Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards.ie favourite movie list - voting thread

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Goldstein

OutlawPete wrote: »
    And your good self, sure it was a bit of craic, took our mind of the recession for a bit :)

See ya's all at Scarface tomorrow night .. o/
    Mackman wrote: »
    Cool, cheers guys for doin that. That top ten is pretty awesome :)

I think i might try and work my way though all those now :)

Exactly, was a good bit of fun.
    Also, ignoring the exact positions etc, which are a bit arbitrary, the real use of this is via the longer results list and nominations which make for a great wish list for movies we all haven't heard of before or seen yet. There's a lot of suggestion gold there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

fantastic work lads. Noting the movies in the two lists (top 50; all votes) that i haven't seen and adding them to the will-watch list ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Well done Goldstein and everyone who organised. There's definately a few being added to my watch list.

Can't believe Lost in Translation charted so high. Thought it was ok when I saw it but for it to make number 15 is a shock. Might give it another chance and see what I think.
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    See ya's all at Scarface tomorrow night .. o/

Are they showing it in a cinema?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭bernardo mac

Thanks Folks....Curious thing,public taste

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Thanks for putting this together!

Well, can't say I'm particularly surprised by the results (96% English language though :eek:) but I never am by these lists! Still, always interesting to see the zeitgeist. Just a shame that The Shawshank Redemption always seems to be involved :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭thenakedanddead

Goldstein wrote: »
    Thanks to everyone who voted & nominated, all the mods for helping out & to:

23-08-2010, 18:16

Well, that answers that then :D

And to your good self as-well... :D

Interesting results. Must take note to have a movie night of sorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

Thanks for putting this together!

Well, can't say I'm particularly surprised by the results (96% English language though :eek:) but I never am by these lists! Still, always interesting to see the zeitgeist. Just a shame that The Shawshank Redemption always seems to be involved :p
    It's a good movie that appeals to a broad demographic. That boosts its position on polls. People get far too upset by this.

Kane didn't even make the top 100. Well, we're certainly not a carbon copy of AFI, are we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

To all Apocalypse Now fans here's something to look forward to. I have pre ordered and it is region free.

http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Apocalypse-Now-Blu-ray/14093/#Review

Great thread by the way and thanks for the effort.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

mikhail wrote: »
    It's a good movie that appeals to a broad demographic. That boosts its position on polls. People get far too upset by this.

Oh I'm not upset in the slightest, I don't personally think it is quite as good as some would suggest (although it is very good) but always fascinated by its high placement in such polls.

Some day in the future it would be interesting to run a 'best' movie list as opposed to 'favourite' - I'd be curious to see if the results differed at all. As is, an interesting list, even if it skewed heavily towards contemporary American cinema :)

Oh I'm not upset in the slightest, I don't personally think it is quite as good as some would suggest (although it is very good) but always fascinated by its high placement in such polls.
    I believe you, but I have seen critics foaming at the mouth about it, and plenty more write unusually detailed reviews on why it's not all it's cracked up to be.
    Some day in the future it would be interesting to run a 'best' movie list as opposed to 'favourite' - I'd be curious to see if the results differed at all.
    I'd imagine the cinephiles here would have wildly different 'best' lists. The more casual cinema-goers less so.
    As is, an interesting list, even if it skewed heavily towards contemporary American cinema :)
    It's not so bad - only two films from the past decade in the top 15 (and ranked 14th and 15th at that). Granted, still extremely American, but at least Harry Potter films didn't dominate the top ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Goldstein wrote: »
    Top 50

ytmam.jpg

Good results - I am glad to see Goodfellas at #1. Godfather 1 and 2 should both be much higher though imo, and of course Raging Bull.

Cheers for doing this - very interesting. What about doing another vote for our fave Actors and Directors? They are never done near as much as film polls so would be very interesting to see the results.:)

SB-08 wrote: »
    Good results - I am glad to see Goodfellas at #1. Godfather 1 and 2 should both be much higher though imo, and of course Raging Bull.

Cheers for doing this - very interesting. What about doing another vote for our fave Actors and Directors? They are never done near as much as film polls so would be very interesting to see the results.:)

Worth considering, I suppose. Anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 jassmine12

I like to watch Horror Movies and my favorite horror movies are

Mirrors
    The Last Exorcism
    Splice

Worth considering, I suppose. Anyone?
    I don't know. I think people are a bit slower to actually rank actors. I have ones I like, ones I don't, and ones on which I have no opinion, but I don't know that I have a favourite. Am I typical in this regard, or are there lots of you who can list your top ten actors at the drop of a hat?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I've seen all but 5 of the top 50, which is surprising as I don't watch that many films. I might try and round out the list with 2001, the seventh seal, once upon a time in the west, Oldboy and 12 Angry Men. I think I have at least three of them in the house somewhere.

...I might try and round out the list with 2001, the seventh seal, once upon a time in the west, Oldboy and 12 Angry Men...
    Jesus, you're in for a treat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

12 Angry Men is fantastic. Puts most modern 'dialogue heavy' films to shame.

Oldboy... I didn't particularly enjoy. It had some very cool scenes but some very f*cking weird ones as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Mindkiller wrote: »
    12 Angry Men is fantastic. Puts most modern 'dialogue heavy' films to shame.

Oldboy... I didn't particularly enjoy. It had some very cool scenes but some very f*cking weird ones as well.

You might as well have a look at all the films nominated in the first post in this thread not just the top 50. Some classics outside the top 50 - happy viewing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭DonOcelot

Not a bad list, i love the top 10 but definitely wouldn't have them in that order, or probably even in the top 10.
    Fargo 41 and 12 Angry Men at 39 while Matrix at 9!!!
    Wheres Hitchcock?? American Pyscho!!
    Pity the lack of foreign films too, they really put most Hollywood films to shame.

I suppose at least Big Lebowski is in there, one of my favorites of all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭fikay

First off, thanks for compiling this list. There were about 50 films that I haven’t watched yet and hope to in the future.
    There were another 30 to 40 that I’m just not that much a fan of.
    What followed from that was an hour long process of elimination that served as a welcome distraction from my real life. It broke my heart to cross some of those flicks off my final list and I fully appreciate how fcuking sad that is.
    Anyways, here goes, from first favourite to twentieth favourite:
    1 The Godfather: Part II (1974)
    2 Big Fish (2003)
    3 American Beauty (1999)
    4 Cool Hand Luke (1967)
    5 The Big Lebowski (1998)
    6 Apocalypse Now (1979)
    7 Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969)
    8 The Lives of Others (2006)
    9 Raging Bull (1980)
    10 Donnie Darko (2001)
    11 Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)
    12 Fargo (1996)
    13 Fight Club (1999)
    14 Lost in Translation (2003)
    15 Memento (2000)
    16 Trainspotting (1996)
    17 Midnight Cowboy (1969)
    18 No Country for Old Men (2007)
    19 Pan's Labyrinth (2006)
    20 Taxi Driver (1976)

EDIT: only missed the deadline by a month. Well done spa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭edolan

Of the top 50 i've seen 34 of them, but how on earth did lost in translation get to be so high up on that list, absolutely despise that film, pure muck. Apart from that great films. But dissapointed the likes of Braveheart and Gangs of New York didn't make it.

I think it's time to unstick this bad boy. Ye served us well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭wampyrus77

1. The Transformers: The Movie (1986)

2. The Lion King (1994)

3. Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi

The Matrix

5 I am legend