Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When to stop for Garda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

be people who applaud this behaviour, and tell me I deserved everything I got and more..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,234 ✭✭✭amacca

Yep, you guessed it! Every single day, I was stopped and searched, told to hand in license and registration at the Garda station, followed home, followed to peoples houses, and generally harrassed. It was that sad that on one occasion I handed my license in to the Garda in the station, waited the usual half hour for "processing", left the station was followed half way home, pulled over and told to hand in my license, by the same Gard that I had just handed it in to. There will without a doubt be people who applaud this behaviour, and tell me I deserved everything I got and more. What is the point of having a justice "system" when egomaniacs are given a badge and the freedom to do whatever they want, including breaking harrassment laws. Surely the people who are given the job of upholding the law should set an example, and actually abide by the laws themselves.

I see where you are coming from but your young self was a bit of a tit imo

drunk driver narrowly missed killing me one night as I was walking home from college - broke a red light and swerved into a pier 2ft behind where I was...front of car buckled beyond recognition - thats saying something as it was a big heavy tank of a jag, then with a stench of petrol (fuel line broke or maybe even tank ruptured) the old boy proceeded to try and light himself a cigarette....I still marvel that I tried to stop him lighting it (and succeeded given he had locked the doors) in view of what could have happened....... to both of us

yes they should have abided by the courts decision without harassing you but most of me says you didnt deserve to get off scot free and if you had maybe you would have taken the incident more lightly than it deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭SC024

jaffa20 wrote: »
    You got off scot free for drink driving?

And you're proud of it?

Ah come off it now Why shouldn't he be? The man has every right to be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

SCO24, I think you're trolling.

Please don't post again on this thread.
    @everyone else - please don't respond to SCO24's post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭SC024

LOL why would you think that

-Chris- wrote: »
    SCO24, I think you're trolling.

Please don't post again on this thread.
    @everyone else - please don't respond to SCO24's post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

overshoot wrote: »
    as far as i know, while you are obligated to stop for a guard if directed, BUT he can only stop you at a checkpoint or if he has a reason of suspicion. bare in mind doing a uturn right before a checkpoint is a good reason.
    also isnt it illegal for anything other than an emergency vehicle to have blue flashing lights?... therefore making unmarked cars identifiable as guards(in an ideal world)

A Member if AGS can stop you for any reason or no reason when driving your vehicle in a public place.... S/He can also demand your driving licence and insurance and if you have not got them with you can demand production to a Garda Station in 10 days. Furthermore if you dont have your licence with you they can give you an on-the-spot fine (unlikely, most will just demand production at worst).

As annoying as it was when I was younger its perhaps good for helping to prevent drink driving etc as Gardai can randomly stop vehicles rather than having to set up formal check-points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

Good thread realy

You're driving a 60k Mercedes home from the nightclub at 3am

Ordinary car behind you starts flashing lights and has a siren
    I can buy both on ebay.

They drive right behind you aggressively, then drive past you and in front of you.
    You stop behind them

How do you know you aren't about to be carjacked?
    Should you even stop? Maybe call a local station to see can they be identified?

Simply drive to the nearest Garda Station if in doubt, and if you get any guff from them when you arrive, if you have done nothing wrong! Inform the duty Sergeant or Station Inspector of the incident. Make a complaint to the Garda ombudsman for the fear for your life and property and threating behaviour and abuse of powers by the Gardai following you!

At the very least such a complaint on a Garda's record even if its not investigated and prosecuted, will seriously damage that thugs career prospects!

I know of such a thug doing similar acts on duty, now he's a van driver!:mad:

Know your rights and use them!;)