Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traps and Tricks and Such

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

Coan Bench week 5 heavier day

Bench
    82.5kg x 5
    82.5kg x 5

Close grip bench
    72.5kg x 5
    72.5kg x 5

OH Press
    57.5kg x 5
    57.5kg x 5
    Last rep of this took me about 5 full seconds to grind out. Phew.

Squat
    120kg x 8
    120kg x 8
    120kg x 8
    120kg x 8

The knee barely seems any better but I guess it's just slow going for soft tissue to heal, if that is actually what it is. It could tendinitis I guess but I've barely been squatting the last 4 weeks so don't know why it wouldn't have cleared up.
    As I said the last time, bringing my stance in closer seems to stop the knee feeling sketchy during the squats.

Wanted to do some shrugs or something but gym was closing, no more time.

Yesterday

Seriously crippling back pump before I even started. Somehow.

Coan Phillipi Week 5

Warm ups

175kg x 3
    175kg x 3
    175kg x 3

142.5kg x 3
    142.5kg x 3
    142.5kg x 3

I completely flaked on the rest of the assistance stuff. Weak craic. I will get it done though, beginning of next session, which is now tomorrow.

Oh, and my grip was nowhere to be seen. Granted I had no chalk but it was noticeably **** even accounting for that. Being in front of a computer all the ****ing time is starting to piss my wrist off.

Shrugs
    32.5kg DBs x 12
    27.5kg DBs x 12

Coan Bench Week 5 light day
    65kg x 10
    65kg x 10

Actually nearly maxed out with these. Or it felt almost like that, anyway.

Crap session.

Earlier

Coan Bench Week 6 heavier day

Bench
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 5

Close grip bench
    75kg x 5
    75kg x 5

Incline bench
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5

Squats
    warm ups
    120g kg x 7
    120g kg x 7
    120g kg x 7
    120g kg x 7
    120g kg x 7

Knee feels so ****.
    If anyone could suggest a knee-friendlier (for now) alternative to squats, that would have some decent strength carry-over for squats, please do. I suppose I could see what leg pressing or something feels like. Either that or find a better way to squat.

Curls
    15kg DBs x 10

Gym closed.

Not a lot of time to get the workout done today.

Coan Phillipi Week 6

Deadlift

warm ups

187.5kg x 2

speed deadlifts, 120 sec rest intervals
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3

Power shrugs (I lost my straps, really need to find these. Powershrugs seem so awkward...)
    117.5kg x 5
    105kg x 5
    105kg x 5

Stiff Leg DLs
    105kg x 8
    105kg x 4
    105kg x 4

Bent-over Rows
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5
    70kg x 5

Had to leg it at this point.

Haven't been eating anything close to enough. I know it's just my bench that'll suffer for it. Bah.

Coan Bench Week 7 heavy day

90kg x 5
    90kg x 5

Close grip Bench:
    80kg x 3
    80kg x 4

So I failed to make the 5 on each of those. 'Sake. Don't really know where my technique was at, had to use the bench I never use, **** just felt awkward. Weak buzz.

Incline bench presses went better, thankfully:
    72.5kg x 5
    72.5kg x 5

Getting the hang of keeping the bar path vertical and close to my chin.

Squats

warm ups

140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5

Was planning on going for 7 sets but ended up only cramming in 5 with the gym closing. Left it pretty late to get in the gym today once again.

The ongoing knee weirdness is just getting ridiculous now. I'm going to give it a big horrible foam-rolling to see how that effects things. It doesn't even feel bad during most reps, but, before and after squatting it does. Just sort of robs me of a bit of confidence is all.

Looking forward to bettering all of today's BS though. Just need to get eatin'.

Coan Phillipi Week 7

warm ups

200kg x 2

120 rest intervals:
    165kg x 3
    165kg x 3
    165kg x 3

Stiff-leg DLs
    110kg x 5
    115kg x 5

Left hamstring feels pretty stupid when doing these, right where down behind the knee. Stupid leg.

Bent-over Row
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5

These are no fun. So awkward feeling.

Shrugs (supposed to be powershrugs, but, those really aren't gonna happen properly 'til I get straps. Or maybe find the ones I seem to have lost :confused: )

37.5kg DBs x 12
    37.5kg DBs x 10
    25kg DBs x 12
    25kg DBs x 10

Calf Exts
    14 plates x 14
    17 plates x 12
    19 plates x 8

Quad Exts
    10 plates x 12
    11 plates x 20

Chins

Coan Bench Week 8 heavier day

Bench press
    90kg x 3 (would've been 92.5kg x 3 but didn't realise my bar was 17.5kg instead of 20)
    92.5kg x 3

Close grip bench
    82.5kg x 3
    82.5kg x 3

Incline bench
    75kg x 3 (forgot to check I had the right bar again).
    77.5kg x 3

Also spent 20-something minutes foam rolling my quads and IT bands. Delicious agony. Hoping it'll sort my left knee out anyway.

Hard to believe it's only the fourth day since I last did anything. Feels like an eternity. Four days is a long time. Been pretty dissatisfied in the 3 days in between, anyway.

Coan Bench Week 8 light day
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10

Squats

150kg x 4
    150kg x 4
    150kg x 4
    150kg x 4
    150kg x 4

I pinpointed where my knee is ****ed up, anyway. Feels crap every time I squat down, basically. I've tried many different angles, seems the same no matter which.

This is where it is, anyway (the red dot). On top of the... thing (patella?), and slightly to the outside. If I prod my finger around there I can make the hurt happen.
    kneeab.jpg

Bicep curls
    17.5kg DBs x 9
    17.5kg DBs x 8
    17.5kg DBs x 6

Coan Phillipi Week 8

Deadlift

Warm ups

210kg x 2

Barspeed felt grand but they were ugly reps, mainly due to the lockout being sketchy. If you could really call it a proper lockout.
    So I did another rep at 210 just to make sure I'd really done the work.
    I'm hoping using some chalk will help next time too, though.

210kg x 1

Lockout was probably still questionable though.

Least I now know roughly where my limits are nowadays (it's been forever since I attempted a deadlift I didn't get) and where the weakness or sticking-point is.
    The fact that I haven't been doing the powershrugs properly may have lots to do with that weakness.

Speed Deadlifts, ~110 second rest intervals
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3

Stiff Leg DLs
    115kg x 5
    115kg x 5

Bent over rows
    85kg x 4 just lost my grip completely by the 5th rep...
    85kg x 5
    85kg x 3 (just to make up for not getting the first set of 5)

Shrugs

I still haven't sorted out the no-straps situation. Foolish.
    40kg DBs x 5

35kg DBs x 10
    35kg DBs x 8
    35kg DBs x 6

Calf exts
    15 plates x 13

...gym closed. One day I'll give myself enough time for a full workout, haha.

Oh, another possible lead in the case of the wrecked kneecap. It occured to me today that I may have been crashing the bar down into the top of my left patella when I deadlift lately.
    Real clever.

Coan Bench Week 9, Heavier Day

warm ups

97.5kg x 3
    97.5kg x 3

Close-grip Bench

85kg x 3
    85kg x 3

+ another 60kg x 4 when I didn't realise some wiseguy had taken 25kg off my bar in between sets.

Incline Bench

warm ups

80kg x 3
    80kg x 3

Squat

warm ups

160kg x 3
    160kg x 3
    160kg x 3
    160kg x 3
    160kg x 3

Got two helpful recommendations off lads for a physio (same one actually) to go get this knee BS sorted. Will definitely get on that.

Bench today felt so, so much easier than last week's heavy day. Surprising. Having a spotter to shout at me definitely helps a tonne, I reckon. Solid buzz.

Coan Phillipi (sort of) Week 9

Deadlift

warm ups

215kg x 1

Heh, barspeed was noticeably slower here. Getting very close to my limit I suppose.

Speed DLs
    155kg x 3
    155kg x 3

Shrugs

38kg DBs x 7
    27.5kg DBs x 12
    20kg DBs x 12

Calf exts
    15 plates x 12
    17 plates x 10

Seem to have... forgotten the stiff leg DLs. Oh well...

Coan Bench Week 9 light day

Bench press
    70kg x 10
    70kg x 10

Proceeded to do kind of a random assortment of excercises since I decided not to squat tonight.

Chins

Curls
    15kg DBs x 8

Glute-Ham raises

Calf Exts
    14 plates x 16
    16 plates x 10
    14 plates x 10

Elliptical trainer
    300 kcals
    12 mins
    1.75k or something

I kind of use the elliptical trainer in a weird way, I avoid knee ROM (to a degree) and kind of make it into a calf ext thing. Until my calves get fatigued as **** anyway.

Coan Bench Week 10 heavier day

warm up

100kg x 2
    100kg x 2

Not too difficult. May have been because for once I was using my favoured method of benching inside the power rack on the black bench instead of that red one. Always find it easier to keep an arch on the black benches.

Close grip.

90kg x 2
    90kg x 3 (extra rep 'cause it felt grand)

Grip may be a tiny bit less close now than in previous weeks.

Incline bench

warm ups

82.5kg x 2
    82.5kg x 3 (extra rep again, felt grand)

Some other nonsense since I wasn't squatting and want to leave deadlifting for tomorrow...

Tried a couple of leg presses. They feel like the worst thing ever. Getting to that physio place soon as possible.

Calf exts
    14 plates x 14
    16 plates x 10

Dips

Flaked out home. Edit: actually, never mind my weak excuses, haha. Should have tried to get some more work done regardless.

warm up

Coan Phillipi Week 10 (1RM day)

60kg x 4
    100kg x 3
    [Belt on]
    140kg x 3
    170kg x 2
    195kg x 1
    220kg x 1
    235kg x F

So I started out Coan Phillipi with a 1RM of 190kg - may have been slightly underestimating that but whatever, hadn't deadlifted in weeks at the time, I think.
    The program prescribed a finishing 1RM of 220kg, which I got, happily.
    Had a bit left in the tank, so I got greedy for 235kg; it came up okay but about a 1/3 of the way up I found myself totally hunched over, way lopsided, and just unable to get it any higher. Fought it a bit but my form was so ****ed up I just had to drop it. I am disappoint.

Might leave it at that for Deadlift for the moment, get to a physio and try to jump back into Squatting again.

Speed Deadlifts
    132.5kg x 3
    132.5kg x 3

Coan Bench Week 10 - light day
    warm ups x 2
    71kg x 10
    71kg x 10

Shrugs
    37.5kg DBs x 12
    Started getting crazy tingling 'round the back of my neck.
    25kg x 16
    25kg x 12

Quad Exts
    10 plates x 20

Coan Bench Week 11 - Heavier day

Bench press
    warm ups

105kg x 2
    105kg x 2

Close grip bench
    92.5kg x 2
    92.5kg x 2

Incline bench
    warm up 60 x 4
    85kg x 2
    85kg x 2

Squats
    60kg x 5
    80kg x 4
    100kg x 4
    [Belt]
    120kg x 4
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5

SHUTUP LEFT KNEECAP, NO-ONE CARES WHAT YOU THINK

Coan Bench Week 11 lighter day
    72.5kg x 10
    72.5kg x 8

Going to blame being on the worst bench for this. Didn't know where I was at really. Wasted a lot of energy, had zero form. Weird how the heavier day is always easier.

Squat

130kg x 5
    130kg x 5
    130kg x 5
    130kg x 5
    130kg x 5

DOMs were actually still raging from the last day, which was sort a return to squatting. Didn't go nuts squatting today as a result but they really didn't feel easy... Didn't notice much knee trouble though, yusss.

Curls
    15kg DBs x 10
    15kg DBs x 8

Calf Ext
    14 plates x 14
    17 plates x 10
    13 plates x 10

Oh, and I'm running a calorie defecit again. Not trying to no-carb it this time. I'll definitely get more protein in than previous attempts. We'll see how it goes. Bodyfat needs to fuck off, like.

I'm just after reading the toned to shredz thread in the main forum and also Hanley's log and quickly realised now I look like a sap for suddenly being on a cut.
    Genuinely a ridiculous coincidence. My dire need to ditch bodyfat is a solid enough alibi anyway :\

Coan Bench, Week 11, heavier day

Total failure, aborted it after failing the work set (a 1x1 on 112.5kg). Don't even want to go into more detail, it'd just be excuses.

Straight on to Squats, just as well since I'd little time tonight.

Squat

warm ups
    Belt
    130 x 3

165 x 3
    165 x 3
    165 x 3
    165 x 3
    165 x 3
    165 x 3

I don't think anything I tend to do while squatting is causing/worsening the knee issue. It's not sore as such when I squat, can just sort of feel it at times. It must have just been a once-off, almost certainly on that day I went for 220kg. Taking forever to heal though.
    Anyway, reckon it'll be okay in a while. Enough about it. It'll be the first thing I say to this rehab-specializing PT guy anyway.

Also, it's taken me 'til now to start really looking up when squatting and not looking at the mirror. It seems to help plenty, bit more upright chest-wise.

warm up; hip & leg swings & stretches, back stretches, neck stretches, wrsit stuff, elbow stuff, behind-back broomstick swings, some more of the usual craic.

Coan Bench Week 12, heavier day

Bench press
    50kg x 5
    80kg x 4
    100kg x 2
    112kg x F AGAIN :pac:

Close Grip Bench press
    100kg x 2

Incline Bench
    90kg x 2

Both close grip and incline should have been just 1 rep each. No idea what I'm doing at this point, HAHA :pac:

Squat

warm ups

140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5

Dips
    BW x 8
    BW x 4

Curls
    15kg DBs x 10
    15kg DBs x 8

Day before yesterday:
    Coan Bench Week 12 heavier day

Bench
    warm ups
    112.5kg x 1

Got that at last, magically. Using the better bench might have helped though.

Close grip

100kg x 1

Incline
    60kg x 2
    92.5kg x 1

Deadlift

Warm up sets
    205kg x 3

140kg x 3
    140kg x 3

Pendlay Rows
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5

These felt stupid anyway. So all over the place.

DB Shrugs
    37.5kg x 12
    37.5kg x 12
    37.5kg x 12
    25kg x 16
    25kg x 10

Runnin'
    Inclined 1:1 intervals, 10 mins
    Forget everything else. Suffice to say it culminated in quad crampage. Legs not used to this sort of craic at all these days. Running actually feels like a real limited ROM to be hammering them with but I suppose I could just be not running big/fast enough, haha.

BJJ class for the first time in forever earlier. I've nearly gone to a whole handful of classes altogether now...

I don't think I'll bother going into all the stuff done or even know what to log but I got sweaty and kind of tired so thought I'd put it in here.

Oh, it was 2 classes actually, not back to back but 3hrs total.

Small bit of rolling with two lads on the mats, my friend just wanted to get extra practice in before that on the 19th or whatever. Ended up mainly trying to show me stuff though :\

Coan Bench Week 12, lighter day

Bench
    75kg x 10
    75kg x 11

Squat
    Worked up to 130kg, promptly packed it in. Seems my knee is just a write off right now. Actually didn't expect that. Will ring this lad for my free sports massage tomorrow.

Chins

DB incline flys
    17.5kg DBs x 8

I think that's all I did. Jesus.

Spent the last 15 minutes or more just foam rolling my quads and ITBs as much as I could. In terms of soreness, there was loads in the ITB of the bad knee, yeah, but actually in terms of the quad muscle generally, the other leg seemed a good bit worse. Maybe it means I'm overcompensating with the good leg or something.

Also, I've been eating below maintenance all this while. Should still be okay for the Bench 1RM up next but I won't be surprised if the Squat numbers have regressed at this stage.
    I think I've been eating about as clean as normally but I really haven't been counting anything TBH, not even calories so who knows.

Morning session before work for about the second time, ever.

Usual warm ups

Foam rolling ITBs and quads

Coan Bench - Max Test
    warm up sets

115kg... failed it. Close. Just lost all ability to move it about 1/3 back up off my chest. Gutted.but it shouldn't be surprising really...

Tried 115kg again. Failed it again, a little worse this time; barely moved it off my chest. Ugh.

100kg x 2

Close grip
    80kg x 5
    80kg x 5

Little bit more leg foam rolling, before:
    Squat

warm up sets
    Belt on

140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5
    140kg x 5

Not working at a spectacular weight or anything but this was the best squats have felt in recent memory. Since August probably. My knee felt fine today and could be down to a number of things, I have no way of knowing which one, but; most likely the extra foam rolling; maybe the slightly wider and more obtuse foot stance I took today; maybe remembering to take my fish oils and glucosamine the last few days; maybe having just not squatted much lately.

Dips

Calf exts
    14 plates x 15
    17 plates x 10

Tiny bit of elliptical trainer on high resistance.

Oh, forgot to include, even more foam rolling after the squat sets. The quad on the 'good' knee... sweet hezeus have mercy.

2hr BJJ class this evening.

I would say squatting and benching this morning wasn't a great idea, but at least there's less chance of me relying on strength over technique...

warm ups

Foam rolling: ITBs, quads

Decided to just... keep doing Coan Bench, off a new 1RM. I had done 112.5kg in the last program, just put 110kg in here.

Week 1 heavier day
    Bench

77.5kg x 10
    77.5kg x 10

Close grip bench

70kg x 9
    Failed the 10th rep. Yikes. No spotter, managed to rack one side of the bar, slid out under. Ugh.
    70kg x 7 or something. Big long fail on the last set had ruined me.

Incline bench
    60kg x 10
    60kg x 8

More foam rolling of ITBs and quads

Squat
    warm up sets

170kg x 3
    170kg x 3
    170kg x 3
    170kg x 3
    170kg x 3

Even more foam rolling of ITBs and quads. Feel all the hurts.

Lat pulldown
    6 plates x 16
    6 plates x 12
    I should do these more often.

Calf exts
    14 plates x 16
    16 plates x 10

Elliptical trainer
    5 mins, resistance 15 or something, 100kcals apparently

I should really weigh properly under 100kg now with how I've been eating but who knows. I'll weigh myself sometime. Don't think I've lost much strength so far somehow. Barely gotten 160g of protein most days though.

warm ups
    foam rolling

Coan Bench Week 1 lighter day

Bench press
    65kg x 10
    65kg x 10

Squat
    warm up sets

150kg x 4
    150kg x 4
    150kg x 4
    150kg x 4

Chins

Gym closin', that was it.

150 for 4 x 4 wasn't a great outcome today, not that I went close to 'all-out' or anything really, but everything just felt mad heavy. I guess it just made me see how much less recovery happens between sessions (the 170kg for 5 x 3 on Thurs) when I eat under maintenance.

Think that's the first time ever I've done 6 chins though. But yeah, felt feeble at everything else today.

Still dieting / not bothering to eat much. I'd like to say I'm getting at least 150g or more of protein per day but there's def been a few write-off days.

Coan Bench Week 2 heavier day

bench press
    77.5kg x 10
    77.5kg x 10

close grip bench

70kg x 7
    70kg x 8

Failed to manage 10 either set.

Incline Bench
    60kg x 9
    60kg x 8

More failure. Blaming the calorie defecit that's in full effect.

Wasn't even going to squat because I was worried about my knee. It turned out to be fine. Best that squats have felt in ages. Granted, I was working with lighter weight than usual, but in terms of form and all, like.

Squat
    warm up sets

120kg x 8
    120kg x 8
    120kg x 8
    120kg x 8
    120kg x 8

Definitely had another set or two in me but the gym was closing 15 minutes early for no reason.

Didn't catch sight of the new seated calf press but I plan to DOMs the bejaysus out of myself on that next time.