Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Rise and Rise Again....Gillingham Deadlift"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Today with Phat L

Warm up

The ususal...

Speed deads

100kg x3x5

Squats
    60x5 80x5 90x5x4 102.5x3x2 110x2 122.5x1

Strict press
    barx5
    40x5
    60x5x2

Bench
    60x5 80x5 90x5x2

Good mornings
    50kgx8x4

Fat bar beadlifts
    26kg bar
    +10x3
    +20x3
    +30x3

42kg Dumbell shrugs + strict rev 27kg fat bar curls

super set of 10-15 shrugs + 8 curls for 4 rounds

blabberings on
    Speeds were pish as they should be. Squats were fine. Strick press was grand + 2.5kg next week bench the same + 2.5kg. I hate good mornings. I love fat bar deadlifts.

I <3 lifting stuff

Today

Rollin on a pipe 6 positiona x lots

Stretching
    Quads,hamstrings,calves etc

Hip mobility
    swings front and side x lots

goblet squats
    strecthed out the adductor as it was a little sore too.

discloations and band pull a parts x lots

36in box jumps
    5x5

Metcon
    24in box jumps
    20kg kbell swings
    pushups

21-18-15-12-9-6-3

no time for this as my timer battery is dead.

24in jumps from distance...

landed nicely from 5 ft a few times

Rotator cuff
    lots x lots of rotation stuff

Floor sweepers
    40kg over the head x10x4

Crap
    Well that felt absolutely great!

Warm up & flexability

The usuals

OH squats
    barx5 30x3 40x3 50x1 55x1---so much more there

Introductory Microcycle wk 2
    this week calls for me to be able to hit 85% for 5 reps by weekend

90x5x2 100x5 110x5

Front Squats
    62.5x5x2

Bench
    60x5x2 92.5x5x2

Chest supported rows
    30kgx8x4

Trap bar shrugs
    120kgx10x5

ez bar curls

against a wall x10 @at 30kg

Cardio
    ark trainer??? 20 min intervals

S*it talk

Loved it. OH's were so easy...im so comfortable in the position now. Squats were grand...it was as if my back said...ah i remember this now! front squats...one of the oly lifters is back working in UL now so its like having a coach :) hands in a bit more elbows out more take more of the bar on my shoulders and hey presto this is easy. bench was fine. I love our new chest supported row if it had tits id consider marrying it. Cardio cause i is fat.

new aims
    100kg front squat by xmas also.

oh and i want to overhead squat 80kg by xmas..

ill update the first post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

ROFL i've decided to just follow you around doing more than you.

thats fine...let me know when you hit 87.5kg bw and we can compare then...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Your log's reading like my log. Like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

If you manage to hit 80 oh by xmas surely you'll be able to go way higher than 100 on the frontsies?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

frontsies?

You just took gay and made it gayer.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    You just took gay and made it gayer.

I reckon he's gonna start leaving the 25's out in the sun so the red fades to pink....

back squat is the main goal...

in not going to take my focus off that to go after a big front squat....if i hit more them 100 i do...if not then ill just have to hit a double bw back squat wont i..

Jujitsu

2 hours

Warm up & flexability

pipe rollin
    5 positions

Hang cleans
    barx5 30x3 40x3 50x3 60x3 70x1x2 75x1

Introductory Microcycle
    60x5 80x5 90x5x2 100x5 115x5

Strict press
    62.5x5x2

Bench
    60x5x2 92.5x5x2

Rev hypers
    bwx8
    +5kgx8
    +7.5x8
    +10kgx8

Glute Ham raises
    bw+5kg bar behind neck x8x4

Rev fat bar curls
    17kg bar
    +10kgx8
    +15kgx5x5
    +10kgx8

Russian twists
    12kg medicine ball x10x4

Cardio
    Ark trainer...some interval thingy 20 min

mindless ramblings
    all weights up this week happy with the 115kgx5 thats me at my 80-85% i needed to hit this week. the weight on the hang clean was easy..need to work on the technique. Cardio is ghey but necessary.

We should become weightlifters

na...why specialise at one thing when you can be awesome at everything...

IDIBISHDI

Hanley wrote: »
    IDIBISHDI

Hanley can f*ck off until he has run a half marathon...

I'm surprised that last comment didn't get an infraction for smugness tbh.

Tonight

Jujitus

Grading tomorrow...need some serious amount of sleep and a seriously easy day in the office tomorrow..

Best of luck.

No bother to yeah

Good luck with it dude. Stay away from the walls.

Green belt aced...

nailed it...one small hickup but perfect other than that...

fook this recovery ****....push yourself as far as you can...you get one shot with this body abuse the sh*te out of it...

* this post is brought too you by a whole lot of crona...stick that up your diet hanley! :P

Today

Warm up and hips
    the usuals

Speed Deads
    60x5
    80x3
    100x3
    110x3

Front squats
    40x3
    60x3
    70x1
    90x1
    100x1
    105x1-PB

mwhaaaaa that was easy

Strict press
    40x5 62.5x5x2

Fat bar deadlifts
    27kg bar +20x3
    +30x3x2

Bench
    60x5
    80x3
    92.5.x5x2

Fat handle dumbell hammer curls
    18kgbellsx8x4

Thoughts
    I have some serious issues. I need some form of mental help. A sane person would never even consider attempting a front squat pb after a grading. the 105 was easy..loads more left. strict press was grand. Bench was easy out...5 second pause on the last rep of each set. We got some fat grip hadles so played around with them at the end.

L has a serious deadlift.

LOADS left in the front squat.

Your bench is just silly

Tonight

Warm up
    Usual

OH Squats
    30x3 40x3 50x1 60x1 60xfail 60x1 -- minter--

Squats
    60x5 80x3 95x9x4

Front squat
    40x5
    60x5
    70x5x2

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    95x5x2

chest supported row
    40kgx8x4

Trap bar shrugs
    120x8x4

Fat bar rev curls[/B
    bar+10x8 bar+15x6x2 bar + 10x8

Cardio
    arc trainer...20 min

Babbelings
    3 kinds of squat in one session....WIN!

Warm up

usuals

Hang cleans
    40x3 50x3 60x3 70x1 im not happy about my technique...but ill come back to this

Squats

60x5 80x5 102.5x7x5

Snatch variations
    all dont with 7kg technique bar...laugh all ye want

power snatchx3x6

hang snatch from just above kneex3x6

oh squat from jump positionx3x6

jerk into oh squat x3x6

full snatchx3x6

Thoughts
    right...14hours of work today..hit ul at 9...ive been meaning to spend some time with the olyers for a while but we have all been busy..got some time with one of them tonight and had me doing decent full snatches within 25 minutes...fair enough it was a 7kg bar..but its an achievement for me :) i scrapped the benching and the strict press today as my time was better spent with the olying....oh and the squats were grand!

Fair play getting in. I wasn't even gonna slag ya for missing training today after talking to ya earlier :D

it depends on who im working with...the manager i was with today is a runner so understands training...he told me to go train at 9 o clock...he also bought pizza :P

Warmups
    Usual+

all with tech bar
    OH squats from jump position
    Snatch Balance
    Full Snatch
    x lots

Squat
    110x5x7-FML

Front squats
    barx5
    40x5
    60x3
    70x5x2

Strict press
    40x5
    60x3
    65x5x2

Bench
    95x5x2

Seated row
    120kgx8x4

Preacher curls
    some form of weight x lots

Jibberjabber
    13hour work day. Were moving office..it sucks..ive never been this busy. Im loving the OLY stuff..i could do it all day and not get bored of it. Squats were though..but i got through them. Front squats were fine. Strick Press...im so going to blits 70x5x2...if i dont push press 100kg soon there is something wrong. These russian dudes are nuts...thats 35 squats..

Warmups

As per normal + lots and lots of rolling

OH squats from jump position
    Snatch Balance
    Full Snatch
    x3x3

Squats
    115x3x10

Strict press
    barx5
    40x5
    65x5x2

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    95x5x2

Good mornings
    40kgx5x5

Fat Fat bar deadlifts
    27kg bar + 30kg x1x5 with a 20 second hold at the top

supersetted with

plate shrugs
    20kg per hand x30x5

Floor sweepers
    40kgx10x4

supersetted with

Fat grip hammer curls
    18kg bells x8x4

thoughts
    ****ing flu...could not get warm tonight, couldnt hit the postitons in the OLY lifts
    and it took till the 3rd set of the squats for them to look right...after that they were pish though. bench is still good as are the strict press. changed the fat bar deadlifts to include a hold this week...liking it this way going to run with it