Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster v Cardiff; RDS; Saturday 11th Septemeber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

This coach seems to take people off right after they make a mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Good try from Cardiff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Tom Fiat

The ladyboys are well and truly back.

Well done Smidth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Game on now.

Now a kickable penalty for Cardiff.

So similar to last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Tom Fiat wrote: »

Well done Smidth
    banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Looks like leinster are developing an ugly habit of weakening in the second half.

Whats the problem? They're letting cardiff back into the game. Big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Tom Fiat wrote: »

Well done Smidth

Wow, great post. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Looks like leinster are developing an ugly habit of weakening in the second half.

Whats the problem? They're letting cardiff back into the game. Big time.

I think as we move further into the season and the team gels more/gets fitter and we get some experience in at 10 we'll see an improvement. Leinster were very good today until they conceded the tries.

Healy really pumped the legs there.

Healy has made some big carries.

Leinster 27 Cardiff 23, McFadden try converted by Nacewa

Ref has been disgraceful at the breakdown. No Cardiff tackler is rolling away and hands on the ground all night!

Great try. Healy was a rhino.

This ref is no good.

Brilliant work from Madigan and Heaslip there. Could be a decisive moment in the match

To be fair to cardiff, they're banging on the door something fierce.

sweet

What a try! Speed of him.

mmmmm.

Brilliant from Madigan!! Game over!

OT but what's the song Rte are using for the ML?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

What was the final score lads?

far from perfect but considering we had a child foisted into the outhalf role 10mins before kick off we did ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Maldjd23

Was fairly worried there for a while!!...Well played lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Cracking game for the neutral spectator.:D Isa Nacewa is such a joy to watch. Thought Leinster were going to let another game slip away from them but glad to see their dominance rewarded. I fear for Munster when we meet in a few weeks time if Leinster play with this level of intensity.

sioda wrote: »
    What was the final score lads?

34-23 to leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

So didn't get to read all thread...bonus point win? What happened Sexton? Stand out performers? How did Conway, Madigan and McFadden do? How was scrum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

So that was the first home game of the season...

In a break from tradition, I'm not, as of yet, blathered out of my little mind, though I'm currently on my towards such a state, waiting to head into town and paint the tiles blue. (See what I did there?)

For our first proper home game of the season, Leinster came out of the blocks in truly astonishing style.

Jennings' early try was followed up by a sniping run from Isa Nacewa, a first glimpse of what was to be an epic performance. Eleven minutes in, 14 points on the board, and Leinster were playing some very good rugby, and looking very comfortable. It's worth mentioning the strength of this Cardiff side - missing a number of key players, they still present a worthy foe, they're one of the strongest sides in Europe, but a sidel with a love of underachieving desperately.

The remains of the first half showed us letting them back into the game more and more, an exchange of penalties beginning to pull the Welshmen back into the game.

Inevitably, in true and inimitable Leinster style, the second half began with a collapse, and we allowed Cardiff two tries. It was miserable stuff, lacking direction, focus and anything approaching a game plan.

However, 23 - 20 down, Leinster woke up, and a spate of play displayed intensity, passion, flair and skill, pure Leinster, and McFadden's try was a just reward. Madigan's peachy little effort rounded it off to give us a bonus point win, and take away the Blues' own bonus point.

So how did the various elements of the side perform?

Starting with the front row, Van Der Merwe, Strauss and Ross started the game superbly. As a unit they scrummaged heroically, not to mention viciously, putting Cardiff in all sorts of trouble. Strauss as well was noticeable in the loose, making some great tackles, some good carries and generally getting around well. Meanwhile, Ross looked a much improved player on last season, while Van Der Merwe is looking a good capture. One note of concern would be a weaker performance once the Irish replacements came on as the game progressed.

The second row of O'Donoghue and Hines looked solid and powerful, while our new Argentine didn't have much to do by the time he came on, but did well enough.

The back row was very good, Heaslip, Jennings and O'Brien were very good, making a lot of ground, and competing well at the breakdown. Heaslip looked in very good form, and is clearly over the shenanigans that blighted his summer.

A noteable absence from the backs was Sexton who pulled up during the warm-up (though I was getting a pint at the time and didn't see it happen.) so Madigan had to come in at late notice.

The half back pairing of Boss and Madigan looked effective, Boss a vocal leader, who passed competently, and always offered an attacking threat, and showed willingess to try the unexpected. Madigan's try meanwhile, was just awesome. Great individual play, and deserved after a solid performance.

The centre pairing of O'Driscoll and McFadden was solid, if a little uninspiring, considering the calibre of the two. McFadden was the better player, and came into the game more towards the end, leading to a try, but for most of the game, the centre didn't offer too much, though providing a very strong defence. O'Driscoll made several superb tackles in particular.

The back three were very good. Horgan and Fitzgerald got through a lot of work, while Isa Nacewa was just magnificent. The Fijian is looking our best player by some distance at the moment, he was a phenomen today - everywhere in defence, with some superb tackling and cover play, while in attack he was everywhere, attacking from multiple positions, constantly carving up the Cardiff defence. He deserved his man of the match.

Overall, Leinster looked a very good side. They didn't perhaps, look as though they're entirely ready for the season yet, and this win had a lot to do with mental strength combined with individual talent rather than a cohesive team performance. The win is what matters though, and that was achieved. Most importantly of all, in Glasgow we were far and away the better side, but conspired to lose, tonight, we almost did the same thing, but actually fought through and took the win. Hopefully we'll quickly arrest the habit of letting teams back in, but either way, this was a good win, against a good side.

Nacewa should be superglued to the wing position, such a class act there.

Madigan was very good, considering he was thrown in just before kick off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Nacewa should be superglued to the wing position, such a class act there.

Madigan was very good, considering he was thrown in just before kick off.

He's a class act in almost every back position tbh. One of our best ever signings.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    So didn't get to read all thread...bonus point win? What happened Sexton? Stand out performers? How did Conway, Madigan and McFadden do? How was scrum?

Yep. BP win. Sexton was practicing his kicking before the game and pulled up with a groin problem. He walked off the pitch grand so hopefully it's just precautionary

Don't think Conway was in the squad. McFadden and Madigan played alright both got tries, Madigan's being a fantastic break.

Scrum was probably the best aspect of the match. Completely dominated Cardiff for the first half. Then they brought on Filise and while it helped Cardiff somewhat, Leinster were pretty comfortable all evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

anyone else notice the huge difference redden made when he came on, he seemed to just wake everybody up.

and he is so quick with the pass.

heaslip and bod had a surprisingly quiet game.

healy, bloody great at breaking tackles!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭TitoPuente

wonton wrote: »
    anyone else notice the huge difference redden made when he came on, he seemed to just wake everybody up.

Yeah, Reddan did speed things up a bit but I think it would be unfair to say Boss didn't have a good game. I was a little preturbed by the fact that he was taken off so readily (for giving away a pentalty?) when he's still being properly blooded.

Personally I see Boss as a great signing. Reddan came good at the end of last season but we really need someone to click at 9 for Leinster as soon as possible. I was hoping Boss would be the man to do so.

TitoPuente wrote: »
    Yeah, Reddan did speed things up a bit but I think it would be unfair to say Boss didn't have a good game. I was a little preturbed by the fact that he was taken off so readily (for giving away a pentalty?) when he's still being properly blooded.

Personally I see Boss as a great signing. Reddan came good at the end of last season but we really need someone to click at 9 for Leinster as soon as possible. I was hoping Boss would be the man to do so.

The substitution was probably down to an IRFU dictat on gametime for the internationals. The same for Hayes when he came on relatively early for Buckley.

I thought Boss was quite good and as the panel said showed opportunism in his break for Jenning's try. Reddan did bring impetus when he came on but tbf you'd always expect a fresh scrum half to do that.

Leinster's poor third quarter was down to Cardiff copping onto themselves and actually playing rugby. They are a very good side so a BP win is a huge result for ye.

Any thoughts on McFadden being dropped from goalkicking duties?

heaslip and bod had a surprisingly quiet game.

healy, bloody great at breaking tackles!

I thought Reddan started well but was poor in comparison to Boss. During one passage of play in the red zone he was caught with the ball and turned it over (while the game was still close). He's so indecisive. I can't see him starting ahead of a fit Boss this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭TitoPuente

Yeah, I was a bit surprised to see Nacewa being given the conversion duties. I can't say why McFadden wasn't kicking but Nacewa's boot is pretty solid in fairness. His last penalty against Glasgow last week was an eye opener! He's really turned into a real Talisman for Leinster. Just don't put him at 10 again :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

How did Madigan do?

Grrr, it's so frustraiting not being able to catch these games live over here.

Did Nacewa switch to 10, Fitz to 11 and Madigan to 15, or was it a straight swop with Sexton for the 10 jersey?

Would be really interested to hear how he did if he played 10 for the entire game, control, defence, game management etc.

That's a good Cardiff side and it seems like he equited himself very well. We need all these youngster this season, and I hope they continue to all step up.

On a side note, if Leinster didn't throw away the game last weekend (I know, I know, if my aunty had a b0llox she'd be my uncle...) then all 4 Irish sides would make up the top 4 of the Magners League table, which I would imagine would be a first. Still possible next week maybe :)

Wouldn't that be amazing though in a perfect world? The ML play-offs end up being a knock out interpro championship!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

ye it was a straight swap with sexton.

although it was a huge step up from last week, there was still an feeling of "wtf do we do now" half of the time, and can remember, isa,luke, drico, madigan and maybe more kicking out to touch just because it seemed they were lost.

and when the internationals came off the leadship quality dispeared like last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Madigan was ok , Boss passing too slow imo , Reddan should be no 1 - also i'd like to see Luke and BOD in the centre's with Kearney at full back.
    Front row and 2nd row did well , Ross will be pushing for the no. 3 Irish jersey , SOB still looks out of sorts , and who will be Irish open side ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I really didn't understand that. I still think McFadden is Leinster's best goalkicker and I don't understand why he wasn't taking the kicks while he was on the pitch. It didn't matter this time but it very well might some other time.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

good win in the end, made hard work of it though after a great start. Very impressed with how Madigan coped, great pace to finish his try after the line break. Maybe most impressive was how the team came together despite having to pull off some of the key senior men at the worst possible time. Another interesting quote from Schmidt after saying similar about having to take Heaslip off last week.
    "It wasn't ideal -- it wasn't what we planned but we knew at some stage we'd need to those guys off the bench," Schmidt said afterwards. "But I would have liked it if we had a little bit more security before they had to come on. But they really teamed up together well and we held them out."

All in all a good start at home.

(Although could have done without free cider all night, don't even like the stuff! some head on me this morning!:()

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 kar111

Wooohoo leinster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

The joys of supporting Leinster. After about 15 mins I was positive we'd win it well. After about 60 minutes I was positive we'd lose. Overall have to be happy with a BP, and the scrum was really excellent.

Also, how anyone thinks Boss was better than Reddan, wtf?

He seemed like he was in some sort of competition to provide the slowest ball of all time. Spent half his time looking around, then the other half pointing where he was going to pass the ball, before eventually moving it. It's not a surprise we had to get him off to score again, the tempo was raised immediately when Reddan came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

and when the internationals came off the leadship quality dispeared like last week

Not sure about that; despite a dodgy mid-period when they seemed to lose direction, the team went up a gear really well at the end to get the 2 decisive scores. Nothing like last week's rudderless display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

danthefan wrote: »

He seemed like he was in some sort of competition to provide the slowest ball of all time. Spent half his time looking around, then the other half pointing where he was going to pass the ball, before eventually moving it. It's not a surprise we had to get him off to score again, the tempo was raised immediately when Reddan came on.

Playing with such an inexperienced outhalf made him look much slower than he usually is. With Sexton outside him organising things for him we should get to see him at his best.

Reddan did change the game very well and sped up the play beautifully. Having the two of them as options is great as they are sufficiently different to each other that they offer something starting or coming off the bench.

CouchSmart wrote: »
    Playing with such an inexperienced outhalf made him look much slower than he usually is. With Sexton outside him organising things for him we should get to see him at his best.

Reddan did change the game very well and sped up the play beautifully. Having the two of them as options is great as they are sufficiently different to each other that they offer something starting or coming off the bench.

What I saw had nothing to do with Madigan being outside him, so I don't accept that at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

What I saw had nothing to do with Madigan being outside him, so I don't accept that at all.

Boss kicked more ball and used his forwards more than I think he would if Sexton was outside him. If he did give Madigan a hard ball to deal with and he fecked up it would have ruined his confidence. Sexton would have been demanding the ball at every chance and would have no problems being put under pressure from Cardiff's (offside) defence.

Yes he was very delayed at some rucks but you could put this on the other players because there were times no one seemed to want the ball.

What are you talking about? The slower the ball is the more likely Madigan would be lined up by defenders, the whole point of quick ball is that the defence can't reset and the attacking side has more space. You really seem to be going out of your way to excuse Boss, but he was poor. Reddan had no problem getting the ball away quickly, with Madigan still on the field.

You want to talk about difficult ball, have a look at the first pass to Madigan here. Obviously he does very well to set up the try after that but his basic skills as a SH are lacking.

I think you're mad!

I think Boss is a far superior player, with a much cooler head on his shoulders, and he showed that yesterday. Reddan's poor decision making at scrum half is something that really annoyed me last season. A lot of try-scoring opportunities went to waste due to him taking the wrong option or being indecisive. Of course the tempo increased when he came on, he was fresh! Even if he was coming on for a smooth operator like Stringer he'd pick up the tempo!

Saying that, I wasn't paying too much attention to it. It's something I'll be watching a lot closer next week.