Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've started "Starting Strength"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

Not really in the humour today but hey ho went anyway.

Squats
    - 5x20, 5x40, SET 55
    Overhead press = 5 x15, 3x18(to fail :rolleyes, SET x15
    Chin ups - 5 x -35, 4x-32 (to fail) SET x -35
    did these (assisted chin up machine) instead of powercleans, jaysis my upperbody strength is woeful, another woman had just got off & she was doing them at -20 :mad:

p.s I've started getting calluses - I'm well 'ard now I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Not really in the humour today but hey ho went anyway.

Squats
    - 5x20, 5x40, SET 55
    Overhead press = 5 x15, 3x18(to fail :rolleyes, SET x15
    Chin ups - 5 x -35, 4x-32 (to fail) SET x -35
    did these (assisted chin up machine) instead of powercleans, jaysis my upperbody strength is woeful, another woman had just got off & she was doing them at -20 :mad:

p.s I've started getting calluses - I'm well 'ard now I am.

Welcome to the world of man hands...:p

Just wait til they rip:(

Yeah I rem reading that on your blog, think I might start wearing gloves.

If you were on my facebook you wouldn't have made that comment:p I suggested it the last day and got a serious backlash of comments about how they'd mess up my grip etc., so I've just decided to go without. Also, in hindsight, my callouses are grand now - I mean they're still there but they've hardened up since so not causing me any bother now.

Body of a Goddess
    Hands of a Labourer

I'm doing tues/thurs/sat this week instead so no lifting today but I did have a run which was great as I have been off since end of July...just 2.5km but leg felt ok, even if my poor lungs didn't!

So I've been doing this for 4 weeks now and so I had a look back to see what progress I've made

Squats - 35kg ->55kg
    Overhead Press - 12.5kg -> 15kg
    Powerclean - n/a :(
    Deadlift - 30kg ->65kg
    Bench Press - 20kg ->25kg

so not too shabby...well except for those pesky upper body ones...

Morning all,

Had to re-arrange as a guy using the squat rack this morning for *all* his exercises, and guess what? not one of them squats!

Bench press
    - 5x20, set x25
    2 sets of tricep ex's with 6kg weight
    Squats - 5x20, 5x40, set x55
    Deadlift - 5x40,3x60, setx65
    God I really struggled with these today, bit of a mess...

Saw a girl doing bicep curls with 1kg weights, ooh she'll feel that tomorrow! :rolleyes:

I'm doing tues/thurs/sat this week instead so no lifting today but I did have a run which was great as I have been off since end of July...just 2.5km but leg felt ok, even if my poor lungs didn't!

So I've been doing this for 4 weeks now and so I had a look back to see what progress I've made

Squats - 35kg ->55kg
    Overhead Press - 12.5kg -> 15kg
    Powerclean - n/a :(
    Deadlift - 30kg ->65kg
    Bench Press - 20kg ->25kg

so not too shabby...well except for those pesky upper body ones...

Some serious progress there, well done!!!!! See you Sat :D

Sqauts 5x20, 5x40,3x50, SET 57.5
    yay another 2.5 on:D
    Overhead Press 5x12.5, 3x15, 4x18(to fail) SETx15. :rolleyes: Will I ever get to 18?? I wish they had a 16/17 bar.
    Chin-Ups5x-35, SET x -32.5, another 2.5kg so pleased with that

Also did 2 sets of 10 Tricep press' and one arm rows with a 8kg

Wow I'm wrecked! I was in town, kid free, and too tired to shop - tragic!
    Had a great session at RAW and what do you know when you do squats properly they're like 100% bloody harder!
    Very pleased & grateful for all I've learnt today.

Savage squatting and DL'ing today, you'll be pulling 80kg in no time at all. That 60kg set was EASY!

G86 wrote: »
    Savage squatting and DL'ing today, you'll be pulling 80kg in no time at all. That 60kg set was EASY!

No it wasn't!! I just wasn't going to let it best me :D
    No chalk in my gym though...hmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭COH

No it wasn't!! I just wasn't going to let it best me :D

To be fair.. it looked pretty easy. Well done today!

Still bloody sore from saturday but have to keep to the plan!

So i Dialled it back on the weights & will build back up again, Was definitely getting a lot lower today, have to watch myself leaning forward though

Sqauts - 5x20, 5x30, 5x35, SETx40, 3x50(just to see if I could!)
    Overhead Press - 5x15, SET x 16 - had the bright idea of using 2x8 dumbells as I can't manage the 18kg bag
    Assisted chin-ups, 5x-35, SET x-31.25

Good session this morning, despite really not wanting to go initially at all.

Squats - 5x20, 5x40, SETx50
    Bench - 5x20,SETx25
    Deadlift - 5x50, 5x60, SET x65
    These felt great, the mixed grip really helps a lot.

I did some intervals on the tm too. When I say some, actually 2 :rolleyes: It's been so long since I did cardio it was hard!
    1.5m/0.5m @ 10/14.5 kmph at 1.5% gradient X 2
    and then 4min walk at 6.5kmph.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,155 ✭✭✭COH

Deadlift - 5x50, 5x60, SET x65
    These felt great, the mixed grip really helps a lot.

And there you were giving out that 60 felt heavy last week :rolleyes:

Nice work!

COH wrote: »
    And there you were giving out that 60 felt heavy last week :rolleyes:

Nice work!

Well that is because I had just done a gazillion squats!

Sqauts - 5x20, 5x40, SETx50
    Overhead Press - 5x15, SET x 16
    Assisted chin-ups, 5x-35, SET x-31.25

TM Intervals
    4 mins at 1.5%, 6kmph
    1.5m/0.5m @ 10/14.5 kmph at 1.5% gradient X 2
    and then 4min walk at 6.0kmph @ 3.5% gradient

So...let me put this out there & tell me if I'm crazy.
    I'm going on holidays Tuesday week for 1 week. I can join the local gym for the week for €21, should I? or is that daft? Will it damage my progress much to miss out on 3-4 workouts? Opinions on a postcard pls.

So...let me put this out there & tell me if I'm crazy.
    I'm going on holidays Tuesday week for 1 week. I can join the local gym for the week for €21, should I? or is that daft? Will it damage my progress much to miss out on 3-4 workouts? Opinions on a postcard pls.

It's daft:D

Enjoy your holiday and relax!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

It won't damage your progress..sure your only away for a week!!! Although I find it really hard when I go on holidays not to work out. If I'm only away for a week I'll try to use it to rest...cos I really amn't good at the ole rest days:) Any longer than that and I would always do something.

Judge it by yourself..if you're gonna miss the gym then yeh..why not, go ahead...but if your enjoying the hol and relaxing..then just take it handy:)

I had a look at the gyms website & I don't think they have a squat rack, only a Smith machine...so that might sway me, I've emailed them to see.
    But they do have a twice weekly kickboxing class by an ex British-champion boxer, which sounds cool.
    Bear in mind girls I am am going on a family holiday & we'll be staying with my parents so there is also the element of escape involved :D

Great morning!! :D

I wanted to try going higher on these today but couldn't find the cushioney yoke, will try 55 on Weds

Bench Press
    - 5x20, 5x25, SET x 27.5.
    yay an extra 2.5kg on these, really struggled though so will be staying her for a while I'd say.

Deadlift - 5x50, 3x60, 5x65, and then I thought sure I'll try 70, and I knocked out 5 reps!!! Yay me!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Great morning!! :D

I wanted to try going higher on these today but couldn't find the cushioney yoke, will try 55 on Weds

Bench Press
    - 5x20, 5x25, SET x 27.5.
    yay an extra 2.5kg on these, really struggled though so will be staying her for a while I'd say.

Deadlift - 5x50, 3x60, 5x65, and then I thought sure I'll try 70, and I knocked out 5 reps!!! Yay me!

Good job on the deadlift.

Is cushioney yoke a technical term?

What did I tell ya.....:D

Cheers, I aim to be pulling 90kg (bwx1.5) by Christmas.
    Where could the cushioney yoke have gone?? I looked over the whole floor...:rolleyes: I believe the proper term is barbell neck protector :D

G86 wrote: »
    What did I tell ya.....:D

Only another, what 40kg? to go to match you G!

At the rate I'm going that won't take you very long....:o

Morning all,
    Did some measurements this morning as I've been at this 6 weeks now.
    I've lost 8 ounces :rolleyes:
    I've changed the scales in the meantime but I think it's right, according to the same scales but body fat % is up (27.4:( , was 26.8 ) which I hope isn't true!
    According to the tape I've lost 0.5 inches off waist & hips and :eek:1.5inches off my boobs!! Wish I could swap that around! Also lost half an inch of my thigh & 0.25 inch off my upper arm, which I suppose is pretty good percentage wise.

Tried doing my skin/fat folds but got frustrated as it's so imprecise and they all were coming out as the same as in August.

Wednesday already! pleased with my workout today

Overhead press 5x16, SET x18 (really really struggled with last 2 reps) but very pleased to have finally moved up
    Squat 5x20, 5x40, 3x50, SET x55 :D
    Assisted chin-ups - SET @ -30 :D woohoo! Finally up to half body weight.