Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wayne Rooney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Do you really think it didn't happen back in the day? Its just more noticeable now as their is more money and this celebrity gossip business. Look at George Best, he was doing this back when the media didn't really care, do you really think at the time he was the only one doing it? I highly highly doubt it.

I dont see the big deal anyway, you give someone loads of money, take them away from their girlfriends/wives and add in that they are never the smartest people in the world and they have girls throwing themselves at them everytime they go out. It all adds up and inevitably a lot will cheat.
    No woman threw herself at Rooney. He paid for sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,808 ✭✭✭✭kippy

davyjose wrote: »
    Aw man, Rooney's kid is a week older than mine. I can't imagine myself banging some munter while my missus was heavily pregnant.

Scumbag. I adored Rooney ... no wait, i adored Cantona, cos I was a kid. I liked Rooney, but more and more I found myself questioning my admiration of these overpaid divas. I love the game, but I can't bear watching 22 overpaid knackers on a pitch these days. Bullet in the head; final straw.

Well said, came to that conclusion myself a couple of years ago and havent looked back.

Rooney, what a fecking moron.

Do you really think it didn't happen back in the day? Its just more noticeable now as their is more money and this celebrity gossip business. Look at George Best, he was doing this back when the media didn't really care, do you really think at the time he was the only one doing it? I highly highly doubt it.

I dont see the big deal anyway, you give someone loads of money, take them away from their girlfriends/wives and add in that they are never the smartest people in the world and they have girls throwing themselves at them everytime they go out. It all adds up and inevitably a lot will cheat.
    It happened alright but the fact that these things are no being reported by the media gives us even less excuses to turn a blind eye.
    These guys could actually be role models for OUR kids if we let them be. This is not the kinda behaviour (despite all the excuses you put forward for them) that we want our kids thinking as normal or indeed that we as people should let slip by.

There have been a number of gagging orders lately so it looks like a large number of footballers are at this.
    If thats what you are into, DONT GET MARRIED. I wouldnt give a toss if it were single players at this but the fact that the majority are married makes me as why did these morons get married in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

kippy wrote: »
    It happened alright but the fact that these things are no being reported by the media gives us even less excuses to turn a blind eye.
    These guys could actually be role models for OUR kids if we let them be. This is not the kinda behaviour (despite all the excuses you put forward for them) that we want our kids thinking as normal or indeed that we as people should let slip by.

There have been a number of gagging orders lately so it looks like a large number of footballers are at this.
    If thats what you are into, DONT GET MARRIED. I wouldnt give a toss if it were single players at this but the fact that the majority are married makes me as why did these morons get married in the first place?

I don't buy the role model thing, my role model in football was Paolo Di Canio, hardly the nicest bloke in the world, I think the role model is just an excuse for poor parenthood. Like the ones who blame games on their kids shooting up schools type thing. I think the role model thing is just looking for a reason to give out.

Don't get me wrong what he did is totally wrong I just don't see why people other than his family, and Coleen and her family get worked up about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

You have to ask yourself ; What would Wayne Rooney be if he wasn't a Pro Footballer.....

A Virgin !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

mixednuts wrote: »
    You have to ask yourself ; What would Wayne Rooney be if he wasn't a Pro Footballer.....

A Virgin !

Have you ever watched the Jeremy Kyle show? No he wouldn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

I would say most men would find it hard to resist TBH.

I don't buy the role model thing, my role model in football was Paolo Di Canio, hardly the nicest bloke in the world, I think the role model is just an excuse for poor parenthood. Like the ones who blame games on their kids shooting up schools type thing. I think the role model thing is just looking for a reason to give out.

Don't get me wrong what he did is totally wrong I just don't see why people other than his family, and Coleen and her family get worked up about it.

Fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭The Rooster

niallo24 wrote: »
    I would say most men would find it hard to resist TBH.

He paid a prostitute to have sex with him. I think most men could resist that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,415 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

He paid a prostitute to have sex with him. I think most men could resist that.

I think most men DO resist that.

The difference might be that most men couldn't realistically afford a prostitute that expensive on a regular basis. Maybe a majority of adult males would be tempted if they could afford the type of escort that is young, beautiful and discreet. I have no idea. But I do think there needs to be a distinction made between the type of escorts / hookers realistically within the price range of the majority of the adult population, and the woman Rooney has gotten involved with in this instance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Hard to know if it will affect his form or not cos he's been pretty shocking up to very recently so hard to judge.

It says in the article that Michael Owen looked at him in disgust when he was holding her hand in the restaurant. One of the gud'uns, maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

ro1.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

gotta love the headline on rte.ie:
    Rooney available to play away from home
    The Football Association has confirmed that Wayne Rooney will travel to Switzerland ahead of England's Euro 2012 qualifier in Basle.

The 24-year-old has been the subject of intense scrutiny in his private life over the past 24 hours and there had been some speculation that the Manchester United forward might remain at home.

Coach Fabio Capello is yet to confirm whether he intends to select Rooney for what has been billed as England's most difficult qualifying game.

However, he will definitely have the option as Rooney prepared to board the short flight to Switzerland on Monday morning ahead of a training session at St Jakob Park later in the day.

It is hard to imagine having got Rooney in his travelling squad that Capello will not pick him.

The England coach will need to make sure his star man is in the right frame of mind though as his side look to build on Friday's 4-0 triumph over Bulgaria.

In total, Capello has 22 men available. He decided not to call in a replacement for ankle injury victim Michael Dawson as in Phil Jagielka, Gary Cahill, Matthew Upson and Joleon Lescott he already has four centre-halves.

In addition, Watford's Scott Loach will make the journey as third-choice goalkeeper as Scott Carson has withdrawn due to a family bereavement.

Meanwhile, Switzerland's London-born defender Scott Sutter this morning admitted he had been following the Rooney reports.

The Young Boys player, who made his international debut against Australia on Friday, thinks Switzerland might be able to profit from the distraction.

'Wayne Rooney is an amazing player,' he said.

'When he's on his game, it is hard for anyone to stop him.

'But with these things going on in his private life, it depends how mentally strong he is and whether he can put it to the back of his mind and play like the way we know he can.

'I read all the papers online so I have been following what is going on.

'Obviously, it is a distraction and maybe he will not be as totally focussed on the game.

'We have to hope Wayne Rooney doesn't play as well as he can.

'But whether something like that will affect him, I don't know, we will see.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Xavi6 wrote: »
    nobody-cares1.jpg

I expect United and England fans will care as stuff like this cannot do his football performances any good.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/top-stories/2010/09/04/wayne-rooney-cheats-on-pregnant-wife-coleen-with-1k-a-night-prostitute-115875-22537906/
    Lot of bull**** in that but Id say alot is true aswell.
    Very hard for a footballer with so much money and time on his hands to avoid **** like this. Its not like he was a having a relationship just shagging on his time off, fair play to ya Wayne!

Yeah, fair play to him for cheating on his pregnant wife with a hooker :rolleyes:

What a stupid thing to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,724 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

did he break the law ?

England is hardly a country of high moral standards these days, yet its footballers and politicians are expected to behave like its moral saviours.
    This is not England from the Stanley mathews era, football is now the new religion and the superstars the new clergy , and for this reason the english football team willl forever fail

• Registered Users Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

Im not suprised though he's a chav of the highest order he wouldnt look out a place with a can of wive beater in magaluf . And although he ant bad at football he doesnt grace the pitch like ronaldo, messi inesta or xavi. And he will never be the best in the world either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

might throw a few quid on him seeing red in the next england game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,145 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

syngindub wrote: »
    might throw a few quid on him seeing red in the next england game

I'll be going the other way to be honest, either anytime scorer or first scorer.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I think most men DO resist that.

The difference might be that most men couldn't realistically afford a prostitute that expensive on a regular basis. Maybe a majority of adult males would be tempted if they could afford the type of escort that is young, beautiful and discreet. I have no idea. But I do think there needs to be a distinction made between the type of escorts / hookers realistically within the price range of the majority of the adult population, and the woman Rooney has gotten involved with in this instance.

Did you see her?

She's a big let down for a grand-a-night hooker. Like buying footballers, I think the English must be more expensive! I'm sure he could have got a really hot Slovakian for less than half that. Maybe he doesnt like foreigners ;)

Did you see her?

She's a big let down for a grand-a-night hooker. Like buying footballers, I think the English must be more expensive! I'm sure he could have got a really hot Slovakian for less than half that. Maybe he doesnt like foreigners ;)

...maybe she's got, like, secret high-class hooker skills...

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    ...maybe she's got, like, secret high-class hooker skills...

You could be on to something threre. She probably has all her badges alright...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭jasonb

thebhoy wrote: »
    gotta love the headline on rte.ie:
    Rooney available to play away from home

Yep, that's an excellent headline!

J.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Let's face it if it was'nt for football this lad would be locked up or on the dole. He has the intelligence of a chimp. Capello will now be called upon to remember his words in the wake of John Terry’s time in the tabloids earlier this year, when he insisted that his players must remember that they’re role models. Stupidly, Capello has painted himself into a bit of a corner. And his inevitable hyprocisy is imminent.

Mister men wrote: »
    Let's face it if it was'nt for football this lad would be locked up or on the dole. He has the intelligence of a chimp. Capello will now be called upon to remember his words in the wake of John Terry’s time in the tabloids earlier this year, when he insisted that his players must remember that they’re role models. Stupidly, Capello has painted himself into a bit of a corner. And his inevitable hyprocisy is imminent.

Not really. He didn't drop john terry, just removed the captaincy. Rooney will continue to be selected, just as John Terry was. If this was Rio or Gerrard however, it would be an interesting little dilemma alright, but I don't see a problem here for Capello.

A huge factor in terry's of course as well was that he did directly involve the team. He ****ed over a teammate, thus bringing his private issues into the team, where Rooney's tryst will effect noone in the setup except Rooney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

He is as thick as ****, every club organizes women for the players, women they know will stay quiet, but this stupid **** went off and found his own bird

Jaysus Niall. :rolleyes:

The best thing about this whole thing as far as the soccer forum is concerned is that we will no longer have to put up with Utd / Liverpool fans jumping on their high horse when a high profile player from another club does something stupid in their personal lives. It is beyond a shadow of a doubt at this stage, pretty much every club has at least one muppet on their books (Gerrard, Rooney and Terry being the biggest dicks around of course).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Jaysus Niall. :rolleyes:

The best thing about this whole thing as far as the soccer forum is concerned is that we will no longer have to put up with Utd / Liverpool fans jumping on their high horse when a high profile player from another club does something stupid in their personal lives. It is beyond a shadow of a doubt at this stage, pretty much every club has at least one muppet on their books (Gerrard, Rooney and Terry being the biggest dicks around of course).

Ah Rooney still has to mature, he's a good lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

I'm not sure how true it is but a current footballer has a injunction against a paper, rumors are it is Gerrard.

I can't believe how stupid Rooney is thinking this would not make the papers...ever. She is going around sellings herself so of course she was going to go to a Newspaper once she gets enough headliners for Englands number one star player. I have no doubt her story is fabricated a little but again Rooney is stupid, he got caught once and all the stories coming out of late about Terry and other players, well it really makes you wonder how they think they will get away it. I have no sympathy except for his wife and child who will grow up reading on one side how great Rooney is or was another side what filt he got up too.

Vanbis wrote: »
    I'm not sure how true it is but a current footballer has a injunction against a paper, rumors are it is Gerrard.

I can't believe how stupid Rooney is thinking this would not make the papers...ever. She is going around sellings herself so of course she was going to go to a Newspaper once she gets enough headliners for Englands number one star player. I have no doubt her story is fabricated a little but again Rooney is stupid, he got caught once and all the stories coming out of late about Terry and other players, well it really makes you wonder how they think they will get away it. I have no sympathy except for his wife and child who will grow up reading on one side how great Rooney is or was another side what filt he got up too.

Not this time from what I've heard. David James apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Not this time from what I've heard. David James apparently.

Isn't there a couple of high profile players with injunctions now?

Le King wrote: »
    Isn't there a couple of high profile players with injunctions now?

Apparently a number have been filed over the last year, yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

Well done Wayne, stay classy.

A thousand euros a night for that plain-looking thing? Seriously, I don't even want to think of what you could get upto in Bangkok for that kind of money.

Columbia wrote: »

A thousand euros a night for that plain-looking thing? Seriously, I don't even want to think of what you could get upto in Bangkok for that kind of money.

Well see he was paying the 1000 euro for the privacy, he was obviously very badly advised or just went out on his own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

thebaz wrote: »
    did he break the law ?
    Funnily enough, he did ... what with prostitution being illegal and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,164 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Wayne's World Its Party Time!!!!

Columbia wrote: »

I wonder at some of you, I really do. He wasn't paying £1k for how she looks (she looks fine as it happens) or cast iron certainties of discreetness. He was paying £1k for no stress, no strings, on tap no holds barred sex.

Some men are into things that go beyond mixing up a couple of positions. If you're into things off the beaten track, it's not the best idea to try them on with some bird you met in Coppers (or anywhere) a few hours beforehand. What Rooney gets for his money in this situation is the full confidence that whatever he likes to do will be 100% catered for. Not to mention that such a guarantee is there at a hotel room of his liking at a time of his choosing. He doesn't have to make any conversation if he doesn't want to, and he doesn't have to bother with any of various codes of etiquette and acceptable behaviour that exist around most sexual interactions.

Obviously, for many of you the idea of paying for sex would be completely ridiculous / repulsive (couldn't ever envisage it myself), and part of the rush of meaningless no strings sex or female relationships in general would be the element of uncertainty and sense of satisfaction that comes from consensual experiences. But to ignore all of the reasons and motivations people have for hiring prostitutes is a bit lol tbh.

Men of all levels of social standing have been paying for it since the dawn of human existence. It simply amazes me that so many people are unable to get beyond 'lol he has to pay for it / paying £1k for her?!!' when celebrities stray in such ways.

So reminiscent of all the 'jaysus did you see the state of some of the birds Tiger was banging!!?' stuff when even a cursory glance at that particular story would have told someone that Tiger was operating on a level way beyond physical looks. Sigh. /rant

EDIT: Stories like this always make me wonder about people who get married / locked up into long term relationships in their late teens / early twenties. It's such a massive, unfathomable commitment to declare "till death do us part" at the age Rooney was married. Of course it doesn't in any way excuse his behaviour (she was pregnant with his child ffs), but it shouldn't be all that surprising that he is capable / open to playing away from home. Such an early age to deny any possibility of new experience in something so fundamental to your everyday life.

And yeah, I know there is a percentage of the population out there happily married since their teens who would never want anything else. I just genuinely wonder how they do it!

1k is only 1% of his weekly wage, i'd hate to see the bird id get for 1% of my weekly wage

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Rooney was a fool to settle down. Why get married and rush into things at such a young age. If I were a footballer, to hell with Marriage until Im atleast 34. Have no strings sex til that. Rooneys just did it wrong.

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Rooney was a fool to settle down. Why get married and rush into things at such a young age. If I were a footballer, to hell with Marriage until Im atleast 34. Have no strings sex til that. Rooneys just did it wrong.

Ferguson tries to get all his players settled early, he even got john o shea a bird.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Ferguson tries to get all his players settled early, he even got john o shea a bird.

I highly doubt that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

It's actually not illegal and he didn't break the law.

I highly doubt that.

Really, a lot of utd players got married young, if you were manager would you prefer a player at home with the missus or out shagging a load of birds all night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

niallo27 wrote: »
    Really, a lot of utd players got married young, if you were manager would you prefer a player at home with the missus or out shagging a load of birds all night

I'd imagine he meant the "Fergie getting JOS a woman" bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

He didnt break the law. You need to read up on your law my friend. In England it is not illegal to hire an escort for whatever time.

He did that. Not illegal.

It is illegal to get a hooker off the street or visit a brothel.

Same law here in Ireland.

So he didnt break the law

flahavaj wrote: »
    I'd imagine he meant the "Fergie getting JOS a woman" bit.

Obviously, he's a Munster Man. Women would be throwing themselves in their droves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Obviously, he's a Munster Waterford Man. Women would be throwing themselves in their droves.

It actually gets tiresome after a while tbh.:pac:

flahavaj wrote: »
    It actually gets tiresome after a while tbh.:pac:

Your dead right. Not quite as special as a Tipp man tho. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I think this is blown way out of proportion. For all we know he could have had an arrangement with his wife to visit an escort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

As a United fan, I now realise why Rooney went through that barren scoring patch - on the pitch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,433 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

As a United fan, I now realise why Rooney went through that barren scoring patch - on the pitch!

ye getting injured and being unfit and out of form had nothing to do with it...