Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DoneDeal no-hunting/shooting policy - Read mod note #138

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Sparks,
    Could you stop using your " /facepalm " on people. It is very belittleing (sp) on people. Not everyone can express their thoughts into words as good as you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Dusty87 wrote: »
    Sparks,
    Could you stop using your " /facepalm " on people. It is very belittleing (sp) on people. Not everyone can express their thoughts into words as good as you.

I'd bet you'd laugh if he stuck it up in reply to your request.....:D

4gun wrote: »
    I'd bet you'd laugh if he stuck it up in reply to your request.....:D

4gun:D he prob will,
    But TBH do i seem like the person to give a sh1t;):D

had a good look at this because of your post and laughed my ass off...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=13eDfrMgFQM

:D:D:D:D

Picard expresses it beautifully

4gun wrote: »
    had a good look at this because of your post and laughed my ass off...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=13eDfrMgFQM

:D:D:D:D

4gun, im on the snailband, so give me about half an hour before that loads:D

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭mightyabhabelle

@donnna - done deal... fair play Donna for having the nerve to come on the board... at least you are taking us serious. But in terms of hypocrisy.... I just had a quick browse of what you sell... to name a few...

--boy racer cars... pimped to the 9's and ready to race... with road killing being the biggest in Ireland...
    -- lets not mention on the animal front... bull staff's ... not quite the house pet I want for my kids...
    -- mink fur coats and others... boys where did these come from...
    -- oh and not to mention... enough bird cages to incarcerate an entire flock.
    -- electric fencing -- ever touched one of these...zzzzhh -- oh sorry maybe its a crowd control product for animals!!!
    -- pheasants - now what could they be sold for..????

Not come on... take this back to to your board and ask them do they really know what they are selling... if they take this rule and ride the moral high ground then they should follow suite the hole way though... band the furs, the supped up cars and the bird cages... just to name a few...

regards M.

ps... no I'm not having a go just fed up with hunter, being the best conservations out there... also being the fall guy...

pss.. rrpc... did you shoot this for worring sheep... lol http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/womenclothes/1480157

[QUOTE=mightyabhabelle;68194495http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/womenclothes/1480157[/QUOTE]

now if ouly that coat came in purple.......mmmmm

Mightyabhegalle, or whatever the proper spelling is:D,
    Iv been driving rally cars since i was 12, once crashing that could have killed me, and co driver, i agree. From a person who knows fast cars, and seeing things like "1.8 or 1.6 on log book" it sickens me. Nothing really got to do with hunting but from someone at 20yrs old (legally before all ye boards PC's come on) put a car into a tree, possibly killing me and co driver, i gave up. Something i really love, but with a daughter of my own, i will not be doing it again. Iv drove mostly fords, rs2000s and once cosworth, mmmmm yea:D. Tbh in my teenage testorone years it was brilliant, but they scared the **** outa me. Them cars bite, when you least expect it. My last crash was the december before last, and being brought home to my GF was the last act. Her face and the thought of my daughters face is the last act. I still drive my cars but in a field now. TBH, the worst is knowing you could injure someone else. And cosidering you can get an RSturbo, 1.6 on book on donedeal (which my little brother pointed out to me as a money saver) scares me. Much more than a 'scope'. I believe the add is still there

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Sparks,

fc54948_633502095110658970-Facepalm.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭mightyabhabelle

seeing things like "1.8 or 1.6 on log book"

ok Dusty.. great points but I think you should change the 1.8 or 1.6 log book for a .22 or .233 license for a gun... way much safer...
    I still drive my cars but in a field now.
    well way much safer in the I,m not in the same field as you lying down with a hunting rifle and you pop over the brow in an RS 2000 Escort..:eek:

Oh please note I,m a fan of rally but not cut out for it... just making a point to DoneDeal.. -M

well way much safer in the I,m not in the same field as you lying down with a hunting rifle and you pop over the brow in an RS 2000 Escort..:eek:

Dont have any fast cars no more, and you shouldnt be in my field in the first place;):p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

any news on this done deal meeting

Nope. Wouldn't expect any over the weekend either though jap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

thought we would have heard something by now...

• Registered Users Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

i would have expected some sort of reply off done deal by now so i take it that done deal has no intentions of changing nothing so that tells me that done deal has made it very clear that they are a total anti hunting website and dont want any business from us

so what now

Stall the digger there a bit ace, till we actually hear either way from them.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 DonnaDoneDeal

Hi, Sorry guys for taking so long to reply, meeting went on right till end of day friday and was out of the office all day yesterday.

Right, well I brought all the issues to the table and we discussed them all at length, how we could monitor the ads and the cost of administration to change our policy. Unfortunately, we will not be changing them at this time. However, you can place ads on our site for Lamps, just without using the wording lamping in it. You can continue to place ads for your items that are in keeping with the terms and conditions and if there's any concerns, give me a shout and I'll help word ads or see what I can do about individual ads.

We discussed the sale of firearms aswell. As I previously said, the removal of firearms actually had nothing to do with hunting at all, it was decided after ads for hand guns that lets just, by the pictures, didn't look like the sort of guns that anyone would be happy selling and therefore we decided to restrict the sale of firearms on our site. We will not be changing this at the moment as we have discussed it with the local Gardai and some of the Gun shops enquiring about the documentation necessary and licensing laws and it would be too difficult for us to police this at the moment. I would recommend that you try Irishguntrader.ie as they seem to be a great website for this and are completely specialised in this area.

Sorry I couldn't have come back with a better response for you. As it stands, the only things you cant advertise are firearms and related items, and just leave the word Lamping out of ads. Hope this helps guys, and again sorry for the delay in replying.

One quick mod note on civility before everyone starts replying: this is a corporate decision; so please confine comments on it to the company, not to Donna personally.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭homerhop

only thing ya can say to that really is horse ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 weldersmask

so basically Donna you are letting a small group of narrow minded people who are prepared to multi email and pester donedeal with complaints and accusations concerning what are legal and legitimate activities bully you into stopping the advertisment of said items for sale :( that is unfortunate the fieldsports sector is a huge market place in this country and done deal is /was widely used by many lads i know for all sorts of stuff from lamps to jeeps .
    your website is a privately run concern i understand that,so at the end of the day it is up to you . i believe you are making a fundamental mistake and one that you will regret in the future, i for one now will not advertise or use your website just a quick calculation over the last year i have had about 15 adds on there at 3 euro a time and some of those were renewed also andi have responded to at least a dozen more
    may i suggest you have a lang hard look at some of the other stuff being sold on your site as a previous poster has pointed out there are knock off handbags clothing and falsely registered cars there on a constant basis
    here are 4 pages of cars with dodgy registrations just on one search

http://www.donedeal.ie/search/search/search.do?words=1.3+on+tax+book&Submit=Search&section=&county=&type=forsale&filter%28min_price%29=&filter%28max_price%29=&source=private&source=trade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

very disapointing that donedeal didnt have the bottle to stand up and make their own decision and instead had one pushed upon them by a small group of narrowminded people. I will also not be using donedeal to buy or sell which is regreatable because i think its a good site but i am going to stick to my guns and take my business elswhere. Thanks Donna for comin back and lettin us know and fair play for bringing our sugestions to your meeting.

<mod snip>

• Registered Users Posts: 30 DonnaDoneDeal

so basically Donna you are letting a small group of narrow minded people who are prepared to multi email and pester donedeal with complaints and accusations concerning what are legal and legitimate activities bully you into stopping the advertisment of said items for sale :( that is unfortunate the fieldsports sector is a huge market place in this country and done deal is /was widely used by many lads i know for all sorts of stuff from lamps to jeeps .
    your website is a privately run concern i understand that,so at the end of the day it is up to you . i believe you are making a fundamental mistake and one that you will regret in the future, i for one now will not advertise or use your website just a quick calculation over the last year i have had about 15 adds on there at 3 euro a time and some of those were renewed also andi have responded to at least a dozen more
    may i suggest you have a lang hard look at some of the other stuff being sold on your site as a previous poster has pointed out there are knock off handbags clothing and falsely registered cars there on a constant basis
    here are 4 pages of cars with dodgy registrations just on one search

http://www.donedeal.ie/search/search/search.do?words=1.3+on+tax+book&Submit=Search&section=&county=&type=forsale&filter%28min_price%29=&filter%28max_price%29=&source=private&source=trade

Thank you for letting me know about this....we are investigating them now and will take action.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

thanks for getting back to us, i feel a lot of the shooters will now boycott your site and rightly so, i find it a pity that your company have taken the option to not change policy, i think its the donedeal company themselves that are narrow minded, i for one will not use the site again, the meeting ye had was a complete waste of time, i cant understand how it took a day to discuss and not one change was made

• Registered Users Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

Horses can be advertised for hunting but not lamps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

Hi Donna,
    Thanks for relaying the decision. However, the message is a bit confused as you say “the only things you cant advertise are firearms and related items.” I can understand a business decision by DD not to advertise firearms, but what do you mean by “related items”? Does the exclusion extend for example to rifle cleaning kits? :confused:

On a separate issue, were I a manager of / investor in DD I would be much more concerned by advertising counterfeit products. Despite my identification of two counterfeits, (post 133 on this thread) nothing was done to take those down. Read http://lawyers-law.com/french-court-endorses-ebay-louis-vuitton-ruling/

A strong case could be made that DD is aiding and abetting the breach of both Road Traffic and Insurance Acts by carrying adverts for modified cars with original paperwork, as detailed by several other posters. It is only a matter of time before either the insurance industry or copyright lawyers (or both) sit up and take notice of what DD is allowing on its pages and pay you a visit.:o:o
    Regards,
    Pedro.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Donna I have to say the company decision is an odd one.

It doesn't make business sense as we are a bigger market than the anti hunting campaigners.
    It's not logical as none of the equipment is illegal as are none of the activities. Others have pointed out there are actual illegal things for sale on the site.

So if it is not illegal and it makes better business sense to allow the items then what other motivation can there be? The only thing I can logically assume is that someone in a position of power in the company agrees with the policy and is anti hunting themselves.

It's no big deal really, the site will survive without us but as a previous happy customer I can only vote with my feet and will no longer use the site.

I really appreciate you taking the time to answer questions though and I fully understand not wanting to allow the selling of firearms as it is not something to be taken lightly.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,025 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

We discussed the sale of firearms aswell. As I previously said, the removal of firearms actually had nothing to do with hunting at all, it was decided after ads for hand guns that lets just, by the pictures, didn't look like the sort of guns that anyone would be happy selling and therefore we decided to restrict the sale of firearms on our site.

Donna,this is very confusing what you are trying to say here???Peole who sell guns dont really care what they look like,rather that they are 100% legal.And the person buying them are 100%entitled to do do by their paperwork ...Especially handguns.How can you judge what is a nice gun and isnt going by a picture??That is wholly subjective opinion.What I might find horrible,somone else might think is beauty personified.

We will not be changing this at the moment as we have discussed it with the local Gardai and some of the Gun shops enquiring about the documentation necessary and licensing laws and it would be too difficult for us to police this at the moment

Can we ask what exactly did they tell you??

I would recommend that you try Irishguntrader.ie as they seem to be a great website for this and are completely specialised in this area.

That you are suggesting we use a competitive site is also intresting in that it is suggesting that you want to refuse busisness and that hopefully this issue will go away???Also doesnt this kind of disprove your point regarding the difficulty legally of advertising firearms??Surely then guntrader.ie would have the exact same legal problems RE documentastion and policing???
    the only things you cant advertise are firearms and related items
    Could you please tell us then what DD.ie now regards as "related items"???
    Scopes,parts,accessories,gunsafes,cartridge belts,game bags,gun screwdriver kits,etc are all related items to firearms.Its quite a broad brush stroke in a policy you have there.

All in all I get the impression that the ICABS crowd got in first ,scared you witless on the idea of bad publicity[Which BTW is better than NO publicity at all],by doing a"puffer fish" [inflating themselves to many times their normal size] ,and proably had some sympathy in the policy makers as well,and now you cant back down without losing face or creditability.
    As I said before you are now effectively allowing an outside radical minority to dictate your sales policies and what is and isnt acceptable in their eyes for you to may or may not advertise.

I for one wont be using your site either anymore,and I will actively encourage others in the busisness and fieldsports,aviation and diving world to boycott donedeal.ie until this policy is reviewd and fairness is applied to this issue. Which is a pity as I found your site a verey helpful and useful .
    Sincerely
    Grizzly45

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭Gun Shy

Hi Donna,
    Thanks for relaying the decision. However, the message is a bit confused as you say “the only things you cant advertise are firearms and related items.” I can understand a business decision by DD not to advertise firearms, but what do you mean by “related items”? Does the exclusion extend for example to rifle cleaning kits? :confused:

On a separate issue, were I a manager of / investor in DD I would be much more concerned by advertising counterfeit products. Despite my identification of two counterfeits, (post 133 on this thread) nothing was done to take those down. Read http://lawyers-law.com/french-court-endorses-ebay-louis-vuitton-ruling/

A strong case could be made that DD is aiding and abetting the breach of both Road Traffic and Insurance Acts by carrying adverts for modified cars with original paperwork, as detailed by several other posters. It is only a matter of time before either the insurance industry or copyright lawyers (or both) sit up and take notice of what DD is allowing on its pages and pay you a visit.:o:o
    Regards,
    Pedro.

Just a point to beef up the above post, which is a little closer to home and some people may remember. IN DUBLIN Fined €50,000
    I appreciate that the topic will create some choice comments, BUT its the rule of the court in the case and essentially the case law is the point I am trying to make.
    The last line being the most important from a Done Deal perspective.

Done Deal Please have the Bottle to take a stand and a right one look at the facts
    Suggestion : if somebody is selling a firearm on your site then allow it because they are legal but perhaps a note should be attached.
    "This item requires licencing etc. etc. etc. you know the rest

http://www.rte.ie/news/2000/1018/hogan.html

In Dublin publisher fined £50,000 for advertising brothels
    Wednesday, 18 October 2000 21:57
    The publisher of In Dublin has been fined £50,000 for advertising brothels and the services of prostitutes in two magazines over a two-year period. Mike Hogan, aged 40, was fined after he pleaded guilty to ten sample charges in the Dublin Circuit Criminal Court this morning. Mr Hogan, who earned £400,000 a year from six pages of advertisements in Dublin and In Dublin, said afterwards that he was relieved the matter was over.

Mr Hogan is the first man to be brought before the court by the special Garda team set up to investigate prostitution and the first to be convicted in the Circuit court in relation to publication offences. Detective Inspector John McMahon said that he co-operated fully and took full responsibility for the crime. Mr Hogan's defence counsel told the court the incident was hugely embarrassing and would have implications for his business in general. He said that this was a crime committed in full view of the Gardaí, the DPP and the public for years and Mike Hogan only became aware of the illegality of it until he clashed with the Censorship Board.

Every brothel the Gardaí raided as part of their investigation into prostitution advertised in In Dublin magazine, and 64% of the men found in them said that they got their information from it. Judge Kevin Haugh said that while Mike Hogan was neither a pimp nor the manager of a brothel, he did promote prostitution and assisted the earnings of both brothels and prostitutes.

Please Note that I am in no way suggesting that Done Deal or its employees are engaged in illegal activities. I am only pointing out previous case law where an individual was convicted of essentially facilitating advertisers in advertising unlawful activities. I am making this point with respect of the following a Firearm once licenced or offered for sale by a Firearms Dealer is a legal item. Fake handbags, dodgy cars etc if proved would be illegal (same goes for a lot of other stuff)
    You cant buy a fake Sig

• Registered Users Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

I dont understand why everyone is suprised by their decision. It has been made clear by Donna for all to read that someone in higher power is anti hunting, we can talk till the cows come home about it and its not going to change. The fact Donna even came on to try answer questions and deal with suggestions to me shows which side of the fence she is on !!

Just decide for yourselves now if you wish to deal with this site or not now you know the position of the site owner. From her reply the site owner doesnt actually care either way he/she is sticking to their morals not what makes good business sense and he/she is entitled to do so as they are making millions from this site anyway !! its not going to affect its overall success !!

As I posted earlier uneducated narrow minded people !! shows they can have successful websites also

• Registered Users Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

Fistrly I would like to thank Donn from even comming on here in the first place, secondly I have no problem with Done Deal not advertising firearms, guntrader.ie and the for sale section here is fine, its the "related Items" that I am not sure about, does that means ammunition in which case thats fine or does it mean any item related to firearms at all, optics, cases, gun safes, cleaning gear .... (the list is fairly endless!!:D) and these are used by target shooters as much as hunteres!! I appreciate Donna putting herself forward to help us word adds, its easy enough to manage leaving the word "Lamping" out and to just use the brand name lightforce or whatever, we all know what it is for!!