Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting to look for a pooch

Options
  • 20-09-2010 9:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭

So my wife and I have decided to start looking for a dog. We have been together for 9 years and have a 4 bedroom house with plenty of room inside and a small garden that is fully fenced in with 6 foot high fences. There is a park in our estate, we are 5 mins drive to several beaches and Malahide castle. We have no Children but that is most likely in the next two years.

I work in IT support and deployment from my house and maximun I would be out of the house for a few hours once a week. My wife works 10 mins from the house locally.

I have been looking at Airedale Terrier breeds as their are a decent size dog, but not too big. Also their do not tend to shed too much hair as my wife has asthma. They are energetic, loyal and good family pets, well according to what I have been reading.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Airedale_Terrier#Temperament

" They are also very loving, always in the middle of the family activities. Airedales are also known for expressing exactly what they are thinking, unlike more aloof breeds. The Airedale is also a reliable and protective family pet. Airedales are exceedingly loyal and strong dogs; there is one story of an Airedale taking down a bear to protect its master[citation needed]. They are very energetic, and need plenty of exercise."