Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Women U 17 World Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,951 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Yeah it would. We should be one up though, Killeen had way more time on the ball with that shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Bukman13

Simpson is the best player on the pitch, she is breaking up everything in midfield and is good on the ball. I reckon our best chance at scoring is through a set piece.

Bukman13 wrote: »
    Simpson is the best player on the pitch, she is breaking up everything in midfield and is good on the ball. I reckon our best chance at scoring is through a set piece.

Yeah she is really good. Meghan Campbell's throws are quality!

Killeen get in....

nice assist from the ref haha

What a goal!! Siobhan Killeen with a wonderful strike!

13mins to hold out!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭S.R.F.C.

Kinger sent off!

Hah, g'man Noel!

Hear the lads singing O Canada!

Savage tackle by Kovac though...

Huge save from Moloney there...

Damm, should have wrapped it up at the other end, great tackle to be fair.

FT 1-0 great result.

Even a 1-0 loss to Ghana may be enough to put us through, depending on goal difference.

Brilliant result for Ireland! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭pjmn

Great win - super strike for the goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,430 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Great result

Well done girls,

What was score in Canada v Ghana game in Irelands group on first round does anyone know?

Great result

Well done girls,

What was score in Canada v Ghana game in Irelands group on first round does anyone know?

1-0

If Ghana beat Brazil later, it'll be down to the wire in the group!

mars bar wrote: »
    If Ghana beat Brazil later, it'll be down to the wire in the group!

But if Brazil spank both Canada and Ghana in their last two games, then were in the quarters regardless (barring a ridiculous result for us against Ghana).

Which will probably be Spain by the looks of things.

:eek: Ghana 1-0.

Terrible goalkeeping.

Very nearly 1 - 1. I hate the way the goalkeeping does be so poor...

...or at least looks poor because of the huge goals.

The Ghana girls, suffering from cramps in from the 60th minute, managed to hold out for a draw. They literally throw their bodies in front of the Brazilians and their tackling is brilliant if borderline dangerous at times! Referee was cat though.
    It means a lot to them to get a win, some are practically crying on the pitch.

I hope we beat them.

Here are the various scenarios for their final Group D game.

Ireland beat Ghana -
      Brazil and Canada draw - Ireland 1st
      Brazil beats Canada by less than Ireland's margin of victory over Ghana - Ireland 1st
      Brazil beats Canada by the same or more than Ireland's margin of victory over Ghana - Ireland 2nd
      Canada beat Brazil by the same or less than Ireland's margin of victory over Ghana Ireland 1st
      Canada beat Brazil by more than Ireland's margin of victory over Ghana - Ireland 2nd

Ireland draw against Ghana -
      Brazil beat Canada - Ireland 2nd
      Canada beat Brazil - Ireland 2nd
      Brazil and Canada draw,
      Equal-scoring draws - Ireland 2nd
      If Ghana and Republic of Ireland are in a higher-scoring draw than Brazil and Canada. - Ireland 1st
      If Brazil and Canada are in a higher-scoring draw (by at least two goals per side) than Ireland and Ghana. - Ireland 3rd.
      If Brazil and Canada are in a higher-scoring draw (by only one goal per side) than Ireland and Ghana. - Ireland 2nd

Ireland lose against Ghana - They're out.

That's a lot to take in!

Basically, beat Ghana is the moral there.

Ghana match is gonna be really tough.

That's a lot to take in!

Basically, beat Ghana is the moral there.

Ghana match is gonna be really tough.

If we draw, the only way we can be knocked out is if the Brazil v Canada match is a higher scoring draw by two or more goals.

i.e

Ireland 1-1 Ghana & Brazil 3-3 Canada would put us out.

It would be great if we could top the group, it would mean avoiding Spain.

Ah I see. It would be great to avoid Spain.

If we can get Siobhan Killeen to take long, hard shots at the goalkeeper and have O' Sullivan rushing in to put pressure on the keeper, we should get some result from it. The Ghana keeper is very bad at holding the ball from crosses and shots. She palms them down and then gets the ball.

The Ghana forwards are all very quick, the one thing that was a problem in the Canada match was the lack of pace at the back, we were fairly lucky that Canada didn't punish that.

Ghana have to score to have any chance of getting through so I wouldn't mind seeing us sitting back and hitting them on the counter, this would also mean that the back 4 won't be exposed to the pace of the forwards.

Best result in the other match would be for Canada to win 1-0.

Bukman13 wrote: »
    The Ghana forwards are all very quick, the one thing that was a problem in the Canada match was the lack of pace at the back, we were fairly lucky that Canada didn't punish that.

Ghana have to score to have any chance of getting through so I wouldn't mind seeing us sitting back and hitting them on the counter, this would also mean that the back 4 won't be exposed to the pace of the forwards.

Best result in the other match would be for Canada to win 1-0.

Yeah Ghana forwards are very quick.

Byrne has a bit of pace on her from what I saw in the Canada match. I'd have her watching the runners anyway.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ghana beat Brazil, yeah?
    So it's everyone on a win and a draw going into the last match tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

Ghana beat Brazil, yeah?
    So it's everyone on a win and a draw going into the last match tonight?

A Win and a Loss each.

All four teams goal difference is 0 (zero) but I don't know if it's head-to-head criteria first before goal difference.

Eurosport aren't showing this on the TV (which is annoying as they've only shown one of our games live yet and it's one of the most interesting groups now). They have a love for showing Spain.

From the website:
    The stat
    3 – the number of points each of the four teams in Group D have heading into the final matchday of the section. It’s a matter of win and go through for Brazil, the lively Irish, sturdy Canada and African upstarts Ghana. On the other side of the coin, a loss means a ticket home while draws would make the outlook a complicated math problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

http://fifa2.feedroom.com/

all the matches are shown here in high quality :)

I enjoyed nigeria v chile last night on the site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Colm_purchase

digme wrote: »
    http://fifa2.feedroom.com/

all the matches are shown here in high quality :)

I enjoyed nigeria v chile last night on the site.

The above link working for anyone? Im just getting 'live action coming here soon'
    Any other links anyone?

The above link working for anyone? Im just getting 'live action coming here soon'
    Any other links anyone?

Game doesn't start for another 20mins. It will probably pop up when the game is about to kick off.

And we have kick off!

C'mon the girls in green! The Spain v Canada game is live on Eurosport.

Get in

1-0

Campbell free kick.

CAMPBELL!

What a fucking free kick.

The Ghana keeper is very bad at holding the ball from crosses and shots. She palms them down and then gets the ball.

Great shout!!!

Brazil 1-0 up

As it stands

Brazil 1st
    Ireland 2nd

Jaysus, If I heard "Ellen Coleman" had to come off, I'd think it was an Irish girl coming off!

I think we are so used to being a defense and counter attack team, we don't really know how to not panic in and around the box. A couple of times there where there was a lot more time to get the ball across the box rather than just belting it at the goal.

Whoever finishes 1st plays Japan who hammered New Zealand 6 0 earlier today. Either way, the next tie will not be easy if we get through to the next round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

2-0 good goal. Shocking defending though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

gooooal 2-0

Terrible defending...But we'll take it, super finish.

2 0!!! :D

What were the goalkeeper and the defense at?! Bloody hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

ghana passing like a bunch of schoolkids (oh wait !!!)

Definite peno, silly silly tackle.

Penalty against us, nuts.

What a terrible penalty.

She missed! :eek:

Seeing the replay, her technique was terrible! If you bend your knee like that, it's gonna go all over the shop.

Huge miss!!!

What a save from Maloney. Can't wait for half time. Too much defending for us to do here!

Going to be alot of defending to do second half although Ireland will be dangerous on the counter.