Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bodog.com World Grand Prix at the City West

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭tonmachine

Devastator wrote: »
    show starts at 7:30, so final will probably start about 7:50-8

I take it their not showing the final of the Tom Kirby Memorial then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,287 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Dreadful of Taylor to not come on for an interview.

So many people hes just beaten have had to sit beside him listening to his condescending tripe over the years. He really let himself down last night imo.

So happy to see Jackpot come of age at last, hopefully he can follow it through tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭The Bison

tonmachine wrote: »
    I take it their not showing the final of the Tom Kirby Memorial then

Nope that will be starting at 6.15!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Dave Clark is some plonker claiming it's a "Sorry night for darts" because their golden boy looses then throws all his toys out of the pram. Sky would want to shake up their off stage set up, and who made Rod Harrington the Guru of darts world.Right now, Sky's coverage seems to be dominated by Rod Harrington. Now I'm not against him being the "Andy Gray of Darts" however even Andy Gray is helped by other pundits, so that we don't have to listen to the same opinion over and over again. I do agree with certain aspects of what Rod says, but what he says isn't the law!. And its the same crap 19 weeks running when the league is on.

Commentary. Well eight different guys have been used at times this week. I'm baffled by this. Are eight different commentators really required? Why not stick with 4 or 5 throughout a longer night. You watch boxing, you don't see so many commentators, basically a couple will cover all of the action. Cricket could be called similar, but still you don't have so many commentators, and the commentators do perform other roles throughout the day on camera.

Sky do it well with their showbiz type event but they fail miserably with their interviews and Phil Taylor worship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

EKRIUQ wrote: »
    Dave Clark is some plonker claiming it's a "Sorry night for darts" because their golden boy looses then throws all his toys out of the pram.

Indeed, he's there to present the show, not give his opinion on the state of darts. I thought it was a great night for darts if you set aside the booing. How often do you get a Major final in the PDC with two young, talented players who both have an equal chance of winning. Phil's a great player, but when he's dominating so comprehensively, the sport is stale, there's no doubt about that. The final tonight is going to be a breath of fresh air for the sport, and I can't believe those in Sky/PDC can't see that. Sky see Phil as their main draw for punters, but personally speaking, and having seen him in person a few times, I'd much rather watch Anderson/Wade/Lewis, amongst others. As good as he is, he's slow and not exactly what you'd call a flair player. I've seen entire matches of his come and go with complete indifference from most of the crowd. He's just not particularly exciting to watch. So if Sky and the PDC think TV ratings and attendance are going to be down tonight just because Phil isn't there, I think they'll be very much mistaken.

As for the amount of commentators, eight does seem a bit much. On the other hand, more commentators means less Sid, and that's a blessing if ever there was one.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Dave Clarke hasn't got a clue about darts, he is another that thinks everything starts and ends with Taylor. I for one am delighted that Taylor has been beaten and as for ratings, more often than not I turn off when Taylor is hammering an opponent.

I have never been the biggest fan of Lewis due to his horrible attitude in the past but I will be up for him tonight after that brilliant performance and classy interview and the end of it.

Come on The Jackpot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Any word on the Tom Kirby

Last I heard it was 2-2

Any word on the Tom Kirby

Last I heard it was 2-2

Mickey Mansell 6-4 Stephen Byrne, heard it was a top notch game!

Hopefully we'll get highlights at the start of the show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Indeed, he's there to present the show, not give his opinion on the state of darts. I thought it was a great night for darts if you set aside the booing. How often do you get a Major final in the PDC with two young, talented players who both have an equal chance of winning. Phil's a great player, but when he's dominating so comprehensively, the sport is stale, there's no doubt about that. The final tonight is going to be a breath of fresh air for the sport, and I can't believe those in Sky/PDC can't see that. Sky see Phil as their main draw for punters, but personally speaking, and having seen him in person a few times, I'd much rather watch Anderson/Wade/Lewis, amongst others. As good as he is, he's slow and not exactly what you'd call a flair player. I've seen entire matches of his come and go with complete indifference from most of the crowd. He's just not particularly exciting to watch. So if Sky and the PDC think TV ratings and attendance are going to be down tonight just because Phil isn't there, I think they'll be very much mistaken.

What other players out there do you think have the capabilities of throwing a 9 darter in every match or throw 2 in a final?

I'd say thats exciting. What do you class as a flair player?

Phil is their studio guest tonight? Wonderful, we'll be treated to 15 minutes of excuses and digs at Lewis before the final then.

What other players out there do you think have the capabilities of throwing a 9 darter in every match or throw 2 in a final?

It's not as if he hits a 9 darter in every match. As I said, he's a great player. But he has a slow style, can be boring enough imo when he's not throwing his very best. Maybe it's just me, but the likes of Lewis and Anderson are far more exciting to watch.

Phil's class and flair is not in doubt, It just becomes boring watching him win everything at a canter, The Taylor Anderson match was brilliant, not because Phil won, but because he was pushed all the way. The Lewis match the same because Phil didn't just walk away with it as usual.

The game he hit two 9 darters Wade was in top form and just came up against phil in top form, Phil only hits these perfect games when someone pushes him. Only when players can push phil can we possibly enjoy watching him. It's otherwise like Watching the clock go from 8pm to 9pm, you know at 8pm that in an hour it's going to be 9pm, so why watch the clock

Phil is their studio guest tonight? Wonderful, we'll be treated to 15 minutes of excuses and digs at Lewis before the final then.

Go ahead there mystic meg, the show hadn't even started and your complaining about what Taylor will say

Phil's class and flair is not in doubt, It just becomes boring watching him win everything at a canter, The Taylor Anderson match was brilliant, not because Phil won, but because he was pushed all the way. The Lewis match the same because Phil didn't just walk away with it as usual.

The game he hit two 9 darters Wade was in top form and just came up against phil in top form, Phil only hits these perfect games when someone pushes him. Only when players can push phil can we possibly enjoy watching him. It's otherwise like Watching the clock go from 8pm to 9pm, you know at 8pm that in an hour it's going to be 9pm, so why watch the clock

So why are so many people against Taylor? Surely we should be complaining about the other players not being good enough to push him(consistantly) that makes it boring rather than blaming him for being the best.

We have been saying that for long times, and here we are

Anderson, Lewis, Wade all making a step up. It's about time, Lets revel in it

We have been saying that for long times, and here we are

Anderson, Lewis, Wade all making a step up. It's about time, Lets revel in it

well its one tournament, lets hope more and more step up aswell but don't think we should get too carried away.

Go ahead there mystic meg, the show hadn't even started and your complaining about what Taylor will say

Well in fairness to him he didn't say a whole lot about it apart from the crowd. Surprising, he's usually a bit more vocal when something's upset him. But fair play to him for not talking away from Lewis and Wade's night.

What is it about Wade people don't like, exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Devastator are you Sid Waddell in disguise ?:cool:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,353 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

First dart and they are booing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Let's hope for a good final,it's rare in a PDC final to have no Phil Taylor playing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Eejits in the crowd again.:mad:

Gowan Adrian!
    Could have met him a few weeks ago, but he was gone before I found out he was here.:(:pac:

Well in fairness to him he didn't say a whole lot about it apart from the crowd. Surprising, he's usually a bit more vocal when something's upset him. But fair play to him for not talking away from Lewis and Wade's night.

What is it about Wade people don't like, exactly?

Dunno :confused: He should have went out with Dublin colours on his flights instead of the union jack to maybe shut a few of the morons up.
    robbie1977 wrote: »
    Devastator are you Sid Waddell in disguise ?:cool:

UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUNNNDDDDAAAAAAAAAAAASTTTTAKKKKKKKKKKKKKKAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

nope, whats makes you say that :p

Just think some unfair comments made about Taylor in this thread.

I just want to see a great game, no matter who is playing. Yes I'll agree when Taylor is walking over opponents it does get bit boring, but I don't see that as his fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Good steady start by Wade,Lewis out of sorts in that 1st set,let's hope Lewis settles down and produces last night's form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,287 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Wade is so sick good on double top.

'He's got a brilliant back end and a camshaft to die for'.

Is Sid gone senile or what's the story?

2-2

very entertaining so far

Crowd seemed to have wised up and aint booing which is great news

Lewis is very subdued. What's going on!

maybe trying to concentrate, its a huge game for him

Wade 4-2 now. Another night, another aggro confrontation involving Ade :rolleyes:;) Don't know what went on or who was accusing who of what. Heard John Glynn say something about bouncing the oche? :confused: or maybe the beer is kicking in :D

Lewis getting going now!

WELL DONE JAMES WADE!

moves him above Barney in order of merit if I heard correctly few nights ago

Very professional display from Wade. Can't argue with him winning it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

why do Darts players always come across as dickheads???? seriously

Jayob10 wrote: »

Are you for real?????????

The Bison wrote: »
    Are you for real?????????

hell yeah im serious

are any of them gracious at all??

why do people who never post on here, maybe watch a bit of 1 game and think they can post what they like come across as dickheads??? seriously

watch alot of Darts both BDO and PDC. Never post on here.

Do sky encourage the needle or what? In order to build up feuds?

That interview with Wade made him look a pure flute.

watch alot of Darts both BDO and PDC. Never post on here.

Do sky encourage the needle or what? In order to build up feuds?

That interview with Wade made him look a pure flute.

Thats just Dave"1 eye"Clark....anyone that watches alot of darts should be well used to him/it by now

and do the players not like Clark or what?

Even Lewis' interview last night was a bit strange.

Like they are always looking for feuding going on.

Anytime I watch its rare to see a gracious loser, or winner for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭dexter647

Great tournament but ordinary final. Like most of ye disgusted and embarrassed by the crowd but then again what would you expect with the venue being in close proximity to clondalkin and tallaght.. Was talking to terry jenkins a few months ago at an exhibition and i asked him about the prem league coming to ireland. He said prob not as the pdc thought the crowd caused to may problems... A pity for us true dart fans:mad:

dexter647 wrote: »
    Was talking to terry jenkins a few months ago at an exhibition and i asked him about the prem league coming to ireland. He said prob not as the pdc thought the crowd caused to may problems... A pity for us true dart fans:mad:

It already does. Surely for true dart fans like yourself 100(or so)mile from Dublin ain't too far to travel to Belfast. Tickets go on sale for Feb 24th in the Odyssey tomorrow morning BTW :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭dexter647

No disrespect but i meant the Rebublic as i'm sure you already knew;)

hehe just messin wit ya as you seemed to pick up ;)

Was there a bit of grief between the two lads then or what? Watched most of it in the pub and I think I missed that bit in the din.

Far as i know Hearne plans to at some point in the future take the World Championships to a different home each year (ala the world cup)

Also i believe The O2 Dublin was being touted as a potential Premier League venue in the future. Obviously all the booing isn't helping our cause, That said, for years taylor has been saying 'They are paying customers and if they want to boo we need to adapt and get used to it'

Fact is, Bring the Premier League and take the bookies out of the venue so there are few bets on the night (or at least less chance for it) we might not have the booing as much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Lazarus2.0

... then again what would you expect with the venue being in close proximity to clondalkin and tallaght..

When expressing distaste about moronic abuse it's probably in your favour to not resort to same :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭Degag

Was working tonight lads so missed the darts. 2 questions.

1. What did Taylor have to during the programme?

2. What was the aggro between Wade and Lewis about?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,691 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Degag wrote: »
    1. What did Taylor have to during the programme?

Missed alot of it myself but at the start he was just in the studio and congratulated Ade on a good win etc. Looked very subdued.
    Degag wrote: »
    2. What was the aggro between Wade and Lewis about?

Ade said there was some movement on stage while he was throwing and he saw Wade's foot or feet move? Wade said folk can watch the replays and his feet never moved. Didn't seem to be too big a deal for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭mirwillbeback

I was out there Monday, Friday and Saturday.

I really had two great nights on the weekend, I was on the beer but as a darts fan understand the need to respect the players. There were people all around booing Taylor which I don't understand, and less so the booing of Wade.
    I asked a lad at the next table why he was booing Taylor ( who I reminded him is a legend in the sport ) and he said he wanted Anderson to win. I tried to explain to him I did too and booing was out of order and he did shut up but I couldnt waste my time others as I wanted to enjoy the game.
    I think we need to establish between the fans and the drunks. I think it's fine to go, watch the games and indeed get pissed if you know how to handle yourself. I don't have a problem with the fancy dress, or indeed those who want to get on TV, it's what gives it such a buzz during poor games. I do however get annoyed with them booing. I feel security should start to take a few lads out as soon as it starts and have the announcer state that booers will be ejected.
    I had a great weekend, will always remember the two Taylor epics on Fri / Sat and was hoping Lewis would win - he is unbelievably gifted and just needs to relax.
    On a last point, all the Taylor haters who are saying sore loser etc - I saw him at brekkie yesterday morning, taking the time to have pics taken with those who asked him, smiling and pleasant, so need to give credit where it's due, have a ton of respect for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,992 ✭✭✭Degag

Jesus, i hate all this falling to the ground and over exuberant celebrations from players ala Wade last night. Also he took a few seconds to shake Lewis' hand after it was offered to him, like he was having second thoughts about doing so. Also, why did he take the surround off the board as if to take the board off and sign it and not do so then?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,652 ✭✭✭celt262

I think he was told not to take it down because they wanted it up for the Photographs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 gazza99

I was out there Monday, Friday and Saturday.

I really had two great nights on the weekend, I was on the beer but as a darts fan understand the need to respect the players. There were people all around booing Taylor which I don't understand, and less so the booing of Wade.
    I asked a lad at the next table why he was booing Taylor ( who I reminded him is a legend in the sport ) and he said he wanted Anderson to win. I tried to explain to him I did too and booing was out of order and he did shut up but I couldnt waste my time others as I wanted to enjoy the game.
    I think we need to establish between the fans and the drunks. I think it's fine to go, watch the games and indeed get pissed if you know how to handle yourself. I don't have a problem with the fancy dress, or indeed those who want to get on TV, it's what gives it such a buzz during poor games. I do however get annoyed with them booing. I feel security should start to take a few lads out as soon as it starts and have the announcer state that booers will be ejected.
    I had a great weekend, will always remember the two Taylor epics on Fri / Sat and was hoping Lewis would win - he is unbelievably gifted and just needs to relax.
    On a last point, all the Taylor haters who are saying sore loser etc - I saw him at brekkie yesterday morning, taking the time to have pics taken with those who asked him, smiling and pleasant, so need to give credit where it's due, have a ton of respect for him.
    have to agree with you the totall disrespect for a legend of the game they wouldn't have any interest in the game only for him. was at the game saturday night had a great night was cheering for lewis but would never dream of booing taylor. so can anydody explain the booing?