Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool v Steau Bucharest Thursday 20:05 [Match Thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Someone please tell me that Liverpool are wearing the yellow jerseys!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    christ this is awful...we're a really awful team these days...wtf like, doesn't seem to matter what random 11 are out there, they play the same awful disjointed stuff. You could say something for a solid defensive approach, but what we've turned into is nothing...weak in defence, weak in attack, static, boring pointless football.

Sad Frustrated Face.

Especially if you watched the Arsenal match yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,525 ✭✭✭joe123

This is shocking. Depressed watching this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Feel like punching myself in the balls !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭kingshankly

why do Liverpool defenders hoof long balls forward it's infuriating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭kingshankly

is there are more frustrating player in world football than Ryan babel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Lads will y'all relax, it's pretty much a second string that have never played together before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

that was our best bit of football leading up to that Babel shot.

and it wasn't even that good at all.

we're so predictable it's mind-boggling. and so slow. and just as restricted in our movement as we ever were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

why do Liverpool defenders hoof long balls forward it's infuriating

Thats the way Liverpool have played for the last 5 years. Long balls. Not something new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,525 ✭✭✭joe123

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Lads will y'all relax, it's pretty much a second string that have never played together before.

That would be grand and all but every game so far this season has been like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Spearing looks lost out there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

joe123 wrote: »
    That would be grand and all but every game so far this season has been like this.

Well, disjointed performances such as this one are not some new phenomenon that only arose this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

F*cking pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

So this is Babel proving himself. God help us.

Deadwood indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Mister men wrote: »
    So this is Babel proving himself. God help us.

Hes doing a damn sight more than ngog is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Meireles must be wondering what he's just done to his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

daithijjj wrote: »

n'gog rarely does anything in fairness but nip in with a goal , horrible touch on him , cant take anyone on , his movement off of the ball is atrocious !:mad:

Meireles and Cole are the only ones with any sort of composure on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Poor decision by the ref no way was that a yellow

Meireles must be wondering what he's just done to his career.

he must.

*slowclap

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Aqua come back!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

So hard to support LFC at the moment.

Spearing does not belong in a Liverpool shirt, never mind the first team!

LZ5by5 wrote: »

I don't buy that at all. We are missing players alright but if this is a reflection of our approach to playing football then there is squat to look forward to. There is one player out there tonight who deserves to wear the shirt and his name is Reina. Everyone else looks disinterested,slow,unmotivated and out of their depth. I'll cut Merelies some slack because he's new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

TechnoPool wrote: »
    n'gog rarely does anything in fairness but nip in with a goal , horrible touch on him , cant take anyone on , his movement off of the ball is atrocious !:mad:

One if his best qualities me thinks .

TechnoPool wrote: »

Thats really not true. His movement is quite good. Its his finishing that he needs to work on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

No matter what eleven we have out there, there's no excuse for that crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

have to be better in the second half. generally have been this season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

daithijjj wrote: »

Hard for a striker to do much with no service.

How many balls did Babel lose in that half?

Johnson, Lucas, and Pacheco need to come on.

I genuinely think Spearing has been our best player in that half.

Rather than that being a compliment to him, it just show the absolute w*nk that that half was. That really really was a struggle to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Jasus lads will you just watch the game rather than take your cues from each other!

Spearing has done nothing wrong except slip at an inoppotune moment, both sides are trying to play a quick attacking game. Very little in this, maybe some were thinking LFCs second 11 were going to steamrollover a solid side playing their best 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Meireles, not looking too impressive so far. Giving the ball away a lot, and not adding anything going forward so far. Babel blowing yet another chance to impress, Maxi poor too. Spearing has actually been one of the better players in that 1st half, that says it all :(
    Overall its been poor stuff, can only hope for better in 2nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Hard for a striker to do much with no service.

How many balls did Babel lose in that half?

Im going to call a spade a spade, spearing is a waste of time. Theres nothing coming from midfield so babel and cole are trying to make things happen on their own, losing the ball comes with that. These 5 yard passes over and over could be defended until this time tomorrow. Ngog is not doing a good job up there tonight. The long range shots are because ngog is not offering much outlet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

I thought spearing did well that half wasn't on the ball much but defensively sound wouldn't blame his slip for there goal.

He got a few blocks and tackles in at important times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

mike65 wrote: »
    Jasus lads will you just watch the game rather than take your cues from each other!

Spearing has done nothing wrong except slip at an inoppotune moment, both sides are trying to play a quick attacking game. Very little in this, maybe some were thinking LFCs second 11 were going to steamrollover a solid side playing their best 11.

I agree re: Spearing. in fact he has been our best player along with Cole.

However, second strongest 11? Its at least 50% of our strongest team :confused:

Good move from Cole there, terrible attempt by Maxi.

mike65 wrote: »

I'm taking my cues from anyone thanks very much. I just don't rate Spearing in any way at all. Ive actually never seen him play a decent match for the first team. We are allowed an opinion no?

Better start from Liverpool.

This commentator does love a good pronunciation doesnt he?

much better.

Meireles at the heart of a couple of good moves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,568 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Mister men wrote: »
    I'm taking my cues from anyone thanks very much. I just don't rate Spearing in any way at all. Ive actually never seen him play a decent match for the first team. We are allowed an opinion no?

Well at least Spearing has an excuse in being young and still learning, what are the exuses for the likes of Babel & Maxi?

nice one
    let cole take it!

you can't beat a good soft penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,568 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Here we go...Ngog...is he good at penalties?

Edit: Make that a yes.....nicely taken!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

get in

bluefinger wrote: »
    nice one
    let cole take it!

i take it back

that was well taken

Stonewall peno nich finish from N'Goal

Well taken penalty

Fantasic penalty. Even if the keeper guessed the right way, he wouldn't be getting there.