Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Rise and Rise Again....Gillingham Deadlift"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

i wanna do it again :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

ive decided at some stage in the near future id like to front squat 140kg...i reckon im good for 120-125 now...or will be in 4 weeks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

ive decided at some stage in the near future id like to front squat 140kg...i reckon im good for 120-125 now...or will be in 4 weeks...

i'll do it for you on saturday if you like

Jujitsu 1hr 30 min

chokes and escapes...fun times..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

Jujitsu 1hr 30 min

chokes and escapes...fun times..
    not all fun in jj.

was rolling with a guy today who weighs 130kg+ , would put lesnar to shame, my ribs will never be the same...

Tonight

Warmups
    usuals + some snatches

Squats
    60x5x2
    80x5
    95x3
    105x4
    125x4
    140x3x3
    132.5x5x2

Push press
    40x3
    50x1
    60x1
    75x5x2

bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    107.5x5x2

Rev hypers
    +10kgx6x4

Ab rollouts
    x12x4 off 3 lids

Hammer curls
    20kgx8x4 with the fat handles

Cardio
    Ark trainer 15 min

Thoughts

Ouch.

Warmups

usuals
    oh squats
    jump oh squats
    snatch balance
    full snatch

squats
    60x5
    80x5
    100x4
    110x4
    125x5x4

Front squats
    40x3
    60x3
    70x1
    80x5x2

chest supported row
    40kgx8x4

Lat pulldowns
    something xsomething

Ab roll outs
    off 3 lids with ez curl bar +20kg

x8x4

ez bar curls
    blahxlots

Thoughs

solid session. I hate curls...i have no interest in them.

Push press
    40x3
    50x3
    60x1
    70x1
    75x5x2

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    110x5x2

pushups
    on knuckles
    bwx10x4

Fat Bar rev curls
    +10kgx8x4

Tricep pushdows
    lots x lots

Rotaror cuff stuff + grip machine
    lying dumbell extensions
    muscle snatches etc

15kg on grip machine x6x4

Thoughts
    Simple and effective session was simple and effective

Warmups
    usuals

Squat
    60x5
    80x5
    95x4
    110x4
    125x4
    140x3
    140x4x2

Front squat
    40x3
    60x3
    70x1
    85x5x2-thought there was 82.5kg on the bar

OH squat
    barx5
    30x5
    40x5
    52.5x5

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    110x5x2

T-bar row
    40x8
    60x8
    70x6x2

Trap bar shrugs
    120x10x4

Ab rollouts
    off 3 lids
    x10x4

curls
    bklah

Thoughts
    Everything is coming together nicely. the 140's were solid tonight much better than last week. Front squats were fine. Bar position on the OH's was perfect. Bench was easy. Drifter 1 ManFlu 0

Last night

Jujitsu 1hr 30 min

Tonight

Warmups
    Usuals

Squat
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    120x3
    132.5x3
    140x3x3
    150x3----get in there!

Push press
    40x3
    50x3
    60x1
    70x1
    77.5x5x2

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    110x5x2

Rev hypers
    +5kgx8
    +10kgx8x3

45 degree hypers
    BWxlots

Ab rollouts
    off 3 lids x10x4

Hammer curls
    20kg bells + fatz grips
    x10x4

Cardio
    ark trainer 15 min

Thoughts
    140's were dacent on the squats 150's were slow but still fine. push press was grand steadily getting stronger...id like to do 90x5 in 4 weeks and 105-110 for one. Bench is still going fine. aim is 115x5x2 for a PB in 3 weeks. Assistance stuff was grand. Smolov rocks...i fail to see how someone couldnt get strong off it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

All hail Smolov!!

THe push press is gonna keep coming up as your leg and core strength improves.

Hanley wrote: »
    All hail Smolov!!

THe push press is gonna keep coming up as your leg and core strength improves.

i am aware of this...so i shall not stop improving these :P

Warmups
    Usuals

Squat!
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    120x3
    132.5x4
    140x5x4

Front Squat
    40x3
    50x1
    60x1
    70x1
    85x5x2

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    110x5x2

Chest supported row
    40x8x1
    50x8x3

Lat pulldowns
    somethingxlots

ab rollouts
    3 lids ez curl bar with 20kg
    x10x4

chinups
    x5x4

Thoughts

Grand...i <3 Smolov

Been talking with Mr Hanley in my next 10 weeks after smolov...its going to involve lots of deadlifting and benching...id like 145-150 bench and 210-220 deadlift early next year...

Yesterday

2.5 hr sparring sesssion

followed by

push press
    barxlots
    40x3
    60x3
    70x1
    77.5x5x2

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    112.5x5x2

Thoughts
    my shoulders are sore...the can STFU for the next 4 weeks...then they can have a break

Today

Warmups
    Usuals

Squat
    60x5
    80x5
    95x4
    110x4
    125x4
    140x5x5

Front Squat
    60x3
    70x1
    80x2
    87.5x5x2

OH Squat
    barx3
    30x3
    40x3
    50x3
    57.5x5

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    112.5x5x2

Seated rowsin lbs
    130x8
    140x8
    150x8
    160x8

Trap bar shrugs
    120x10x4

Ab rollouts
    ab wheel off 3 lids
    x10x4

Cardio
    Ark trainer 15 min

Thoughts
    Squats were grand...im 15kg lighter than the last time i squatted 140x5x5 and a comment was passed tonight on how much my technique has improved. So im happy.
    Front squats were fine oh squats were fine. Bench the last rep on the 2nd 112.5 set was a grinder but i dont care...i was wrecked. its so close to PB numbers. 115x5x2 on saturday is a PB. everything else was meh.

Last night

jujitsu

1 hr 3 min

2 things i learned....my conditioning sucks...i need to improve this....and fat guys were not meant to do flying armbars

Tonight

Warmups
    Usuals

Squats
    60x5x2
    80x3
    90x3
    110x3
    125x3
    132x1
    150x3x2

Push Press
    40x5
    60x1
    70x1
    80x3
    80x3-failed on 3rd rep

45 deg hypers
    bwx8x2
    some weighted bag x8x2

Rev hypers
    bwx10
    +5kgx8x4

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    112.5x5x2

ab rollouts
    3 lids abb wheelx10x4

Hammer Curls
    18kg bells+fat gripz

x8x4

Thoughts
    Squats were ok...some reps ugly others perfect. So i failed on the push press...this was going to happen my shoulders are in bits...going to have to back off the volume coming to the end of smolov...

In the next 2 weeks i intend to test
    1)push press
    2) bench
    3) front squat
    4) back squat
    5)deadlift--purely to see if the intense phase has increased it :P

my bw was 91.5kg this morning...making 87.5kg for the end of smolov aint happening..so i doubt a 2xbw squat is on the cards either..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

my bw was 91.5kg this morning...making 87.5kg for the end of smolov aint happening..so i doubt a 2xbw squat is on the cards either..

STFU and go do it!

Tonight

Warmups

the norm

Squat
    60x5x2
    80x5
    100x3
    120x3
    135x3
    150x3x4

Front Squat
    60x3
    70x1
    80x1
    90x1

Bench
    60x5
    80x5
    100x3
    112.5x5x2

Shoulder Rehab
    Stuff by lots

Thoughts

fecking great session. Squats felt really solid..delighted with them..its hard to think that its only 10kg of my current 1rm. Front squats were just for the sake of it. Bench was also solid

My old trainer was there and i was telling him my shoulders were at me and he had we doing all sorts of weird exercises and my shoulders felt great afterwards..

Looking forward to tomorrow and hopefully a bench PB of 115x5x2...ill prob test something else tomorrow too...depending on how reckless im feeling...maybe push press or front squat.

afterthoughts: ive grown a serious belly...im still around 90kg but im on the bad side of it...im afraid to pick up my callipers..also going up stairs is becoming annoying...I need more conditioning work

Today-Recklessnessssss

Push press
    40x5
    60x1
    70x1
    80x1
    90x1
    100x1
    110xfailx3
    105xfailx1

Front Squat
    60x3
    80x1
    100x1
    120x1
    130x1-PB

Bench
    60x5
    80x3
    100x3
    115x5x2-PB
    120x1
    130x1-supre fast

Thoughts
    Bit dissapointed to be honest with the push press...i should have taken 105 straight off and be done with it. I'll test again before xmas...but for now mu shoulders need a rest. Front squat PB was sweeeet. Happy with the bench the 115's were handy...the 130 felt so light and fast. Rested i should take 105 push press and 135 bench.

Today

4k walk with the madra

some shoulder rehab stuff while L was squatting

5x20m sprints
    1 min rest

repeat by 4

1 x 45m sprint

10 hill sprints

my shoudler actually feels fine thank god

In other news L squatted 200kg like it wasnt even there!

Today

squat
    70x5
    100x5
    110x3
    135x4
    140x5x5

Barbell rows
    barx6
    40x6
    60x6
    70x6
    80x6
    90x6

Barbell shrugs
    70x5
    100x10
    110x10
    120x10
    130x10

Barbell curls
    30kg x meh x meh

Thoughts

Last week of smolov

session done at home brought to you by " The black label society" , Paracetamol which does **** all for migrane, and jessie the dog.

Today

some warmup

squat
    70x5
    90x5
    110x3
    125x3
    140x3x4

thoughts

one more day!

You have a jeep for the snow, and a home gym for when the jeep's no good.

You're a f*cking c*nt.

Hanley wrote: »
    You have a jeep for the snow, and a home gym for when the jeep's no good.

You're a f*cking c*nt.

:P

Tonight i came home and had a cup of tea while i squatted :P

That's cos you're a w@nker.

Would you know I didn't get to train today?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

I would love to have a cup of tea between sets....

THE FINAL DAY OF SMOLOV!!!

SQUAT
    60x5
    80x5
    110x3
    132.5x4
    150x4x2
    150x7
    PB how are ya!

Bench
    60x5
    80x3
    100x1
    110x1
    120x1
    130x1
    135x1
    140xfail

curls+abs
    stuff that dont matter now

Thoughts

smolov is great! the last 3 on the 150x7 were ugly but were still ATG squats. happy with the bench as i was wrecked! would love a crack of 140 rested and well fed. UL is really really really annoying me at the moment.

more later when the ringing in my ears stop

1rm predictions please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Well done! :)

p.s. you know when you're looking at your log, the page tab says 'abandon hope all ye who enter her'

Just thought I'd let you know:pac: