Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pat Kenny Show Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Yeah was thinking that myself, is that lady under 3ft?

I reckon that she stands head and shoulders above anonymous internet posters taking cheap shots at her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

That Tina Leonard bird is starting to get annoying, she doesn't have a voice for radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

That Tina Leonard bird is starting to get annoying, she doesn't have a voice for radio.

Agree ... she's very squeaky or something :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Plus, she hasn't a bulls notion of what she's talking about. Spoofer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Pats back on Tuesday with -

"A special programme featuring some of the best live music we had in studio during the year".

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTp-KbApU1OP78TfDawIwSBQcTkOnCXrwTOSDFtQd8e_o4LmX50images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSBCMuNo7fYdodb9jTpsBdMIz3ToE7UnXunNTeR-xLiYj8xQOE5Egimages?q=tbn:ANd9GcTFl9vbRyB26PnM-fbWS7a9TEi4qQ-jbMbBdnx2LL1mqUmAgMxNIQimages?q=tbn:ANd9GcSUDz1xBuxu2rw-9mhBY5VO85obhWla9K-FZjjutS4WV4bL9gGV
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSWew-3LiCV5I0iiOkVwmcuNlqTfGd0a7mk-D70s4NIdCj45iUR1Aimages?q=tbn:ANd9GcSqNXGp-7BwvSSTOJn_KtEK2_P4jHvNdQwrkeMm2XqPvm6zABdchwimages?q=tbn:ANd9GcQj4H4r6cGWovAqiqoJrbA7NnbPKoU4A4WkvuJG_2rcxRw8F0wv
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTGo-b5aWbYys2TXxSN2Z_q4AWlMnMz7Se2AyJbeYtHXPS5lZSwJQimages?q=tbn:ANd9GcQusxrosZPSCaXUHBD6_fkYFYTCod5Qu4-yFkg309LzCa2jzmk1images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSrKT5HzdMEMspaW8V0KSryo6QWYP60H_oLUq8lxt4_26LygD5m

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭newcavanman

If she is such an expert on Consumer Rights, doesnt she realise that the right thing to do would be get lost and give the rest of us a break from her usual infantile advice. Telling us about things that a five year old would know. In fact if you really have to rely on the childish advice she usually gives , then you probably should still be in junior infants .

• Registered Users Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

If she is such an expert on Consumer Rights, doesnt she realise that the right thing to do would be get lost and give the rest of us a break from her usual infantile advice. Telling us about things that a five year old would know. In fact if you really have to rely on the childish advice she usually gives , then you probably should still be in junior infants .

What's 'infantile' to you might well be worthwhile advice to someone else - radio consumer advice is going to be lowest common-denominator stuff by the very nature of the medium. Tina knows the area of consumer rights pretty well, given her experience, so obviously there's been a decision to target advice at a particular audience (the one you consider 'infants').

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

alastair wrote: »
    What's 'infantile' to you might well be worthwhile advice to someone else - radio consumer advice is going to be lowest common-denominator stuff by the very nature of the medium. Tina knows the area of consumer rights pretty well, given her experience, so obviously there's been a decision to target advice at a particular audience (the one you consider 'infants').

A recent item (can't remember the subject) from Tina advised people to "shop around". Sorry, but if you didn't know that nugget of advice, yes, you are a bit infantile.

telekon wrote: »
    Plus, she hasn't a bulls notion of what she's talking about. Spoofer.

Any specifics to articulate this opinion, or are you a spoofer too?

A recent item (can't remember the subject) from Tina advised people to "shop around". Sorry, but if you didn't know that nugget of advice, yes, you are a bit infantile.

For health insurance iirc? How many people actually follow that advice? Worth re-stating in that context? I'd say so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

For health insurance iirc? How many people actually follow that advice? Worth re-stating in that context? I'd say so.

For god sake, if that needs to be restated, there is not much help a person can get from consumer advice.

This is not the first thread on boards you have vehemently defended Tina Leonard. What is your connection to her?

For god sake, if that needs to be restated, there is not much help a person can get from consumer advice.

This is not the first thread on boards you have vehemently defended Tina Leonard. What is your connection to her?

Heh. It's not the first time baseless claims of the woman not knowing her job have been wheeled out by the usual suspects.

The amount of churn on health insurance is minimal, so patently the advice to shop around for best value policies is worth stating. When did you last change your policy?

Definitely a connection. Never admits it though...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=69830385

Definitely a connection. Never admits it though...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=69830385

So - you were about to offer up some specifics...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

So - you were about to offer up some specifics...?

This is beginning to sound like the thread I linked, which was eventually shut down and ended in bans, including your good self.

I am not going to argue with someone who is emotionally connected to the subject matter. Plus, you didn't take too kindly to the reasons pointed out previously in the aforementioned thread and it was paramount to JonathanAnon hitting his head against a brick wall. So ultimately it is a fruitless exercise. Have fun stewing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

lol, the only time alastair pops up around here is when someone mentions the consumer queen. Maybe he has a thing for redheads bearing patronising platitudes.
    Good advice or not, a few things on Kenny have me reaching for the re-tune...herself, MLOD and Eoin Corry. In fact few of the regular contributors across RTÉ radio 1's daytime make for good listening. Sorry but that's my personal take on it.

This is beginning to sound like the thread I linked, which was eventually shut down and ended in bans, including your good self.

I am not going to argue with someone who is emotionally connected to the subject matter. Plus, you didn't take too kindly to the reasons pointed out previously in the aforementioned thread and it was paramount to JonathanAnon hitting his head against a brick wall. So ultimately it is a fruitless exercise. Have fun stewing...

Heh. A fruitless exercise if you don't actually have anything except spoof to level against the woman. That's true enough. Enjoy your little clique of armchair generals.

What's your connection to her, seriously? So emotional...:(

Wertz wrote: »
    lol, the only time alastair pops up around here is when someone mentions the consumer queen. Maybe he has a thing for redheads bearing patronising platitudes.
    Good advice or not, a few things on Kenny have me reaching for the re-tune...herself, MLOD and Eoin Corry. In fact few of the regular contributors across RTÉ radio 1's daytime make for good listening. Sorry but that's my personal take on it.

So - you don't like the programming, but you dedicate so much time and energy to slagging from the sidelines? Whatever floats your boat, but have you considered listening to something else, or just not picking at the scab?

What's your connection to her, seriously? So emotional...:(

You seem to mistake a distaste for groundless whinging for 'emotion'.

The fact you're not refuting the fact you have any connection to her says it all really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 CleanYerPlate

Not that I have anything against it but, is it just me, or does Pat Kenny talk an awful lot about Travellers on his programme?

The fact you're not refuting the fact you have any connection to her says it all really...

It does? How about A. it's none of your business, and B. it offers you an opportunity to avoid dealing with the claims you made. I could be the woman's Ma, and it wouldn't undermine the point I make.

So - you don't like the programming, but you dedicate so much time and energy to slagging from the sidelines? Whatever floats your boat, but have you considered listening to something else, or just not picking at the scab?

I like a morning filled with relevant current affairs and topics...for some of the time Kenny's show fulfils that, but for some of it, it dips substantially during the contributuons from the above mentioned people and I re-tune. Who's slagging? What sidelines? No amount of email to RTÉ changes squat, they carry on regardless
    Time and energy? You're the one going hell for leather in defense of what can only be described as an amateurish half assed consumer slot. Take a listen to You and Yours at midday sometime to see how consumer affairs should be done.
    Shop around, keep your receipt, use the web... as Ivy said, if you need this level of advice you shouldn't be let out in to the world with your own money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Jaysus lads.:mad:

th_NO_0c8ee67f4ea9bf81aff4538e7cf347f8.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Not that I have anything against it but, is it just me, or does Pat Kenny talk an awful lot about Travellers on his programme?

They were described as having an "entrepreneurial spirit" ?? Arent 60-70% of Travellers claiming social welfare? I would describe them more as "opportunistic" than the more euphemistic "entrepreneurial"

PS.. I'm not getting involved in the above debate, lest I bang my head off the wall again.. ;-)

I like a morning filled with relevant current affairs and topics...for some of the time Kenny's show fulfils that, but for some of it, it dips substantially during the contributuons from the above mentioned people and I re-tune. Who's slagging? What sidelines? No amount of email to RTÉ changes squat, they carry on regardless
    Time and energy? You're the one going hell for leather in defense of what can only be described as an amateurish half assed consumer slot. Take a listen to You and Yours at midday sometime to see how consumer affairs should be done.
    Shop around, keep your receipt, use the web... as Ivy said, if you need this level of advice you shouldn't be let out in to the world with your own money.

You see - there you go - 'amateurish half assed consumer slot' - It's clearly not an amateur affair if it offers worthwhile advice - which no-one seem to actually dispute in any concrete terms. Some of it seems obvious to you? Bully for you, but one size doesn't fit all - and if you measured the rest of the PK show by the same terms, you'd have precious little left - It's not a specialised show in any respect - that the Rozanne Stevens slots don't compete in terms of detail with, say Catherine Fulvio's dedicated programme isn't a problem of expertise or amatuerism - it's just a different format - and a format that brings limitations that you don't seem to grasp. You're the one slagging - that should be obvious - even with blinkers, and yes - you're doing so from the sidelines.

How am I slagging? I'm stating my own opinions...many here mirror them. It's not some sort of hate campaign, I just don't rate Ms Leonard or her advice. From the sidelines? Should I call the kenny show and ask for an on air debate with said contributor? Would you be happy then? This thread is about the Kenny show and it's content, which is what's being discussed... you seem to have a problem specifically with Ms Leonard being discussed for whatever reason. Until I break some sort of forum rule, I will continue in posting my views, although for the most part I just turn her off/over these days.

Many here? You realise that there's a small clique of you here that don't recognise that returning day after day to slag off RTE radio output either marks you as masochists, or very slow to make the obvious response (go elsewhere for your entertainment and information)?

Unless you're involved in broadcasting or consumer advice, it's fair to point out that your opinions (which consist of slagging off, and little else) are indeed coming from the sidelines. You're a punter - just like the rest of us.