and it had more impact imho.
    Dishy PO guy(#6), I'd have sat on the ground just to have him pick me up :p.

The other side of the argument
    39309F3AC57F40818C61D226283F8EF0-0000316428-0001896987-00800L-4573F699378B4ABEAC1FF5B4E49E6E5B.jpg

Dishy PO guy(#6), I'd have sat on the ground just to have him pick me up :p.
    But what if he swung his rigid baton your way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭hmboards

The other side of the argument

Was that the queue for the book signing ? Great set. The line of gardai with hands on the rails would be my favourite.

That's the queue for the book signing yes, I'm going down there now with some disinfectants and a deck scrubber! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

6 & 7 are my favourites.

7 because it's a really striking image and tells a story. That should be on the front page of a newspaper or framed in a Garda's house. It speaks to me of unity rather than strength, or strength through unity.

6 is much more personal. I've been in the middle of a riot before, and the absolute adrenalised mindset of the Gardai is striking. They're holding their batons and wearing their helmets, but their aggression is a product of fear.
    To see one of these guys, all ready to go strapped up in their armour, but without their helmet shows you how young some of them are and how normal they are.
    It's a brilliant photo to me because the public order guys are normally so (deliberately) anonymous, and it personalises one of them wonderfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

davocesque wrote: »

PS great snaps!

Great shots AR. The clarity of them is stunning. OT (apologies in advance Calina), but I agree 100% with the_monkey. Rent a mob at its worst. Will people never learn from history? Chamberlain, Hitler, and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,392 ✭✭✭✭phog

Where's Tony Blair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

qwertz wrote: »
    Wow, just wow.

SOMEONE has a different opinion than YOU

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Buzz Lightyear

Well done for getting straight into the thick of it. You got some real class shots there with the 50. Your perspective on the other side of the argument is curious as to why you went for an oof shot of the crowd. I suppose you ended up around the corner after to relax after the mayhem ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Good work Janer, nothing like a little prime and getting in the thick of it :)

Your perspective on the other side of the argument is curious as to why you went for an oof shot of the crowd. I suppose you ended up around the corner after to relax after the mayhem ;)

The OOF shot of the crowd was to show I think how the well behaved/law abiding get less coverage and basically fade into obscruity. (having the grey depressing sky/background made it a given too)

As to where did I dip my beak, twas Madigans in O'Connell street!

Wow just noticed the new yellow/red cards!

phog wrote: »
    Where's Tony Blair?
    It wasn't my aim not to get a picture of him but his security and the distance we were kept from him is what made it impossible, he was only briefly out and in the car for a few miliseconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Fantastic set,AR...these really would be perfect for a newspaper (especially the last one),if that's your bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Great shots AR. The clarity of them is stunning. OT (apologies in advance Calina), but I agree 100% with the_monkey. Rent a mob at its worst. Will people never learn from history? Chamberlain, Hitler, and all that.

Why did this get a warning?! Or why are anyone opposed to the protest the only people getting warnings?

Anyways, great pics OP, especially the last one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Why did this get a warning?! Or why are anyone opposed to the protest the only people getting warnings?

Not answering for the mods,but the Photography forum is not really the place for political beliefs and ideologies. :)

She had also warned people earlier in the thread.

Here is the place to debate/read if you fancy wading thru 2000 pages!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056018106

Chorcai wrote: »
    EXIF Data

f/1.4 !!!!!!!!

how did you get such clarity at f/1.4 ????

When I use f/1.4 I get a very narrow strip in focus....

f/1.4 !!!!!!!!

how did you get such clarity at f/1.4 ????

When I use f/1.4 I get a very narrow strip in focus....

I know my lens well, the 50mm as I've explained b4 is a lens you grow into and need to learn very well and I also use a technique called back button focus that changed the whole ball game on the quality of my shots.

http://www.usa.canon.com/dlc/controller?act=GetArticleAct&articleID=2286

But yes 1.4 is the hardest and you can get a lower keeper rate then a higher f numbers but when you do get it right very few shots can come close to it for beauty and blur.

Having said that if I had a life and death situation and needed to grab just 1 shot I'd use my 24-70L as the keeper rate is higher (for me anyway)

I know my lens well, the 50mm as I've explained b4 is a lens you grow into and need to learn very well and I also use a technique called back button focus that changed the whole ball game on the quality of my shots.

http://www.usa.canon.com/dlc/controller?act=GetArticleAct&articleID=2286

But yes 1.4 is the hardest and you can get a lower keeper rate then a higher f numbers but when you do get it right very few shots can come close to it for beauty and blur.

Having said that if I had a life and death situation and needed to grab just 1 shot I'd use my 24-70L as the keeper rate is higher (for me anyway)

thanks for that !

keeper rate ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,015 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

thanks for that !

keeper rate ?

How many are actually good shots that you'll keep as opposed to deleting.