Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Periods are awful

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

^Whats that mean???

After Hours is hardly the place to discuss female medical issues is it? Might get a more considerate/sympathetic reception in the Ladies Lounge perhaps?
    WTF? I thought you were taking the piss originally.

It's hardly a medical issue, it's a perfectly natural occurrence! No big deal.

I sometimes wonder about the age of people who think it's "manky" :confused:

Is this like that south park episode ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

No, but talking to unclean women is rather manky :pac:

You're the unclean ones, unable to purge yourself of your toxins :cool:

^Whats that mean???

After Hours is hardly the place to discuss female medical issues is it? Might get a more considerate/sympathetic reception in the Ladies Lounge perhaps?

Flutt = Flutterinbantham's profanisaurific postages.

And no, why should all threads to do with women be shunted off to the LL? Women use AH too. Surely by that logic all male oriented threads should get sent off to the Gentlemens Club too?

It also gives people the chance to post the same old jokes each time. Why deny them that opportunity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Oh no, im being circled by a mob of angry premenstrual women.

Im off to the pub......

/slams door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Im off to the pub......

/slams door.

Be careful, alcohol consumption can lead to impotence - then periods will be the least of your worries!.

Im off to the pub......

/slams door.

Good. Bring me back some nice things on your way back or I'll blob all over your stuff :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Shouldn't use the word period people. It's called being on the blob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Pawpad666 wrote: »
    Cheer up and upgrade to an Ipad.

Pfft, that's stoneage. There's far more high tech options available these days.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lsjU0K8QPhs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Whats the difference between regular blood and period blood?
    You cant' pick regular blood up with a fork!

Thanks for the mental picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I was going to offer the same advice, but I thought the ladies would take the head off a man offering advice on period pain.

I'd be more inclined to think that a person giving such good advice was a man
    with maturity and understand who cares about the women in his life.
    When my daughter started her's first thing I done was buy her her own hotwater bottle - she loved me for it :p

Good call.
    The wheat bags with lavender in them can be very helpful as well,
    not much fun trying to fill a hot water bottle mid cramp and end up scalding your hand.
    Thanks for the mental picture.

Your welcome :)

Be careful, alcohol consumption can lead to impotence.

You shouldn't drink so much then.
    WindSock wrote: »
    Good. Bring me back some nice things on your way back or I'll blob all over your stuff :P

:mad::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Ms. Captain M

Mirena coil = no periods & no babies :)

I have to say I have noticed my pains getting worse as I am getting older. It's like my body is getting really pissed at this stage. 'Give me a baby, bitch'
    Fuck you, uterus :mad:

stuck up cunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I posted here in AH for the craic and to get funny replies for cheering up. AH never fails. Thanks. The nurofen, chocolate and tea helped great. Can just about move about now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

Hot water bottle and nurofen+ op...
    Never understand mens attitutude to them myself - every woman in the world gets them and you all have mothers, don't u?

Ah yes, found it. Richard Jeni (RIP) explains it best :pac:

http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=3498487

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Fittle wrote: »
    Never understand SOME mens attitutude to them myself - every woman in the world gets them and you all have mothers, don't u?

Fixed that one for ya ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

WindSock wrote: »
    I have to say I have noticed my pains getting worse as I am getting older. It's like my body is getting really pissed at this stage. 'Give me a baby, bitch'
    Fuck you, uterus :mad:

stuck up cunt.

Ive noticed this too.

I dont go out very often, but went out last night for a couple. Ive noticed any time I go out and I have my period, not only do i get chatted up by some guy but they are begging for sex and are fierce randy. It doesnt happen any other time of the month if I was to go out. Im like a bitch in heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

Fixed that one for ya ;)

As a (slight) aside, did you all know that us ladeeeeez are born with x number of eggs and we lose one every month....? Maybe u all knew that, but I only found out last week:rolleyes:

So mine have gotten easier as I've gotten older...my eggs are the same age as me, so they're very old and must be on zimmerframes at this stage....:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Ive noticed this too.

I dont go out very often, but went out last night for a couple. Ive noticed any time I go out and I have my period, not only do i get chatted up by some guy but they are begging for sex and are fierce randy. It doesnt happen any other time of the month if I was to go out. Im like a bitch in heat.

Thats nature for ya! We subconciously notice these things!

Yeah but the other half of the population don't want to know about such facts while eating their coco pops on a Sunday morning.:mad:

For a sec there, with the red writing, the reference to a fork a few posts ago, and the reference to eating, I thought you wrote you were EATING excreted peroid blood from a bowl on this fine Sunday morning!!!!!

Perhaps on top of your coco pops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

This thread is getting real close to running dry.

Not exactly, there are a certain amount of follicles in the ovaries and women are born with a fixed amount and then due to hormones they develop (usually one at a time but you can have two in the one cycle) into ova (eggs) and if they are not fertilised they pass from the body.

Women who are on hormonal contraception (pill,patch, ring, implant) are in a false state chemical pregnancy so the follicles usually don't develop at all.

What is freaky is girls as young as 9/10 are getting thier first period now, heavens help them being so young and
    some young lads telling them the same stupid comments like some in this thread.
    That they are manky, gross, unclean ect.

This fecking county and it's lack of sex ed. They still split the boys and girls in 90% of primary school to show the separate boys and girls tapes ffs. No wonder so many men are ill informed and intolerant of periods.
    They don't understand them so they are just an inconvenience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

This thread is so gross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

ilovesleep wrote: »
    They have zapped all my energy and I am lying crippled on the couch with cramps. Oh my god

You think that's bad, try losing a game of FIFA

What is freaky is girls as young as 9/10 are getting thier first period now, heavens help them being so young and
    some young lads telling them the same stupid comments like some in this thread.
    That they are manky, gross, unclean ect.

This fecking county and it's lack of sex ed. They still split the boys and girls in 90% of primary school to show the separate boys and girls tapes ffs. No wonder so many men are ill informed and intolerant of periods.
    They don't understand them so they are just an inconvenience.

Indeed, some of the attitudes are appalling.

For a sec there, with the red writing, the reference to a fork a few posts ago, and the reference to eating, I thought you wrote you were EATING excreted peroid blood from a bowl on this fine Sunday morning!!!!!

Perhaps on top of your coco pops?

Aw bless.:o

Hug?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

bluewolf wrote: »
    I sometimes wonder about the age of people who think it's "manky" :confused:

Is this like that south park episode ??

Its not manky, just put a towel on the bed.

Sex during your period is wonderful, as you tend to be more sensitive and it's good for relieving muscle cramp or it you don't have a willing partner, put some new batteries in the vibrator, the happy endorphins makes you feel a lot better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Sex during your period is wonderful, as you tend to be more sensitive and it's good for relieving muscle cramp or it you don't have a willing partner, put some new batteries in the vibrator, the happy endorphins makes you feel a lot better.
    I don't know what man wouldn't be willing. I always pretend I've murdered someone with my penis before I jump in the shower with the gf. :pac:

Nevore wrote: »
    I don't know what man wouldn't be willing.

*puts hand up*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

That "Sunday Bloody Sunday" has me in stitches! :pac:
    Periods are awful and I hate when its 30 degrees out and you have major cramps. So glad its nearly Autumn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Women are gross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Nods.

Yep. This thread really puts things into perspective.

Next time I read about a major natural disaster, I'll just say to myself, but think about ilovesleep and her period pains.

Next time I see a homeless kid on the street, I'll just say to myself, but think about ilovesleep and her period pains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Trapped wind can be pretty awfull to :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

I am insanely horny on my period. Sex is all I think about and I feel extra girly and vulnerable.

I wonder why then do most men naturally have an aversion to having sex on your period....doesn't really make sense evolution wise...

I've been really horny in the past, so crazed with horniness that I would have the strength to throw a 6 ft man against a wall and knock him to the ground and then straddle him ....with an extreme 'come and get me' look in my eye, but then just get 'ewww blood' from the ex, and him rushing to the bathrm to clean up :(

Damn contrary mother nature!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

I've been really horny in the past, so crazed with horniness that I would have the strength to throw a 6 ft man against a wall and knock him to the ground and then straddle him ....with an extreme 'come and get me' look in my eye, but then just get 'ewww blood' from the ex, and him rushing to the bathrm to clean up :(

Damn contrary mother nature!!

I was hard up until the mention of blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

I find it hilarious that so many people are disgusted by this topic.
    As I see it any man who's going to be in a long term relationship with a woman should have to get used to it...
    Are there married women who still can't mention being on her period to her husband?

Some men are so misinformed and really have no idea how they work, they don't even known that the blood is actually the lining if the womb breaking down...
    anywho... Any boyfriend I've had I've kinda lectured them about it to the point where there immune to it and really don't care.

The pill does help it a bit, I got it for cramps and found the whole thing lighter, shorter and less painful. Unfortunatly the side affects suck, especially for the first month where I felt horrible

Noodleworm wrote: »
    Some men are so misinformed and really have no idea how they work, they don't even known that the blood is actually the lining if the womb breaking down...
    anywho... Any boyfriend I've had I've kinda lectured them about it to the point where there immune to it and really don't care.

Men don't really care anyway.

Dean820 wrote: »
    I was hard up until the mention of blood.

Haha. f*ckin periods!! Make us extrememly horny and then make men not want us...grrr

This is why premenstrual women/ just women in general are so angry!! Horn rage! :D

Exactly, it's like how much we care about the prostate gland.

*puts hand up*

Why?

This thread has taken a turn for the better.:)

Keep going.

They care more when she hasn't got it :pac:

This thread has taken a turn for the better.:)

Keep going.

Contribute. Would you have sex with a woman on her period?

Why?
    Would you want to have sex with a man who was secreting blood from his penis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Exactly, it's like how much we care about the prostate gland.

wait... what do you be doing to men's prostate glands? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

tooshe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭422nd

Tasty. :)

Makes me smile at my bowl of tomato soup right now.

Hi Mods if we're getting too graphic for this forum please let me know.

Yes, if he was wearing a condom, it's not like you're going to feel it is it? It wouldn't be much different from sex in general, if he was wearing a condom.