Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pat Kenny Show Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

marty1985 wrote: »
    Isn't Mary actually going to study Canon Law when her Presidency ends?

For the record, I don't think there's much wrong with believing everyone is made in the image of God or whatever, it isn't one of the worst Christian doctrines out there. It's merely about the concept of human dignity to all equally. It's one doctrine, not exclusive to Christianity I might add, that got it bang on. No superiority, and the dignity of common people. For people to believe it is actually a moral achievement, because if we're all made in God's image then it follows we must all be moral equals. We just take it for granted that in our society each person is supposed to have equal regard, but this isn't always the case, and is certainly not always the case everywhere. Politicians should be clear on their religious beliefs, but this is one religious belief that I would let slide when a politician says it. In fact I would be glad to hear it.

Mitchell made this rubbish comment about god's image and treating people equally, but yet he's against gay marriage.

So with religious people it's "I believe in equality but..."

• Registered Users Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

Perhaps. I'm just saying: It's not all right, but it's not all wrong either.

The idea of the dignity of the individual was an important one in history, and not one we should knock. If we were to focus on gay rights, we have to acknowledge that the idea of human rights and equality and freedom emerge from the notion of the dignity of the individual and gay rights should and I'm sure will follow from it, not in spite of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

I wonder does Pat like Vincent Brownes questioning style?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Porn consumption scare stories - yay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Tara consumer women doing exactly the same item about energy costs as last week. Woohoo.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Is this interview with Dana some kind of joke? A very belligerant Dana unable or unwilling to answer any question .... why did she bother doing the interview if she can't or won't answer any question.
    The woman is just sounding silly ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

What a contrary fecker. The amount of platitudes are also reaching critical mass.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭mattser

Love it when someone puts it up to Kenny. The guy can't handle it when it's put up to him. The interviewee may be daft as a brush, which makes his thickness even more obvious.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

mattser wrote: »
    Love it when someone puts it up to Kenny. The guy can't handle it when it's put up to him. The interviewee may be daft as a brush, which makes his thickness even more obvious.

Were we listening to the same programme?

Pat asked her questions; Dana obfuscated and evaded; Pat pointed out that she hadn't answered, and asked again; Dana obfuscated and evaded some more; Pat pointed out that she still hadn't answered.

What else would you have him do?

Were we listening to the same programme?

Pat asked her questions; Dana obfuscated and evaded; Pat pointed out that she hadn't answered, and asked again; Dana obfuscated and evaded some more; Pat pointed out that she still hadn't answered.

What else would you have him do?

I'm sure we were, but just from different perspectives. That's allowed.

I note you answered my rhetorical question asking if we were listening to the same programme, yet you ducked my real question asking what you would have him do.

In what way did Pat handle the interview badly?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Thought Pat handled that interview very well,

The interviewee was close to impossible, the only disappointment was when Dana threatened to leave the whole process if the line of questioning about her family/US Citizenship(from the media in general) didn't stop - Pat you blew your chance !

Perhaps its dawned on Dana that she wont get enough votes to recoup her costs....

Infoanon wrote: »
    ... the only disappointment was when Dana threatened to leave the whole process if the line of questioning about her family/US Citizenship(from the media in general) didn't stop - Pat you blew your chance ! ...

I spent two seconds hoping that Pat would press that button before I realised that he wouldn't. I suspect that Pat was tempted, but (unlike, say, Vincent Browne) he remembered that he is not a player in this election.

I note you answered my rhetorical question asking if we were listening to the same programme, yet you ducked my real question asking what you would have him do.

In what way did Pat handle the interview badly?

On a couple of occasions he misquoted her and wrongly attributed a quote to her. When correctly pulled on it, his tone rose, and as usual he took exception to being corrected. He can never be wrong.
    Otherwise I agree she was all over the place. Period.

I was praying she was going to get up and walk out during that interview...as already stated Kenny was wise enough not to letr it get that far...pity though. She's insufferable IMO...I'd sooner vote for McFly or Mitchell and that's saying something.

Wertz wrote: »
    I was praying she was going to get up and walk out during that interview...as already stated Kenny was wise enough not to letr it get that far...pity though. She's insufferable IMO...I'd sooner vote for McFly or Mitchell and that's saying something.

You were praying?

She's just shown herself to be a bully.

On a couple of occasions he misquoted her and wrongly attributed a quote to her. When correctly pulled on it, his tone rose, and as usual he took exception to being corrected. He can never be wrong.
    Otherwise I agree she was all over the place. Period.

What quote did he incorrectly attribute to Dana? He made a reference to a quote from Dev and compared that reference to what Dana decided on what the Irish people wanted.

She took exception to being compared to Dev, but seemed keen to compare herself to him last week.

You were praying?

Not in the biblical sense of the term, no.
    Hoping would have been a better way of putting it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Was listening to some of it this morning and Pat did make reference to her not being popular with section of the Irish population who would find her to 'pro catholic ' of which she hmmd and hawd a bit on this , not really sure what to say and actually of the the bit I listened to , she really didn't say much at all .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

What quote did he incorrectly attribute to Dana?

"If I wish to know what the Irish want, I look into my own heart." De Valera..

Pat was making a reasonable point, about whether or not Dana would be prepared to sign into constitution legislation that was at odds with her own Christian beliefs.. She completely misunderstood the allusion to Dev that Pat was making and lost the head... She was truly awful today..

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Dana has continually asserted that she knows what the Irish people want, all Pat did was ask her how she knows and after he'd asked the question a number of times and failed to get an answer he put it to her that she seems to be like DeValera who once said that to know the thinking of the Irish people all he had to do was 'look into his own heart'.

She claimed not to be aware of that DeValera quote! :confused:

"If I wish to know what the Irish want, I look into my own heart." De Valera..

Pat was making a reasonable point, about whether or not Dana would be prepared to sign into constitution legislation that was at odds with her own Christian beliefs.. She completely misunderstood the allusion to Dev that Pat was making and lost the head... She was truly awful today..

I don't think she misunderstood what Kenny was saying to her...she just hadn't got a response and decided to attack Kenny instead. She's a sly operator is our sweet and innocent Dana.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

Anyone who calls Kenny thick doesn't know what they're talking about.

The guy is one of the smartest people on the airwaves, a fact acknowledged by many.

I listened to the entire piece, Dana was evasive and vague in the interview....she appears to think that the will of the people is all well and good as long as she agrees with it.

I think she lost more votes than she gained yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

giftgrub wrote: »
    Anyone who calls Kenny thick doesn't know what they're talking about.

The guy is one of the smartest people on the airwaves, a fact acknowledged by many.

I listened to the entire piece, Dana was evasive and vague in the interview....she appears to think that the will of the people is all well and good as long as she agrees with it.

I think she lost more votes than she gained yesterday.

Ex-fcuking-actly.

She came across as a fool and totally belligerent. I was laughing at her carry on until people started to text in with their support.

Good jaysus, tell me this country is smart enough that they won't do a state of California on it and elect this stroppy mare?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Slidey wrote: »
    Ex-fcuking-actly.

She came across as a fool and totally belligerent. I was laughing at her carry on until people started to text in with their support.

Good jaysus, tell me this country is smart enough that they won't do a state of California on it and elect this stroppy mare?

Listen forget about people ringing in in support.

Kenny hasto read an equal number of pro and con contributions.

There could be 600 con and 6 pro and he would broadcast two of each view.

Don't be fooled by thst stuff.

I heard her too and best thing she can do is pack it in now.

Slidey wrote: »
    I was laughing at her carry on until people started to text in with their support.

The same people who text in to say that MLOD's piece about [whatever] was a delightful revelation about the true Ireland and that she's a credit to the airwaves?
    Don't worry, they either don't really exist or number in the single digits...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

**** me pat out did himself on the bias stakes today.

not only did his mate gerry stembridge do a hatchet job on martin mcguinnes AND gay mitchell

but through him managed to slag off the people of west dublin and end with a declaration by valerie cox that sean gallagher was the "messiah".

RTE at its manipulative best lads, stand in awe.

not only did his mate gerry stembridge do a hatchet job on martin mcguinnes AND gay mitchell

but through him managed to slag off the people of west dublin and end with a declaration by valerie cox that sean gallagher was the "messiah".

The Dublin West talk was very snobby.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

I remember posting here not long ago, that I thought Pat Kenny had a 'D4 mentality'. Some posters thought my description was harsh, but after today they might get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

The Dublin West talk was very snobby.

makes ya wonder if pat will do a show in the greater dublin area where he can ask people how they like living in "another world" and a "blight".

im actually MORE annoyed with stembridge now than the original broadcast, fecking staggering mentality.