Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pat Kenny Show Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭Conor84

I find her really annoying on the radio.

What I don't understand is why they use her so much. Her main job is as an academic in DCU - not exactly poorly paid and coming from the public purse. Then she has her Senator's salary again coming from the public purse. Then she does her reports for the Pat Kenny show for no doubt she gets paid, again from the public purse.

Surely there must be an unemployed journalist - what about those let go from the Sunday Tribune - who could cover the slot instead of allowing one person 3 incomes paid from the tax payer. Don't understand why one person needs 3 jobs and 3 incomes when so many people are out of work

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Conor84 wrote: »
    What I don't understand is why they use her so much. Her main job is as an academic in DCU - not exactly poorly paid and coming from the public purse. Then she has her Senator's salary again coming from the public purse. Then she does her reports for the Pat Kenny show for no doubt she gets paid, again from the public purse.

Surely there must be an unemployed journalist - what about those let go from the Sunday Tribune - who could cover the slot instead of allowing one person 3 incomes paid from the tax payer. Don't understand why one person needs 3 jobs and 3 incomes when so many people are out of work

Very good points Conor.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

loving Paddy O'Gormans piece on scroungers....

boiling-kettle-300x232.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

boiling-kettle-300x232.jpg

Just listening to a few pod casts of the show, scroungers is an under statement :rolleyes:.Shocking how much people have no shame or conscience about handouts.Genuinely struggling people I have no difficulty with, but most folk such as that girl, feel, shur why not fiddle the system:rolleyes:.They think they are in dire straits, while they are not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Paddy is a bit too soft on it for my liking, with his sympathetic cooing and his limp interrogations of his tracksuited or foreign accented subjects.

I can see his dilemma though-himself and the dog would be strung up on a lighting column outside the next dole office he visited if he told us the truth of the matter.

Unless that is, I'm being unfair to him, and he actually is sincere in his partiality. If so, he's not doing anything to engender socialist sympathies among the listenership, if the texts are anything to go by, he's merely making them more frustrated than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I've no problem with the first person looking for the help with the bereavement money, nor the man in negative equity.. But the others just had me sighing in disbelief... The State (borrowing from the ECB) to pay for a Nigerian woman's 300 euro dress.. They should be given access to a 2nd hand dress for the day and if they are not happy with that then fk off.. The State has made single motherhood in to a profession at this stage.. free house, free money, free medical card.. why would you bother getting a job?...

All our good young people been driven out of the country because of lack of work, and here you have these sc*mbags looting the State coffers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Paddy is a bit too soft on it for my liking, with his sympathetic cooing and his limp interrogations of his tracksuited or foreign accented subjects.

I can see his dilemma though-himself and the dog would be strung up on a lighting column outside the next dole office he visited if he told us the truth of the matter.

Unless that is, I'm being unfair to him, and he actually is sincere in his partiality. If so, he's not doing anything to engender socialist sympathies among the listenership, if the texts are anything to go by, he's merely making them more frustrated than anything else.

Paddy does the State some service, you may not like his style but he is successful at getting the truth

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

That critic is really up his own arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Very funny, the poetry of El Presidente is pretty low grade stuff but the reaction by yer man is far worse. There is always room for bad art.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Why do people get their knickers in twist about this stuff, put the book down with a resounding thump and walk away. Publishers don't publish if nobody is buying! He's just self promoting at MDH's expense. Cheap

MDH is ****e though! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭gothictwilight

michael d's poetry???? how is this relevat to anything. strange topic on the radio

Such bitterness.

I can see why Michael D left academia for the sedate life in politics.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 99 ✭✭Royal Dub

the country and the continent is on the edge of a cliff, and this chap is arsing on about poetry

here we go, greece and the euro crisis. I can see though why michael ds' poetry was given top billing over this.
    much more news worthy

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

ah this is just the usual crap from the media writt large with a political angle.

honestly when have you EVER heard a critic come out and say an irish film is shyte and dont waste your money going to see it?

every fecking time they put on the green jersey no matter how god awfull it is, and you can see how crap they are by the returns.

this critic might be up his own hole but he's right. micheal Ds poetry is beyond shyte, and were going to be subjected to it for the guts of a decade.

at least he's calling a spade a spade, look at the crawling apologists that came out of the woodwork on his show at this topic even being mooted by pat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

ah this is just the usual crap from the media writt large with a political angle.

honestly when have you EVER heard a critic come out and say an irish film is shyte and dont waste your money going to see it?

every fecking time they put on the green jersey no matter how god awfull it is, and you can see how crap they are by the returns.

this critic might be up his own hole but he's right. micheal Ds poetry is beyond shyte, and were going to be subjected to it for the guts of a decade.

at least he's calling a spade a spade, look at the crawling apologists that came out of the woodwork on his show at this topic even being mooted by pat.

The Army have just stormed yer man's house and beat him to death with 4 copies of Paul Durcan's 'Disappearing Up Your Own Arse' and 2 CD's of Pat Ingolsby 'I'm A Silly Old Man But I'm Irish'!

ah here we go.

scaremongering about the household charge.

gov must be getting worried that over 90% still havent bothered their arse registering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

ah here we go.

gov must be getting worried that over 90% still havent bothered their arse registering.

Well in fairness... I was waiting for the letter to come in the post as a formal "bill" / invoice / demand, with the usual ways to pay etc.
    Just like my motor tax, TV licence requests to.

But it seems they won’t even send a letter!

How are the people supposed to be formally advised of the charge??!

Am I right in saying that they have spoken about it in the media and that is now enough for people to go online and give the gov free money?
    No letter, no bill, no receipt, no formality, no paper trail??

mark my words, this household charge will be a fiasco.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,652 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Was this one talking about the cooking on the helium before she came on?

i think she's twelve or something !

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

On the PK Show......never!! :D

She was in some hurry, hadn't a clue what she was saying.

What happened to that Aussie (or South African) wan who regularly does the Friday cookery spot? Pat is hardly going to stick with todays contributor, Joe Duffy's octopus wouldn't be able to keep up with her cooking instructions.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

I think it was Christine, who took part in the Irish version of Masterchef. I thought she was fairly engaging on television, but she will need to slow down her speaking if she is to succeed on radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

ah here we go.

Easy to tell what side ould Pat is on.
    He must reckon that the broadcast charge is going to be lumped on to this what with his shilling of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

europa11 wrote: »
    What happened to that Aussie (or South African) wan who regularly does the Friday cookery spot?

Rozanne Stevens.

Dunno why she isn't on anymore. Hopefully she's busy doing well.

I liked her on the PK show. Always in good form, bright and bubbly.
    Nice food and cooking tips too.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Jaysus - MLO'D.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭touts

Yakuza wrote: »
    Jaysus - MLO'D.

That's Senator O'Donnell or M'Lady to you! She is giving some fortunate biker the trill of his life having her presence on his bike. I hear the trucker from a couple of weeks ago has submitted the cab of his truck for inclusion in collection of the National Archives so future generations can marvel at the seat that carried her illustrious bottom. We are blessed to live in her time :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

She's doing a ton (and my head in!)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Great piece there. Why use 10 words to describe something when 100 will do...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,035 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

who's in the side car Valerie Cox?

6808321579_7b4e3a15d5_o.jpg&sa=X&ei=9-k4T9zPDsbIhAe7zb3qAQ&ved=0CAwQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNEmZiqPpQcQJMW6rrywVA4PxZElwQ

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.