Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

being a tourist in dublin, from the dubliners point of view

• 13-09-2010 2:07am
    Registered Users Posts: 30

(moved from after hours section because of winger)

rite so ive decided over the next while im going to do at least one tourist thing a week, having been born and bred in Dublin and having travelled allot, ive come to the conclusion that ive seen more sites in other Europeans cities than my own, so im looking for a list of things to do and see, the usual tourist thing and the not so usual. Tomorrow im heading into dublinia to get the ball rolling biggrin.gif

what people have come up with so far:

The Jameson distillery,
    The Guinness' Brewery and Hopstore,
    The phoenix park,
    Christchurch,
    Trinity College and the book of kells.
    Kilmainham Jail.
    One of those literary tours if they're still on,
    Dublin Castle.
    Croke Park Museum.
    malahide castle and the fry railway museum
    patriot graves in glasinevin
    Chester Beatty Library
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,319 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Jameson Distillery,
    Guinness' Brewery and Hopstore,
    Phoenix Park,
    Christchurch,
    Trinity College and the Book of Kells,
    Kilmainham Jail,
    One of those Literary Tours (if they're still on),
    Dublin Castle,
    Croke Park Museum,
    Malahide Castle and the Fry Railway Museum,
    Republican Plot in Glasnevin Cemetery (there are two, smaller one is across the road at extreme left),
    Chester Beatty Library (in Dublin Castle grounds),
    National Botanic Gardens,
    Iveagh Gardens,
    Donabate House,
    National Archives,

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭bdr529

some spots in the city...
    st Michan's church
    The Casino ( in Marino no less)
    Glasnevin cemetery
    St Doolaigh's church ( on the way to Malahide castle)

a bit further out....
    Newbridge house & farm -on the way to donabte
    Transport museum & deer park hotel grounds in Howth
    Hellfire club
    Powerscourt house and gardens/ waterfall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

Dublin Castle, and while you are there, check out the Revenue and Customs Museum. I'm not kidding! I was there a few weeks ago, well worth a visit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

Gotta give a +1 to Kilmainham Jail.
    Been twice and enjoyed it both time. Strange feeling standing beside the spot where the 1916 rebels were executed. It just became so easy to picture them right in that little courtyard, facing a firing squad

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭bdr529

viking splash tour , and there's some other Haunted tour going around too.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

there was a musicians of dublin tour at one point - dunno if thats still going or not.

- walking tours (theres one or two from around dublin castle)
    - windmill lane (where U2 recorded some stuff - interesting to read some of the grafitti)
    - see the spire (as a tourist)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

The new Aviva stadium doing tours on non-match days?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,557 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

esel wrote: »
    Phoenix Park,
    The OPW run free guided tours of the Aras on Saturdays. Little known about and well worth going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Can't believe people mention Kilmainham and not the Gardens of the museum(s) nearby, not to mention the actual museums themselves, well worth a visit!

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭penana

Here are just a few more, with links for more info before you visit:

Dublin City/Hugh Lane Gallery, Granby Row http://www.hughlane.ie/map.php

James Joyce Centre, 35 North Great Georges St http://www.jamesjoyce.ie/

The James Joyce Tower, Dun Laoghaire http://www.dun-laoghaire.com/dir/jjtower.html

Have a grand time!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,041 ✭✭✭Patser

Jay D wrote: »
    Can't believe people mention Kilmainham and not the Gardens of the museum(s) nearby, not to mention the actual museums themselves, well worth a visit!

Not sure if these were the Gardens you were talking about, but The National War Memorial Gardens (hidden down from the Con Colbert Road) - our WW1 Memorial Gardens are nice if up by Kilmainham.

Also St Pat's Cathedral hasn't been mentioned
    And Shelbourne Park Greyhounds for some craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

Apologies if there are any places repeated here as I didn't scan all the replies: Here are some of the places I have been.
    I usually get to visit somewhere every week or two!
    No 29 a lovely Georgian house in town.
    http://www.esb.ie/main/about-esb/numbertwentynine/default.htm
    St Patrick's Cathedral
    Marshes' library
    The Garda Museum
    National Art museum.
    War memorial gardens, Kilmaimham
    Joyce's Tower in Sandycove
    the Irish jewish Museum.
    http://www.jewishireland.org/museum.html
    the Dublin writer's Museum - a great museum.
    The National photographic archive in Temple Bar. They always have great photo exhibitions on . At the moment it's Big Houses of Ireland
    Hugh lane Gallery - worth it to see Francis Bacon's crazy studio on display
    Glasnevin Museum
    The windmills at Skerries
    Collin's barracks is a fab museum - Greatt Easter rising exhibition and Military section!
    Loads and loads to see in dublin!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Government buildings
    National Gallery
    National Museum of Ireland
    Natural History Museum
    Transport museum in Howth

• Registered Users Posts: 22,319 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Anyone want to pull all those into a single list? I tried to start this rolling in post #2, but people didn't pick up on it....

Not your ornery onager