Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Rise and Rise Again....Gillingham Deadlift"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

G86 wrote: »
    Well done! :)

p.s. you know when you're looking at your log, the page tab says 'abandon hope all ye who enter her'

Just thought I'd let you know:pac:

im too wrecked to get that :P

Deadlift
    60x5
    100x3
    120x1
    140x1
    150x1
    170x1
    185x1
    190x1

Push press
    40x5
    50x3
    60x1
    80x1
    90xfail
    90x1
    100x1

chins and abs
    mewh

Thoughts

right thats that done...everything tested bar the squat....time to rest for the big test

Tonight

sandbag lifts to shoulder
    10 ( 5 a side)
    Shoulder to shoulder push press
    Zercher squats
    kbell swings

Round 1: 1:56
    Round 2: 1:24
    Round 3: 1:09
    Round 4: 1:01
    Round 5: 0:56

Thoughts

Well that was pointless...im on call got called 3 times...gave up...still nice to play around with the sandbag...also cut some timber shoes for my prowler..going to get the stuff to fix them on tomorrow so i can use it on my tarmac without doing too much damage...

front swingsx 10 per side
    side swingsx 10 per side

hamstring stretch
    quad stretch
    figure 4 glute stretch
    adductor stretch
    Goblet squats
    adductor stretch

all held for 20 seconds and repeated x2

Dislocations x 20
    band pull apartsx20
    Some weird shouder thingi was shown in ul x8 a side

Rolling

Quads
    IT bands
    Calves
    Hamstrings

Then followed this for upper body

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GsuZUDxPPdU

90kg on the scales this morning! boom!

Squat test

60x5
    80x3
    100x1
    120x1
    140x1
    160x1
    170x1
    177.5x1---all time PB
    182.5x1-fail
    180x1-fail

Thoughts

mixed...i siked myself out of the 182.5 and the 180...i failed on the way down ffs.. the 160 was handy out...the 170 was slow the 177.5 was a grinder as i lost all technique...L said i went down like i was in double ply gear....

Still 5kg pb at 15kg less bw is ok i guess there is more there if i just coped the **** on to myself

on smolov...anyone who doesnt get strong off it should just hand there balls in to the nearest charity shop because smolov is awesome..

ill be starting a 12 week cycle next week focusing on deadlift and bench...but ill be squatting 2x a week starting at 70% of 1rm 2 sets of 5 and working up 2.5kg a week...aiming at 155-160 x5x2 at the end...im also going to switch to low bar again and work on it..

afterthought....i need some serious work on my core strenght

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Good Work.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Nice squatting.

im actually sitting here laughing at how much i fooked up those last 2 attempts............

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

im actually sitting here laughing at how much i fooked up those last 2 attempts............

New rule.

NEVER take a jump smaller than 5kg on your squat or DL when attempting maxes.

NEVER listen to a weightlifter on it. If you're good for 182, jump to 182. Don't stop half way. You wouldn't quick mid-****, don't do it mid ramp up.

ALWAYS listen to me when it comes to attempting lifts. Especially if I can see your bar speed.

180+ tomorrow plz.

Hanley wrote: »
    New rule.

NEVER take a jump smaller than 5kg on your squat or DL when attempting maxes.

NEVER listen to a weightlifter on it. If you're good for 182, jump to 182. Don't stop half way. You wouldn't quick mid-****, don't do it mid ramp up.

ALWAYS listen to me when it comes to attempting lifts. Especially if I can see your bar speed.

180+ tomorrow plz.

if i am stupid enough to attempt it tomorrow it will be low bar....and ill need a kebab before hand

today in Raw

bench
    60x5
    80x3
    100x1
    125x1
    loose F6 shirt on
    130x1
    140x1
    150x1
    160x1
    165xfailx2

Squat
    low bar wide stance squats
    60x5x3
    80x3
    100x1
    120x1
    140x1
    160x1

Thoughts
    i am much much happier with the squats...low bar is awesome...the 160 was pish...going to work on low bar for the next 12 week cycle and come back and own 180 plus

First time in a shirt in 2-3 years...its so loose on me its not funny..the 160 equals a PB so im happy...tempted to get a 44 katana and do the gpc come in febuary...

Big ups to mr Hanley for the shirted work and COH for supplying the weights

Stop being ghey and get the shirt.

Tonight

Few warmups

Bench
    wide grip ( well for me)
    barx5x2
    70x5
    90x3
    110x1
    120x1
    110x3x2
    100x5x2

Squat
    low bar wider stance
    barx5
    70x5
    100x3
    110x1
    120x1
    135x5x2

good morings
    40x5
    60x5x2

Pull down abs
    40kgx12x4

conditioning
    20kg bag
    Sandbag clean to shoulder x10 ( 5 a side)
    10 sandbag zercher squats
    10 sadbag push presses
    10 20kg kbell clean and press ( 5 a side)
    4.9995 rounds in 10 minutes ( fecking sand coming out of the bag on the last one)

skipping
    min on minute off for 10 minutes

Thoughts
    Grand session done at home..new 12 week cycle now focusing on deadlift. anything around 210 at the end and ill be happy..on the bench and squat im aiming for 140+ on the bench by the end of it. there is like and entire shoulder day a week in this cycle so hopefully ill see some carryover. im aiming to squat 160x5x2 low bar at the end of it.

I suck at skipping...but its simple and effective...sandbags rock.. if you havent got one get one...

Prowling on grass

40kg 20m pushes 18 in 10 min

80kg 20 pulls x5

Stretching
    Quads
    Standing Hamstring
    Lying Hamstring
    Standing Adductor
    Lying Adductor
    Calves
    Gablet Squats

Dislocations
    Band pull aparts
    Scap pushups

Rolling
    Quats
    IT bands
    Hamstrings
    calves
    Lats- dear god!
    Thorasic Spine Mobilization-actually quite nice

Attacked my upper back with a tennis ball

Warmups
    few stretches and dislocations

Strict Press
    35x15
    40x12
    45x9
    50x6
    55x4

Seated MP
    40x10x5

Skull crushers superseted with barbell curls
    30kg x10x10

Rev grip pullups
    4x4

Ab rollouts
    30kgx8x4

Thoughts

Well i have found my least favourite day of this cycle....up 2.5kg on everything next week.

The volume's just a prick.

Hanley wrote: »
    The volume's just a prick.

It is but if smolov thought me anything tis eat volume and **** success

jujitsu

1hr 45 min

man i needed this...id lost my lust for rolling...all back now though...

Tonight

Warmups
    usuals + oh squats,jump oh squats ,snatch balance and full snatch

Power cleans
    40x lots from hang position to try learn the lift

60x3x5 from the floor

Deadlift
    100x3
    120x1
    140x1
    165x1x8

Double overhand Barbell holds
    100 count 30
    110 count 30
    120 count 30

RDL's
    60x5
    80x10x4

Dumbell bench
    35kg x15x3

core
    roll outs off 3 lifs x8x4

Thoughts
    I totally got the numbers wrong here. All the 165,s were ugly. Re did the numbers there and week3 will see me coming at this again at 157.5. Next week has rack pulls from mid shin.Was happy enough with the power cleans as ive never really did them before. Happy with the holds too +5kg-10kg next week. RDL's were find not sure how to approach increases on them maybe 2.5kg per week. Dumbell press's were handy.

Today

Squats
    bar x 10
    60x5
    80x3
    100x3
    120x1
    130x1
    135x5x2

Pendally Rows
    60x15
    65x12
    70x9
    75x6
    80x4

Tricep Pushdowns
    110lbs x12
    120lbsx12
    140lbsx12
    120lbsx8 into 100 x6

Neutral grip supported rows
    35kgx10x4

Seated Dumbell Curls
    10kgx12
    12.5x12
    15x12
    12.5x8 into 10x6

Pulldown abs
    100lbs x10x4

Thoughts
    Squats were slow but felt solid...getting used to the low bar wider stance now. I suck ad pendallys big time.

Stretching
    Quads
    Standing Hamstring
    Lying Hamstring
    Standing Adductor
    Lying Adductor
    Calves
    Gablet Squat
    Glute Stretch

Dislocations
    Band pull aparts
    Scap pushups

Rolling
    Quats
    IT bands
    Hamstrings
    calves
    Lats- dear god!
    Thorasic Spine Mobilization

Tennis ball on upper back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Stretching
    Quads
    Standing Hamstring
    Lying Hamstring
    Standing Adductor
    Lying Adductor
    Calves
    Gablet Squat
    Glute Stretch

Dislocations
    Band pull aparts
    Scap pushups

Rolling
    Quats
    IT bands
    Hamstrings
    calves
    Lats- dear god!
    Thorasic Spine Mobilization

Tennis ball on upper back.

And i'm not allowed log an hour of swimming?

You might aswell post your diet and general daily schedule aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

And i'm not allowed log an hour of swimming?

You might aswell post your diet and general daily schedule aswell

whales swim everywhere though...

5 min warm up

20 min on the ark trainer 30 sec on 30 seconds off
    incline 6 resistance 15

24 in box jumps x 10
    20 kb swings x 10
    pushups x 10
    pull ups x 5

6 rounds in 7:57

I have 0 conditionng

Tonight

Bench
    bar x5
    60x5
    80x5
    100x1
    110x1
    122.5x1
    112.5x3
    102.5x5

Squat
    bar x 10
    70x5
    90x5
    110x3
    120x1
    130x1
    137.5x5x2

Good mornings
    bar x 5
    50x5
    65x5x2

wheel rollouts
    3 lids x12x4

Conditioning
    ark trainer 30 seconds on 30 seconds off for 20 min resistance 15 incline 6

Thoughts
    Bar path was a bit off on the bench. not going to worry about it we all have off nights. Squatted with the 25kg 8ft squat bar tonight..thre 7ft bars keep hitting the the rack when walking out. Really getting more comfortable with the wider stance low bar now.

Post work out meal of a snack box....just to make sure that conditioning had no affect on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Bench was still solid as always, you were just inconsistant with where you touched.

i know...focus was a bit off...ill work on pulling it tighter...

Stretching
    Quads
    Standing Hamstring
    Lying Hamstring
    Standing Adductor
    Lying Adductor
    Calves
    Gablet Squat
    Glute Stretch

Dislocations
    Band pull aparts
    Scap pushups

10 kb swings
    10 clean and press
    10 rows on the rings
    10 pushups

5 rounds for time

my conditioning has gone so much this took over 10 minutes.....thats a discrace..

10 mins of skipping...

I need to sort my conditioning out...its so bad i dont even have the motivation to go to jitz anymore...

i blame smolov...