Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is AH so misogynistic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

liah wrote: »
    Oh, so now because we were offended by posts calling us ugly man-hating feminazis we need a medical practitioner.

Ffs. I give up.

None of what you quoted of me there in anyway related to people being offended.......offended=/=intimidated..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Kasabian wrote: »
    Make your own fcuking tea , you lazy bastard , can't you see I am making your lunch

:pac::pac:

No I can't see that, because your fat ass is in the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Uh-oh, this is ominous.

While im aware there is a small amount of unacceptable mysogny in AH i would hope it doesn't turn into a heavily modded bore-fest.

If is it is only a small amount then it if stopped over night, would you notice?
    Prolly not but a lot of posters would and would be grateful.

The context is ambiguous. Use of emoticons can be sarcastic.

Was there actually a picture of the person he was referring to as being 'not hot'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Kasabian

starbelgrade and Kasabian less of the unfunny jokes for now please.

Is this AH ?

Are we being censored ?

Is it cos we are black women

No bother

• Registered Users Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Nodin wrote: »
    No, its an attempt at humour. Whether its a funny one or not is another question.

In your opinion it's an attempt at humour. In mine, it's a thinly veiled put down.

Was there actually a picture of the person he was referring to as being 'not hot'?
    Why would that matter?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Thaedydal wrote: »
    A lot of posters have no faith in the system, I know I gave up on it and don't bother reporting it as, I have done so a lot over the last 5 years and look here we are again.

I have also requested (frankly disturbing) threads to be closed on AH in the past, and NOTHING being done about it.

This needs to be said in public, because I really feel some mods don't listen, there IS an iequality, and people are generally afraid to say anything.

I for example am writing this wondering if I will be banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Why thats a disgusting remark. How very dare you. Im wobbling with anger.:mad:

Fattist. Post reported.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Nothing wrong with that. Its just you seem to be greatly confused as to what constitutes genuine mysogyny and a joke.

No, that's you and the rest of the AH women bashing "jokers"

Anyways Liah has said already that she doesn't mind jokes. She wants personal attacks based on her gender to stop. Too much to ask?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

starbelgrade and Kasabian less of the unfunny jokes for now please.

What about funny ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Kasabian

What were you just told.

/ leaves thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Dr. Zeus wrote: »
    It's interesting how many people are adding feminism into the mix here.
    This debate is nothing to do with feminism!

Respect for women does not equal feminism!

Thanks, Zeus. I didn't mention it because it didn't seem relevant, but I have little in common with any feminist agenda and oppose mainstream feminist perspectives on pornography and prostitution. I've found my views more liberal than most boardsies on many issues. I, too, just wondered why AH seems, in general, so woman un-friendly.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Why would that matter?

....how could you make a serious attempt at a put down on a person you can't see based on their appearance?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

liah wrote: »
    And why is that acceptable?

Re: "real hate," what's the difference between them and women? I see many lighthearted jokes about pedos, rapes, travellers, jews, gypsies, poles. All the time in AH. What I don't see is hate going unmoderated with those particular groups, it gets cleaned fairly quickly and trolls are nipped in the bud. Why should it be any different with women? E.g. lighthearted jokes, grand, attacking posters based on gender, banned. Why is that so wrong?

Liah, this is what i really dont understand...

I dont know if you say you're not offended by sexist jokes or your are, because, i absolutely believe that there is no "hate" toward women on this board.

I dont think i can even debate on this subject because i think we are debating different things, you say you are ok with sexist jokes, you say you see lots of light hearted jokes about pedos rapes jews etc..but its the attacking of a poster not the post that bothers you - but any attack on a poster regardless of gender is moderated.

Personally, i dont think your real issue is with AH, i think your real issue is with the gamers forum and that because as a female you feel you are taken less serious, if that is the case i wouldnt be too worries liah, most men that play games are either just out of Puberty or going throught the phase so they are a little giggidy around women and only looking for attention

No, that's you and the rest of the AH women bashing "jokers"

I'd like to see some of my "women bashing", if you would.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Funny jokes are ok. pity ye won't get a chance to tell them in this thread.

Kasabian and starbelgrade do not post on this thread again.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

Now I don't know if you're sincere or thanks whoring. :rolleyes:

Us humourless crusaders don't have a problem with terms like thanks whoring :p

Yet we're so damn radical.

WTF did I say that pissed you off! I meant what I said. The term crusading when applied to women getting annoyed with a certain attitude taken by men is a bit like saying, some of my best friends are black, white, roma, travellers but...

Don't roll your eyes if you're not certain into which category I fall. As for thanks whoring.... :rolleyes:

:P

....how could you make a serious attempt at a put down on a person you can't see based on their appearance?

The implication is that they are jealous of the woman in question's looks because the poster in question is ugly; a stereotypical, "butch" feminist, so to speak.

Can you explain to me how you read it as a joke?

It was implied that only unattractive women object to jokes about hot women. This is not true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I have also requested (frankly disturbing) threads to be closed on AH in the past, and NOTHING being done about it.

This needs to be said in public, because I really feel some mods don't listen, there IS an iequality, and people are generally afraid to say anything.

I for example am writing this wondering if I will be banned.

Eh no.

WTF did I say that pissed you off! I meant what I said. The term crusading when applied to women getting annoyed with a certain attitude taken by men is a bit like saying, some of my best friends are black, white, roma, travellers but...

Don't roll your eyes if you're not certain into which category I fall. As for thanks whoring.... :rolleyes:

:P

That was my attempt at being light-hearted .. damn lack of tone and scabrous feminist nature :pac: requisite emotion

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Doesn't matter what you believe. It's fact.

Doesn't matter if it's 10 posts per page or 100. 10 is still 10 too many. It needs to be taken as seriously as any other subject.

Why have to justify or back up anyways? Maddie jokes are banned. Did Maddie's parents come on here to start a thread called "Why is AH making fun of Maddie?" and quote every single Maddie joke on here and report every post themselves because no one else had the cop on to?

Not that anyone would have noticed as it wasn't directly affecting them.

You can state that it is fact without evidence. Greater than 98% of posts on the front page do not contain and misogynistic comments and thus it can be stated that the majority of AH is not misogynistic. Did I ever say that there wasn't some level of misogyny? No I did not. There will always be some level of misogyny the same way that there will be racist and abusive post but they do not dominate the forum.

People do take it seriously and that is why a good few people are saying report the posts and something can be done.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    The implication is that they are jealous of the woman in question's looks because the poster in question is ugly; a stereotypical, "butch" feminist, so to speak.

Can you explain to me how you read it as a joke?

That is the joke, I'd imagine. Whether or not you find it funny is another matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Dr. Zeus wrote: »
    It's interesting how many people are adding feminism into the mix here.
    This debate is nothing to do with feminism!

Respect for women does not equal feminism!

I have read your posts, to be quite honest all your posts to date appear as if they have been posted by a female.

I wonder....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Mickydolenz can I ask:

A sizable number have said they are unhappy and feel targeted.
    Your response "Why were they not reported".

Our response "Because it's the done thing here and it's hard to go against the grain"

what is your response now? There is rampant sexism in AH, there has been for a long time, and nothing has even been done about it. And I HAVE reported threads before.

What I would like is some actual ACTION taking place to help things. Can we elect another female mod? why are the mods on here so male dominated anway? Who chose them?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

That was my attempt at being light-hearted .. damn lack of tone and scabrous feminist nature :pac: requisite emotion

Will you knife me if I tell you to get back in the kitchen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Dr. Zeus

I think a lot of men myself included have never really experienced the sexism women have experienced over the years so have no real empathy for it.

I am not talking about parent's rights etc but more being judged on looks, socialised into believing a woman's looks/body are all they can offer society, being objectified.

being told women's brains are smaller than mens etc. Being a slut for sleeping with a man and tease for not..

All these are very inherent sexist attitudes that women have had to endure for years. I can understand women being sensitive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

Mrmoe wrote: »
    You can state that it is fact without evidence. Greater than 98% of posts on the front page do not contain and misogynistic comments and thus it can be stated that the majority of AH is not misogynistic. Did I ever say that there wasn't some level of misogyny? No I did not. There will always be some level of misogyny the same way that there will be racist and abusive post but they do not dominate the forum.

People do take it seriously and that is why a good few people are saying report the posts and something can be done.

If 2% of posts were racist or anti-semetic, for example, would they be tolerated because the percentages were so small?