Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Has Happened To Society?

• 06-09-2010 4:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

Has anyone noticed the way we are becoming more egotistical and violent?

What has a huge impact on our lives? Television of course. And Music.
    Back in the 60's we preached love, now we preach hate. The Beatles, Eric Clapton, Bob Dylan, Pink Floyd, Bob Marley and Jimi Hendrix have been cast aside for 50 Cent and Lady Gaga.

What are we becoming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Were you alive in the 60's or are you getting all this second hand?

John Lennon was talented but he was nasty and spiteful. Hendrix was a misogynist. Clapton is a racist and one of the lads from The Who was involved in a child porn scandal.

It wasn't all sunshine and roses back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Yeah, I fucckin hate it when people are upside down

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

We can't live in the past. Or the present.
    We need to live in the future. The 22nd century is on the way. It's a dynamic new world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

We traded it in for 45 extasy pills in the late 90s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Genghis_Khan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

I'm not sure if lady gaga preaches hate. I dont listen to it myself but i doubt it....

Anyway, i would assume (and this is an assumption) that the same percentage of people are violent today as there were in the 60's. its just the fact that theres more people in total that has more people being violent...

Also (more importantly), media has a big impact as it highlights the violence more than it would have been in the 60's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

What is the world coming too!?:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

You picked lady gaga to use in your "artists that preach hate" thread. A poor choice.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,434 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

More violent my hole, we've always been violent,media is just less censored now. It's better that way too! AS long as there's good music there'll be **** commercial music to along with it. Zeppelin et al were never chart music back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Nothing has really changed. In a few decades people will be looking back at the previous decade thinking "Things were so much better then!".

Of course they're probably right. Those future people have to deal with apocalyptic scenarios on a daily basis sure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Lovers be Loving i personally prefer Haters who be Hating.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I think the glorification of talentless, vacuous idiots would be more telling as to why society is in the state it's currently in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

You picked lady gaga to use in your "artists that preach hate" thread. A poor choice.

I didn't say Lady Gaga preached hate. I meant that nowadays, it's all marketing...virtually anyone can become famous through manipulation.
    The generation of the 60's/70's listened to love, now we are forced to listen to hate, racism, "gangsta" crap they call music...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭talla10

Its getting like that film boyz in the hood. And the pimps will have to use crack cocaine to keep the whores under control. And there will be drive by shootings next. Im away off home till they catch that fella with the whistle. Good day to ya father!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

talla10 wrote: »
    Its getting like that film boyz in the hood. And the pimps will have to use crack cocaine to keep the whores under control. And there will be drive by shootings next. Im away off home till they catch that fella with the whistle. Good day to ya father!
    Turn off the TV will ya!
    You will be the better for it sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Who exactly is forcing you to listen to hate music?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

I didn't say Lady Gaga preached hate. I meant that nowadays, it's all marketing...virtually anyone can become famous through manipulation.
    The generation of the 60's/70's listened to love, now we are forced to listen to hate, racism, "gangsta" crap they call music...

Ok, so your gripe is with modern music, not society. Might want to rethink your thread as a result of this "revelation".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Back in the 60's we preached love, now we preach hate.

Who's 'we'? American or Irish society? Ireland seemed a filthier place 40 years ago to me. Might have seemed rosy on the outside but the atrocities carried out behind closed doors make most of us wince today.

And who preaches Hate here without getting lambasted by the general public and media for it? Even the in the UK, few have time for the BNP. Less care about RIRA and the like here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

There's more to society than what musicians are popular by the way. A lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

Gaga is very 'all you need is love'.

There may be a lot of marketing behind her, but I'd figure that's besides the point of whether her music is hateful or not. It's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Back in the days people used to watch tv for max 1-2hrs a day and not everyone had computers and Internet. I never watched tv more than that when I was a kid. Used to spend most of my time reading and doing stupid things.

Now everyone is glued to the tv or their computer 24/7... We are constantly being told how shot the world has become on the news and how we must be afraid of everyone around us. While on the rest of tv we're being told we must dress and act like sluts (if you're a girl) or a dumb douche (If you're a guy) and if we don't do this then no one will ever like us and we'll die a lonely pittyful person...

Not much has changed apart from that...

Ok, so your gripe is with modern music, not society. Might want to rethink your thread as a result of this "revelation".

Can we not have an informative conversation instead of someone twisting the words? You can't deny certain things are having a psychological impact of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Sure look at Rihanna. One of her latest songs is all about a "rude" boy, and her questioning whether he can "get it up". I can only presume she means can he hold an erection for long enough to satisfy her.

Also she ponders whether he is "big enough", basically asking if he has a big enough penis for her. So she obviously has a vagina like a wizards sleeve.

LookingFor wrote: »
    Gaga is very 'all you need is love'.

There may be a lot of marketing behind her, but I'd figure that's besides the point of whether her music is hateful or not. It's not.

Indeed.

At least she not like the pair below!
    There's a world of difference! I'm saddened that some still can't differentiate.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 antidark777

What is the world coming too!?:eek:

A more accurate question would be 'What are people coming to?'

Society has cheapened general moral principles, correlating them with religious belief to the point where even some of the most basic aspects of the moral code and etiquette are shunned in this increasingly secular society

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭areu4real?

I agree with you 100% mate. Posted a similiar thread recently.
    I don't buy into it being down to music/tv alone though. The biggest corrupter (word?) these days is money. Not for all, but the weaker ones.
    People with a lot of money, no matter how they got it, are seen as celebrities. Even drug dealers are lauded by some.
    Some people have more money than they could ever spend, that should not be allowed as it hands power to them. If some idiot thinks that his idea is the best, like media corps. for example, they have the money and position to push whatever retarded drivel they want onto people. They don't have to suit everyone, just enough of a % to make more monies. The fact that John and Edward have made it into the spotlight doesn't surprise or annoy me, what annoys me is the amount of people that lap them up. The fact that these kids can appeal to so many people is a strong statement of the level of intelligence floating around these days.
    TV is definitley a factor in de-sensitising people to violence. I could go on about the problems that mass media has created, but the fact remains that it has also had some massive advantages for us. If there's something on the TV, just think about what you are watching, don't just 'watch' it. Pick up that magic stick with buttons on it and change the channel.

Biggins wrote: »
    Indeed.

At least she not like the pair below!
    There's a world of difference! I'm saddened that some still can't differentiate.

They've defected since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Very good point about the modern musicians OP. Lunatics, the whole lot of them. I blame this guy.

mikom wrote: »
    They've defected since.
    Isn't education a great thing! ;)
    They must have learned some real life truths.

Society has cheapened general moral principles, correlating them with religious belief to the point where even some of the most basic aspects of the moral code and etiquette are shunned in this increasingly secular society

Thesaurus vomit tbh.

I meant that nowadays, it's all marketing...virtually anyone can become famous through manipulation.

Sure the record industry really took off in the 50's & 60's. Wonder how that happened :confused:

Also: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Monkees

Forced to listen to?

The generation of the 60's / 70's listened to Rock n Roll which preached immorality too...

The devils work it was.

WindSock wrote: »
    Sure the record industry really took off in the 50's & 60's. Wonder how that happened :confused:

Also: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Monkees

Forced to listen to?

The generation of the 60's / 70's listened to Rock n Roll which preached immorality too...

The devils work it was.

Do you know how astonishingly simple it is to create music nowadays? The real talent has gone. I think there's great role-models out there but they're not heard because rec. corporations are force feeding us pure ****.

I don't want to listen to "I'm goin te blow da nigg@s head off mutherfocker b!tch @ss trick" or whatever the f*ck...it's so cringe worthy that these little white kids are walking around thinking they are part of a different ethnic group. It's having a serious effect in modern society.

If The Beatles or Pink Floyd was on the radio these days, people would be different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Too much brown acid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Do you know how astonishingly simple it is to create music nowadays? The real talent has gone. I think there's great role-models out there but they're not heard because rec. corporations are force feeding us pure ****.

I don't want to listen to "I'm goin te blow da nigg@s head off mutherfocker b!tch @ss trick" or whatever the f*ck...it's so cringe worthy that these little white kids are walking around thinking they are part of a different ethnic group. It's having a serious effect in modern society.

If The Beatles or Pink Floyd was on the radio these days, people would be different.

Just so you know dear old chap - you can actually listen to what you'd like to listen to - this is one aspect of democratic evolution that ou may have over looked.

It's on. It's off. It's back on. It's back off.

Simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

we didn't have the 60's though...that was The USA and London? We had showbands.

Noopti wrote: »
    Sure look at Rihanna. ...she ponders whether he is "big enough", basically asking if he has a big enough penis for her. So she obviously has a vagina like a wizards sleeve.

Leave that with me, I'll look into it and get back to you.

On the contrary I would say there are more musicians creating their own music than ever nowadays. Anyone can learn, record and distribute / air via the internet. It's not just the reserve of the privilaged or the tortured souls anymore.
    I don't want to listen to "I'm goin te blow da nigg@s head off mutherfocker b!tch @ss trick" or whatever the f*ck..

Neither do I. And I don't.
    .it's so cringe worthy that these little white kids are walking around thinking they are part of a different ethnic group. It's having a serious effect in modern society.

Because people admire / identify with the culture other ethnic groups, society is going to the dogs? :confused:
    Should we Irish just all listen to trad then and wear farmer capíns?

Most of the 'music' on the main stations sing about love / heartache / going out to dance in skimpy clothes. Hardly messages of hate. Just a string of rhyming soulless nonsense mostly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I like to think we didn't have the 80's either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

mikom wrote: »

In fairness to auld Genghis he was just a product of his times. Many Western leaders were just as brutal but we don't think of them in the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭Archeron

My dad often talks about how great the world was in his day, and how much less violent. He would talk about how you could go to mass and leave the doors unlocked so Mrs McGinty next door could check on the potatoes, and life was sweetness and innocence.

And in the next sentence, he will happily proceed to tell me about how men used to fight for jobs down the docks, that it was common to use slash hooks to fight, and how corpses could often be found floating down the Liffey with horrendous head injuries.

Doesnt sound all that peaceful to me.

Of course there is also the subject of child abuse which is so much less likely to happen now that people know what goes on, compared to the naive innocence of days gone by where a child "couldnt be safer" than in the company of a religious man or woman.

Oh, and my parents had the living sh*te beaten out of them by mental case teachers and nuns, and sometimes for the horrendous crimes of not having money to give to the holy charities, even though they themselves could barely afford to eat. Not enough of a reason to avoid a beating though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

Back in the 60's we preached love, now we preach hate. The Beatles, Eric Clapton, Bob Dylan, Pink Floyd, Bob Marley and Jimi Hendrix have been cast aside for 50 Cent and Lady Gaga.

What are we becoming?

****ing stupid if the OP is an example.

Ireland in the good old days: You listened to 1 and 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

What are we becoming?

That was the era of vietnam, seperate bathrooms for black and white, civil rights marches in NI being batoned off the streets, charles manson, industrial schools and magdalene laundries........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

estrogen in the water

Also, we need a poll as to whether the OP is serious or not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

fontanalis wrote: »
    In fairness to auld Genghis he was just a product of his times. Many Western leaders were just as brutal but we don't think of them in the same way.

Yea go easy on oul Genghis the mother was telling me last week he's a relation of ours.

smokedeels wrote: »
    estrogen in the water

That would explain the rising number of gays, protestants and coloured folk, certainly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

nothing is more cringeworthy than someone who thinks they've got superior musical tastes ranting about it on the internet.

btw: if it's so easy to make this music go make a few mill on it - hit me up with just 100 grand and i'll be happy!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

What are we becoming?

A huge amount of these "lovely songs from the 60's" are basically about drugs and ****ing.

At least now we are being upfront with what pop music is about.

nothing is more cringeworthy than someone who thinks they've got superior musical tastes ranting about it on the internet.

btw: if it's so easy to make this music go make a few mill on it - hit me up with just 100 grand and i'll be happy!

Buy Pro Tools 8 LE system and mess around with a few synths. Bob's your uncle and fanny's your aunt. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Buy Pro Tools 8 LE system and mess around with a few synths. Bob's your uncle and fanny's your aunt. ;)

*faps instead